
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 
P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Telephone:  (907) 465-2551 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
Website:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 
 
MASTER SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE APPLICATION 

 
READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND THE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS’ STATUTES AND  

  REGULATIONS BEFORE YOU COMPLETE THE APPLICATION! 
 

A person may apply for a license to practice master social work in the State of Alaska by examination (see Part I) or by 
credentials (see Part II).  Part III describes the procedures for obtaining a temporary license while waiting for permanent 
licensure. 
 
If you have questions concerning the licensure requirements, please contact the licensing examiner at (907) 465-2551. 
 

PART I.  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
 
The following documentation must be received to be considered for licensure by examination: 
 

1. A completed and notarized application and $100.00 nonrefundable application fee (form 08-4384). 
 

2. An initial license fee of $350.00 may be submitted at this time or upon successful passage of the examination.   Please 
note that license fees are subject to change. 

 
3. Certified transcripts of a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work sent directly to the Division of 

Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing from a college or university approved by the Board. 
 

4. Three professional references (form 08-4384b) from the following, as appropriate: 
 

a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor; 
 
b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor; and 

 
c. a reference from any one of the following professionals: 
 

• Master's or doctorate degree social worker; 
• Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry; 
• Licensed medical or osteopathic physician; 
• Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health; 
• Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing; 
• Licensed marriage and family therapist; or 
• Licensed professional counselor. 
 

5. Verification of licensure from each state, except Alaska, where currently licensed and wherever previously licensed 
(08-4384a), even if the license held was not equivalent to the license for which you are currently applying.  The state 
must verify any disciplinary actions taken. 

 
NOTE: Applicants who are not currently or were not previously employed in social work must submit three 

professional references from any of the above-listed individuals in Section “c.” 
 
EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 
The Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners offers the examination through the Association of Social Work Boards.  Upon 
approval to sit for the examination at the Intermediate level, applicants will be instructed to register with the Association of 
Social Work Boards.  A separate examination fee will be required by the Association of Social Work Boards. 
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PART II.  LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

The Board will issue a license to practice as a master social worker to an applicant who holds a current license to practice 
social work in another jurisdiction, THAT AT THE TIME OF ORIGINAL ISSUANCE OF THE LICENSE, HAD REQUIREMENTS 
FOR LICENSURE EQUAL TO OR MORE STRINGENT THAN THOSE OF THIS STATE AND AT THE SAME LEVEL FOR 
WHICH APPLICATION HAS BEEN MADE. (See AS 08.95.120) 

The following documents are needed for licensure by credentials: 

1. A completed and notarized application and $100 nonrefundable application fee (08-4089).

2. An initial license fee of $350.00, made payable to the State of Alaska.  Please note that license fees are subject to 
change.

3. Verification of Licensure from each state where currently licensed and wherever previously licensed (08-4089a).  The 
state must verify any disciplinary actions taken or pending.  THE EXAMINATION TAKEN MUST BE THE MASTERS
LEVEL EXAMINATION OFFERED BY THE ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS.  (Copy form if you need
additional forms.)

4. To meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 18.112 you must verify:

a. successful passage of the Masters level examination within the two years before making application (form
08-4089a); OR

b. 1,500 hours of work as a licensed social worker within the last five years while holding a license similar to that for
which application has been made (form 08-4089d); AND

c. completion of the continuing education (CE) requirements in 12 AAC 18.210(a)(1) and (3).  The required 45 hours
of CEs must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received.  Of the
45 hours of CE required, at least 6 contact hours must be in substance abuse education and at least 3 contact
hours must be in professional ethics.  (Attach course certificate indicating attendance and number of CE hours
received.)

5. Three professional references (form 08-4089c) from the following, as appropriate:

a. a reference from a current social work employer supervisor;

b. a reference from a previous social work employer supervisor; and

c. a reference from any one of the following professionals:

• master's or doctorate degree social worker;
• licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry;
• licensed medical or osteopathic physician;
• licensed advanced nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health;
• licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing;
• licensed marriage and family therapist; or
• licensed professional counselor.

