

STATE OF ALASKA

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

P.O. BOX 110806, JUNEAU, ALASKA 99811-0806

(907) 465-2550 Fax: (907) 465-2974

E-mail: BoardofChiropracticExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfChiropracticExaminers

INSTRUCTIONS TO REACTIVATE AN INACTIVE OR RETIRED CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN LICENSE

In accordance with AS 08.20.100(a), a person may not practice chiropractic or use chiropractic core methodology in the state without a license. A person holding an inactive or retired status license many not practice in the state.

NOTE: Please read the application, statutes, regulations, and all instructions carefully. It is your responsibility to be aware of licensing requirements and provide all necessary documentation. No license will issued until your application file is complete.

All applications are available on the Division's website at: www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/pchi.htm

All Chiropractic licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years.

TO REACTIVATE AN INACTIVE STATUS LICENSE

The following must be submitted before an inactive license may be reactivated:

- 1. Completed renewal application (form #08-0094, Biennial Chiropractic License renewal application)
- 2. \$600 license fee payable to State of Alaska

TO REACTIVATE A LICENSE THAT HAS BEEN IN RETIRED STATUS FOR LESS THAN TWO YEARS

The following must be submitted before a retired license may be reactivated:

- 1. Completed renewal application (form #08-0094, Biennial Chiropractic License renewal application)
- 2. \$600 license fee payable to State of Alaska
- 3. Documentation that all continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 16.290 through 12 AAC 16.370 have been met.

TO REACTIVATE A LICENSE THAT HAS BEEN IN RETIRED STATUS FOR TWO TO FIVE YEARS

The following must be submitted before the Board will consider an application to reactivate a retired license:

- 1. Completed application for reinstatement (form #08-4170, Chiropractic License Reinstatement application)
- 2. Fees payable to the State of Alaska as follows:
 - \$600 license fee
 - \$200 Alaska State Chiropractic Examination fee
- 3. Documentation that all continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 16.290 through 12 AAC 16.370 have been met.

Please be advised that passing an exam in another state does not qualify an applicant for an Alaska license. Applicants are required to pass the Alaska State Chiropractic Examination, and all requirements under Alaska Statutes and regulations must be met.

A PERSON MAY NOT REINSTATE A LICENSE THAT HAS BEEN LAPSED OR IN RETIRED STAUS FOR FIVE YEARS OR MORE. THE LICENSEE MUST APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE AND MEET THE CURRENT LICENSING REQUIREMENTS.

THE ALASKA STATE CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINATION

The Alaska State Chiropractic Examination is administered by the Alaska State Board of Chiropractic Examiners three times a year. Applications to sit for the examination must be received **45 days before** the scheduled exam date. <u>Incomplete applications will be processed for the subsequent examination - no exceptions.</u>

Information regarding exam dates and deadlines is available on the division's website at: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfChiropracticExaminers*

The Alaska State Chiropractic Examination consists of a written exam covering information in the statutes and regulations booklet published by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. It is available on the division's website at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfChiropracticExaminers.

In addition, the exam may cover any other subjects that are deemed necessary to demonstrate knowledge of chiropractic as defined in AS 08.20.230. A score of 75 percent or higher is required to receive a passing score on the examination.

08-4563 (Rev. 07/23/19)