
08-4163  Rev 03/29/19  Instructions Page 1 of 2

The following documents and fees must be on file with the division before the file will be reviewed: 

1. APPLICATION: Completed, signed and notarized application (Form 08-4163). An applicant with a “yes” answer to one or more
professional conduct questions must submit a separate written, signed and dated explanation and provide copies of any supporting
documents.

2.

 

3. RELEASE:  Completed Authorization for Release of Records form (provided below).

4. CHOOSE TO APPLY FOR CERTIFICATION BY:

Endorsement  
If the jurisdiction from which you are using your credentials to apply in Alaska is not in compliance with the provision of Title XI of 
the Financial Institutions Reforms Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA of 1989) as determined by the Appraisal Subcommittee 
(ASC). State compliance reviews will be conducted administratively. 

Reciprocity 
If the jurisdiction from which you are using your credentials to apply in Alaska is in compliance with the provision of Title XI of the 
Financial Institutions Reforms Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA of 1989) as determined by the Appraisal Subcommittee 
(ASC). State compliance reviews will be conducted administratively.      

Examination   
If you hold a Bachelor’s degree, have completed core curriculum requirements, and are requesting Board approval to take the 
Uniform State General Certification Examination endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraiser Foundation.  

Residential Transition   
If you currently hold credentials as  a certified residential real estate appraiser and have obtained a bachelor’s degree, completed 
100 core curriculum hours, and have completed 1,500 hours in non-residential appraisal experience. You will be asked to submit an 
appraisal report if your application is approved by the Board and it is determined that you are eligible to take the Uniform State 
General Certification Examination.  

Trainee Transition  
If you currently hold a certification/registration as a trainee appraiser and have obtained a bachelor’s degree, completed 225 core 
curriculum hours, and have completed 1,500 hours in non-residential appraisal experience. You will be asked to submit an appraisal 
report if your application is approved by the Board and it is determined that you are eligible to take the Uniform State General 
Certification Examination. 

CERTIFICATION BY ENDORSEMENT: In addition to the fees, release and application, the following items must be on file before the board will 
consider an application for a certificate by endorsement; 

1. Copy of examination results as proof of successful completion of the Uniform State General Certification Examination endorsed by
the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation.

2. Licensure Verification Form sent from applicant or state agency from at least one jurisdiction in which the applicant holds or has held
a real estate appraiser certificate or license (attached).

a. The state from which the applicant is endorsing must have certification requirements substantially equivalent to Alaska's
requirements, i.e., 300 creditable hours of classroom instruction, 3,000 hours of work experience and successful completion
of an approved examination.

b. The verification must confirm that the applicant is not the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before an
authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers' association.

3. Authorization for Release of Records   (attached).

               

            Real Estate Appraisers Program 
              PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
              Email: license@alaska.gov 

              Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

Application For General Real Estate Appraiser Certification 

FEES:
Nonrefundable Application Fee $150 
Initial Certification Fee $350 
Federal Registry Fee  $80 

Total Fees Due $580 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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CERTIFICATION BY RECIPROCITY: In addition to the fees, release and application, the following must be on file before the Board will consider an 
application for a certificate by examination as a general real estate appraiser: 

1. Application: Completed, signed and notarized application. An applicant with a “yes” answer to one or more professional conduct
questions must submit a separate written, signed and dated explanation and provide copies of any supporting documents.

2. Certification/License Requirements: An applicant for certification as a general real estate appraiser by reciprocity must hold a
valid certificate or license from a state whose requirements for real estate appraiser certification meets or exceeds those required in
AS 08.87.110(c) and 12 AAC 70.106.

3. Certification/License Verification sent from the applicant or state licensing agency from at least one jurisdiction where the
applicant holds or has held a real estate appraiser certificate or license.

a. The State from which the applicant is endorsing must have certification requirements substantially equivalent to Alaska's
requirements, i.e., 300 creditable classroom hours of education, 3,000 hours of work experience and successful completion
of an approved examination.

b. The verification must confirm that the applicant is not the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before an
authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers' association.