NOTE: Applicants who are not currently or were not previously employed in social work must submit three 
professional references from any of the above-listed individuals in Section “c.” 
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PART III.  TEMPORARY LICENSE 

The Board may issue a temporary license to practice master social work to an applicant who meets the criteria set out in 
AS 08.95.125.  The temporary license allows an applicant to practice while waiting to sit for the examination, or while 
completing the application process for licensure by credentials. 

Note: You must apply for a license by examination or credentials in order to request a temporary license. 

The following documents must be in this office before your application for a temporary license will be considered: 

For credential applicants: 

1. A completed notarized application attesting:

a. that you are of good moral character;
b. that you are not the subject of any unresolved complaint or disciplinary action; and
c. that you have not had a license to practice social work revoked, suspended, or surrendered.

2. Photocopy of current license in another jurisdiction, together with a sworn statement as to the copy’s veracity and
submit documentation to substantiate that the jurisdiction where you hold a license to practice master social work
has the same or higher licensing requirements than that of Alaska.

3. Nonrefundable application fee of $100.00.

4. Temporary licensure fee of $75.00.

The temporary license is valid for one year.  A temporary license may not be issued more than once and may not be
renewed.  If the board rejects your application for a permanent license, the temporary license becomes invalid on the
date of board action rejecting the license application (AS 08.95.125(d)).

For examination applicants: 

1. A completed notarized application attesting:

a. that you hold a master’s social work degree; and
b. that you are of good moral character.

2. Transcripts (unofficial transcripts printed from the university/college website will be accepted for issuance of the
temporary license).

3. Nonrefundable application fee of $100.00.

4. Temporary licensure fee of $75.00.

The temporary license is valid for one year.  A temporary license may not be issued more than once and may not be
renewed.  If the board rejects your application for a permanent license, the temporary license becomes invalid on the
date of board action rejecting the license application (AS 08.953125(d)).

GENERAL INFORMATION 

APPLICATION REVIEW 
The Board meets at least twice a year and will review applications at board meetings.  Applications must be complete 
(including supporting documentation).  Contact the division for meeting dates. 

The Board will also review complete applications between board meeting dates.  The division will forward complete 
applications to Board members by using the mail ballot voting process. 

RENEWAL INFORMATION 
All certificates expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of when issued, except certificates issued within 90 
days of the expiration date will be issued through the next biennium.  Refer to 12 AAC 18.210 for continuing education 
requirements. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license unless the applicant's social security 
number has been provided to the department. If you do not have a social security number, you may download the Request 
for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form at http://commerce.alaska.gov/occ/home_professional_lic.html 
or contact the division.  
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PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska 
Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable 
temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education 
office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 

PUBLIC INFORMATION 

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public unless required to be kept 
confidential by state or federal law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the 
division’s website at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under License Search. 

ADDRESS CHANGE 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, a person must notify the division in writing of any change in address.  You can 
download the Change of Address form from the division website at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ. 
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CSW (MSW) 
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2551  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/pcsw.htm

For Division Use Only 

APPLICATION FOR MASTER SOCIAL WORKER LICENSE 

I HEREBY APPLY for licensure as a master social worker by: 

  Examination        Credentials 

  In addition to the above, I would like to be issued a Temporary License 

Submit a complete notarized or postmaster-stamped application and applicable fees. 

 $100.00  Nonrefundable Application Fee  $350.00 Licensure Fee           

$75.00 Temporary license fee 

This application must be completed in full.  If a section does not apply, write N/A in the space provided.  PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. 

1. Full Legal Name (as it appears on government identification):

Last First M.I. List all previous legal names 

Social Security Number:  
(Required by AS 08.01.060) 

Date of Birth:  Sex:  Male  Female 

2. Mailing Address:
Street Address or PO Box 

City  State ZIP Code 

Business Telephone:      Home Telephone:  

Email Address:  

EDUCATION:  

List name and mailing address of ALL Master’s and Doctorate programs attended.  Give dates of attendance and graduation. 

