

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, Hairdressers, and Estheticians Apprentice Enrollment Application Instructions

The apprentice <u>MAY NOT</u> begin training until the application is approved by the board and the apprentice has received the student permit from this office. NO HOURS WILL BE CREDITED BEFORE BOARD APPROVAL. **Emailed applications will not be accepted.**

The following must be received by the division before your application for Apprentice Enrollment can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4194, pages 1-2).

2 FFFS

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska" in accordance with 12 AAC 02.140.

Permit Fee (Estheticians): \$100.00
Permit Fee (Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, and Hairdressers) \$125.00
Re-Enrollment Fee (All Types) \$ 5.00

3. STATEMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY

A Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4194a) completed by the licensed instructor. The instructor must hold a current Alaska instructor license.

4. CURRICULUM FORM

An appropriate curriculum form:

- #08-4194b for barbers (12 AAC 09.160)
- #08-4194c for hairdressers (12 AAC 09.160)
- #08-4194d for non-chemical barbers (12 AAC 09.161)
- #08-4194e for estheticians (12 AAC 09.163)

Apprentices, Shop Owners, and Instructors:

Please be advised that in accordance with the statutes of postsecondary education (AS 14.48.030 and 12 AAC 17.015), a shop owner may not charge the apprentice a fee to receive training. If a shop owner charges the apprentice a fee for apprenticing, that shop owner may be acting as a school which requires authorization from postsecondary education.

Shop owners may be required to pay apprentices an hourly wage. For information, contact the Wage and Hour section in the Department of Labor, in Juneau at (907) 465-4842; in Anchorage at (907) 269-4900; or in Fairbanks at (907) 451-2886.

Barber and hairdresser apprentices must obtain a total of 2,000 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the completion of training, the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than 12 months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than two years from the date of its commencement.

Non-chemical barber apprentices must obtain 1,600 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the completion of training, the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than 12 months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than two years from the date of its commencement.

Esthetician (skin care only) apprentices must obtain a total of 350 hours of training under the apprenticeship program. At the completion of training, the apprentice must pass a proficiency test administered by the instructor in accordance with 12 AAC 09.050. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than six months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than one year from the date of its commencement.

An instructor may not sponsor a student-instructor in an apprentice setting. A student-instructor may only receive training in a school.

Instructor: Upon Board approval of the apprenticeship the student permit will be sent to the student. It is your responsibility to complete the quarterly reporting forms in triplicate, keeping one copy for your own records, forwarding the **original** to this office no later than the 15th day after the calendar quarter, and providing one copy to the student. It is your responsibility to be sure that the hours are recorded correctly. The quarterly reporting forms are available online at:

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

An instructor may sponsor no more than two apprentices.

Time Clock: Instructors must provide a time clock in the shop to record the apprentice's attendance.

EXAMINATION INFORMATION:

The written examination is scheduled through Prov. Approved candidates will be notified by this office and Prov that they are ready to schedule their examination. Exam fees will be paid directly to Prov. Candidate bulletin can be found on the Board's website at: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers*.

NIC website: https://nictesting.org/ Prov website: https://provexam.com/

BAH



FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

Barbers, Non-Chemical Barbers, Hairdressers and Estheticians	
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers	
Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov	
Phone: (907) 465-2550	
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811	

Apprentice Enrollment Application

PART I Appl	ication Type				
Enrolling As:	☐ Barber ☐ Esth	hetician [Hairdresser	☐ Non-Cher	mical Barber
Enrollment Type:	☐ Initial Application ☐ ☐ School Transfer From:**	Re-Enrollment with Pre	eviously Earned Numl	ber of Hours:*	
he date of interruption. **Transfer students fron	rupted schooling for a continuous perion a state other than Alaska must cooffice by mail or email boardofbarber	ontact their school/trainin	ng program/state boar		
PART II Pay	ment of Fees				
	Permit Fee (Estheticians)				\$100.00
Required Fees:	Permit Fee (Barbers, Non-G	Chemical Barbers, and	Hairdressers)		\$125.00
	Re-Enrollment or Transfer	Fee			\$ 5.00
Full Legal Name:	sonal Information	First			Middle
provide a certified tru Not Applica				J in a prior name,	you must
Other Name	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Contact Phone:			Date of Birth:		
and Professional Licensing,	oosing to receive correspondence on any m I agree to maintain an accurate email addr good standing may result in an inability to	ress through the MY LICENSE	web page. I understand th	nat failure to check my	y email account or
Email Address:			Select One:	Send my Corresponder Send my Corresponder	•
	Note: If both boxes are selected	above, you will receive co	orrespondence electroi	nically.	
States Social Security Numb	t: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your. It is considered confidential information may be used to verify inter-state licensure	on and will			

