
AELS 
STATE OF ALASKA  
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT  
DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR ARCHITECTS, ENGINEERS AND LAND SURVEYORS 
P.O. BOX 110806, JUNEAU, AK 99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2540        Fax:  (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov        Website:  http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/
ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofArchitectsEngineersandLandSurveyors.aspx

ARCHITECT, ENGINEER, LAND SURVEYOR & LANDSCAPE ARCHITECT 
REINSTATEMENT FORM FOR EXPIRED REGISTRATION 

REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED REGISTRATION:  12 AAC 36.165. Expired certificates 
 (a) A certificate of registration or corporate, limited liability company, or limited liability partnership authorization that is not renewed for a 
period of five years expires at the end of that period.   

(b) An expired certificate of registration may be reinstated by 
(1) applying for reinstatement on a form provided by the department, paying the appropriate fee in 12 AAC 02.110, and providing 

verification of having passed an examination that   
(A) meets the applicable requirements of 12 AAC 36.100;   
(B) the applicant for registration of an expired engineer certificate took to qualify for registration in this state before April 1967; or 
(C) the applicant took to qualify for registration in another licensing jurisdiction; or   

(2) reapplying to the board for registration by comity as required by 12 AAC 36.103 - 12 AAC 36.109 and paying the appropriate 
fee.  (Refer to AELS statutes and regulations for full text located at http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessinalLicensing/
BoardofArchitectsEngineersandLandSurveyors.aspx.) 

REGISTRATION Registration is for biennial registration.  The current registration period is January 1, 2016 
through December 31, 2017.  If you are registered in another jurisdiction, please indicate one 
active license: Jurisdiction ____________________ Number ___________ 

EXAM TAKEN Registrants whose registration has been in lapsed status for more than five years must also meet 
the requirements in 12 AAC 36.165(b).  Exam taken _____________  Date taken ____________ 
(see page 2 for regulation). 

NAME CHANGE If you have had a legal name change since your last registration was issued, enclose a copy of the 
legal document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.) as proof of the change. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child 
 AND STUDENT LOANS support, or if the Alaska Commission on Post-Secondary Education has determined you are in loan 

default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child  
Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Post-Secondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 
1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 

PUBLIC INFORMATION Please be aware that all information on this reinstatement form will be available to the public unless 
required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 

BUSINESS LICENSES Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about 
business licenses, call (907) 465-2550.  On-line renewal is now available. 
Internet address:  http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing.aspx 

CHECK APPROPRIATE  ACTIVE REGISTRATION $150.00 
STATUS BOX    Architect        Engineer  Land Surveyor  Landscape Architect 

Title:  Mr.  Ms.  Mrs. (Optional)  

Name: 
Last First Middle 

Daytime Telephone Number:  Registration Number, if known: 

Social Security Number:  Date of Birth:  
(Required by AS 08.01.100) - If you are a foreign citizen unable to obtain a United States Social Security Number, please contact the division for further 
instructions. 

Corrected Mailing Address (complete only if your address is different than the address label shown above or if there is no label 
above). 

Street or P.O. Box City State ZIP Code 

Email: 
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OTHER INFORMATION: 
Incomplete applications or insufficient fees will result in your reactivation application being rejected. 

Other Requirements under 12 AAC 36.165: 

(e) An applicant for reinstatement of an expired certificate of registration shall meet the requirements of 12 AAC 36.110(a) unless the 
applicant was originally registered in the state based on an acceptable treatise. 

(f) Notwithstanding (b) of this section, the board may require an applicant for reinstatement who has been sanctioned for any of the 
conduct described in 12 AAC 36.320 in the ten years preceding the application for reinstatement to be re-examined under 12 AAC 
36.100. 

GENERAL INFORMATION QUESTIONS – (AS 08.48.111) 
The following questions must be answered.  "Yes" answers may not automatically result in registration denial. 
Since the date of your last application for registration or renewal as an Alaska architect, engineer, land surveyor, 
or landscape architect:   YES  NO 

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime?
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense,
including but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI),
driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.
“Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered
a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended
imposition of sentence, or a fine.

2. Have you been found guilty of misconduct, dishonesty, fraud, incompetence, and/or gross
negligence in the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture
or had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned,
or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation,
reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection
with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and that of any
military authorities or is any such action pending?

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper and 
send supporting documents that are applicable (police reports, court records, etc.)  Your application will not be processed until all 
required documents are received. 

All information provided with your response will be considered public information unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal 
law. 

Continuing Education: By my signature below I certify that I have complied with the continuing education requirements pursuant to12 AAC 
36.500 – 12 AAC 36.550. 

WARNING: The Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers and Land Surveyors may deny, suspend, or revoke the registration of a 
person who has obtained or attempted to obtain a registration to practice architecture, engineering, land surveying, or 
landscape architecture by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to criminal charges for unsworn falsification (AS 
11.56.210). 

I certify that the information in this reinstatement form is true and correct. 

