

THE STATE of f ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Clinical Social Worker License Application Instructions

A person may apply for a license to practice clinical social work in the State of Alaska by examination or by credentials. There is no temporary license offered for Clinical Social Work.

LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

The following must be received by the division before your application for Clinical Social Worker License by Examination can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4089, pages 1-6).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$100.00
Initial License Fee: \$325.00

Total Fees Due: \$425.00

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS

A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4089a).

4. CERTIFIED TRANSCRIPTS

Certified transcripts of a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work sent directly to the Division from a college or university approved by the Board.

5. VERIFICATION OF POSTGRADUATE CLINICIAL SOCIAL WORK

Verification of having completed a minimum of two years of continuous full-time employment in postgraduate clinical social work, including a minimum of 3,000 hours of employment within 10 years before the application for licensure under the supervision of (#08-4089c):

- a licensed clinical social worker;
- a licensed psychologist; or
- a licensed psychiatrist.

(Refer to 12 AAC 18.115, Supervision of Experience for Clinical Social Work License, for further information on supervision requirement.)

6. PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES

Three professional references (form #08-4089d) from the following, as appropriate:

- a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor;
- b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor,
 - and -
- c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:
 - Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
 - Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
 - Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
 - Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
 - Licensed registered nurse with a master's degree in psychiatric nursing;
 - Licensed marriage and family therapist; or
 - Licensed professional counselor.

Note: If you do not have a current/previous supervisor, please review the Board's position statement regarding alternate documentation: *Commerce.Alaska.Gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW_AltDocumentation.pdf*

7. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

A completed Verification of Licensure form (#08-4089b) from each state, except Alaska, where you are currently or have previously been licensed, even if the license held was not equivalent to the license for which you are currently applying. The state must verify any disciplinary actions taken.

EXAMINATION INFORMATION

The Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners offers the examination through the Association of Social Work Boards. Upon approval to sit for the examination at the Clinical level, applicants will be instructed to register with the Association of Social Work Boards, at www.aswb.org. A separate examination fee will be required by the Association of Social Work Boards.

LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS

The Board will issue a license to practice clinical social work to an applicant who holds a current license to practice clinical social work in another jurisdiction that, at the time of original issuance of the license, had requirements for licensure equal to or more stringent than those of this state. (See AS 08.95.120)

The following must be received by the division before your application for Clinical Social Worker License by Credentials can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4089, pages 1-6).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$100.00
Initial License Fee: \$325.00

Total Fees Due: \$425.00

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS

A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4089a).

4. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

A completed Verification of Licensure form (#08-4089b) from each state, except Alaska, where you are currently or have previously been licensed, even if the license held was not equivalent to the license for which you are currently applying. The state must verify any disciplinary actions taken.

THE EXAMINATION TAKEN MUST BE THE CLINICAL LEVEL EXAMINATION OFFERED BY THE ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS. (Make copies of #08-4089b to request multiple license verifications.)

5. PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES

Three professional references (form 08-4089d) from the following, as appropriate:

- a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor;
- b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor,
 - and -
- c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:
 - Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
 - Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
 - Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
 - Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
 - Licensed registered nurse with a master's degree in psychiatric nursing;
 - Licensed marriage and family therapist; or
 - Licensed professional counselor.

Note: If you do not have a current/previous supervisor, please review the Board's position statement regarding alternate documentation: *Commerce.Alaska.Gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW AltDocumentation.pdf*

6. CONTINUING COMPETENCY

To meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 18.112 you must verify:

a. successful passage of the Clinical level examination within the two years before making application (you must request exam scores from ASWB at www.aswb.org).

- OR -

- b. 1,500 hours of work as a licensed social worker within the last five years while holding a license similar to that for which application has been made (form 08-4089e);
 - and -
- c. completion of the continuing education (CE) requirements in 12 AAC 18.210 (a)(1), (3), and (4). The required 45 hours of CEs must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received. Of the 45 hours of CE required, at least 6 contact hours must be in substance abuse education, at least 3 contact hours must be in professional ethics, and at least 3 contact hours must be in teletherapy practice. (Use form #08-4089f You must attach course certificate indicating attendance and number of CE hours received.)

