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NOTE: You must type or print legibly or this form will be returned. 

A person may apply for a license to practice clinical social work in the State of Alaska by examination (see Part I) or by 
credentials (see Part II). 

*There is no temporary license offered for Clinical Social Work.

PART I.  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
The following documentation must be received to be considered for licensure by examination: 

1. A completed and notarized application and $100.00 nonrefundable application fee (form #08-4089).
2. An initial license fee of $325.00 may be submitted at this time or upon successful passage of the examination.

Please note that license fees are subject to change.
3. Certified transcripts of a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work sent directly to the Division of

Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing from a college or university approved by the Board.
4. Verification of having completed minimum of two years of continuous full-time employment in postgraduate clinical

social work, including a minimum of 3,000 hours of employment within 10 years before the application for licensure
under the supervision of (form #08-4089b):

• a licensed clinical social worker;
• a licensed psychologist; or
• a licensed psychiatrist.

 (Refer to 12 AAC 18.115, Supervision of Experience for Clinical Social Work License, for further information on 
supervision requirement.) 

5. Three professional references (form 08-4089c) from the following, as appropriate:
a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor;

b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor: and

c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:
• Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
• Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
• Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
• Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
• Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing;
• Licensed marriage and family therapist; or
• Licensed professional counselor.

6. Verification of licensure from each state, except Alaska, where currently licensed and wherever previously
licensed (form #08-4089a), even if the license held was not equivalent to the license for which you are currently
applying.  The state must verify any disciplinary actions taken.

Note: If you do not have a current/previous supervisor, please review the Board’s position statement regarding 
alternate documentation: Commerce.Alaska.Gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW_AltDocumentation.pdf 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
The Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners offers the examination through the Association of Social Work Boards.  Upon 
approval to sit for the examination at the Clinical level, applicants will be instructed to register with the Association of 
Social Work Boards, at www.aswb.org.  A separate examination fee will be required by the Association of Social Work 
Boards. 

               

 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

      CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE APPLICATION 

THE STATE

ALASKA of 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW_AltDocumentation.pdf
mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
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PART II.  LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

The Board will issue a license to practice clinical social work to an applicant who holds a current license to practice clinical 
social work in another jurisdiction, THAT AT THE TIME OF ORIGINAL ISSUANCE OF THE LICENSE, HAD 
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE EQUAL TO OR MORE STRINGENT THAN THOSE OF THIS STATE AND AT THE 
SAME LEVEL FOR WHICH APPLICATION HAS BEEN MADE. (See AS 08.95.120) 

The following documents are needed for licensure by credentials: 

1. A completed and notarized application and $100 nonrefundable application fee (form #08-4089).

2. An initial license fee of $325.00, made payable to the State of Alaska.  Please note that license fees are subject to
change.

3. Verification of Licensure from each state where currently licensed and wherever previously licensed (form #08-
4089a).  The state must verify any disciplinary actions taken or pending.  THE EXAMINATION TAKEN MUST BE
THE CLINICAL LEVEL EXAMINATION OFFERED BY THE ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS.  (Copy
form if you need additional forms.)

4. To meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 18.112 you must verify:

a. successful passage of the Clinical level examination within the two years before making application (you must
request exam scores from ASWB at www.aswb.org).

OR

b. 1,500 hours of work as a licensed social worker within the last five years while holding a license similar to that
for which application has been made (form 08-4089d); AND

c. completion of the continuing education (CE) requirements in 12 AAC 18.210(a)(1) and (3).  The required 45
hours of CEs must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received
(form #4089e).  Of the 45 hours of CE required, at least 6 contact hours must be in substance abuse education
and at least 3 contact hours must be in professional ethics.  (Attach course certificate indicating attendance and
number of CE hours received.)

5. Three professional references (form 08-4089c) from the following, as appropriate:

a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor;

b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor; and
c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:

• master's or doctorate degree social worker;
• licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
• licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
• licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
• licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing;
• licensed marriage and family therapist; or
• licensed professional counselor.

