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LEGISLATIVE INTENT 

 
It is the intent of the legislature that the seven-day supply limit for an initial opioid prescription under secs. 5, 16, 22, and 33 of [HB 159] and the four-day supply limit for 
an initial opioid prescription under sec. 28 of [HB 159] may not be considered as a minimum length of time appropriate for an initial prescription.  
 
The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines state that a three-day initial prescription of an opioid is sufficient for most cases of acute 
pain. CDC reported in its March 17, 2017, weekly report that the likelihood of a person's chronic opioid use increases with each additional day of medication supplied 
after the second day.  
 
Practitioners should use their professional judgment in each case and not interpret the seven-day limit as a direction to prescribe the full seven days or the four-day limit 
as a direction to prescribe the full four days. 
 

RESPONSIBILITIES WITH THE PDMP DATABASE 

WHAT WHO WHEN WHY 
It is the responsibility of the pharmacist, the individual filling 
a prescription for federally scheduled controlled substance II, 
III, or IV, to submit information into the database on a weekly 
basis. (AS 17.30.200(r)) 

Pharmacists  July 17, 2017  Nearly half of all U.S. opioid overdose deaths 
involve a prescription opioid. 
 

• Nationally, deaths from prescription opioids 
have more than quadrupled since 1999. 
 

• Alaska’s prescription opioid overdose death 
rate was more than twice the national rate in 
2012. 

 
• Misuse of prescription opioids is a significant 

risk factor for starting heroin use. 
 
• PDMPs have been found to improve patient 

care and reduce misuse, and diversion of 
controlled substances 

It is the responsibility of the pharmacist, the individual filling 
a prescription for federally scheduled controlled substance II, 
III, or IV, to submit information into the database on a daily 
basis. AS 17.30.200(r) 

Pharmacists  July 1, 2018 

It is the responsibility of the practitioner, the individual 
writing prescriptions or administering federally scheduled II 
or III controlled substances, or the practitioner’s delegate, to 
review the database prior to writing the prescription or 
administering the medication. (AS 17.30.200(b)) 

Practitioners who hold 
DEA registration numbers 

 Dentists 

 Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurses 

 Optometrists 

 Physicians 

 Physician Assistants 

 Veterinarians 

July 17, 2017 

A delegate registered with the PDMP may review a patient’s 
prescription history on behalf of the provider. (AS 17.30.200(d))   
 
There is no restriction on who may enter data into the PDMP. 
After registering the office or pharmacy with PMP 
Clearinghouse, data may be entered into the PDMP through 
an electronic file transfer or an online universal claim form. 

Delegates must hold a 
professional license under 
Title 08 of Alaska Statute  
(professionallicense.alaska.gov) 

 

July 17, 2017 

EXEMPTIONS FROM PDMP USAGE 

WHAT WHO WHEN 
Dispensing to a patient for an outpatient supply of 24-hour or less at a hospital with an inpatient pharmacy for use 
after discharge (AS 17.30.200(u)(2)(A)) 
 

All practitioners and 
pharmacists 

July 28, 2017 

Dispensing to a patient for an outpatient supply of 24-hour or less at a hospital emergency department for use after 
discharge (AS 17.30.200(u)(2)(B)) 
 

July 28, 2017 

Administered to a patient admitted to a health care facility (AS 17.30.200(u)(1)(B)) 
 

July 28, 2017 

Dispensing, prescribing, or administering at the scene of an emergency, in an ambulance, or in an emergency 
department (AS 17.30.200(k)(4)(A)(ii)) 

July 17, 2017 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/


Dispensing, prescribing, or administering at a hospice or nursing home that has an inpatient pharmacy  (AS 

17.30.200(k)(4)(A)(v)) 
July 17, 2017 
 

Dispensing, prescribing, or administering immediately before, during, or within the first 48 hours after surgery or a 
medical procedure (AS 17.30.200(k)(4)(A)(iv)) 
 

July 17, 2017 

Dispensing, prescribing, or administering a non-refillable prescription for a controlled substance in a quantity 
intended to last for not more than three days (AS 17.30.200(k)(4)(B)) 
 

July 17, 2017 

Administered to a patient admitted at a correctional facility (AS 17.30.200(u)(1)(B)) Correctional facilities 
 

July 28, 2017 

LIMITATIONS ON OPIOID PRESCRIPTIONS 

WHAT WHO WHEN 
Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a seven-day supply for an adult or minor.  