An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional processing time. While we understand your desire to conclude this process as quickly as possible, our licensing staff is responsible for reviewing many files and cannot complete the application process if required documents are missing. It is your responsibility to ensure required documents are submitted to our office.

The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The Division must comply with those laws in processing applications. The Division conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, malpractice history and any criminal or disciplinary history. We recommend you do not make commitments for loans, practice start dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure. The Division will not accelerate one application over another, nor will it forego any elements of its screening process.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

There is no "inactive" status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the division for a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov

CSW



FOD	DIVICION	LICE	ONII V
FUR	DIVISION	USE	ONLY

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Junea	iu, AK 99811	
Phone: (907) 465-255	0	
Email: SocialWorkExa	miners@Alaska.Gov	
Website: Professional	License.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers	
Clinical Social Work	er License Application	

PART I Ap	pplication Type		
	Examination		
Applying By:	Credentials		
PART II Pa	yment of Fees		
Dagwired Foos	Nonrefundable Application Fee		\$100.00
Required Fees:	☐ Initial License Fee		\$325.00
PART III Pe	rsonal Information		
Full Legal Name:			
	ames used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any true copy of the documentation showing proof o		a prior name, you must
☐ Not Applic			
Other Nan		cv State	7in
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street Cit	y state	Zip
Contact Phone:		Date of Birth:	
and Professional Licensing	choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting or g, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the s in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial i	MY LICENSE web page. I understand that fa	ailure to check my email account or
Email Address:		Select One:	my Correspondence Electronically my Correspondence by Mail
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, you w	ill receive correspondence electronica	lly.
United States Social Secu	NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your urity Number. It is considered confidential information		

PART IV	Education						
List the name & a	address of the	Master's	Social Work program	attended and ANY othe	r education progra	ıms atte	ended.
Name of College		Ado	dress	Degree Award	led	Date Awarded	
_							
PART V	Examination	on Info	ormation				I
				mination at the Clinical le	evel?		
No Yes							
State of Exam:					Exam Date:		
PART VI	Current Lic	ense l	nformation		(Credentia	als App	olicants Only)
If you are applyin	g for licensure	e by CREI	DENTIALS, please list th	ne state license your app	olication is based o	n.	
State of Issue:				License Number:			
Type of License:							
Issue Date:				Expiration Date:			
PART VII	Profession	nal Lic	ense(s)				
Chronologically li Please indicate w	st every state	, U.S. juri ed or lice	sdiction, or country wl	here you currently hold, tional pages, please atta		a licens	e or certification.
State or Juris	sdiction	Li	cense Number	License Type	Initial Issue	e Date	Expiration Date

. , ,	idaress, telephone namber, p	·	bilities, and name of direct sup-	ervisor(s).
Employer Name:			Phone Number:	
ull Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Name of Direct Supervisor:			Position Held by Applicant:	
Employment Start Date:		Employment End Date:		
Outies and Responsib	ilities:			
Employer Name:			Phone Number:	
ull Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
			Position Held by	
			Applicant:	
iupervisor: imployment		Employment End Date:		
Supervisor: Employment Start Date:	ilities:			
Name of Direct Supervisor: Employment Start Date: Duties and Responsib	ilities:			
Supervisor: Employment Start Date:	ilities:			
Supervisor: Employment Start Date:	ilities:			
Supervisor: Employment Start Date: Duties and Responsib	ilities:		Applicant:	
Supervisor: Employment Start Date: Duties and Responsib	ilities: P.O. Box or Street	End Date:	Applicant: Phone Number:	Zin
Employer Name:			Applicant:	Zip
Supervisor: Employment Start Date:		End Date:	Applicant: Phone Number:	Zip

mployer Name:			Phone Number:	
ıll Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
lame of Direct upervisor:			Position Held by Applicant:	
imployment start Date:		Employment End Date:		
Outies and Responsib	ilities:			
Employer Name:			Phone Number:	
Full Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Name of Direct Supervisor:			Position Held by Applicant:	
Employment Start Date:		Employment End Date:		
Duties and Responsib	ilities:			
Employer Name:			Phone Number:	
Full Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
			Position Held by Applicant:	
Name of Direct Supervisor:				
		Employment End Date:		

