
08-4401     Rev 03/12/19    Instructions 

The Board of Barbers and Hairdressers will issue a student permit for the purposes of receiving training from a 
licensed practitioner of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring or body piercing. 

To receive training, you must: 

• complete the attached application;
• submit the $100.00 permit fee;
• submit a copy of the Certificate of Sanitary Standard issued to the shop in which the training will take place;
• be 18 years of age when the training commences;
• have completed a CPR course and a blood borne pathogens course ( *see requirements listed below );
• receive training in a licensed shop in this state under a person who has a practitioner’s license in this state in the

field in which the trainee seeks training.

Included in this packet is: 

• the required application that you must complete and return;
• a Statement of Responsibility form that the practitioner who is providing training must complete and return with

this application;
• the curriculum requirement for both professions.  Complete the appropriate curriculum form and return it with this

application.

* Please note that you must have valid proof of completing a CPR course and a blood borne    pathogens course before
you can begin your apprenticeship. When returning the application, you must also submit:

1. A certified true copy of a current CPR card; and
2. A certified true copy of a current blood borne pathogens card.

To obtain a certified true copy of a document, take the original document and a copy to a notary. The notary will compare 
the copy to the original. In front of the notary write on the copy, “I certify this to be a true copy of the original document”, 
sign and date it. The notary will notarize your signature and affix their seal, sign and date the copy. 

Upon receipt of a properly completed application, fees and required documentation, your application will be reviewed and 
if approved, a student permit will be issued and mailed to you. You may begin training upon receipt of the student permit.  
The training must be completed in not more than 12 months from the date of its commencement. 

Apprentices, Shop Owners, and Instructors: Please be advised that in accordance with the statutes of postsecondary 
education (AS 14.48), a shop owner may not charge the apprentice a fee to receive training. If a shop owner charges the 
apprentice a fee for apprenticing, that shop owner may be acting as a school which requires authorization from 
postsecondary education. 

Shop owners may be required to pay apprentices an hourly wage. For information, contact the wage and hour section in 
the department of Labor, in Juneau at (907) 465-4842; in Anchorage at (907) 269-4900; or in Fairbanks at (907) 451-
2886. 

After training has been completed, the trainer will need to provide proof of training on a form provided by the board. 
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Application for Body Piercing, Tattooing or Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Student Permit 

BAH 

Barbers and Hairdressers Program 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

 Required Fee: Student Permit Fee $100.00 

Permit Type: Body Piercing Tattooing Permanent Cosmetic Coloring 

Full Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Birthdate: 

Contact Phone: 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting your license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing by email, you agree to notify the Division in writing when your email address changes. You 
understand that failure to check your email address or to keep it in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in the inability to obtain or retain licensure. 

Email Address:  Send my Correspondence by Email 
 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 
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Name of Shop where you want to apprentice: 

Name of Practitioner Providing Training: 

Practitioner’s License Number: 

Shop Mailing Address: 

Shop Physical Address: 

Shop Owner License Number (NOT a business license number): 

Shop Phone Number: 

By my signature below, I attest the information provided is true and correct and that I understand and agree that 
training must be received in accordance with 12 AAC 09, as appropriate. 

Student’s Signature: Date: 



08-4401b     Rev 03/12/19        Statement of Responsibility 

               

Barbers and Hairdressers Program 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 
              Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov 

              Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

Student’s Name 

Practice of Body Piercing Tattooing Permanent Cosmetic Coloring 

Name of Shop for 
Training 

Shop License Number 
(shop owners must hold current 

professional and business licenses)

Shop’s Business 
License Number: Phone Number: 

Complete Physical 
Address of Shop 

Currently Licensed as:  (must be licensed in same field as apprentice)  Alaska License Number: 

Tatooist     
Body Piercer 
Permanent Cosmetic Colorist 

In accordance with 12 AAC 09.185(b), a licensed practitioner may provide training to no more than two 
trainees simultaneously. 

I currently supervise no trainees 

I currently supervise the following trainees: 

Name of Student: __________________________________________________________  Student Permit Number: ___________________________ 

Name of Student: __________________________________________________________  Student Permit Number: ___________________________ 

I agree to assume full responsibility in training this student in this selected practice. This training will be held in 
compliance with the statutes and regulations set forth by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. 

