State Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Board Disciplinary Actions

2020

Case # 2019-001247 Katherine Vieth was unable to document compliance of at least 24 hours of continuing education and 60 hours of physical therapy services and choose to Voluntary Surrender her Alaska license. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 3-26-20

Case # 2019-001688 Sharon Purkis was lacking 4 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$2900 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and conditions of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 3-26-20.

Case # 2019-000869 Cheryl Myers was lacking 2.5 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$2750 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and conditions of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 3-26-20.

2019

Case # 2019-000536 Maureen Johnson was lacking 7.5 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3250 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and conditions of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 10-3-19.

Case # 2019-000538 Alice Holinger was lacking 1.5 hours in CE's and choose to Voluntary Surrender her Alaska license. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 10-3-19.

Case # 2019-000540 Douglas Westphal was lacking 1.5 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$2,650 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and conditions of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 10-3-19

2018

Case # 2017-001087 Devra Norling was lacking 5 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3200 with \$2600 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and conditions of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 10-4-18.

2017

The Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy had no disciplinary actions during 2017.

2016

CASE NUMBER 2015-001064, Ivy Lau was lacking 24 hours in CE's and choose to Voluntary Surrender her Alaska license. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 04-20-16.

Case # 2015-0010 Cyndi Bigner, was lacking 19 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3900 with \$3375 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and condition of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 02-12-16.

Case # 2015-001061 Dawn Rossi, failed to comply with continued competency requirements and was assessed a civil fine of \$3400 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance with all the terms and condition of the agreement and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for next two license renewal periods. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 02-12-16.

State Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Board Disciplinary Actions

2015

Case # 2014-001200 Michele Gushwa - License issued for occupational therapy assistant with probationary conditions and assessed a civil fine of \$500.00 with \$250.00 suspended. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 03-26-15.

Case # 2014-001358 Seanna Bryson – physical therapy assistant license, as a result of license suspension June 27, 2014 was permitted to renew her license with probationary conditions. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order on 03-26-15.

2014

Case # 2014-000965 Maggie Milne - License issued for occupational therapy assistant with probationary conditions. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order for board on 09-11-14.

Case # 2014-001681 Gail French — Practicing physical therapy without a license and assessed a civil fine of \$1000.00. The Board adopted the consent agreement and proposed decision and order for board on 09-11-14.

Case No. 2014-000988 Lynne Debolt was unable to document 24 hours of continuing education and choose to voluntarily surrender her Alaska physical therapy license in lieu of revocation, suspension or imposition of other disciplinary sanctions against her license.

Case # 2014-001005 Boyd Esplin was lacking 7.8 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3280 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance and mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for next two license renewal periods.

Case # 2014-000985 Mary Hanna was lacking 12 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3700 with \$2000 suspended subject to compliance and mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for next two license renewal periods.

Case No. 2014-001002 Tracey Schaeffer was lacking 14.75 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$3975 with \$2000.00 suspended subject to compliance and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

2013

Richard Cowan was denied a license for physical therapist as he does not have a current license in good standing. His one active license is under probation for disciplinary actions. First denied on April 2, 2013 and motion revised on May 22, 2013.

Laura Kimberling was issued a license for occupational therapist with mandatory audit for two license renewal periods under consent agreement and proposed decision and order for board case # 2013-000212 on February 25, 2013.

2012

Case # 2011-000666, Matthew Scheib was lacking 8 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$2500 with 2000 suspended, plus \$800.00 based on \$100 per credit hours lacking for a total fine of \$1300.00 and mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for next two license renewal periods.

Case # 2011-000338 Sharon Caulder was denied a license for physical therapy March 22, 2012 for failure to provide documentation to the investigator proving that the felony convictions were unrelated to the practice of physical therapy.

Case # 2700-07-001 Dale Rodney Malstrom – Accusation was dismissed without prejudice upon adoption by the board on June 1, 2012. Mr. Malstrom may not practice in Alaska and in the event he sought an Alaska physical therapist license after July 1, 2013 he must report the existence of the consent agreement and would be bound by the terms of the agreement.

Case # 2012-000039 Seanna Bryson as a result of license denial, case resulted in a hearing. Terms for Probationary license was issued with conditions for a two year probationary period. A civil fine of

State Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Board Disciplinary Actions

\$500.00, substance abuse screening, random blood and urine tests four times per year. Consent Agreement and Decision and Order adopted on November 20, 2012.

2011

Case No. 2011-000524, Michael S. Williams failed to report convictions for Driving Under the Influence in both 2008 and 2010 renewal applications. Fine of \$1000.00 and on probation for three years for falsification of renewal applications in 2008 and 2010.

Case No. 2010-001096 Kathleen Holbrook was unable to document 24 hours of continuing education and choose to voluntarily surrender her Alaska physical therapy license in lieu of revocation, suspension or imposition of other disciplinary sanctions against her license.

2010

Case No. 2700-09-002 Lucrecia Mervine was lacking .5 hours in CE's and was assessed a civil fine of \$2500.00 with \$2000.00 suspended and 50.00 based on 100.00 per credit hour lacking. Total fine paid to state of Alaska \$550.00 and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

Case No. 2700-09-003 Cole Carson was lacking 7 hours in CE's and fined a total of \$1200.00 and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

Case No. 2700-09-004 Michele Gill was lacking 24 hours in CE's and was fined a total of 2700.00 and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

Case No. 2700-10-001 Raymond Popp was lacking 24 hours in CE's and choose to Voluntary Surrender his Alaska license.

Case No. 2702-09-001 Mari-Margaret Tydingco was lacking 12.5 hours in CE's and was fined a total of 1750.00 and a mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

Case No. 2702-09-002 Maureen Johnson was lacking 24 hours in CE's and fined \$2500 with \$2000 suspended plus \$2400 based on \$100 per credit hours lacking for a total fine of \$2900.00 and mandatory audit with continued competence requirements for the next two license renewal periods.

2009

The Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy had no disciplinary actions during 2009.

2008

November 17, 2008 - The Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy denied an applicant for a Physical Therapy Assistant license based on AS 08.84.120(a) due to material misrepresentation and adverse professional reference under regulation 54.200 (1) and 54.030(a)(3).