

LASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Online Instructions

REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON BY EXAMINATION

You have successfully submitted the Online Initial Application for the Salesperson License by Examination. You can expect an update regarding the status of the initial application within 10-15 business days.

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application. Please retain this information for future reference. YOU MUST HOLD A PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE REAL ESTATE IN ALASKA.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES

The following documents must be submitted:

THE STATE

of

1. A <u>completed</u> online application, including payment of fees.

Fees: \$390.00 total (\$200.00 nonrefundable application fee, \$140.00 license fee, \$50.00 recovery fund fee).

Note: You may only pay with a credit card when submitting an online application. The online application is

not complete until you have completed the credit card payment online.

- 2. Signed Signature Page (#08-4179).
- 3. The exam score sheet showing proof of passing the Alaska Real Estate Salesperson examination. Exam scores are valid <u>six months from the date of exam</u>. You must have a complete application filed with the Alaska Real Estate Commission prior to expiration of exam scores. For information for examination, contact Pearson VUE at 1-800-274-5992 or www.pearsonvue.com. [AS 08.88.171(c), AS 08.88.263(1), 12 AAC 64.059(c)(2) and (3), and 12 AAC 64.060(e)]
- 4. A certificate of completion of the required 40 hours of pre-licensing education. Education certificates are valid <u>18 months from the date of completion</u>. [AS 08.88.091(b); AS 08.88.171(c); 12 AAC 64.059(b)(4)]
- 5. A license verification from each jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a Real Estate license. License histories/certification MUST be sent directly from another licensing authority to the Alaska Real Estate Commission. <u>LICENSE HISTORIES/CERTIFICATIONS CANNOT BE ACCEPTED DIRECTLY</u> <u>FROM APPLICANTS</u>. [12 AAC 64.060(h)]
- 6. Supporting documentation for any "Yes" answers. Supporting documents include a signed and dated explanation and the <u>charging and judgment documents for each criminal conviction</u>. For any other "Yes" answer, provide a signed and dated explanation, copies of court records, license actions, and/or any other applicable documents.
- 7. Proof/verification of E & O Insurance coverage. Proof/verification of E & O Insurance coverage is required under AS 08.88.172.
- 8. Employing Broker Information (Form #08-4179a). The Employing Broker Information is required under AS 08.88.291.

GENERAL INFORMATION

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, a person licensed by the Real Estate Commission is required to maintain a current, valid mailing address on file with the division at all times.

- Please notify the division, in writing, should you have a change of address.
- In accordance with AS 08.88.321, the license certificate of a Broker must be displayed in the Broker's principle office.

RENEWAL INFORMATION

All licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years. Exception: Licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued through the next biennium. Continuing education is required to be completed at the time of renewal in accordance with 12 AAC 64.500.

POST LICENSING EDUCATION

All new licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education (PLE). This education must be completed <u>within one year</u> after the date of initial salesperson or broker licensure. This is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that you must complete to renew your license. After the required 30 hours of PLE is completed an Affidavit of Post Licensing Affidavit form (08-4326) MUST be submitted to the Real Estate Commission. Copies of all certificates of the completed education and appropriate fees must accompany the PLE Affidavit within 30 days after the 1 year period of initial licensure or the license will lapse [AS 08.88.095]. New licensees applying for licensure by endorsement who hold a active and valid real estate license in another state and have been licensed by that state for 1 year or more are NOT required to complete PLE [AS 08.88.263(3)]. Additional information about post-licensing requirements is available on the Commission web site in the Professional Licensing Section at *www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/*.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS

Under AS 08.01.100(e) a license may not be renewed if the licensee's United States Social Security Number is not on file. If you do not have a social security number, you must complete the form Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement located on the division's web site at: *www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/* or contact the division office for the form.

PUBLIC INFORMATION

All information contained in and supplied with this application will be available to the public unless required to be kept confidential by law. Current licensee information is available on the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing web site at: *www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/* under License Search.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Copies of the statutes and regulations referenced in this application may be obtained at: *www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/* or may be obtained from the Commission office.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

"YES" RESPONSES

A "Yes" response in the application does not necessarily mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "Yes" to any question in the application, additional time will be required for the gathering and assessment of pertinent information. You can expedite this process by providing, with your application, complete explanations and documentation for any "Yes" responses. (See application procedures #6)

ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE

All licensees are required to obtain and submit proof of E & O Insurance, either through the Master Policy offered by RISC or through equivalent coverage. All licensees are required to submit verification that they have met the E & O requirement.



of ALASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Real Estate Commission 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 269-8160 Email: RealEstateCommission@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Employing Broker Information

Applicant Name:

Business Information	Required			
Business Name (print):				
Real Estate Office License #:				
Business Mailing Address:	Street or PO Box	City	State	Zip Code

Broker Information	Required				
Employing Broker's Name (print):					
Broker Telephone #:		Broker License #:			
Broker Signature:			Date:		

Associate Broker Information	ciate Broker Information Required only if working in a branch office.			
Associate Broker Name (print):				
Associate Broker License #:				
Associate Broker Signature:		Date:		