I certify that the information provided is true and correct. 

Signature of Trainer: Printed Name of Trainer: 

Mailing Address: Date: 

Statement of Responsibility 
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  Barbers and Hairdressers Program 
     State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 

     PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
     Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov

     Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

Tattooing Training Curriculum 
 12 AAC 09.169 requires a body piercing student to receive at least 1,000 hours of theoretical and practical training. 
The training must be completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

• A minimum of 270 hours of theory instruction
• A minimum of 150 hours of practical operations broken out by

a. 50 practical operations observed by the student
b. 50 practical operations in which the student participated
c. 50 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance

The 270 hours of theory must include the following: 

Subject 
Minimum Number of Theory Hours 
for Tattoo and Permanent Cosmetic 

Coloring Curriculum 

1. Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic 100 

2. Anatomy and physiology 30 

3. Skin and skin disorders 10 

4. Aftercare techniques 100 

5. Equipment and supplies 20 

6. Alaska Statutes and Regulations 10 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
and blood borne pathogens.  (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current 
CPR card and blood borne pathogens course.) 

I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Tattooing and Permanent Cosmetic Coloring 
Curriculum requirements referenced in 12 AAC 09.169. 

Printed Name of Trainer:         Signature:         Date: 

Printed Name of Student:        Signature:         Date: 
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  Barbers and Hairdressers Program 
     State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 

     PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
     Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov

     Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

 Body Piercing Curriculum 
 12 AAC 09.167 requires a body piercing student to receive at least 1,000 hours of theoretical and practical training. 
The training must be completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

• A minimum of 270 hours of theory instruction
• A minimum of 150 hours of practical operations broken out by

a. 50 practical operations observed by the student
b. 50 practical operations in which the student participated
c. 50 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance

The 270 hours of theory must include the following: 

Subject Minimum Number of Theory Hours 
for Body Piercing Curriculum 

7. Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic 100 

8. Anatomy and physiology 30 

9. Skin and skin disorders 10 

10. Aftercare techniques 100 

11. Equipment and supplies 20 

12. Alaska Statutes and Regulations 10 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
and blood borne pathogens.  (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current 
CPR card and blood borne pathogens course.) 

I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Body Piercing Curriculum requirements referenced 
in 12 AAC 09.167. 

Printed Name of Trainer:         Signature:         Date: 

Printed Name of Student:        Signature:         Date: 
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12 AAC 09.168 requires a permanent cosmetic coloring student to receive at least 250 hours of theoretical and 
practical training. The training must be completed within one year from the date of commencement and include: 

• A minimum of 125 hours of theory instruction
• A minimum of 75 hours of practical operations broken out by

a. 25 practical operations observed by the student including, eight lips, eight eyeliners, and eight eyebrows
and may include microblading

b. 25 practical operations in which the student participated including, eight lips, eight eyeliners, and eight
eyebrows and may include microblading

c. 25 practical operations performed by the student under supervision, but without assistance including, eight
lips, eight eyeliners, and eight eyebrows and may include microblading

The 125 hours of theory must include the following: 

    Subject Minimum Number of Theory Hours for 
Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Curriculum 

1. Safety, sanitation, sterilization and aseptic 45 

2. Anatomy and physiology 10 

3. Skin and skin disorders 10 

4. Aftercare techniques 30 

5. Equipment and supplies 10 

6. Alaska Statutes and Regulations 10 

7. Emotional & psychological considerations of the client 5 

8. Face shape and color theory 5 

In addition to the training mentioned above, a student must receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
and blood borne pathogens. (Students will not be scheduled for the state examination without proof of a current CPR 
card and blood borne pathogens course.) 
I acknowledge, by my signature below, that I will comply with the Permanent Cosmetic Coloring Curriculum 
requirements referenced in 12 AAC 09.168. 

Printed Name of Trainer:       Signature:          Date: 

 Barbers and Hairdressers Program 
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT             

       Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):         

         1.           _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________               __________________________ 

    2.          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________                __________________________         

                   TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 
 
 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 
 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:   

2. Expiration Date:   

3. Billing ZIP Code:   

4. Security Code:   
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