Work History (continued)

PART IX

Professional Fitness Questions

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a "yes" answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.								
1. Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violation of the Social Work Practice Ac or unethical conduct?	t 🗖	Yes		No				
2. Have you ever had an application for a professional license denied?		Yes		No				
3. Have you ever had a license to practice social work revoked, suspended, restricted, or limited?		Yes		No				
4. Have you ever been investigated by a licensing authority or professional association even if no disciplinary action resulted?	, □	Yes		No				
5. Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgments paid on your behalf?		Yes		No				
6. Have you been convicted of a criminal offense other than a minor traffic violation?		Yes		No				
7. Are you now or have you been, within the past 5 years, addicted to or excessively used or misused alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs which may impair or interfere with you ability to practice social work?		Yes		No				
8. Are you now or within the past 5 years, been treated or hospitalized for emotional or mental illness drug addiction or alcoholism which may impair or interfere with your ability to practice social work		Yes		No				
"Yes" Answers If you answered "yes" to questions 7 or 8, in addition to your personal submit a statement from your health care provider indicating you Social Work. Applications submitted without the appropriat considered incomplete and will not be processed.	ability	to safe	ely pra	ctice				



FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers
Signature Page
Applicant Name:
PART X Agreement
I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.
I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.
I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Authorization for Release of Records

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators.

I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations deemed appropriate by the division.

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

This authorization is given expressly in connection with the application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for issuance of a clinical social worker license.

I hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators, and all others directly and/or indirectly involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested.

This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below.

Name:	First	Middle		Last
Full Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Phone:			Date of Birth:	
Email:				
Signature:			Date:	



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Verification of Licensure

-> Applicant:		e the identifying informarisdictions where you currenceded.						
Applicant Name:								
Applicant Signature:			Date S	Signed:				
-> Licensing A or State Bo		e complete this bottom p ly to the Alaska State Boa						1
Licensee Name: (As Shown in Your Records)			State Jurisd	or iction:				
Degree Awarded:								
License Number:			Type of Licens					
Licensed By:	Credentials	Examination		of Exam: plicable)				
Exam Administered by ASWB?	☐ Yes	□ No	Exam	Results:	☐ Pass	f	Fail	
Level of Examination:	☐ Basic	Masters	Clinical					
Original Issue Date:			Expiration Date:					
1. Has the license ever	r been revoked, sus	spended, placed on proba	ation, or restricted	in any way	/? <u> </u>	Yes		No
2. Is the licensee the s	subject of a pending	g disciplinary proceeding?	?			Yes		No
3. Has the licensee ever action?	er been the subject o	of an unresolved complai	nt, review procedu	ıre, or discip	plinary	Yes		No
"Yes" Answe	EI	answered "yes" to any que entation signed and date	•		-	-	n or	
Board Seal	Signature:			Date	Signed:			
	Printed Name:			Title:				
	Email:			Phon	ie:			



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Postgraduate Clinical Social Work Supervision

(Exam Applicants Only)

→ Applicant:	Please complete the identifying informindividual(s). <i>Make additional copies</i>			of this form to the appro	priate
Applicant Name:					
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Applicant Signature:			Date Signed:		
→ Supervisor	Please complete this bottom part for the Alaska State Board of Social W provided by a licensed clinical social Note: A TOTAL number of hours of hours). DO NOT provide the number the total number of hours during returned as incomplete.	ork Examiners of worker, licen during the date of hours work	s at the letterhead ised psychologist, on es of supervision in ked per week (i.e.,	address. Supervision mor licensed psychiatrist. s required (for example, 40 hours/week). Forms w	1,200 ithout
Supervisor Name:			License		
Supervisor runner			Number:		
License Type:	Licensed Clinical Social Worker	License	Number: ed Psychologist	Licensed Psychiatri	st
	Licensed Clinical Social Worker	License		Licensed Psychiatri	st
License Type: Name of Institution or	Licensed Clinical Social Worker Street	License		Licensed Psychiatri	st Zip
License Type: Name of Institution or Professional Clinic:				<u> </u>	
License Type: Name of Institution or Professional Clinic: Address:			ed Psychologist Phone Number:	<u> </u>	
License Type: Name of Institution or Professional Clinic: Address: Email Address: Supervision Start Date:		City Supervision E	Phone Number:	State	
License Type: Name of Institution or Professional Clinic: Address: Email Address: Supervision Start Date: Total hours applicant was	Street	City Supervision E	Phone Number: End Date: s period at the age	State	

Total hours of group clinical supervision provided by you to this applicant during this period:

Recommendation

The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities. Please comment on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods as defined in AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work.