3. Name of College (Masters):

Address:
Street Address or PO Box 

City  State ZIP Code 

Date Degree Awarded:  Type of Degree:  

4. Name of College (Doctorate):

Address:
Street Address or PO Box 

City State ZIP Code 

Date Degree Awarded:  Type of Degree:  
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a falsified application 



  
 
PROFESSIONAL DATA: 
 
5. List the state(s) where you currently hold or have held a license or certification to practice Master social work.  Please indicate  

whether certified or licensed. (If you need additional pages, please attach.) 
 

State Date Issued Expiration Date Licensed/Certified 

a. 
   

b. 
   

c. 
   

 

6. List the state in which you passed/failed a social worker examination at the Intermediate level. 

 State:      Exam Date:     Check either Passed or Failed: 

 Exam Administered By:            Passed     Failed 
 

 
7. If applying for licensure by CREDENTIALS, list what state license you base this application on? 

State                   License Number          

Date of Issuance         Expiration Date:          
 
8. Do you hold any other professional license?          Yes           No 

If yes:  State       Type of License         License Number       
 
 
OCCUPATIONAL DATA:  In chronological order, from most recent to most remote, list all relevant or related post graduate positions 
held in the past ten years.  Provide name of employer, mailing address, telephone number, position held, duties and responsibilities, 
and name of direct supervisor(s). (If you need additional pages, please attach.) 
 
9. Name of Employer:    

Dates: From:      To:    

Employer full address:    

Employer telephone number:    

Name of direct supervisor:    

Position held by applicant:    

Duties and responsibilities:    

  

  

  
 

 Name of Employer:    

Dates: From:      To:    

Employer full address:    

Employer telephone number:    

Name of direct supervisor:    

Position held by applicant:    

Duties and responsibilities:    

  

  

  
 

 
 

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 
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OCCUPATIONAL DATA CONTINUED:   

Name of Employer:    

Dates: From:      To:    

Employer full address:    

Employer telephone number:    

Name of direct supervisor:    

Position held by applicant:    

Duties and responsibilities:    

  

  

  

 
PROFESSIONAL FITNESS:  The following questions must be answered.  “Yes” answers may not automatically result in 
license denial. 
               YES   NO 
1. Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violation of the Social Work 
 Practice Act or unethical conduct? ...............................................................................................................................       

2.  Have you ever had an application for a professional license denied? .........................................................................       

3. Have you ever had a license to practice social work revoked, suspended, restricted, 
 or limited? ....................................................................................................................................................................       

4. Have you ever been investigated by a licensing authority or professional association even 
 if no disciplinary action resulted? .................................................................................................................................         

5. Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgments paid on your behalf? ..................................................       

6. Have you been convicted of a criminal offense other than a minor traffic violation? ...................................................       

7. Are you now or have you been, within the past 5 years, addicted to or excessively used 
 or misused alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? ..........................................................................       

8. Are you now or within the past 5 years, been treated or hospitalized for emotional 
or mental illness, drug addiction or alcoholism? ..........................................................................................................       

If you answered “Yes” to any of the above questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper and send 
any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, etc.). 

 
Please be advised that all information provided with this application will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by 
state or federal law. 

I hereby certify that the information in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that any false 
information may result in failure to obtain licensure as a master social worker in Alaska, or subsequent revocation of my license. 
 
  
 SIGN HERE         

         Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public, in and for the State of  , 

this                 day of      , in the year of   . 

 
 
NOTARY SEAL  

 NOTARY   
Notary Public 

 
My Commission Expires:    

 
WARNING:   The Board of Social Work Examiners may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or attempted to 
obtain a license to practice social work by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to criminal charges for perjury.  (AS 11.56.200) 
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STATE OF ALASKA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

 
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 

 
Applicant: 
 
Some states require a fee for completion of a license verification.  You may wish to check with the state Board prior to 
submitting this form to them for completion. 
 