PART IV Sho	p Information			
Name of Shop Where Will Apprentice:	You			
Shop Mailing Address	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Shop Physical Addres	Street	City	State	Zip
Shop Phone Number:	:	Shop Owner License Number:		
Name of Instructor Providing Training:		Instructor License Number:		
PART V				
A student who has ir instruction received p	rior to the date of interruption. om a state other than Alaska mo	nuous period of two years or more will not but but the seriod of two years or more will not but the seriod of two years or more will not but the seriod of two years or email: boardofbarbershairdressers@alaska.	ate board, to re	
	•		<i>y</i>	
	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained	Number	of Hours
	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained		of Hours
	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained		of Hours
	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained		of Hours
	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained		of Hours
PART VI Sign	Name of School or Shop When	re Previously Trained		of Hours
				of Hours
	nature			of Hours



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Statement of Responsibility

If the apprentice holds a current student permit for training which was received in another facility, the Board must still approve this apprenticeship before beginning the apprenticeship.

pprentices in particular apprentices in pro-						
Applicant: Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the instructor whom you will be receiving training from.						
Applicant Name:						
Area of Practice:						
→ Instruct	t or: Please co	mplete this bottom	part for the applican	t identified above.		
Instructor Name:				Instructor License Number		
Shop Business Name: (DBA)				Shop Owner License Number		
Shop Physical Addres	Stre	et	City		State	Zip
In accordance with 12	2 AAC 09.190(b), a	an instructor may s	ponsor no more than	two apprentices.	Select one of the	following:
☐ I currently sup	pervise no appren	tices.				
☐ I currently sup	pervise the followi	ng apprentices:				
	Apprenti	ce Name		Stud	lent Permit Numbe	er
I have practiced for at least three years at:						
Shop Na	me		Address		Dates of Emp	loyment

Signature I agree to assume the full responsibility of apprenticing the above-named apprentice in the practice of: Barber Esthetician Hairdresser Non-Chemical Barber This apprenticeship will be held in compliance with the statutes and regulations set forth by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. I have practiced for the last three years and am currently licensed as an instructor with the below license. By my signature below, I understand that the apprentice may not begin training, nor will hours be credited to the student, until the Board approves the apprenticeship application and a permit has been issued. I agree to abide by all statutes and regulations set forth by the Board. I also understand that as required by 12 AAC 09.190(h), I must be physically present in the shop whenever my apprentice is performing work in the shop. I certify that the information provided is true and correct. **Instructor Printed License Number:** Name: Instructor **Date Signed:** Signature:



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Barber Curriculum

An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for barbering must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.160. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(a) for individuals receiving training in the field of barbering under the apprenticeship program is 2,000 hours of instruction (as opposed to the 1,650 hours required in a school). The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations for barbering, keeping in mind the student must receive 2,000 hours of instruction for apprenticeship training.

12 AAC 09.160. BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. (a) A student who is enrolled in a course of barbering or hairdressing must complete a curriculum that consists of at least 1,650 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 185 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, during the 1,650 hours of training.

PART I Barber Training Information

Darber Training information			
Subject	Minimum Number of Practical Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum		
Wet hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, and comb outs.	30		
Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling.	180		
Permanent waving, including hair analysis and chemical waving.	50		
Chemical straightening including hair analysis and the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions. At least one-half of the practical operations required must be operations in which the student has direct hands-on involvement. No more than one-half of the practical operations may be observations during group demonstrations.	10		
Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.	400		
Haircoloring and bleaching, including hair analysis, predisposition test, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, use of dye removers, but not including color rinses.	75		
Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments.	10		
Beard trimming.	50		
Beard shaving.	50		

A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work. In addition to meeting the above requirements, the curriculum required for a barber must include the manicuring curriculum set out in 12 AAC 09.144.

PART II	Signature		
12 AAC 09.160.	e below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.08 If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will ser ded for my student to complete the training.		_
Apprentice Na	me:		
Instructor Signature:		Date Signed:	



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Hairdresser Curriculum

An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for hairdressing must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.160. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(b) for individuals receiving training in the field of hairdressing under the apprenticeship program is 2,000 hours of instruction, (as opposed to the 1,650 hours required in a school.) The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations for hairdressing, keeping in mind the student must receive 2,000 hours of instruction for apprenticeship training.

12 AAC 09.160. HAIRDRESSER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. A student who is enrolled in a course of barbering or hairdressing must complete a curriculum that consists of at least 1,650 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 185 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, during the 1,650 hours of training.

