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LEGISLATIVE INTENT

after the second day.

as a direction to prescribe the full four days.

RESPONSIBILITIES WITH THE PDMP DATABASE

It is the intent of the legislature that the seven-day supply limit for an initial opioid prescription under secs. 5, 16, 22, and 33 of [HB 159] and the four-day supply limit for
an initial opioid prescription under sec. 28 of [HB 159] may not be considered as a minimum length of time appropriate for an initial prescription.

The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines state that a three-day initial prescription of an opioid is sufficient for most cases of acute
pain. CDC reported in its March 17, 2017, weekly report that the likelihood of a person's chronic opioid use increases with each additional day of medication supplied

Practitioners should use their professional judgment in each case and not interpret the seven-day limit as a direction to prescribe the full seven days or the four-day limit

prescription history on behalf of the provider. (AS 17.30.200(d))

There is no restriction on who may enter data into the PDMP.
After registering the office or pharmacy with PMP
Clearinghouse, data may be entered into the PDMP through
an electronic file transfer or an online universal claim form.

WHAT

professional license under
Title 08 of Alaska Statute
professionallicense.alaska.gov)

EXEMPTIONS FROM PDMP USAGE

WHAT WHO WHEN WHY
It is the responsibility of the pharmacist, the individual filling Pharmacists July 17, 2017 e Nearly half of all U.S. opioid overdose deaths
a prescription for federally scheduled controlled substance II, involve a prescription opioid.
Ill, or IV, to submit information into the database on a weekly
basis. (AS 17.30.200(r)) ¢ Nationally, deaths from prescription opioids
have more than quadrupled since 1999.
It is the responsibility of the pharmacist, the individual filling Pharmacists July 1, 2018
a prescription for federally scheduled controlled substance I, » Alaska’s prescription opioid overdose death
111, or IV, to submit information into the database on a daily rate was more than twice the national rate in
basis. AS 17.30.200(r) 2012.
It is the responsibility of the practitioner, the individual Practitioners who hold July 17, 2017 . . T I
- . N ) ) e Misuse of prescription opioids is a significant
writing prescriptions or administering federally scheduled Il DEA registration numbers . . .
. 3 R risk factor for starting heroin use.
or lll controlled substances, or the practitioner’s delegate, to e Dentists
reV|e.w. the'database pr'lor jco writing the prescription or . Adv'anced Practice « PDMPs have been found to improve patient
administering the medication. (AS 17.30.200(b)) Registered Nurses . . .
. care and reduce misuse, and diversion of

* Optometrists controlled substances

e Physicians

e Physician Assistants

e Veterinarians
A delegate registered with the PDMP may review a patient’s Delegates must hold a July 17, 2017

WHO WHEN

17.30.200(u))

Dispensing less than a 24-hour supply of controlled substances at an inpatient pharmacy for use after discharge (AS

Dispensing less than a 24-hour supply of controlled substances in an emergency department (AS 17.30.200(u))

Administered to an inpatient admitted to a health care facility (AS 17.30.200(k))

Administered at the scene of an emergency, in an ambulance, or in an emergency department (AS 17.30.200(k))

17.30.200(k))

Dispensing, prescribing, or administering at a hospice or nursing home that has an inpatient pharmacy (As

All practitioners and
pharmacists

July 28, 2017

July 28, 2017

July 28, 2017

July 17, 2017

July 17, 2017



http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/

Immediately before, during, or within the first 48 hours after surgery or a medical procedure (AS 17.30.200(k))

Writing a nonrefillable prescription for a controlled substance in a quantity intended to last for not more than three
days (AS 17.30.200(k))

July 17, 2017

July 17,2017

Exempt from the PDMP except when prescribing opioids to an inmate at the time of the inmate’s release (AS
17.30.200(u))

LIMITATIONS ON OPIOID PRESCRIPTIONS

Correctional facilities

July 28, 2017

WHAT

WHO

WHEN

Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a seven-day supply for an adult or minor.

. The prescriber must discuss with the parent or guardian of a minor why the prescription is necessary and
the risks associated with the opioid use.

. A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a seven-day supply to an adult or minor patient if,
in the professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a seven-day supply is necessary for:

o management of certain pain (e.g., severe acute pain, chronic pain, cancer pain, or palliative
care), or

O  apatient who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a new
prescription because of a logistical or travel barrier.

. The prescriber must document in the patient’s medical record:

0 the condition requiring the excess of a seven-day supply, and
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.

. The Board of Dental Examiners or the Board of Nursing may impose a disciplinary sanction if the
corresponding board finds that a licensee has prescribed or dispensed an opioid in excess of the
maximum dosage.

. The Medical Board may not impose disciplinary sanctions on a physician for prescribing, dispensing, or
administering a controlled substance if the requirements in the new section AS 08.64.363, under Sec. 16
of this document, are met.

Physicians
(AS 08.64.326, AS 08.64.363, AS
08.64.364)

Dentists
(AS 08.36.315, AS 08.36.355)

Advanced Practice Registered
Nurses
(AS 08.64.270, AS 08.68.705)

July 26, 2017

Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a seven-day supply for an animal patient.
. A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a seven-day supply to an animal patient if, in the
professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a seven-day supply is necessary for:
o management of certain pain, or
O  anowner who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a refill of the
seven-day supply because of a logistical or travel barrier.
. The prescriber must document in the animal’s medical record:
0  the condition requiring the excess of a seven-day supply, and
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.
. The board may impose a disciplinary sanction if the board finds that a licensee has prescribed or
dispensed an opioid in excess of the maximum dosage.