4. Authorization for Release of Records   (attached).

CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION: In addition to the fees, release and application, the following must be on file before the Board will consider an 
application for a certificate by examination as a general real estate appraiser: 

1. Official Transcripts: notarized copies of certificates of completion, or other evidence of course completion acceptable to the board, that
verify classroom hours of education required in 12 AAC 70.115 (see below).

2. Core Curriculum: An applicant for certification as a general real estate appraiser shall document satisfactory completion of 300
creditable classroom hours of instruction that meet the requirements in 12 AAC 70.140 with emphasis on appraisal of nonresidential
properties, and specified in the following core curriculum.

a. basic appraisal principles, 30 hours;
b. basic appraisal procedures, 30 hours;
c. 15-hour National USPAP course taught by an Appraiser Qualifications Board Certified Instructor;
d. general appraiser market analysis and the principle of the highest and best use of property, 30 hours;
e. statistics, modeling, and finance, 15 hours;
f. general appraiser sales comparison and income approaches, 30 hours;
g. general appraiser site valuation and cost approach, 30 hours;
h. general appraiser income approach, 60 hours;
i. general appraiser report writing and case studies, 30 hours;
j. appraisal subject matter electives, 30 hours, and may include hours over the minimum of the course topics required.

 

3. Degree Requirements: A bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university;

4. Work Experience: Three forms completed by a combination of three different individuals referenced in 12 AAC 70.110 (form enclosed)
verifying 3,000 hours of experience with at least 1,500 hours in nonresidential work obtained continuously over a period of not less than
18 months. An applicant may not receive credit for more than 1,250 hours of experience in real property appraisal in a 12-month period;

5. Completed Work Verification Log: Document appraisal work. Please do not submit work products (appraisal report) at time of
application. The Board or Board Designee will select products for review.

6. Examination: Copy of examination results as proof of successful completion of the Uniform State General Certification Examination
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraiser Foundation. The Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
currently utilizes as its testing agent Pearson Education, Inc., which administers both the Certified Residential Appraiser test and the
Certified General Appraiser test. For specific information regarding the examination, contact: For information regarding the examination,
contact: Pearson Vue, 800-274-7488.

7. Authorization for Release of Records   (attached).

RESIDENTIAL TRANSITION: In addition to the fees, release and application, the following must be on file before the Board will consider an application 
for a certified residential real estate appraiser to transition to a general real estate appraiser: 

1. Core Curriculum: 100 hours of hours related to general real estate appraising

2. Authorization for Release of Records (attached).

TRAINEE TRANSITION: In addition to the fees, release and application, the following must be on file before the Board will consider an application for a 
certified trainee to transition to a general real estate appraiser 

1. Core Curriculum: 225 additional hours of education per 12 AAC 70.115(a); d-j under “2” of exam directions above.

2. Determination of Competency (attached)

3. Authorization for Release of Records (attached).

4. Degree Requirements: A bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university.

http://pearsonvue.com/
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The amount of time it takes to process the application varies, depending on when all complete and correct documents and fees are received by the division.  
If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees.  When the application is complete and 
correct, all supporting documents have been received, and all fees have been paid, a license will be issued and sent to you with an accompanying cover 
letter with further information about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written explanation of the basis of that 
denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. 

CERTIFICATE TERM:  
Certificates are issued for a two-year period. However, all real estate certificates expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of 
issuance, except certificates or licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will 
be mailed at least 30 days before the certificate expiration to the last known address of record. 

FINGERPRINTING: 
For programs requiring fingerprinting please be advised that processing is performed by the Department of Public Safety and they require about two months 
for processing, so plan accordingly. 

“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied.  If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness question in the 
application be sure to submit an explanation and documentation. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name.  Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the division’s website.  The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence.  The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an 
individual.  If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the division for a copy of the form. 