Note: If you do not have a current/previous supervisor, please review the Board’s position statement regarding 
alternate documentation: Commerce.Alaska.Gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW_AltDocumentation.pdf 

http://www.aswb.org/
http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW_AltDocumentation.pdf
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• This application must be completed in full. If a question does not apply, write N/A in the space provided.
Please print or type.

• Appropriate fees must accompany applications before initial screening can begin. All fees may be paid with
check or money order, made payable to the State of Alaska, or credit card. To pay by credit card, use the
Credit Card Payment form, found on the Division’s website at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

• Legal Name Change: If any of the required documents (i.e., transcripts, verifications of licensure, etc.) will be
issued under a former name, submit marriage license, divorce dissolution and/or court documents that are
notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document.”

• Average processing time is 4-6 weeks.

• Do not fax or email your application to the Division.

• An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional
processing time.

• While we understand your desire to conclude this process as quickly as possible, our licensing staff is
responsible for reviewing many files and cannot complete the application process if required documents are
missing. It is your responsibility to ensure required documents are submitted to our office.

• The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The Division must comply
with those laws in processing applications.

• The Division conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, malpractice
history and any criminal or disciplinary history. We recommend you do not make commitments for loans,
practice start dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure. The Division will not
accelerate one application over others nor will it forego any elements of its screening process.

IT IS ILLEGAL TO PRACTICE AS A SOCIAL WORKER IN ALASKA 
 WITHOUT A VALID LICENSE  —  PLEASE PLAN AHEAD 

               

Board of Social Work Examiners 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

General Instructions 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

file://cedasdsobfs01.soa.alaska.gov/DCED/WP-OCCAPP/CBPL/PHY/08%20Forms/ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov
mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all 
correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or 
incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid 
the license will be issued and sent to you with a cover letter about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written 
explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for 
processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  

LICENSE TERM:  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of   
even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial 
expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers 
temporary licenses, they are issued for either 30 consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter. 

“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness questions in the 
application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for audit, 
you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated 
on this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program 
chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that 
are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an 
individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EXAMINATION: 
Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit an Application for Examination 
Accommodations for Candidates with Disabilities form (08-4214). 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License 
Search. 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900, or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or (800) 441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed 
separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact 
method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

! General Information 

http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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   CSW 

Board of Social Work Examiners 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  •  Fax: (907) 465-2974 

      Email: SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

Application for Clinical Social Work License 

PART I Application Type and Payment of Fees
Applying by:    Examination    Credentials  

Submit a complete 
notarized application 
and applicable fees: 

Nonrefundable Application Fee 

Licensure Fee 

$100 

$325 

This application must be completed in full. If a section does not apply, write N/A in the space provided. 

PART II Personal Information 
Full Legal Name 

Last  First   Middle 

Other Names Used 
(nicknames or maiden names) 

Mailing Address 

Address 

City   State    ZIP Code  

Telephone 
Work Home 

Date of Birth 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Gender      Male         Female 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to 
keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Send my Correspondence by Email 
 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateAppraisers
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense
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PART III Education (Masters) – List name & address of the Masters Social Work program attended.
   Give dates of attendance & graduation. 

Name of College (Masters): 

Complete Address of School: 

Address 

City    State   ZIP Code 

Date Degree Awarded: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Type of Degree: 

PART IV Education – List name & address of ANY other educational programs attended.

Name of College: 

Complete Address of School: 

Address 

City    State   ZIP Code 

Date Degree Awarded: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Type of Degree: 

PART V Professional Data 

 This Part does not apply to me. 

Chronologically list every state, U.S. jurisdiction, or country where you currently hold, or have ever held a license or 
certification to practice Masters social work. Please indicate whether certified or licensed. If you need additional pages, 
please attach. 