Veterinarians
(AS 08.98.235, AS 08.98.245)

July 26, 2017

Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a four-day supply for an adult or minor.
. The prescriber must discuss with the parent or guardian of a minor why the prescription is necessary and
the risks associated with the opioid use.
. A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a four-day supply to an adult or minor patient if, in
the professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a four-day supply is necessary for:
o management of certain pain, or
O  apatient who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a refill of the
four-day supply because of a logistical or travel barrier.
. The prescriber must document in the patient’s medical record:
0  the condition requiring the excess of a four-day supply, and
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.
. The board may impose a disciplinary sanction if the board finds that a licensee has prescribed or
dispensed an opioid in excess of the maximum dosage.

OTHER CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE CHANGES

Optometrists
(AS 08.72.240, AS 08.72.276)

October 24,
2017

WHAT

WHO

WHEN

Voluntary Nonopioid Directive Act

An individual or an individual's guardian may execute a voluntary nonopioid directive stating that an opioid may not
be administered or prescribed to the individual or the minor. The directive must be in a format prescribed by DHSS
and available in an electronic format.

All Alaskans
(AS 13.55.010-110)

July 1, 2019

Unsolicited Notifications

The board is authorized to provide confidential, unsolicited notification to a pharmacist, practitioner's licensing
board, or practitioner if a patient has received one or more prescriptions for controlled substances in quantities or
with a frequency inconsistent with generally recognized standards of safe practice.

Practitioners and pharmacists
(AS 17.30.200(g))

July 26, 2017




Report Cards

The Board of Pharmacy may issue to a practitioner periodic unsolicited reports that detail and compare the
practitioner's opioid prescribing practice with other practitioners of the same occupation and similar specialty. A
report issued under this subsection is confidential and the board shall issue the report only to a practitioner.

REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW APPLICANTS

Practitioners
(AS 17.30.200(t))

July 26, 2017

WHAT WHO WHEN
Applicants for licensure must receive education in pain management and opioid use and addiction prior to licensure, Dentists July 1, 2018
unless the applicant has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board that the applicant does not currently hold a (AS 08.36.110)
valid federal DEA registration number.
Physicians
Physicians and optometrists: Applicants for licensure by credentials must demonstrate professional competence in (AS 08.64.200, AS 08.64.205, AS
pain management and addiction disorders. The professional competence may include professional experience or 05.64.209, A5 08.64.225, AS
professional instruction as proof of professional competence. 08.64.250)
Optometrists
(AS 08.72.120, AS 08.72.170)
Medical Board will adopt regulations for physician assistants to include education on pain management and opioid Physician Assistants July 1, 2018

use and addiction.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

(AS 08.64.107)

WHAT WHO WHEN
A licensee must receive no less than two hours of education in pain management and opioid misuse and addiction in Physicians July 1, 2018
the two years preceding application for renewal, unless the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board (AS 08.64.312)

that the licensee’s practice does not include pain management and opioid treatment or prescribing.

(Activity to be

completed
An applicant for renewal may not be exempted from the requirement to receive at least two hours of instruction on before
pain management and opioid misuse and addiction, unless the person has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the renewal date,
board that the person does not currently hold a valid federal DEA registration number. 12/31/2018)
Medical Board will adopt regulations for physician assistants to include education on pain management and opioid Physician Assistants July 1, 2018

use and addiction.

(AS 08.64.107)

(Activity to be

completed
before
renewal date,
12/31/2018)
A licensee must receive no less than two hours of education in pain management and opioid misuse and addiction in Optometrists July 1, 2018;
the two years preceding application for renewal, unless the person has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board | (AS08.72.181)
that the person does not currently hold a valid federal DEA registration number. (Optometry:
Dentists Activity to be
(AS 08.36.070) completed
before
Advanced Practice Registered 12/31/2018;
Nurses Dentist:
(AS 08.68.276) complete by
02/28/2019;
Nurses:
complete by
11/30/2018)
The board is required to identify resources and develop educational materials to assist licensees in identifying an Veterinarians July 1, 2018

animal owner who may be at risk for abusing or misusing an opioid.

(AS 08.98.050)

QUESTIONS?
WHAT WHO PHONE EMAIL or WEB ADDRESS
PDMP technical questions, including registration and login Appriss Health 1-855-525-4767
assistance

PDMP program questions Alaska Department of 907-269-8404

Commerce,
Note: Questions regarding practice-specific interpretation, Community, and
enforcement, or discipline should be directed to the Economic
Development (DCCED)

akpdmp@alaska.gov
pdmp.alaska.gov

professionallicense.alaska.gov
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appropriate licensing board. Visit the Professional Licensing
homepage for program-specific contact information.

Patient and provider opioid information & resources

Centers for Disease
Control and
Prevention (CDC)

www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose

Alaska Department of
Health and Social
Services (DHSS)

opioids.alaska.gov
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