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EXAMINATION: 
Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act.  If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination you must submit an Application for Examination 
Accommodations for Candidates with Disabilities form (08-4214). 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the initial application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal 
law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under 
License Search. 

ABANDONMENT:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid, however the application fee will 
not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that time frame, no refund will be issued. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support 
Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  
BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program is available on the division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov. If you are unable to 
download the statutes and regulations, please contact the division and request a copy by mail. 

NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulations changes for your program please send a request in writing with your name, preferred 
contact method (mail or e-mail) and the program you want to be updated on to: 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

! General Information 

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
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APR 

Real Estate Appraisers Program 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Application 

PART I Application Type and Payment of Fees

Applying by: 
   Endorsement, State of    Reciprocity, State of  

   Examination     Residential Transition      Trainee Transition 

Fees Due: 
Nonrefundable Application Fee 

Initial Certification Fee 

Federal Registry Fee        ($40 per year) 

$150 

$350 

$80 

Make checks payable to: State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form. TOTAL:   $580

PART II Personal Information 

Full Legal Name 
Last  First    Middle 

Other Names Used 
(nicknames or maiden names) 

Mailing Address 

Address 

City   State    ZIP Code  

Telephone 
Work Home 

Date of Birth Gender 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I 
understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial 
information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address: 
   Send my Correspondence by Email 
   Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and 
will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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PART III License / Certificate History    (For Endorsement and Reciprocity Applicants Only) 
 Are you currently licensed or certified in another state?   Yes   No 

 List all states or jurisdictions in which you are currently or ever have been licensed or certified: 

License / Certificate Number State Expiration Date 

Exam Passed Location Date 

National Uniform Licensing and Certification Exam 

ENDORSEMENT APPLICANTS: 

You must provide a copy of the following certificate: 

AQB-approved certified general real property appraiser examination (12 AAC 08.87.110(h)) 
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PART IV Statutory Education Requirement (Exam and Trainee Transition Applicants Only) 
DEGREE REQUIREMENT 12 AAC 70.115(a) 
12 AAC 70.115(a): An applicant must hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher. Send official transcripts to the Division. 

School Degree Date Degree Receive 

 —  AND  —    
Per 12 AAC 70.115(b) an applicant for certification as a general real estate appraiser BY EXAMINATION shall 
document satisfactory completion of 300 creditable classroom hours of instruction that meet the requirements in 12 
AAC 70.140 with emphasis of general properties, and specified in the following core curriculum. 

TRAINEES: Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 
1989, the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) established the following requirements for an applicant to transition 
from a certified trainee appraiser to a certified general real estate appraiser.  

Trainee appraisers transitioning to a certified general real estate appraiser must document completion of  
4-10 below for 225 additional hours:

Required Courses Course Sponsor Course # Date Hours 

a. Basic Appraisal Principles 

Hours Required:  30 

b. Basic Appraisal Procedures
Hours Required:  30 

c. 15-Hour National USPAP Course or
Equivalent
Hours Required:  15 

d. General Market Analysis and the Principle
of Highest and Best Use of Property
Hours Required:  30 

e. Statistics, Modeling and Finance
Hours Required:  15 

f. General Sales Comparison Approach
Hours Required:  30 

g. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost
Approach
Hours Required:  30 

h. General Income Approach
Hours Required:  60 

i. General Report Writing and Case Studies
Hours Required:  30 

j. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives
Hours Required:  30 

Are the required course completion certificates attached?   Yes   No 
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PART V Required Core Curriculum     (Residential Transition Applicants Only) 
Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, the 
Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) established the following requirements for an applicant to transition from a 
certified residential real estate appraiser to a certified general real estate appraiser. 