 
 
State Board: 
 
I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Master level in the State of Alaska.  The Alaska Board of Social Work 
Examiners requires that this form be completed by each jurisdiction in which I hold or have held a license.  Please complete the 
form and return it to: 
 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
 

 
Signature:          

 
Printed Name:         

 
Name at Time of License:        

 
License Number:         

 
Address:          

 
  
  

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
 
The information below must be completed by the State Licensing Board; it may not be completed by the applicant. 
 
State of   
 
Name of Licensee   
 
Graduate of   
 
License No.        Type of License       Issued Effective   
 
By Reciprocity/Endorsement         By Examination   
 
Date of Exam        National        State   
 
Exam Administered by   
 
At what level was the examination administered?        Pass      Fail   
 
License is current       Lapsed       Expiration Date   
 
If the applicant's license has lapsed or expired, please explain why (e.g., failure to pay licensing renewal fees, etc.): 
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Has the applicant's license ever been suspended or revoked?      Yes        No       If yes, for what reason? 
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
Has the applicant been subject to any other disciplinary action(s) (e.g., letter of warning, stipulation)?     Yes          No 
Please describe: 
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
Please provide any information you believe relevant to the applicant's qualifications and fitness to practice social work: 
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
General Comments:    
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
 
 

(BOARD SEAL)      
Signature 

 
  

Printed Name 
 
Please return completed form to:     

Title 
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and    
  Economic Development          State Board 
Division of Corporations, Business and  
Professional Licensing Address:   
Board of Social Work Examiners  
P.O. Box 110806   
Juneau, AK 99811-0806  
 Phone Number:   
     
    Date:   
     
    E-mail:   
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STATE OF ALASKA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

 
PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE 

 
The professional reference must come from: 
 
 (1) A current social work employer supervisor, and 
 (2) A previous social work employer supervisor, and 
 (3) A reference from one of the following professionals: 
  (a) Master’s or doctorate degree social worker; 
  (b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry; 
  (c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician; 
  (d) Licensed advance nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health; 
  (e) Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing; 
  (f) Licensed marital and family therapist; or 
  (g) Licensed professional counselor. 
 
NOTE: Applicants who are not currently or were not previously employed in social work must submit three professional 

references from any of the above-listed individuals in Section (3). 
 
 
Name of Reference (print):         
 
 
Dear        : 
 
I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Master level in the State of Alaska.  I am required to provide three 
professional references.  Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address shown below.  Thank 
you for your assistance. 
 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
 

 
 

Signature:          
 

Printed Name:          
 

Address:          
 

  
 
   

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
 
I hereby certify that I have been professionally associated with   
    (Name of Applicant) 
 
from        , 20               to       , 20              . 
 
WHAT IS THE NATURE OF YOUR RELATIONSHIP?    
  
  
  
 
The board believes a license to practice social work at the master level carries important responsibilities.  Please comment 
on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods, as defined in 
AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of 
individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; 
explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, 
provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work. 
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For the Board of Social Work Examiners to have sufficient information to assess the applicant's qualifications, please answer the following 
questions: 
  YES NO 
 To your knowledge: 
 1. is the applicant of good moral character? ...................................................................................................................      
 
 2. has the applicant within the past five years, ever been addicted to or excessively  
 used alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? ...................................................................................      
 
 3. has the applicant ever been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction? ......................................      
 
 4. has the applicant violated the ethical standards of another state agency or jurisdiction 
 for providers of social work services? .........................................................................................................................      
 
 5. has the applicant misrepresented his or her qualifications to the board in any way? .................................................      
 
 6. has the applicant been sanctioned for practicing social work services without a license? .........................................     
  
 7. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a master social worker? .......................................................      