AS 08.95.990(2) defines "clinical social work" as the diagnosis of psychiatric disorders and the use of techniques of applied psychotherapy of a nonmedical nature while practicing social work.

Com	nments:								
1.	Would you recomme		censure as a clinical social wo				Yes		No
2.	Any further commen		isider in reviewing this applica				Yes		No
nust als	o submit the Professio	onal Reference form (#08	<u> </u>						
		or the number of hours	this individual at the above-ras listed.	nameu i	nstitution or profess	sionai	Clinic	during	•
<u></u>	Notary Stamp	Supervisor Printed Name:							
 		Supervisor Signature:							
 		Notary Public for State of:			ribed and Sworn to e me on this Day:				
i L	i i	Notary Signature:			My Commission Expires:				



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the appropriate

Professional Reference

Three professional references are required:

- (1) A current social work employer supervisor;
- (2) A previous social work employer supervisor; and
- (3) A reference from one of the following professionals:
 - (a) Master's or doctorate degree social worker;
 - (b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;

individuals. Make additional copies of this form, as needed.

- (c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
- (d) Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
- (e) Licensed registered nurse with a master's degree in psychiatric nursing;
- (f) Licensed marital and family therapist; OR
- (g) Licensed professional counselor.

Applicant:

Applicant Name:					
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street Cit	У		State	Zip
Applicant Signature:				Date Signed:	
> Reference	ce: Please provide the information requeste document directly to the Alaska Board of				
Reference Name:			Relationship to Applicant		
License Number:			License Type	e:	
Name of Institution or Clinic where Employed					
Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Email Address:		Phor	ne Number:		
Associated with Applicant from Date:			ciated with licant to Date:	:	
Reference Type: (Check all that apply)	Current employer supervisor Master's degree social worker Licensed psychological associate Licensed physician specializing in Psyc Licensed medical physician Licensed professional counselor Licensed registered nurse with a mass	ter's (Do Lice y Lice Lice degree in psyc	_	al worker ologist I family therapist ohysician

08-4089d (Rev. 10/14/2022) Professional Reference Page 1 of 2

Recommendation

The board believes a license to practice social work at the clinical level carries important responsibilities. Please comment on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods, as defined in AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work.

AS 08.95.990(2) defines "clinical social work" as the diagnosis of psychiatric disorders and the use of techniques of applied psychotherapy of a nonmedical nature while practicing social work.

Comi	ments:								
									_
Το γοι	ır knowledge:								
1.	is the applicant of g	good moral character?					Yes		No
2.		ithin the past five year tes, or habit-forming o	rs, ever been addicted to or e drugs?	xcessively used	d alcohol,		Yes		No
3.	has the applicant ev	ver been found guilty o	of incompetence by another s	tate or jurisdic	tion?		Yes		No
4.	has the applicant vi providers of social v		ndards of another state agenc	y or jurisdictio	n for		Yes		No
5.	has the applicant m	isrepresented his or h	er qualifications to the board	in any way?			Yes		No
6.	has the applicant be	een sanctioned for pra	acticing social work services w	rithout a license	e?		Yes		No
7.	Would you recomm	nend the applicant for	licensure as a clinical social w	orker?			Yes		No
	Please explain:								
•	A . f . il			2		_	Vaa		
8.			onsider in reviewing this appl			Ц	Yes	Ц	No
	Please explain:								
9.	Please evaluate the	applicant's technical	knowledge and practical expe	rience:					
	Excellent	☐ Very Good	Fair	☐ Needs In	nprovement				
I hereb	certify that the abo	ve information is true	and complete to the best of r	nv knowledge.					
		Reference							
	Notary Stamp	Signature:							
		Notary Public for State of:		Subscribed a Before me or					
L	 	Notary Signature:			Commission ires:				



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Verification of Work Experience

(Credentials Applicants Only)

The continuing competency requirements established in 12 AAC 18.112(2)(A) require verification of 1,500 hours of work as a social worker within the last five years while holding a license similar to that for which application has been made.