SIGN HERE 
Applicant's Signature 

Date: 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

Expired Certificates 

12 AAC 36.165 (b). An expired certificate of registration may be reinstated by 
(1) Applying for reinstatement on a form provided by the department, paying the appropriate fee in 12 AAC 02.110, and providing 

verification of having passed an examination that 
(A) meets the applicable requirements of 12 AAC 36.100; 
(B) the applicant for registration of an expired engineering certificate took to qualify for registration in this state before April 1967; or 
(C) the applicant took to qualify for registration in another licensing jurisdiction; or 

(2) reapplying to the board for registration by comity as required in 12 AAC 36.103 – 12 AAC 36.109 and paying the appropriate fee. 

Social Security Requirement 

If you are a foreign citizen unable to obtain a United States Social Security Number, please contact the division for further instructions. 

NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES 
If you would like to receive notice of all proposed architect, engineer, land surveyor, and landscape architect regulation changes, please send a written 

request to add your name to the Board of Architects, Engineers, and Land Surveyors Interested Parties List to: 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers and Land Surveyors 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2540 
Fax:  (907) 465-2974 

E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

REINSTATEMENT CHECKLIST 

Please use this checklist to assure that you have completed or requested all required documentation. 

REINSTATING A REGISTRATION THAT HAS BEEN IN LAPSED STATUS FOR MORE THAN FIVE YEARS 
(EXPIRED REGISTRATION): 

1. Completed reinstatement form, including answering the Professional Fitness Questions on Page 2.  Any “Yes”
answers must have supporting documents submitted.

2. Fees:  $150 biennial registration fee. Make check payable to “State of Alaska.”

3. Verification of examination taken that meets the requirements of 12 AAC 36.165(b)(1)(A), (B), or (C).

If you have already provided this verification with your original application, and the Division still has access to
your original file, you do not need to duplicate it.

If your file is no longer available, you will need to submit verification of proof of passing examinations that
comply with the requirements of 12 AAC 36.165(b)(1)(A), (B), or (C);

OR 

In place of #1, #2, and #3, reapply to the board for registration by comity as required by 12 AAC 36.103-.109. 

(Website forms are available at http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicense/
BoardofArchitectsEngineersandLandSurveyors.aspx.  Click on initial applications and scroll to the appropriate form.) 

Note: Verification of examination or registration must be submitted directly from the licensing jurisdiction where 
examinations were taken on where registration is held to the Juneau office at the address or fax number given 
above. 

08-4494 (Rev. 12/12/13) 



State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers and Land Surveyors 

333 Willoughby Avenue 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2540 

Fax:  (907) 465-2974 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

VERIFICATION OF REGISTRATION AND EXAMINATION 

APPLICANT:  REGISTRATION BOARDS REQUIRE THAT YOU INCLUDE A STAMPED, ADDRESSED ENVELOPE WITH THIS 
VERIFICATION, WHICH MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE STATE ISSUING ORIGINAL REGISTRATION AND RETURNED DIRECTLY 
TO THE ALASKA BOARD AT THE ADDRESS GIVEN ABOVE.  TOP PORTION TO BE FILLED IN BY THE APPLICANT: 

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF BOARD 
 SUBMITTING THIS VERIFICATION  (Applicant Name) 

(Mailing Address) 

(City) (State) (ZIP Code) 

(Telephone Number) 

(SS#) (Date of Birth) 

THIS PORTION TO BE FILLED IN BY THE VERIFYING BOARD: 

 I. The above-named person was/is registered as: 
 Cert.  Date Valid 

Number Issued Until 

Professional Engineer in   
 (list discipline) 

Professional Land Surveyor 

Professional Architect 

Professional  Landscape Architect 

II. Exam Verification

The above-named person passed the following examination(s):
 NCEES: 

1.  Written Examination: Hours  Results  YES/NO Exam Date 

FE 

Discipline: PE 

FS 

PS 
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Applicant Name: 

Written Exam (continued): 

NCARB A.R.E. Division: 

CLARB L.A.R.E Division: 

OTHER (use back if needed): 

2. Oral Examination:  PE:  hrs. PS:  hrs. A.R.E:   hrs. L.A.R.E.:   hrs. 

3. FE/FS accepted from:  

PE/PS accepted from: 

4. Other:  

III. Has any disciplinary action been taken on this license?  No  Yes (Please explain on reverse side) 

IV. Remarks:

BY: 

TITLE: 

STATE: (BOARD SEAL) 

DATE: 
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Phone:  (907) 465-2550 
Fax: (907) 465-2974 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 
For security purposes, please do not email credit card information.  Fax or mail this form to the Division. 
Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the division processes the information contained 
herein. If any information on this form is illegible, the form will be rejected.  Please print. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee:  
    Corporate or Individual (first, middle, last) 

License Number (if applicable): 

Type of License:  

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): 
Amount 

  Application fee 

  License (or renewal) fee 

  Fine 

 Other (specify): 

          Total: 

Print Name on Credit Card:  

Complete Mailing Address:  

Telephone Number:  

Email Address (optional):  

Credit Card Type (check one):           VISA   MASTERCARD 

Signature of Credit Card Holder: 

Card Number: ____________________________________   Expiration Date: _____________ 

The bottom section of this form will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

Form 08-4438 (Rev. 11/03/11) 
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