  Please explain:   

 8. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant:  
   
    
  
 9. Please evaluate the applicant’s technical knowledge and practical experience: 

       Excellent   Very Good   Fair       Needs Improvement 
 
I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
 
 
Check all as appropriate: 
 
I am a 
 

 Current employer supervisor 
 Previous employer supervisor 
 Master’s degree social worker 
 Doctorate degree social worker 
 Licensed psychological associate 
 Licensed clinical psychologist 
 Licensed physician specializing in Psychiatry 
 Licensed medical physician 
 Licensed osteopathic physician 
 Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with 

 specialty area of practice in mental health 
 Licensed registered nurse with a master’s 

 degree in psychiatric nursing 
 Licensed marriage and family therapist 
 Licensed professional counselor 

 
  

Signature 
 

  
Printed Name 

 
  

Job Title 
 

  
Professional Degree 

 
  

License Held 
 

License Number:   
 

  
Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

 
Address:   
 
  
 
Phone Number:   
 
E-mail:   
 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of    ,  
 
this    day of   , in the year of  . 
 

  
Notary Public 

NOTARY SEAL 
My Commission Expires:   

 
Please return completed form to: 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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STATE OF ALASKA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

 
PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE 

 
The professional reference must come from: 
 
 (1) A current social work employer supervisor, and 
 (2) A previous social work employer supervisor, and 
 (3) A reference from one of the following professionals: 
  (a) Master’s or doctorate degree social worker; 
  (b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry; 
  (c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician; 
  (d) Licensed advance nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health; 
  (e) Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing; 
  (f) Licensed marital and family therapist; or 
  (g) Licensed professional counselor. 
 
NOTE: Applicants who are not currently or were not previously employed in social work must submit three professional 

references from any of the above-listed individuals in Section (3). 
 
 
Name of Reference (print):         
 
 
Dear        : 
 
I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Master level in the State of Alaska.  I am required to provide three 
professional references.  Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address shown below.  Thank 
you for your assistance. 
 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
 

 
 

Signature:          
 

Printed Name:          
 

Address:          
 

  
 
   

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
 
 
I hereby certify that I have been professionally associated with   
    (Name of Applicant) 
 
from  , 20                   to  , 20                     . 
 
WHAT IS THE NATURE OF YOUR RELATIONSHIP?    
  
  
  
 
The board believes a license to practice social work at the master level carries important responsibilities.  Please comment 
on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods, as defined in 
AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of 
individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; 
explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, 
provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work. 
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For the Board of Social Work Examiners to have sufficient information to assess the applicant's qualifications, please answer the following 
questions: 
  YES NO 
 To your knowledge: 
 1. is the applicant of good moral character? ...................................................................................................................      
 
 2. has the applicant within the past five years, ever been addicted to or excessively  
 used alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? ...................................................................................      
 
 3. has the applicant ever been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction? ......................................      
 
 4. has the applicant violated the ethical standards of another state agency or jurisdiction 
 for providers of social work services? .........................................................................................................................      
 
 5. has the applicant misrepresented his or her qualifications to the board in any way? .................................................      
 
 6. has the applicant been sanctioned for practicing social work services without a license? .........................................     
  
 7. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a master social worker? .......................................................      

  Please explain:   

 8. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant:  
   
    
  
 9. Please evaluate the applicant’s technical knowledge and practical experience: 

       Excellent   Very Good   Fair       Needs Improvement 
 
I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
 
 
Check all as appropriate: 
 
I am a 
 

 Current employer supervisor 
 Previous employer supervisor 
 Master’s degree social worker 
 Doctorate degree social worker 
 Licensed psychological associate 
 Licensed clinical psychologist 
 Licensed physician specializing in Psychiatry 
 Licensed medical physician 
 Licensed osteopathic physician 
 Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with 

 specialty area of practice in mental health 
 Licensed registered nurse with a master’s 

 degree in psychiatric nursing 
 Licensed marriage and family therapist 
 Licensed professional counselor 

 
  

Signature 
 

  
Printed Name 

 
  

Job Title 
 

  
Professional Degree 

 
  

License Held 
 

License Number:   
 

  
Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

 
Address:   
 
  
 
Phone Number:   
 
E-mail:   
 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of    ,  
 
this    day of   , in the year of  . 
 

