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May 15, 2018 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to 
comply with the statute listed above and to prevent the program from going into a deficit position and to 
continue to deliver the current level of service of the Nursing and Nursing Aid licensing program.  Program 
expenses have slowly been depleting its surplus for several years, and the program will be in deficit by the end 
of this fiscal year.  Barring any unforeseen circumstances, this increase will stabilize the program and prevent 
the need for an even larger increase later.   

The Board of Nursing reviewed the fee analysis at its May 7, 2018, meeting and proposed changes similar to 
those proposed by the Division.  The proposed fees amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the 
Board’s web page at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofNursing.aspx 

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments 
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the upcoming license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 or 
regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey McCullough 
Director 
 
Encl.  

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofNursing.aspx
mailto:regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov
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 Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)   
 
12 AAC 02.280 is amended to read: 

 12 AAC 02.280. Board of Nursing: fees for nurses and [,] advanced practice 

registered nurses [NURSE PRACTITIONERS, AND CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE 

ANESTHETISTS]. The following fees are established for nurses and [,] advanced practice 

registered nurses [NURSE PRACTITIONERS, AND CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE 

ANESTHETISTS]:  

  (1) nonrefundable application fee for  

   (A) initial registered or practical nursing license, $100; [OR]  

   (B) advanced practice registered nurse license, $100; 

   (C) preceptorship registration one-time fee, $100 [$50];  

  (2) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial registered or practical nursing 

license period, $200 [$165];  

  (3) biennial registered or practical nursing license renewal fee, $200 [$165];  

  (4) temporary permit fee, $100 [$50];  

  (5) prescriptive authority or controlled substance authority application one-

time fee, $100 [$50];  

  (6) advanced practice registered nurse license [PRACTITIONER OR 

CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST AUTHORIZATION] fee for all or part of 

the initial biennial license [AUTHORIZATION] period, $100 [$60];  

  (7) advanced practice registered nurse [PRACTITIONER OR CERTIFIED 
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REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST] biennial license [AUTHORIZATION] renewal fee, 

$100 [$60];  

  (8) reexamination application fee, $50;  

  (9) late renewal penalty fee, $100;  

  (10) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $75 [$60];  

  (11) courtesy license fee, $50;  

  (12) retired nurse status license one-time fee, $100 [$165]. (Eff. 3/6/86, Register 

97; am 12/13/87, Register 104; am 6/23/90, Register 114; am 5/20/92, Register 122; am 5/28/93, 

Register 126; am 2/13/94, Register 129; am 7/28/95, Register 135; am 7/25/96, Register 139; am 

8/26/98, Register 147; am 8/10/2000, Register 155; am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, 

Register 162; am 6/16/2002, Register 162; am 11/19/2008, Register 188; am 7/7/2010, Register 

195; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am 8/10/2016, Register 219; am ____/____/______, Register 

_____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.010  AS 08.01.100  AS 08.68.220 

  AS 08.01.065 

 

12 AAC 02.282 is amended to read: 

 12 AAC 02.282. Board of Nursing: fees for certified nurse aides. The following fees 

are established for certified nurse aides:  

  (1) nonrefundable application fee for initial certification, $100 [$50];  

  (2) examination fee, $55 [$50];  

  (3) certification fee for all or part of the initial biennial nurse aide certification 

period, $100;  
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  (4) biennial nurse aide certification renewal fee, $100;  

  (5) certified nurse aide training program approval fee, $500;  

  (6) reexamination fee, $50 [$25];  

  (7) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $75 [$60]. (Eff. 8/26/98, Register 

147; am 5/5/99, Register 150; am 2/26/2000, Register 153; am 6/16/2002, Register 162; am 

3/7/2008, Register 185; am 1/30/2010, Register 193; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am 

____/____/______, Register _____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.010  AS 08.01.065  AS 08.68.336 
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