

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

March 6, 2017

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and it was presented to the Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners (Board) at its February 2, 2017 regular meeting. The Board unanimously agreed to make adjustments to the application fee so that it properly represents the amount of time that the examiner spends on those initial applications. They also proposed that the Psychologist Associate fee be equal to the fees for Psychologist for the following reasons:

1) There are no discernable reasons for a tiered fee schedule between the license types.

2) The current fees were based upon the original creation of the LPA license and were not updated when the scope of practice was updated.

Program expenses have slowly been depleting a large surplus for many years, and it is now time, to set the fees more in line with expenses so that a health cushion is maintained. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, these increases will help maintain the program.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Board's web page at <u>https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofPsychologists.aspx</u>.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the Division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the next licensing renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811, or <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

ney Alonen Den

Janey Hovenden Director

Encl.

Register , 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.330 is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.330. Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners. The

following fees are established for psychologists and psychological associates:

(1) application fee for

(A) initial license, **\$200** [\$75];

(B) any courtesy psychologist license; \$50;

(2) credential review fee, \$100;

(3) psychologist license fee for all or part of the initial biennial licensing period,

\$775;

(4) psychologist biennial license renewal fee, \$775;

(5) temporary license fee, \$150;

(6) psychological associate license fee for all or part of the initial biennial

licensing period, **§775** [\$550];

(7) psychological associate biennial license renewal fee, <u>\$775</u> [\$550];

(8) state examination fee, \$50;

(9) Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), examination

retest fee, \$25;

(10) fee for any courtesy psychologist license, \$200. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100;

am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 2/13/94, Register 129; am 5/17/95,

Register 134; am 4/20/97, Register 142; am 11/27/98, Register 148; am 5/5/99, Register 150; am

Register______2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

6/17/2001, Register 158; am 3/25/2004, Register 169; am 8/20/2004, Register 171; am 6/9/2007,

Register 182; am 6/28/2009, Register 190; am 5/15/2013, Register 206; am __/_/__,

Register ____)

Authority: AS 08.01.062 AS 08.86.135 AS 08.86.140

AS 08.01.065