  
Notary Public 

NOTARY SEAL 
My Commission Expires:   

 
Please return completed form to: 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

08-4384b (Rev. 07/01/14)    Professional Reference Page 2 of 2 



STATE OF ALASKA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

 
PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE 

 
The professional reference must come from: 
 
 (1) A current social work employer supervisor, and 
 (2) A previous social work employer supervisor, and 
 (3) A reference from one of the following professionals: 
  (a) Master’s or doctorate degree social worker; 
  (b) Licensed psychological associate, clinical psychologist, or physician specializing in psychiatry; 
  (c) Licensed medical or osteopathic physician; 
  (d) Licensed advance nurse practitioner with a specialty area of practice in mental health; 
  (e) Licensed registered nurse with a master’s degree in psychiatric nursing; 
  (f) Licensed marital and family therapist; or 
  (g) Licensed professional counselor. 
 
NOTE: Applicants who are not currently or were not previously employed in social work must submit three professional 

references from any of the above-listed individuals in Section (3). 
 
 
Name of Reference (print):         
 
 
Dear        : 
 
I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Master level in the State of Alaska.  I am required to provide three 
professional references.  Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address shown below.  Thank 
you for your assistance. 
 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
 

 
 

Signature:          
 

Printed Name:          
 

Address:          
 

  
 
   

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
 
 
I hereby certify that I have been professionally associated with   
    (Name of Applicant) 
 
from        , 20               to       , 20              . 
 
WHAT IS THE NATURE OF YOUR RELATIONSHIP?    
  
  
  
 
The board believes a license to practice social work at the master level carries important responsibilities.  Please comment 
on the applicant's qualifications, abilities, character, etc., which involves use of social work principles and methods, as defined in 
AS 08.95.990(7), and which include counseling of a nonmedical nature to assist in the treatment of mental and emotional conditions of 
individuals, families, and groups; providing information and referral services; providing or arranging for the provision of social services; 
explaining and interpreting the psychosocial aspects in the situations of individuals, families, or groups; helping communities to organize, 
provide, or improve social and health services; and doing research related to social work. 
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For the Board of Social Work Examiners to have sufficient information to assess the applicant's qualifications, please answer the following 
questions: 
  YES NO 
 To your knowledge: 
 1. is the applicant of good moral character? ...................................................................................................................      
 
 2. has the applicant within the past five years, ever been addicted to or excessively  
 used alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? ...................................................................................      
 
 3. has the applicant ever been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction? ......................................      
 
 4. has the applicant violated the ethical standards of another state agency or jurisdiction 
 for providers of social work services? .........................................................................................................................      
 
 5. has the applicant misrepresented his or her qualifications to the board in any way? .................................................      
 
 6. has the applicant been sanctioned for practicing social work services without a license? .........................................     
  
 7. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a master social worker? .......................................................      

  Please explain:   

 8. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant:  
   
    
  
 9. Please evaluate the applicant’s technical knowledge and practical experience: 

       Excellent   Very Good   Fair       Needs Improvement 
 
I hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
 
 
Check all as appropriate: 
 
I am a 
 

 Current employer supervisor 
 Previous employer supervisor 
 Master’s degree social worker 
 Doctorate degree social worker 
 Licensed psychological associate 
 Licensed clinical psychologist 
 Licensed physician specializing in Psychiatry 
 Licensed medical physician 
 Licensed osteopathic physician 
 Licensed advanced nurse practitioner with 

 specialty area of practice in mental health 
 Licensed registered nurse with a master’s 

 degree in psychiatric nursing 
 Licensed marriage and family therapist 
 Licensed professional counselor 

 
  

Signature 
 

  
Printed Name 

 
  

Job Title 
 

  
Professional Degree 

 
  

License Held 
 

License Number:   
 

  
Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

 
Address:   
 
  
 
Phone Number:   
 
E-mail:   
 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of    ,  
 
this    day of   , in the year of  . 
  