-> Applicant:	Please complete the identifying individual(s). <i>Make additional</i>			of this form to	the appropriate
Applicant Name:					
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Applicant Signature:			Date Signed:		
Employer of Supervisor	Note: DO NOT provide the p	cial Work Examiners umber of hours work	at the letterhead acced per week (i.e., 4	ddress. 10 hours/week)	. Forms without
Employer or Supervisor Name:					
Name of Institution or Professional Clinic:			Phone Number:		
Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Email Address:			Employment Start Date:		
Employment End Date:			Total Number of (Must be at least		
qualifications, ability, char	ense to practice social work car acter, etc.:		onsibilities. Please	comment on	the applicant's
Notary Stamp	Employer or Supervisor Signature:				
	Notary Public for State of:		Subscribed and Sw Before me on this		

Notary Signature:

My Commission

Expires:

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing Board of Social Work Examiners

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Continuing Education Documentation

(Credentials Applicants Only)

Note: If using CEs to meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 18.112, List the continuing education (CE) requirements per 12 AAC 18.210 (a)(1), (3), and (4). The required 45 hours of CE's must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received. Of the 45 hours of CE required, at least six contact hours must be in substance abuse education, at least three contact hours must be in professional ethics, and at least three contact hours must be in teletherapy practice. **Attach course certificate(s) indicating attendance and total number of CE hours awarded.**

List only courses that you have taken and completed. Do not list courses you anticipate taking.

- Attach the Certificate of Completion for each course in the order they are listed on the form.
- Courses that do not have a Certificate of Completion will not be counted for credit see 12 AAC 18.200(3)
- No more than 12 contact hours may be obtained in one day see 12 AAC 18.210(e).

In the table below, the categories for hours are broken down as follows:

G - General Continuing Education Hours; S - Substance Abuse Hours; P - Professional Ethics; T - Teletherapy Practice

Registrant Name:				

Dates of Attendance	Course/Seminar or Workshop Title/Brief Description	Principal Instructor	Sponsoring Organization	G	S	Р	Т

Dates of Attendance	Course/Seminar or Workshop Title/Brief Description	Principal Instructor	Sponsor	ing Organization	G	S	Р	Т
		Subt	otal Hours	for Each Category:				
		Total Ho	ours of Con	tinuing Education:				
Applicant Signature:				Date Signed:				



THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550
Email: License@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "Yes" answers. A "Yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "Yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "Yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include but not be limited to: suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "Yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a "Yes" answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted according to state law.

according to state id	w.						
Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "Yes" to in the box.							
Location of Inciden	t:			Date of Incident:			
Explanation of Inci	dent:						
When in doul and exp Make copies a	olain.						
Did you attach al	l applicable docu	ments associated with this inc	cident?				
Court order	s \square	Consent agreements	☐ Disciplinary a	ctions	Charging documents		
Court recor	ds 🔲	Fitness to practice	☐ All other doc	umentation related	to this incident		
I have additional incidents for this "Yes" answer, or "Yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.							
Full Name:				PL Code:			
Signature:				Date:			

You must submit one form for each "Yes" answer. Make copies of this form as necessary.

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

	Credit	Card	Paymer	nt Form
--	--------	------	---------------	---------

Credit Card Payment Form		
All major credit cards are accepted. For s Include this credit card payment form with	security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card informatin your application.	on.
Name of Applicant or Licensee:		
Program Type:	License Number (if applicable):	
wish to make payment by credit card for	the following (check all that apply):	MOUNT
Application Fee:	······································	
License or Renewal Fee:		
Other (name change, wall certifica	te, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):	
1		
2		
	TOTAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email <i>(optional)</i> :	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		
08-4438 Rev 12/26/18		ccepted)
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment	t cannot be processed unless all fields are com	pleted!
1. Account Number:	All four fields	
2. Expiration Date:	be comple	
3. Billing ZIP Code:	This section was destroyed aft	er the