



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

July 23, 2018

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to comply with the statute listed above. Program expenses have been depleting the program's surplus for several years, and although fees were increased in FY2017 the program is now in a position to increase fees again for the FY2019 renewal to prevent a hefty deficit position.

The Board of Marital and Family Therapy reviewed the fee analysis at its June 22, 2018 meeting and unanimously voted in favor of the fee increase recommended by the Division. The program expenses have slowly depleted the surplus and is heading for a deficit if the fees are not increased. If fees are not raised at this time, fees will need to be increased even higher by the next license renewal and raising legislative scrutiny of the efficacy of this board. Fees are reviewed annually and adjustments will be made as required to comply with AS 08.01.065.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Board's web page at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMaritalFamilyTherapy.aspx.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the Division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall's license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

McCullong

Janey McCullough, Director

Encl.

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.242 is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.242. Board of Marital and Family Therapy. The following fees are

established for marital and family therapists and associates:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, **<u>\$500</u>** [\$200];

(2) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, \$1,250 [\$800];

(3) biennial license renewal fee, <u>**\$1,250**</u> [\$800];

(4) four-year associate license fee for supervised practice, <u>**\$600**</u> [\$500];

(5) temporary license fee, <u>\$300</u> [\$200]. (Eff. 6/4/93, Register 126; am 10/1/93,

Register 127; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 11/27/98, Register 148;

am 12/16/2001, Register 160; am 12/9/2010, Register 196; am 12/2/2012, Register 204; am

10/9/2016, Register 220; am ___/___, Register ____)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.63.110 AS 08.63.140

AS 08.63.100 AS 08.63.130