  
Notary Public 

NOTARY SEAL 
My Commission Expires:   

 
Please return completed form to: 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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STATE OF ALASKA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

 
VERIFICATION OF WORKING EXPERIENCE 

(To be used only for Licensure by Credentials) 
 
 
 
 
 
Dear      : 
 
I am applying for a license to practice social work at the Master level in the State of Alaska.  I am required to provide verification of working 
experience.  Please provide the information requested below to the State of Alaska at the address shown below.  Thank you for your 
assistance. 
 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Board of Social Work Examiners 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
 
 
 

      Signature:          
 
      Printed Name:          
 
      Address:          
 
 

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
 
The continuing competency requirements established in 12 AAC 18.112(2)(A) require verification of 1,500 hours of work as a social worker 
within the last five years while holding a license similar to that for which application has been made. 
 
 
The information below must be completed by the applicant’s employer or supervisor; it may not be completed by the applicant. 
 
 
I,        , did work with or supervised       
 (Name of Employer/Supervisor) 
 
at                 
      (Name of Institution/Professional Clinic, etc.) 
 
from       to       for a total of     hours. 

(must be at least 1,500 hours) 
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The Board believes a license to practice social work carries important responsibilities.  Please comment on the applicant’s qualifications, ability, 
character, etc. 
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
                
 
 
 

  
                  Signature 
 
           

   Printed Name 
 
          

                 Job Title 
 

         
           Institution/Clinic Where Employed 

 
Address:    

 
  

 
Phone Number:          
 
Email Address:          
 

                  
                    Date 
 
 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for the State of        ,  
 
this   day of       , in the year of               . 
 
 
 

  
NOTARY SEAL    Notary Public 

 
         My Commission Expires:    
 
 
Please return completed form to: 
 
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Social Work Examiners 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 
CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTATION 

TO BE USED ONLY FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

Print Name:               

NOTE:  If using CEs to meet the continuing competency requirements of 12 ACC 18.112, List the continuing education (CE) requirements per 12 ACC 
18.210(a)(1) and (3). The required 45 hours of CE’s must have been obtained during the past five years before the date the application is received. Of the 45 
hours of CE required, at least six contact hours must be in substance abuse education and at least three contact hours must be in professional ethics.  Attach 
course certificate indicating attendance and number of CE hours received.  
 
In the table below, the categories for hours are broken down as follows:  G – General continuing education hours; S – Substance Abuse hours;  
and P – Professional Ethics. 

Dates of 
Attendance 

Title/Brief Description 
Course/Seminar or Workshop 

Principal 
Instructor 

Sponsoring 
Organization G S P 

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

       

 SUBTOTAL HOURS FOR EACH CATEGORY:    

TOTAL HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION:    

Note: List only courses that you have taken.  Do not list courses you anticipate taking. 
  

 Applicant Signature 
   
                                                                                                                                                                            Date  
08-4384d (Rev. 07/01/14) CE Documentation Page 1 of 1     


	P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806
	Website:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ
	READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND THE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS’ STATUTES AND    REGULATIONS BEFORE YOU COMPLETE THE APPLICATION!
	PART I.  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION
	EXAMINATION INFORMATION
	APPLICATION REVIEW
	RENEWAL INFORMATION
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

	PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS
	PUBLIC INFORMATION
	ADDRESS CHANGE
	VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE
	PLEASE DO NOT DETACH
	PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE
	PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE
	PROFESSIONAL REFERENCE


	I am a
	 Previous employer supervisor
	I am a

	 Previous employer supervisor
	I am a

	 Previous employer supervisor
	Title/Brief Description
	Course/Seminar or Workshop
	Principal
	Instructor
	Sponsoring
	Organization

	STATE OF ALASKA
	PLEASE DO NOT DETACH
	CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTATION


