Alaska State Medical Board Board Issued Guidelines

Board Issued Guidelines	
Subject:	CME for Paramedic Renewals
Implemented:	October 2000; Revised August 2018

In order to qualify for license renewal, paramedics must comply with the continuing medical education (CME) requirements set by law (Professional Regulation 12 AAC 40.350.)

- At least 60 hours of approved CME must be obtained during each year of the licensing period (120 hours total).
- At least six hours of the CME must be specific to pediatrics emergency education
- The CME must include ACLS and BLS training.
- The CME must be classroom or clinical hours, or combination of classroom and clinical hours. The board wants to see a mix of clinical and didactic hours to ensure a balance in the type of training obtained.
- The board will accept up to 20 hours of self-study per year, as long as it is approved by the physician sponsor, and that it is a formal correspondence or other individual study program that requires registration and provides a certificate of completion. The board
- will accept up to 40 hours of college course work, as long as the course is directly related to medicine, medical technology, or paramedic duties, and a minimum grade of "C" is earned. Classes in clinical sciences are acceptable; classes in basic sciences will not be accepted.
- The board will accept up to 40 hours as an instructor of an approved program. Credit will not be allowed for instructing the same program repeatedly.
- The board has stated the education should be reasonably structured and MUST BE directly related to the specific duties of paramedics (defined in regulation 12 AAC 40.370.).
- The local hospitals offer CME programs, as do the larger fire departments. CME is also available to paramedics from Internet sources, through the mail, from journals, audio tape programs, and video tape programs. (Remember, only 20 hours of self-study is allowed per year.)
- The board will also accept individual one-on-one instruction if the paramedic obtains instruction from a physician or nurse and if the physician or nurse will sign a document acknowledging that they consider that time to be continuing medical education. This type of training must be approved by the board in advance.
- Proper documentation of CME must contain: the name of the participant, the number of hours of credit awarded, a description of the activity, the dates of participation, and the name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor, or other verifier.
- The board requires documentation. Be sure to obtain certificates or other documentation of the CME being awarded and keep that documentation in a safe place for at least four years. The documentation must be submitted upon request.

-continued-

Alaska State Medical Board Board Issued Guidelines

CME for Paramedic Renewals (continued)

The board will accept the following CME programs:

- ACLS and BLS are required
- HAZMAT or HAZWOP training
- chlorine poisoning or spill response training
- victim/proctor activities
- pre-hospital trauma training,
- medevac escort training,
- ABLS, APLS, BTLS, ATLS, PBTLS, PHTLS, PALS, CPR
- EMT-instructor course,
- paramedic refresher training

This is just a short list and not all-inclusive. Again, any continuing education related to the specific duties of a paramedic would be appropriate.

Physician sponsors, also have some responsibility with regard to the paramedics' CME. Regulation 12 AAC 40.990(a)(13)(E) requires that physician sponsors approve the program of CME for each paramedic under their supervision.