State/ 
Jurisdiction License # License 

Type Original Issue Date Expiration Date 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 

Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ Month ________    Day ________    Year __________________ 
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q 

Have you successfully completed the ASWB’s social work examination at the Clinical level?  YES         NO 

State:  Exam Date: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

If you are applying for licensure by CREDENTIALS, list what state license you base your application on? 

State: License #: 

Type of License: Date 
Issued: 

mm/dd/yyyy Expiration 
Date: 

mm/dd/yyyy 

Do you hold any other professional license?     YES             NO 

IF YES: 

State: License #: 

Type of License: Date 
Issued: 

mm/dd/yyyy Expiration 
Date: 

mm/dd/yyyy 

State: License #: 

Type of License: Date 
Issued: 

mm/dd/yyyy Expiration 
Date: 

mm/dd/yyyy 

PART VI Occupational Data 

In chronological order, from most recent to most remote, list all relevant or related post graduate positions held in the 
past ten years. Provide name of employer, mailing address, telephone number, position held, duties and responsibilities, 
and name of direct supervisor(s). (If you need additional pages, please make additional copies and attach.) 

Name of Employer: 

Employer Address: 

Address 

City    State   ZIP Code 

Employer Telephone #: 

Name of Direct Supervisor: 

Position Held by Applicant: 

Dates of Practice: From:     Month __________    Year ________________  To:     Month __________    Year ________________ 

Duties and Responsibilities: 
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Q 

Name of Employer: 

Employer Full Address: 

Address 

City    State   ZIP Code 

Employer Telephone #: 

Name of Direct Supervisor: 

Position Held by Applicant: 

Dates of Practice: From:     Month __________    Year ________________  To:     Month __________    Year ________________ 

Duties and Responsibilities: 

Name of Employer: 

Employer Full Address: 

Address 

City    State   ZIP Code 

Employer Telephone #: 

Name of Direct Supervisor: 

Position Held by Applicant: 

Dates of Practice: From:     Month __________    Year ________________  To:     Month __________    Year ________________ 

Duties and Responsibilities: 
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1. Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violation of the Social
Work Practice Act or unethical conduct?  Yes  No 

2. Have you ever had an application for a professional license denied?  Yes  No 

3. Have you ever had a license to practice social work revoked, suspended, restricted, or
limited?  Yes  No 

4. Have you ever been investigated by a licensing authority or professional association
even if no disciplinary action resulted?  Yes  No 

5. Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgments paid on your behalf?  Yes  No 

6. Have you been convicted of a criminal offense other than a minor traffic violation?  Yes  No 

7. Are you now or have you been, within the past 5 years, addicted to or excessively used
or misused alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs which may impair or
interfere with your ability to practice social work?

 Yes  No 

8. Are you now or within the past 5 years, been treated or hospitalized for emotional or
mental illness, drug addiction or alcoholism which may impair or interfere with your
ability to practice social work?

 Yes  No 

*
If you checked “Yes” to any of the above questions, you must attach a signed and dated detailed explanation. 

If you checked “Yes” to questions 7 or 8, in addition to your personal statement, you must request a “fit to 
practice” letter from the appropriate health care provider indicating your ability to practice. 

Please be advised that all information provided with this application will be available to the public, unless required to be 
kept confidential by state or federal law.  

Applicants must update answers to the professional fitness questions if any changes occur. 

PART VII Professional Fitness Questions

PART IV Notarized Signature
I certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials supplied 
by me to support my application are true and correct. The Division may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a 
person who has obtained or has attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subjected to 
criminal charges for perjury or unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

Applicant’s 
Signature: Printed Name: 

Notary 
Public for 
State of: 

Subscribed and 
Sworn to Before 
me on this Day: 

Notary’s 
Signature: 

My Commission 
Expires: 

Notary Stamp 
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The information below must be completed by the State Licensing Board; it may not be completed by the applicant. 
Please Note: ALL of the information below is required to be completed 

Name of Licensee: State/Jurisdiction: 

Degree Awarded: 

License number:  Type of License: 

Licensed By: 

 Credentials

 Examination: Date of Exam? (mm/dd/yyyy)

