
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Your license to practice as a real estate appraiser in the State of Alaska lapses on June 30, 2015. It is illegal for you to 
practice if your license has lapsed.  There is no grace period.  To renew your license for the period from July 1, 2015, 
through June 30, 2017, return this signed and dated application to the above address with a check or money order payable 
to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form.  Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted. 
This is the only renewal notice you will receive.  Incomplete applications or insufficient fees will result in your renewal 
being rejected. 
 
PROCESSING TIME: The processing time for a correct and completed renewal application can be three to four weeks after 
receipt.  Plan accordingly to ensure processing by the expiration date of June 30, 2015. 
 
MAILED RENEWAL FORMS: If you received this renewal application in the mail with a barcode in the upper right hand 
corner of the first page, do not duplicate this form for another professional’s use.  The barcode is specific to your name 
and license number.  Forms without the barcode are available on our website at:  
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers 
 

 

 

 

 

            APR 

 

BIENNIAL CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSE RENEWAL 

Applying for:                General                                Residential 

Check 
Appropriate 
Box 

 

                  Federal Registry Fee     ($40 per calendar year) 
       Biennial License Renewal 
       Prorated License    (License number 972 and above) 

 

$80 
$1050 

$525 
Make checks payable to: State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form. 

PART I Personal Identification Information 

Full Legal Name 
Last                                                                                 First                                                          Middle 

All Other Names Used 

Last                                                                                 First                                                          Middle 

Legal Name Changes 

(Document changes) 

Last                                                                                 First                                                          Middle 

 

 

 

 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY ALASKA of 
THE STATE 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Real Estate Appraisers Program, PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550 • Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers 
 

  

  

  

July 1, 2015 — June 30, 2017 
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The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, 
and send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.). 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 

Since your last Alaska real estate appraiser license was issued: 
1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a 

crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a 
military offense, including but not limited to, a conviction involving driving under the 
influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, 
reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.  “Convicted” 
includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a 
plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a 
suspended imposition of sentence or a fine. 

 Yes   No 

2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, 
been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a 
settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you 
have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military 
authorities or is any such action pending? 

 Yes   No 

3. Have you been or are you the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary 
action before an authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real 
estate appraisers association? 

 Yes   No 

4. Have you committed, or had a lawsuit filed against you, while acting as a real 
estate appraiser, an act or omission involving dishonesty, fraud or 
misrepresentation? 

 Yes   No 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION: Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continuing education 
requirements in Article 2 of 12 AAC 70.  (See attached regulations.) 

RANDOM AUDIT: The board will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for 
audit you will be required to submit copies of certificates as proof that you satisfied the continuing education 
requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Save your documents for at least 4 years so you can respond to 
audits. 

LATE RENEWAL APPLICANTS:  If you failed to complete the required hours of continuing education between July 1, 
2013 and June 30, 2015, you must submit a letter of explanation and copies of course certificates, along with the 
completed renewal form and renewal fee. 

 

PART I Personal Identification Information  (continued from Page 1) 

Mailing Address 
 

Check box if this is an 
address change  

Address 

City                                                                                    State                                                         Zip Code 

Daytime Phone               Date of Birth  

E-Mail Address 

(Optional) 
 

APPLICANT: As required by state law, please provide your United States Social 
Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not for 
public disclosure; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) 

Social Security Number 

PART II Professional Fitness 
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PART III Compliance Statement 
BY CHECKING THE APPROPRIATE BOX BELOW YOU ARE VERIFYING YOUR COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONTINUING 
COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS OF ARTICLE 2 OF 12 AAC 70. 

 License 1 through 932: I certify that in accordance with Article 2 of 12 AAC 70 I have obtained 28 hours of continuing education 
as well as satisfactorily completed a 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (the 7-hour course may be a part of the 28 hours) 
during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2015. 

 
 

 License 933 through 1007: I certify that in accordance with Article 2 of 12 AAC 70 I have obtained 14 hours of continuing 
education during the concluding licensing period July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2015. 

 
 

 License 1008 and above: I certify that I have held my license less than 185 days and am not required to comply with continuing 
education requirements for this renewal only. 

 
 

Late Renewal Applicant: I certify that I completed some or all my hours of continuing education after June 30, 2015. I have 
attached a letter of explanation and copies of certificates documenting completion of continuing education.  Under 12 AAC 
02.965, I understand that hours earned after June 30, 2015 may not be used for the subsequent renewal period. 