 The prescriber must discuss with the parent or guardian of a minor why the prescription is necessary and 
the risks associated with the opioid use.  

 A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a seven-day supply to an adult or minor patient if, 
in the professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a seven-day supply is necessary for: 

o management of certain pain (e.g., severe acute pain, chronic pain, cancer pain, or palliative 
care), or  

o a patient who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a new 
prescription because of a logistical or travel barrier.  

 The prescriber must document in the patient’s medical record: 
o the condition requiring the excess of a seven-day supply, and  
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.  

 The Board of Dental Examiners or the Board of Nursing may impose a disciplinary sanction if the 
corresponding board finds that a licensee has prescribed or dispensed an opioid in excess of the 
maximum dosage. 

 The Medical Board may not impose disciplinary sanctions on a physician for prescribing, dispensing, or 
administering a controlled substance if the requirements in the new section AS 08.64.363, under Sec. 16 
of this document, are met. 
 

Physicians 
(AS 08.64.326, AS 08.64.363, AS 
08.64.364) 
 
Dentists 
(AS 08.36.315, AS 08.36.355) 

 
Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurses 
(AS 08.64.270, AS 08.68.705) 

July 26, 2017 

Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a seven-day supply for an animal patient.  

 A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a seven-day supply to an animal patient if, in the 
professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a seven-day supply is necessary for: 

o management of certain pain, or  
o an owner who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a refill of the 

seven-day supply because of a logistical or travel barrier.  

 The prescriber must document in the animal’s medical record: 
o the condition requiring the excess of a seven-day supply, and  
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.  

 The board may impose a disciplinary sanction if the board finds that a licensee has prescribed or 
dispensed an opioid in excess of the maximum dosage. 
 

Veterinarians 
(AS 08.98.235, AS 08.98.245) 

July 26, 2017 

Duration of an initial opioid prescription limited to a four-day supply for an adult or minor.  

 The prescriber must discuss with the parent or guardian of a minor why the prescription is necessary and 
the risks associated with the opioid use.  

 A prescriber may issue a prescription for greater than a four-day supply to an adult or minor patient if, in 
the professional judgement of the prescriber, more than a four-day supply is necessary for: 

o management of certain pain, or  
o a patient who is unable to access a practitioner within the time necessary for a refill of the 

four-day supply because of a logistical or travel barrier.  

 The prescriber must document in the patient’s medical record: 
o the condition requiring the excess of a four-day supply, and  
o indicate a non-opioid alternative was not appropriate to treat the condition.  

 The board may impose a disciplinary sanction if the board finds that a licensee has prescribed or 
dispensed an opioid in excess of the maximum dosage. 
 

Optometrists 
(AS 08.72.240, AS 08.72.276) 

October 24, 
2017 

 

OTHER CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE CHANGES 

WHAT WHO WHEN 
Voluntary Nonopioid Directive Act 
An individual or an individual's guardian may execute a voluntary nonopioid directive stating that an opioid may not 
be administered or prescribed to the individual or the minor. The directive must be in a format prescribed by DHSS 
and available in an electronic format. 
 

All Alaskans 
(AS 13.55.010-110) 

July 1, 2019 

Unsolicited Notifications 
The board is authorized to provide confidential, unsolicited notification to a pharmacist, practitioner's licensing 
board, or practitioner if a patient has received one or more prescriptions for controlled substances in quantities or 
with a frequency inconsistent with generally recognized standards of safe practice. 