PART I Hairdresser Training Information

Subject	Minimum Number of Practical Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum
Wet hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling and comb outs.	180
Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling.	180
Permanent waving, including hair analysis and chemical waving.	80
Chemical straightening including hair analysis and the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions. At least one-half of the practical operations required must be operations in which the student has direct hands-on involvement. No more than one-half of the practical operations may be observations during group demonstrations.	10
Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.	250
Haircoloring and bleaching, including hair analysis, predisposition test, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, use of dye removers, but not including color rinses.	75
Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments.	10
Beard trimming.	5
Eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the use of wax, manual or electric tweezers and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.	15
Makeup, including skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, and the application of false eyelashes	15
Manicure.	15

A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work. In addition to meeting the above requirements of this section, the curriculum required for a hairdresser must include the manicuring curriculum set out in 12 AAC 09.144.

PART II Sign	nature		
in 12 AAC 09.160. If r	w I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.08 my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will speeded for my student to complete the training.		_
Apprentice Name:			
Instructor Signature:		Date Signed:	



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Non-Chemical Barber Curriculum

An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for non-chemical barbering must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.161. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(a) for individuals receiving training in the field of non-chemical barbering under the apprenticeship program is 1,600 hours of instruction (as opposed to the 1,350 hours required in a school). The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations for non-chemical barbering, keeping in mind the student must receive 1,600 hours of instruction for apprenticeship training.

12 AAC 09.161. NON-CHEMICAL BARBER SCHOOL CURRICULUM. (a) A student who is enrolled in a course of non-chemical barbering must complete a curriculum that consists of at least 1,600 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 185 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law, and the following minimum number of practical operations, during the 1,600 hours of training.

PART I Non-Chemical Barber Training Information

Non-Chemical Barber Training Information			
Subject	Minimum Number of Practical Operations for Hairdresser Curriculum		
Wet hair styling and drying, including/ hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling and comb outs.	30		
Thermal hair styling and drying, including hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling.	180		
Haircutting, including hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.	400		
Scalp and hair treatments, including hair and scalp analysis, brushing, electric and manual scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments.	10		
Beard trimming.	50		
Beard shaving.	50		

A student is responsible for participating in the routine maintenance of the sanitary conditions necessary to conduct business. However, credit may not be given for time spent laundering towels, washing floors, walls, windows, or lavatories or similar work.

PART II Signa

By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the barbering curriculum set out in 12 AAC 09.160. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the practical operations needed for my student to complete the training.

Apprentice Name:		
Instructor Signature:	Date Signed:	



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers

Esthetician Curriculum

An individual receiving apprenticeship instruction for esthetics must receive the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations as specified in 12 AAC 09.163. The minimum hours of instruction required by AS 08.13.082(c) for an individual receiving training in the field of esthetics in the apprenticeship program is 350 hours of training. The curriculum listed below is the minimum hours of theory and minimum number of practical operations for an esthetician.

12 AAC 09.163. ESTHETICIAN SCHOOL CURRICULUM. A student who enrolls in a course of esthetics must complete a curriculum that consists of at least 350 hours of theoretical and practical training. A school shall teach a minimum of 40 hours of theoretical instruction, including five hours in state law and the following minimum number of practical operations during the 350 hours of training.

PART I Esthetician Training Information

Subject	Minimum Number of Practical Operations for Esthetician Curriculum
Manual, including skin analysis, cleansing, manipulations, packs and masks.	60
Electrical, including the use of all electrical modalities and electrical apparatus, including dermal lights for facials and skin care purposes.	40
Eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the use of wax, manual or electrical tweezers and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.	50
Makeup, including skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, and the application of false eyelashes.	50

PART II Signature

By my signature below I agree to follow the apprenticeship requirements in AS 08.13.082 and the esthetics curriculum set out in 12 AAC 09.163. If my student is a transfer student, I understand that the Division will send a breakdown in writing of the practical operations needed for my student to complete the training.

Apprentice Name:		
Instructor Signature:	Date Signed:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Fo	rm	
All major credit cards are accepted credit card payment form with you	d. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit car ur application.	d information. Include this
Name of Applicant or Licensee: _		
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture	e):	
License Number (if applicable):		
I wish to make payment by credit	AMOUNT	
Application Fee:		
License or Renewal Fee:		
Other (fine, exam, etc.):		
1		
2		
	TOTAL	:
Name (as shown on credit card): _		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number: Email (optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		
08-4438 Rev 12/06/2022 Credit Card Payment Form (all major car		or cards accepted)
		• •
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be processed unless a	Il fields are completed!
		All 3 fields MUST be
1. Credit Card Number:		completed!
2. Expiration Date:		This section will be
3. Security Code:		destroyed after the payment is processed.