Required Courses Course Sponsor Course # Date 
Completed 

Hours 
Completed 

1. General Appraiser Market Analysis and
Highest and Best Use
Hours Required:  15 

2. General Appraiser Sales Comparison and
Income Approaches
Hours Required:  15 

3. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost
Approach
Hours Required:  15 

4. General Appraiser Income Approach
Hours Required:  45 

5. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case
Studies
Hours Required:  10 

Total Hours: 100 Hours 

Are the required course completion certificates attached?   Yes   No 
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12 AAC 70.100 (5) requires an applicant to attest subject to the penalties of unsworn falsification as defined in AS 
11.56.210, a list of crimes described in AS 08.87.110 and AS 08.87.210 for which the applicant has been convicted. 

A “Yes” answer may not prejudice your application, failure to answer honestly may.  If you answered “Yes” to any of the 
below questions, please explain dates, locations and circumstances on a separate piece of paper.  Also, submit 
any/all supporting documents that are applicable (court records, board actions, investigation notices, etc.). 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude?  Yes  No 

2. Have you ever had a real estate appraiser license/certification revoked, suspended, 
denied, surrendered, or otherwise acted upon in any state or jurisdiction?  Yes  No 

3. Are you the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before an
authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers
association?

 Yes  No 

4. Have you committed, or had a lawsuit filed against you, while acting as a real
estate appraiser, an act or omission involving dishonesty, fraud, or
misrepresentation?

 Yes  No 

5. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing
a crime?  For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony,
or military offense, including but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI)
or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or
driving with a suspended or revoked license.  “Convicted” includes having been
found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo
contender or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition
of sentence, or a fine.

Yes No 

6. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license,
been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a
settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you
have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military
authorities or is an such action pending?

Yes No 

PART VI Professional Fitness Questions

PART VII     Notarized Signature ART
I certify that the information in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. The Division may deny, 
suspend or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The 
person may also be subject to criminal charges for perjury or unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

Signature of Applicant: Name of Applicant: 

Notary Public for the State of: My Commission Expires: 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on this day: 

Notary Stamp 
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  Real Estate Appraisers Program 
        PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

        Phone: (907) 465-3811 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov

        Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

 Authorization for Release of Records ART VIII 

To Whom It May Concern: 

I,_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 First Name  Middle Name    Last Name 

residing at ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Address   City  State   ZIP Code 

authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its 
investigators to examine my medical, dental, employment, and education records, and any records 
pertaining to litigation, suits, judgments and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records 
pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them.  I also expressly 
permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators. 

I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered 
appropriate by the Division in connection with an official investigation and to provide copies of my 
records to those persons or organizations considered appropriate by the division. 

This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to 
psychiatric, drug or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis, or treatment received by me and which were 
prepared or made in conjunction with, or under the authority or guidance of any local, state, or 
federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis or treatment. 

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a certified true copy of it, that you provide 
copies of those records to the Division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office 
of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 

This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for issuance of a certificate 
as a real estate appraiser. This authorization expires one year from the date of my signature 
below. 

Signature: _____________________________________________________________     Date: __________________________________________ 

Home Telephone: _____________________________________       Work Telephone: _______________________________________ 
                                              

 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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  Real Estate Appraisers Program 
     PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

     Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov

     Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

Verification of Licensure/Certification RT IX 

Name and Address of Applicant 
____________________________________________________________________________________
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

TO STATE LICENSING BOARD:  I, the applicant, am applying for a certification to practice as a general 
real estate appraiser in the State of Alaska. The Alaska Real Estate Appraisers Program requires that this 
form be completed by each jurisdiction in which I hold or have held licenses/certificates. The state boards 
must complete the bottom section of this form and return it directly to the above address. The State of 
Alaska will also accept a standard computer verification that provides substantially the same information. 

—    —    —    THIS PART TO BE COMPLETED BY THE LICENSING BOARD    —    —    —
Name of Licensee / 
Certificate Holder Date of Birth: 

License / Certificate 
Number 

Original 
Issue Date: State: 

Certificate Type 
Date by Endorsement: Date by Reciprocity: Date by Examination: 

Exam Source 
(If applicable) Date of Exam: 

Is the License / 
Certificate Current? 

 Yes Lapse Date: Expiration Date: 
 No 

Is the applicant the subject of an unresolved complaint or ongoing disciplinary action? * Yes
No

Has the applicant's license/certificate ever been suspended, revoked, voluntarily 
surrendered, placed on probation, or restricted in any other way? 

* Yes
No

* If yes, please provide a copy of the disciplinary action document.

Comments (if any) 
 

BOARD SEAL  
(All verifications must have a board seal) 

   Sign and Date: _____________________________________________________________________ 

   State Board and Title: ___________________________________________________________ 

   Email: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

   Contact Phone Number: ________________________________________________________ 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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Applicant’s Name 

Reference: This bottom part must be completed by the reference and returned directly to the Division at the
letterhead address. 

1. Dates I was professionally associated with the above-named applicant:

 Begin Date:        End Date: 

2. My professional relationship to the applicant is:

Licensed construction contractor An officer of a state or federal agency 
Federal of state regulated lender Present or former employer of the applicant 
An officer of a company that customarily uses the services of a real estate appraiser who has recent 
knowledge of the applicant’s experience on that company’s behalf. 

3. I certify that I was professionally associated with the applicant and the applicant has at least 3,000 hours of
experience obtained within a 30-month period, at least 1,500 hours in nonresidential appraisal work.

  Real Estate Appraisers Program 
     PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

     Phone: (907) 465-3811  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov

     Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

Verification of Work Experience (For Examination & Transition Applicants Only) 
  

Verification of 3,000 hours of appraisal work obtained in no fewer than 18 months (at least 1,500 hours in 
nonresidential appraisal work) must be certified by a combination of at least three different individuals referenced 
below: 
If an applicant cannot, for good cause, provide work experience forms from at least three different individuals, the 
board may, consider and approve other kinds of work experience verification.  

An applicant may not receive credit for more than 1,250 hours of experience in real property appraisal in a 12-
month period. 

Signature of Reference: 

Notary Public for the State of: 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on this day: 

Signature of Notary Public: 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

Notary Stamp 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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            Real Estate Apraisers Program 
              PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
              Email: license@alaska.gov 

              Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateAppraisers 

Determination of Competency   
(For trainees transitioning to certified general real estate appraiser) 

To be completed and submitted to the division by the supervisory appraiser within 10 days of the competency 
determination date.     
 12 AAC 70.935(c)(3) 

Trainee Appraiser Name Certificate # 

Supervisor Name Certificate # 

Supervision Start Date Determination 
Date 

During the above-stated period I have determined that the above real estate appraiser trainee has demonstrated 
his/her ability under the Competency Rule which states in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice that 
an appraiser must: 

1. be competent to perform the assignment;

2. aquire necessary competency to perform the assignment, or;

3. decline or withdraw from the assignment.

 I observed that this trainee real estate appraiser has demonstrated: 

 The ability to properly identify the problem to be addressed, and;     

 The knowledge and experience to complete the assignment competency and; 

 Recognition of, and compliance with, laws and regulations that apply to the appraiser or to the assignment. 

Signature: ________________________________________________________   

Date:_____________________________________________________________ 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers


08-4163e  Rev 07/02/19   Work Log Verification Guidelines 

WORK LOG VERIFICATION GUIDELINES 
Please use the following guide when completing the work verification log.  The purpose of this log is for the board to determine the 
diversity and complexity of work experience and to verify the appropriate number of work hours. Please note that for EXAMINATION 
applications, the Board will randomly select work products to determine USPAP compliance, which must be submitted to the 
Board before a certificate is issued. The work products will be selected based on these forms.  

Part One Guidelines 

Report Date: The month and year the appraisal report was completed. 

Subject Property Address: This is the common name/location of the property, i.e., George's Office Tower, 
Anchorage, Alaska.  Please be very clear so the board can understand the property being appraised. 