PART IV Signature 

WARNING: The Department may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or is attempting to 
obtain a license to practice as a real estate appraiser by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subject to criminal 
charges for unsworn falsification (AS 11.56.200). 

I certify the information in this application is true and correct, including the attached continuing education documentation. 

 
                                                          
                                            Signature of Applicant                                                                                         Date 
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EXPIRED LICENSES: There is no “inactive” license status.  Licenses which have expired more than five years cannot be renewed. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF RENEWED LICENSE: The effective date of a renewed license will be the date a complete renewal application is filed with the division as determined by 
12 AAC 02.920 and 12 AAC 02.940. 
 
CONTINUED COMPETENCY: Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 70 (see page below). 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: In accordance with AS 08.01.100, the department is not authorized to renew a license unless the applicant's social security number has been 
provided to the department. If you do not have a social security number you may download the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form or contact 
the division. If you previously qualified for a waiver to this requirement, you must still requalify to renew. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the 
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child 
Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION: Please be aware that all information on this renewal form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES: Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at: 
BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 
 
ABANDONMENT: An application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant (12 AAC 
02.910).  An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. 
 
 
 
 

 
 

NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES 
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers regulation changes, please send a written 
request adding your name to the Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers interested parties list to: 

 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
12 AAC 70.200. APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE OR SEMINAR APPROVAL.  
 
(a) A person or an organization wishing to sponsor a real estate appraisal continuing education course or seminar shall apply for board approval of that course or seminar by 
submitting  

(1) a completed application on forms provided by the department;  
(2) any fees required in 12 AAC 02.370;  
(3) the following information:  

(A) a complete course description, including the course or seminar title and a description of the learning objectives;  
(B) an outline of the major topics covered by the course or seminar and the number of classroom hours allowed for each topic;  
(C) the name of the course or seminar provider;  
(D) repealed 6/22/2005;  
(E) a copy of the attendance policy and a description of the procedures used for keeping a record of attendance;  
(F) a course syllabus;  
(G) a list of texts and instructional materials used in the course or seminar;  
(H) the instructor’s résumé that includes the instructor’s  

(i) name;  
(ii) recognition in the real estate appraisal industry; and  
(iii) professional designations and affiliations.  

(b) An applicant for renewal may petition the board for approval of a course or seminar that the applicant believes will meet the requirements of 12 AAC 70.210. 

(c) The board will award up to 10 hours of continuing education credit for nonstudent participation in an educational program as provided for in AS 08.87.120(b)(2). To 
receive credit under this subsection, an applicant for renewal shall provide the documentation necessary to substantiate the applicant’s participation and experience, 
including  

(1) information on the topics covered and the hours spent in the program; and  
(2) documentation that the applicant’s involvement in the program was in the technical and professional aspects of real estate appraisal and that the primary focus of the 

program was directly related to the theories, concepts, principles, practices, techniques, methods, or problems applicable to one or more aspects of real property appraisal.  
(d) Course and seminar approval under this section is valid for three years from the date of approval.  
 

! General Information 

! Continuing Education 

The Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers has adopted changes in real estate appraiser licensing 
requirements to conform to federal law. Those changes are currently pending and are expected to be 

signed into law in the near future. Please check for updated regulations on our webpage at: 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers 
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12 AAC 70.210. APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES AND SEMINARS.  
 
(a) To be approved by the board, the primary focus of a continuing education course or seminar must be directly related to the theories, concepts, principles, practices, 
techniques, methods, or problems applicable to one or more aspects of real property appraisal.  
 
(b) The board will approve a course or seminar on the following topics if the course or seminar meets the requirements of (a) of this section:  

(1) repealed 9/14/2012;  
(2) construction cost estimating;  
(3) ethics and standards of professional appraisal practice;  
(4) land use planning, zoning, and taxation;  
(5) property development;  
(6) real estate appraisal (including valuations and evaluations);  
(7) real estate financing and investment;  
(8) real estate law;  
(9) real estate litigation;  

(10) real estate appraisal related computer applications;  
(11) other topics related to real estate appraisal that are approved by the board.  
 
(c) In addition to the courses approved by the board under 12 AAC 70.200, the following courses are approved for continuing education when they are consistent with (a) of 
this section:  

(1) courses offered by a member organization of The Appraisal Foundation;  
(2) courses offered by a regionally accredited junior college, college, or university; or  
(3) courses approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board Educational Course Review Program.  