 Exam administerd by ASWB?            Yes     No 

 At what level was the examination administered?  Basic  Masters  Clinical 

 Exam Results:          Pass              Fail 

Initial License Date: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Expiration Date: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

1. Has the license ever been revoked, suspended, placed on probation, or restricted
in any way? If yes, please enclose an explanation or documentation.  Yes  No 

2. Is the licensee the subject of a pending disciplinary proceeding?  Yes  No 

3. Has the licensee ever been the subject of an unresolved complaint, review
procedure, or disciplinary action?  Yes  No 

! If you answer “Yes” to any question above, please attach a detailed explanation or documentation signed 
and dated by the person whose signature appears below. 

Please provide any information you believe relevant to the applicant’s qualifications and fitness to practice social work. 

Signature: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Date: 
 

Printed Name Title 

Phone Email 

Board of Social Work Examiners 
US Mail: PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

Verification of Licensure

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Seal 

 

mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy
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Dear, 
Name of Supervisor (Print) 

I am applying for licensure in the State of Alaska as a clinical social worker.  My application shows that I worked under 

your supervision from ___________________________________ to _______________________________ 
 mm/dd/yyyy  mm/dd/yyyy

Applicant’s Name 

Address 
Address  City  State  ZIP 

Signature 

 Supervisor: The information below must be completed by the supervisor; it may not be completed by 
the applicant.  Supervision must be provided by a licensed clinical social worker, licensed 
psychologist, or licensed psychiatrist. 

Dates of Association: I did supervise the above-named applicant from:            

Begin Date:                                                        TO  End Date: 
 mm/dd/yyyy  mm/dd/yyyy 

 While the applicate was employed at:  ____________________________________________________________ 
       Name of Institution/Professional Clinic, etc.   

Total hours applicant was employed in a clinical social work position during this period at the agency  hours. * 

Total hours of individual clinical supervision provided by you to this applicant during this period was   hours. * 

Total hours of group clinical supervision provided by you to this applicant during this period was  hours. * 

*Note: DO NOT provide the number of hours worked per week (i.e. 40 hours/week). Forms without the total number of 
hours during the entire supervised period will not be accepted and will be returned as incomplete. 

The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities.  Please comment on the 
applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods as defined in 
AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional 
conditions of individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision 
of social services; explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping 
communities to organize, provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work. 

AS 08.95.990(2) defines “clinical social work” as the diagnosis of psychiatric disorders and the use of techniques of applied 
psychotherapy of a nonmedical nature while practicing social work. 

Board of Social Work Examiners 
US Mail: PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

Post Graduate Clinical Social Work Supervision (To be used only for Licensure by Exam)

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy
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For the Board of Social Work Examiners to have sufficient information to assess the applicant's qualifications, please 
answer the following questions: 

YES NO 

1. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a clinical social worker?

Please explain:

2. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant:

I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Note: To satisfy the current or previous supervisor reference requirements, in addition to the clinical supervision 
requirements, you must also submit the Professional Reference form #08-4089c. 

Check as appropriate: Signature 

I am a   
 Printed Name 

 Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

 Licensed psychologist  Job Title 

 Licensed psychiatrist  
 License Held 

 License Number 

 Professional Degree 

 Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

Address: 

Phone Number: 

E-mail:

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the state of , this 

day of        in the year of   . 

Notary Public 
NOTARY SEAL 

My Commission Expires:  ____________________________ 
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Three professional references are required: 

(1) A current social work employer supervisor, and
(2) A previous social work employer supervisor, and
(3) A reference from one of the following professionals:

(a) Master’s or doctorate degree social worker;
(b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
(c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
(d) Licensed advance nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
(e) Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing;
(f) Licensed marital and family therapist; or
(g) Licensed professional counselor.

Dear, 
Name of Reference (Print) 

I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Clinical level in State of Alaska. I am required to provide three preofessional 
references. Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address above. Thank you for your assistance.

Applicant’s Name 

Address 
Address  City  State  ZIP 

Signature 

 Reference: This bottom part must be completed by the reference and returned directly to the Division

Dates of Association: I was professionally associated with the above-named applicant from:            

Begin Date:                                                        TO                  End Date: 
 mm/dd/yyyy  mm/dd/yyyy 

 

 What is the nature of your relationship? ________________________________________________________________ 

The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities.  Please 
comment on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and 
methods, as defined in AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment 
of mental and emotional conditions of individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; 
providing or arranging for the provision of social services; explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the 
situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, provide, or improve social and health 
services; and doing research related to social work. 

AS 08.95.990(2) defines “clinical social work” as the diagnosis of psychiatric disorders and the use of the techniques of 
applied psychotherapy of a nonmedical nature while practicing social work.  

               

Board of Social Work Examiners 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

Professional Reference

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy
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For the Board of Social Work Examiners to have sufficient information to assess the applicant's qualifications, please answer the following 
questions: 

YES NO 
To your knowledge: 

1. is the applicant of good moral character? .................................................................................................................... 

2. has the applicant within the past five years, ever been addicted to or excessively
used alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? .................................................................................... 

3. has the applicant ever been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction? ....................................... 

4. has the applicant violated the ethical standards of another state agency or jurisdiction
for providers of social work services? .......................................................................................................................... 

5. has the applicant misrepresented his or her qualifications to the board in any way? .................................................. 

6. has the applicant been sanctioned for practicing social work services without a license?........................................... 

7. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a Clinical social worker? ......................................................

Please explain: 

8. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant:

9. Please evaluate the applicant’s technical knowledge and practical experience:
 Excellent   Very Good   Fair  Needs Improvement 

I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Check all as appropriate: 

I am a 

Current employer supervisor 
Previous employer supervisor 
Master’s degree social worker 
Doctorate degree social worker 
Licensed psychological associate 
Licensed clinical psychologist 
Licensed physician specializing in Psychiatry 
Licensed medical physician 
Licensed osteopathic physician 
Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with 
specialty area of practice in mental health 
Licensed registered nurse with a master’s 
degree in psychiatric nursing 
Licensed marriage and family therapist 
Licensed professional counselor 

Signature 

Printed Name 

Job Title 

Professional Degree 

Type of License 

License Number: 

Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

Address: 
 Street/PO Box 

       City       State   Zip 

Phone Number: 

E-mail:

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of  , 

this    day of   , in the year of  . 

Notary Public 
NOTARY SEAL 

My Commission Expires: 
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Applicant’s Name 

Address 
Address  City  State  ZIP Code 

Signature 

The information below must be completed by the applicant’s employer or supervisor; it may not be completed by the applicant. 

The continuing competency requirements established in 12 AAC 18.112(2)(A) require verification of 1,500 hours of work as a social worker 
within the last five years while holding a license similar to that for which application has been made. 

I, , did work with or supervised 
 (Name of Employer/Supervisor)  (Name of Applicant) 

at 
 (Name of Institution/Professional Clinic, etc.) 

from  to  for a total of  hours. 
(mm/dd/yyyy)  (mm/dd/yyyy)  (must be at least 1,500 hours) 

*Note: DO NOT provide the number of hours worked per week (i.e. 40 hours/week). Forms without the total number of hours
during the entire supervised period will not be accepted and will be returned as incomplete.

Printed Name Job Title 

Address 
Address  City  State  ZIP Code 

Email Phone Number 

Signature Date 
mm/dd/yyyy 

The board believes a license to practice social work carries important responsibilities. Please comment on the applicant’s 

qualifications, ability, character, etc.    

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of ______________  , 

this   day of       , in the year of      . 

NOTARY SEAL Notary Public 

My Commission Expires: 

 

 US Mail: PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers 

Verification of Working Experience – Use ONLY for Licensure by Credentials 

Dear, 
Name of Employer or Supervisor (Print) 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Clinical level in State of Alaska. I am required to provide three preofessional 
references. Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address above. Thank you for your assistance.

mailto:SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 
CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTATION 
TO BE USED ONLY FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

Print Name: 

NOTE:  If using CEs to meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 18.112, List the continuing education (CE) requirements per 12 ACC 
18.210(a)(1) and (3). The required 45 hours of CE’s must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received. Of the 
45 hours of CE required, at least six contact hours must be in substance abuse education and at least three contact hours must be in professional ethics.  

Attach course certificate(s) indicating attendance and total number of CE hours awarded. 
In the table below, the categories for hours are broken down as follows:  G – General continuing education hours; S – Substance Abuse hours & P – Professional Ethics. 

Dates of 
Attendance 

Title/Brief Description 
Course/Seminar or Workshop 

Principal 
Instructor 

Sponsoring 
Organization G S P 

 SUBTOTAL HOURS FOR EACH CATEGORY: 

TOTAL HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION: 

Note: List only courses that you have taken. Do not list courses you anticipate taking.  Signature: ___________________________________ 

• List only courses you have taken and completed  Date:_______________________________________ 
• Attach the Certificate of Completion for each course in the order they are listed on the log.  (mm/dd/yyyy) 
• Courses that do not have a Certificate of Completion will not be counted for credit - see 12 AAC 18.200(3)
• No more than 12 contact hours may be obtained in one day – see 12 AAC 18.210(e).



All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT      

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 


	P.O. Box 110806
	Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806
	Application for Master Social Work License
	08-4438.pdf
	Credit Card Payment Form


	Examination: Off
	Credentials: Off
	Nonrefundable Application Fee: Off
	Licensure Fee: Off
	Full Legal Name: 
	Last First MiddleOther Names Used nicknames or maiden names: 
	Address: 
	City State ZIP Code: 
	Work: 
	Home: 
	mmddyyyy: 
	undefined: Off
	Name of College Masters: 
	Address_2: 
	City State ZIP Code_2: 
	Date Degree Awarded: 
	mmddyyyyType of Degree: 
	Name of College: 
	Address_3: 
	City State ZIP Code_3: 
	Date Degree Awarded_2: 
	mmddyyyyType of Degree_2: 
	This Part does not apply to me: Off
	undefined_2: Off
	undefined_3: Off
	mmddyyyy_2: 
	License: 
	Type of License: 
	mmddyyyy_3: 
	mmddyyyy_4: 
	undefined_4: Off
	State_2: 
	License_2: 
	Type of License_2: 
	mmddyyyy_5: 
	mmddyyyy_6: 
	State_3: 
	License_3: 
	Type of License_3: 
	mmddyyyy_7: 
	mmddyyyy_8: 
	Name of Employer: 
	Employer Address: 
	Address_4: 
	City State ZIP CodeEmployer Telephone: 
	City State ZIP CodeName of Direct Supervisor: 
	City State ZIP CodePosition Held by Applicant: 
	Month: 
	Year_15: 
	Month_2: 
	Year_16: 
	Name of Employer_2: 
	Address_5: 
	City State ZIP CodeEmployer Telephone_2: 
	City State ZIP CodeName of Direct Supervisor_2: 
	City State ZIP CodePosition Held by Applicant_2: 
	Dates of Practice_2: 
	Month_3: 
	Year_17: 
	Month_4: 
	Year_18: 
	Name of Employer_3: 
	City State ZIP CodeEmployer Telephone_3: 
	City State ZIP CodeName of Direct Supervisor_3: 
	City State ZIP CodePosition Held by Applicant_3: 
	Month_5: 
	Year_19: 
	Month_6: 
	Year_20: 
	Printed Name: 
	Printed Name_2: 
	Subscribed and: 
	Subscribed and Sworn to Before me on this Day: 
	My Commission Expires: 
	Name of Licensee: 
	StateJurisdiction: 
	Degree Awarded: 
	License number: 
	Type of License_4: 
	Credentials_2: Off
	undefined_6: Off
	Examination Date of Exam mmddyyyy: 
	Exam administerd by ASWB: Off
	Yes_9: Off
	At what level was the examination administered: Off
	Basic: Off
	Masters: Off
	Exam Results: Off
	Pass: Off
	mmddyyyy_9: 
	mmddyyyy_10: 
	Has the license ever been revoked suspended placed on probation or restricted: Off
	undefined_7: Off
	undefined_8: Off
	mmddyyyy Date: 
	Printed Name_3: 
	Title: 
	Phone: 
	Email: 
	Dear: 
	Applicants Name: 
	Address_7: 
	Address City State ZIPSignature: 
	Begin Date: 
	End Date: 
	While the applicate was employed at: 
	Total hours applicant was employed in a clinical social work position during this period at the agency: 
	Total hours of individual clinical supervision provided by you to this applicant during this period was: 
	Total hours of group clinical supervision provided by you to this applicant during this period was: 
	requirements you must also submit the Professional Reference form 084089c: 
	Licensed Clinical Social Worker: Off
	Licensed psychologist: Off
	Licensed psychiatrist: Off
	Printed Name_4: 
	Job Title: 
	License Held: 
	License Number: 
	Professional Degree: 
	InstitutionClinic Where Employed 1: 
	InstitutionClinic Where Employed 2: 
	undefined_9: 
	Phone Number: 
	this: 
	undefined_10: 
	SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me a Notary Public in and for the state of: 
	undefined_11: 
	Name of Reference Print: 
	Applicants Name_2: 
	Address_8: 
	Address City State ZIPSignature_2: 
	mmddyyyy_11: 
	mmddyyyy_12: 
	The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities Please: 
	Please explain: 
	Excellent: Off
	Very Good: Off
	Fair: Off
	Needs Improvement: Off
	Job Title_2: 
	Professional Degree_2: 
	Type of License_5: 
	License Number 1: 
	License Number 2: 
	Address_10: 
	City: 
	State_4: 
	Zip: 
	Phone Number_2: 
	Email_2: 
	SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me a Notary Public in and for the State of: 
	this_2: 
	day of: 
	in the year of: 
	Notary Public_2: 
	My Commission Expires_2: 
	Dear_2: 
	Applicants Name_4: 
	Address_11: 
	Address City State ZIP CodeSignature: 
	I: 
	did work with or supervised: 
	at: 
	from: 
	to_2: 
	for a total of: 
	Printed Name_6: 
	Job Title_3: 
	Address_12: 
	Address City State ZIP CodeEmail: 
	Phone Number_3: 
	Address City State ZIP CodeSignature_2: 
	mmddyyyy_14: 
	day of_2: 
	in the year of 2: 
	My Commission Expires_3: 
	Print Name: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow1: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow1: 
	Principal InstructorRow1: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow1: 
	GRow1: 
	SRow1: 
	PRow1: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow2: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow2: 
	Principal InstructorRow2: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow2: 
	GRow2: 
	SRow2: 
	PRow2: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow3: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow3: 
	Principal InstructorRow3: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow3: 
	GRow3: 
	SRow3: 
	PRow3: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow4: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow4: 
	Principal InstructorRow4: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow4: 
	GRow4: 
	SRow4: 
	PRow4: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow5: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow5: 
	Principal InstructorRow5: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow5: 
	GRow5: 
	SRow5: 
	PRow5: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow6: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow6: 
	Principal InstructorRow6: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow6: 
	GRow6: 
	SRow6: 
	PRow6: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow7: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow7: 
	Principal InstructorRow7: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow7: 
	GRow7: 
	SRow7: 
	PRow7: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow8: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow8: 
	Principal InstructorRow8: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow8: 
	GRow8: 
	SRow8: 
	PRow8: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow9: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow9: 
	Principal InstructorRow9: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow9: 
	GRow9: 
	SRow9: 
	PRow9: 
	Dates of AttendanceRow10: 
	TitleBrief Description CourseSeminar or WorkshopRow10: 
	Principal InstructorRow10: 
	Sponsoring OrganizationRow10: 
	GRow10: 
	SRow10: 
	PRow10: 
	GSUBTOTAL HOURS FOR EACH CATEGORY: 
	SSUBTOTAL HOURS FOR EACH CATEGORY: 
	PSUBTOTAL HOURS FOR EACH CATEGORY: 
	TOTAL HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION: 
	Date: 
	Address_6: 
	0: 
	1: 

	to: 
	0: 
	1: 

	Check Box1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off

	Notary Public: 
	0: 
	1: 

	in the year of 1: 
	0: 
	1: 
	2: 

	Email Address: 
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER AS 0801100 requires you to provide your United States Social Security Number It is considered confidential information and will not be publicly disclosed it may be used to verify interstate licensure: 
	Send my Correspondence by Email: Off
	Send my Correspondence by US Mail: Off
	State JurisdictionRow1: 
	License Row1: 
	License TypeRow1: 
	Text2: 
	0: 
	0: 
	1: 

	1: 
	0: 
	1: 

	2: 
	0: 
	1: 

	3: 
	0: 
	1: 

	4: 
	0: 
	1: 

	5: 
	0: 
	1: 

	6: 
	0: 
	1: 


	Text3: 
	0: 
	0: 
	1: 

	1: 
	0: 
	1: 

	2: 
	0: 
	1: 

	3: 
	0: 
	1: 

	4: 
	0: 
	1: 

	5: 
	0: 
	1: 

	6: 
	0: 
	1: 


	Year: 
	Year_2: 
	State JurisdictionRow2: 
	License Row2: 
	License TypeRow2: 
	Year_3: 
	Year_4: 
	State JurisdictionRow3: 
	License Row3: 
	License TypeRow3: 
	Year_5: 
	Year_6: 
	State JurisdictionRow4: 
	License Row4: 
	License TypeRow4: 
	Year_7: 
	Year_8: 
	State JurisdictionRow5: 
	License Row5: 
	License TypeRow5: 
	Year_9: 
	Year_10: 
	State JurisdictionRow6: 
	License Row6: 
	License TypeRow6: 
	Year_11: 
	Year_12: 
	State JurisdictionRow7: 
	License Row7: 
	License TypeRow7: 
	Year_13: 
	Year_14: 
	From Month Year To Month YearDuties and Responsibilities: 
	Group1: 
	2: Off
	3: Off
	4: Off
	5: Off
	6: Off
	7: Off
	8: Off

	form2: 
	2: 

	FORM3: 
	1: 
	0: 

	form1: 
	Group2: 
	1: Off
	2: Off
	3: Off
	4: Off
	5: Off
	6: Off

	454545: 
	Check Box9: 
	0: Off
	1: Off
	2: Off
	3: Off
	4: Off
	5: Off
	6: Off
	7: Off
	8: Off
	9: Off
	10: Off
	11: Off
	12: Off

	State: 
	State32: 
	ASDFASDFAS: 
	dfsadf: 
	sdaas: 
	CC_Name: 
	CC_LicenseType: [ ]
	CC_LicenseNumber: 
	CCbox1: Off
	CC_AppFee: 
	Amount1: 
	CCbox2: No
	CC_LicenseFee: 
	Amount2: 
	CCbox3: No
	CC_Other1: 
	Amount3: 
	CC_Other2: 
	Amount4: 
	CC_Message: 
	CC_Total: 0
	CC_NameCard: 
	CC_Address: 
	CC_Phone: 
	CC_Email: 
	sigX: ✘
	CCtext6: 
	CCtext1: 
	CCtext5: The security code is not
your PIN. It is three or
four digits usually on the
back of your credit card.
	CCtext2: 
	CCtext3: 
	CCtext4: 
	asdfadsfasdf: Off
	Printed Name_5: 
	we3rwerwe: Off