Practitioners and pharmacists 
(AS 17.30.200(q)) 

July 26, 2017 
 



 

Report Cards 
The Board of Pharmacy may issue to a practitioner periodic unsolicited reports that detail and compare the 
practitioner's opioid prescribing practice with other practitioners of the same occupation and similar specialty. A 
report issued under this subsection is confidential and the board shall issue the report only to a practitioner. 
 

Practitioners 
(AS 17.30.200(t)) 

July 26, 2017 

REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW APPLICANTS 

WHAT WHO WHEN 
Applicants for licensure must receive education in pain management and opioid use and addiction prior to licensure, 
unless the applicant has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board that the applicant does not currently hold a 
valid federal DEA registration number.  
 
Physicians and optometrists: Applicants for licensure by credentials must demonstrate professional competence in 
pain management and addiction disorders. The professional competence may include professional experience or 
professional instruction as proof of professional competence.  
 
 

Dentists 
(AS 08.36.110) 

 
Physicians 
(AS 08.64.200, AS 08.64.205, AS 
08.64.209, AS 08.64.225, AS 
08.64.250) 

 
Optometrists 
(AS 08.72.120, AS 08.72.170) 
 

July 1, 2018 

Medical Board will adopt regulations for physician assistants to include education on pain management and opioid 
use and addiction. 

Physician Assistants 
(AS 08.64.107) 

July 1, 2018 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

WHAT WHO WHEN 
A licensee must receive no less than two hours of education in pain management and opioid misuse and addiction in 
the two years preceding application for renewal, unless the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board 
that the licensee’s practice does not include pain management and opioid treatment or prescribing.  
 
An applicant for renewal may not be exempted from the requirement to receive at least two hours of instruction on 
pain management and opioid misuse and addiction, unless the person has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the 
board that the person does not currently hold a valid federal DEA registration number. 

 

Physicians 
(AS 08.64.312) 

July 1, 2018 
 
(Activity to be 
completed by 
renewal date, 
12/31/2018) 

Medical Board will adopt regulations for physician assistants to include education on pain management and opioid 
use and addiction. 

Physician Assistants 
(AS 08.64.107) 

 

July 1, 2018 
 
(Activity to be 
complete by 
renewal date, 
12/31/2018) 
 

A licensee must receive no less than two hours of education in pain management and opioid misuse and addiction in 
the two years preceding application for renewal, unless the person has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board 
that the person does not currently hold a valid federal DEA registration number. 

 

Optometrists 
(AS 08.72.181) 

 
Dentists 
(AS 08.36.070) 

 
Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurses 
(AS 08.68.276) 

 

July 1, 2018;  
 
(Optometry: 
Activity to be 
completed by 
12/31/2018; 
Dentist: 
complete by 
02/28/2019; 
Nurses: 
complete by 
11/30/2018) 
 

The board is required to identify resources and develop educational materials to assist licensees in identifying an 
animal owner who may be at risk for abusing or misusing an opioid. 
 

Veterinarians 
(AS 08.98.050) 

July 1, 2018 

QUESTIONS? 

WHAT WHO PHONE EMAIL or WEB ADDRESS 
PDMP technical questions relating to password resets and 
submitting tickets to the Appriss Health IT team. 
 

Appriss Health 
 

1-855-525-4767  

PDMP program questions 
 
Note: Questions regarding practice-specific interpretation, 
enforcement, or discipline should be directed to the 

Alaska Department of 
Commerce, 
Community, and 

 907-269-8404 akpdmp@alaska.gov 
 
pdmp.alaska.gov 
 

mailto:akpdmp@alaska.gov
file:///C:/WP/pdmp.alaska.gov


appropriate licensing board. Visit the Professional Licensing 
homepage for program-specific contact information. 

Economic 
Development (DCCED) 
 

professionallicense.alaska.gov 
 

Patient and provider opioid information & resources Centers for Disease 
Control and 
Prevention (CDC) 
 

  www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose 
 

Alaska Department of 
Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) 

  opioids.alaska.gov 
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