 
(d) To be approved by the board, a continuing education course or seminar must include a minimum of two classroom hours, that meet the requirements of (a) of this 
section.  
(e) The board will award continuing education credit for completion of a course by distance education if the course 

(1) meets the requirements of 12 AAC 70.140(f); or  
(2) is a course other than the one that qualifies under (1) of this subsection that  

(A) is presented in a classroom setting with a person who can verify student attendance and is qualified to answer questions and provide information on course 
content; and  
(B) meets the requirements of (a) - (d) of this section.  

(f) Course and seminar approval under this section is valid for three years from the date of approval.  
 

Authority: AS 08.87.020 AS 08.87.120 

12 AAC 70.215. APPROVED ONLINE COURSES. (a) To be approved by the board to meet the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 70.220, the primary purpose 
of an online course must be directly related to the theories, concepts, principles, practices, techniques, methods, or problems applicable to one or more aspects of real 
property appraisal.  
(b) The board will approve an online course on the following topics if the online course meets the requirements of (a) of this section:  

(1) business courses related to real estate appraisal;  
(2) construction cost estimating;  
(3) ethics and standards of professional appraisal practice;  
(4) land use planning, zoning, and taxation;  
(5) property development;  
(6) real estate appraisal, including valuations and evaluations;  
(7) real estate financing and investment;  
(8) real estate law;  
(9) real estate litigation;  

(10) real estate appraisal related computer applications; 
(11) other topics related to real estate appraisal that are approved by the board.  

(c) In addition to the online courses approved by the board under (b) of this section, the following online courses are approved for continuing education if they are consistent 
with (a) of this section:  

(1) courses presented by a regionally accredited junior college, college, or university that offers distance education programs in other disciplines;  
(2) repealed 1/16/2005;  
(3) courses approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board Educational Course Review Program;  
(4) courses offered by a member organization of The Appraisal Foundation.  
 

12 AAC 70.220. HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED. (a) At the time of certificate renewal, an applicant for renewal who has been certified for  
(1) 24 months or more shall document satisfactory completion of at least 28 hours of continuing education;  
(2) at least 185 days, but less than 24 months, shall document satisfactory completion of at least 14 hours of continuing education;  
(3) less than 185 days is not required to meet continuing education requirements for that renewal.  

(b) The board will not recognize continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for renewal for taking the same, or substantially identical, course more than once during 
a certification period.  

(c) Except as provided in (d) of this section, credit is given for classroom and examination hours only and not for hours devoted to class preparation or completion of 
assignments. A classroom hour is defined in 12 AAC 70.910.  

(d) Up to one-half of the hours required by this section may be obtained through distance education approved under 12 AAC 70.210 or online courses approved under 12 
AAC 70.215.  

(e) As part of the requirements of (a)(1) of this section, an applicant for renewal of a certificate shall document satisfactory completion of a 7-hour National USPAP Update 
Course, taught by an Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB) certified instructor or its equivalent, as determined by the board. The board will accept courses determined as 
equivalent by the AQB Course Approval Program. Completion of the 15-hour National USPAP course used for certification under 12 AAC 70.115 may not be used to satisfy the 
continuing education renewal requirements of the 7-hour USPAP Update Course required in this subsection.  

 
12 AAC 70.900.  STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.  The standards of practice for certified real estate appraisers practicing in the state are those specified in AS 08.87.200(3). 

 
EDITOR’S NOTE:  The standards of practice referred to in 12 AAC 70.900 (Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice) are available from the Appraisal 

Foundation, publications department, 1029 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005-3517.  Phone no. (202) 347-7722.  
 

12 AAC 70.910.  DEFINITION OF CLASSROOM HOUR.  For the purposes of this chapter, 
(1) except as provided in 12 AAC 70.145(d)(2)(A) and 12 AAC 70.220(c), one classroom hour equals a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction; 
(2) one academic semester credit hour equals 15 classroom hours; and 
(3) one academic quarter credit hour equals 10 classroom hours. 
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For security purposes please do not email credit card information.  Mail this form with the completed 
renewal to the Division. Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the Division processes the 
information.  If any information on this form is illegible the form will be rejected. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Type of License: _____________________________________________________ License Number (if applicable): _______________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                Amount             

        Application Fee           _______________________         

        License (or renewal) Fee           _______________________         

        Fine                 _______________________         

       Other (specify): ________________________________________________________           _______________________          

                               Total:   _______________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card): _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone: ____________________________________________________ Email (optional): ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Credit Card Type:                    VISA              — or —                      Mastercard 
 

       Signature of Credit Card Holder: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 
VISA or Mastercard Number: ____________________________________________________________  Expiration Date: ______________________________ 

This section below the dotted line will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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