Report Type: Please check appropriate format for report, i.e., Restricted Report or Appraisal Report. 

Property Classification: Indicate the type of property classification (Key included on next page). 

Client Named in Report: Name of client or entity for which the report was prepared. 

Work Hours: Indicate total number of hours spent on inspection research, analysis, and preparation of report.  Do 
not include hours which someone else spent. Travel time to and from properties are not to be included in hours 
listed on report.

Part Two Guidelines 

Trainee Appraiser: For each criterion (I – X), the trainee appraiser shall indicate whether they contributed to the 
specific appraisal criteria by writing, “T” in the appropriate line for each property documented.  

Supervisory Appraiser: For each criterion (I – X), the supervisory appraiser shall indicated on the appropriate line for 
each property documented whether they had the following responsibilities:     

- Primary Responsibility  Write “P”
- Co-Appraiser  Write “C”
- Reviewed and Approved  Write “R”

For criterion XI indicate the approximate number as described below under experience category. 
Criterion Includes: 

I. Inspected property
II. Developed Building Description and Analysis

III. Neighborhood Description and Market Analysis
IV. Developed the Highest and Best Use
V. Collected, Verified and Analyzed Data

VI. Developed Income Approach
VII. Developed Cost Approach

VIII. Developed Sales Comparison
IX. Developed Final Reconciliation
X. Other (attach an explanation on a separate piece of paper)

XI. Experience Category: Indicate on the line the numeric value associated with each experience type (described
below):

1.) Fee and Staff Appraisal 
2.) Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal 
3.) Review Appraisal 
4.) Appraisal Analysis 
5.) Real Estate Counseling 
6.) Highest and Best Use Analysis 
7.) Feasibility Analysis 
8.) Setting forth opinions of value of real property for tax purposes as an employee of a county assessor or Board of 

Equalization 
9.) Assistance in preparation of appraisals 
10.) Real estate valuation experience as a real estate lending officer or real estate broker, but only to the extent that the 

experience is directly related to the actual performance or professional review of real estate appraisals.
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PART ONE: 
Report Type:  Restricted Report = RR   Appraisal Report = AR 

Property Classification:   
 

Report 
Date Subject Property Address Report 

Type 
Property 

Classification 
Client Named in 

Report 
Work 
Hours 
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PART TWO: 

Trainee Appraiser: For each criterion I through X, indicate to which portions of the 
assignment you contributed by writing “T” in the line designated for Trainee Appraisers. 
Supervisory Appraiser: For criterion I through X, indicate to which portions of the 
assignment you contributed by writing “P” (Had Primary Responsibility), “C” (Co-appraised),  
or “R” (Reviewed and Approved) in the line designated for Supervisory Appraisers.  

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers  
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Telephone: (907) 465-3811 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: professionallicense.alaska.gov 

Name: ___________________________________________   Certificate #: _________________ 

Signature: _______________________________________   Date Signed: _________________ 

Hours Requested on This Page ______________         Total Hours: ________________ 

Supervisory Appraiser Name: ___________________________________________  Certificate Number: ________________ 

Supervisory Appraiser Signature: ________________________________________   Date: ________________ 

Assignments for Month of: _____________________ 
 (Complete a Work Verification Log for each month) 

WORK VERIFICATION LOG 
Page # ______of #________ 

Commercial Building = CB     Commercial & Office Land = CL    Farm/Forest Land = FL 
FL with Residential/Farm-Use Equipment = FR    Industrial & Business Campus Land = IL 
Industrial Warehouse & Manufacturing Building = IB          Multi-Family Small 2-4 Units = MFS 
Multi-Family Large 5+ Units = MFL      Multi-Family Land = ML           Office Buildings = OB 
Residential Single-Family Land including Subdivision Potential and Multiple Lot Sales = RL 
Single-Family Residential = SFR     Other = OT – specify______________________________ 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/


All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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