
 State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2542  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
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ALASKA DENTAL LICENSE BY EXAMINATION 

LEVEL III PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION SERVICE REPORT (PBIS) 
(HAVE NOT HELD A DENTAL LICENSE AT LEAST 90 DAYS IN ANY JURISDICTION) 

In accordance with Sec. 08.36.100, license required, except as provided in AS 08.36.238, a person may not practice, or attempt to 
practice, dentistry without a license.  A SEPARATE APPLICATION IS REQUIRED TO ADMINISTER PARENTERAL SEDATION OR 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA. 
 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION 

The Alaska Board of Dental Examiners accepts the results from the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) in lieu of giving their 
own examination.  AS 08.36.160(e) requires that an applicant obtains a passing score within the five years preceding licensure 
application.  For information regarding the WREB examination please write to: 
 

Western Regional Examining Board 
23460 N. 19th Avenue, Suite 210 

Phoenix, AZ 85027 
Telephone: (602) 944-3315 

Fax: (602) 371-8131 
Website:  www.wreb.org 

E-mail Address:  generalinfo@wreb.org 
 
LEVEL III PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION SERVICE CREDENTIAL REPORT (PBIS) 

This report is required of those applicants who HAVE NOT previously held a dentist license in any jurisdiction before the 
90 days immediately proceeding the date of application.  You will need to arrange with PBIS for submission of a Level III credential 
report to be sent directly to the department by PBIS. This process generally takes between one and three months.  Please plan 
accordingly.  Contact PBIS directly at the below address: 

Professional Background Information Services 
23460 N. 19th Avenue, Suite 225 

Phoenix, AZ 85027 
Telephone: (602) 861-5867 

Fax: (602) 861-9656 
Website:  www.pbisonline.com 

E-mail:  applications@pbisonline.com 
 
DOCUMENTS TO BE SUBMITTED BY APPLICANT: 

1. Complete, signed and notarized application form 08-4165; 

2. Nonrefundable application fee of $600.00; 

3. License fee of $350.00; 

4. Authorization for Release of Records form 08-4165b; 

5. Official transcripts sent directly from dental school; 

6. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) verification form 08-4165a.  This must be submitted directly from DEA for verification 
even if you are not currently registered with DEA; 

7. Copy of current certification cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) card; 

8. Copy of examination certificate from WREB indicating that you have successfully passed the examination or successful 
completion of a two-year or more post graduate training program approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and 
evidence of having five years of continuous clinical practice with an average of 20 hours per week; 

9.  Copy of National Board examination scores indicating successful passage of exam. 
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OTHER INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR LICENSURE 

1. As required by AS 08.36.110(F), the Division will query the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and the American 
Association of Dental Boards Clearinghouse for Disciplinary Information that relates to criminal or fraudulent activity, negligent 
dental care, or malpractice. 

2. Upon receipt of an application, the Jurisprudence Examination will be mailed to applicants for completion. 

All Applicants must complete the board’s Jurisprudence questionnaire.  The questionnaire is open book consisting of 25 
multiple choice questions.  Once an application is on file, the questionnaire will be mailed to the applicant for completion. 

3. For your information, there are separate applications for a General Anesthetic Permit and a Parenteral Sedation Permit.  If you 
need to apply for these permits you may download the applications from the website, professionallicense.alaska.gov, or 
contact this office to request that the application(s) be mailed to you. 

4. Wall certificate fee of $20.00 (optional). 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
Make checks or money orders payable to the State of Alaska.  Credit cards can be processed using the form on the Division website: 
professionallicense.alaska.gov  
 
APPLICATION REVIEW 
Applications will be processed according to the date received.  You will be notified in writing as soon as your application has been 
reviewed. 
 
Average processing time to complete the file is from eight to twelve weeks. Start the process far enough in advance to allow this 
process to occur. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office.  If there are items in the application about which the board 
requires additional information, or if there is any adverse or derogatory information that comes to light, the review process may take 
longer. 
 
The Alaska State Board of Dental Examiners conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, 
malpractice history, and any criminal or disciplinary history.  We recommend you do not make commitments for loans, practice start 
dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure.  The board will not accelerate one application over others nor will it 
forego any elements of its screening process. 
 
If you received this application from a source other than directly from the Division or its official website, the application may be outdated 
or not an official version.  To ensure you have the official version please visit the Division website at: professionallicense.alaska.gov 
  
 
Applications are processed as quickly as possible.  Unnecessary telephone calls to our office delay processing.  Because of telephone 
calls regarding the status of application and because of privacy issues, we prefer to restrict our telephone responses to the 
applicant only.  If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it “Certified – Return Receipt Requested.”  
You will receive a delivery notice from the post office. 
 

 
 

PLEASE DO NOT MOVE TO ALASKA WITHOUT A LICENSE IN HAND. 
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 “YES” RESPONSES 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied.  If you have responded “Yes” to any question in the 
application, additional time will be required for the gathering and assessment of pertinent information. 
 
HOW CAN YOU HELP? 

1. First and foremost:  Apply far enough in advance to allow for application processing.   
 
2. If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it Certified-Return Receipt. 

 
    3. If you wish to expedite processing as much as you can, send any necessary verification forms out via overnight mail to the 

appropriate organization and include a return overnight mail envelope addressed to the licensing examiner for the 
organization’s use.  This will help them to respond quickly. 

 
   4. Insure that the application is complete when you submit it and provide any necessary explanations with the application.  Print 

legibly or type your application. 
 

   5. Provide complete explanations for any “Yes” responses; it saves time if we don’t have to request such information.  WHEN IN 
DOUBT, DISCLOSE ALL INFORMATION OR CONTACT OUR OFFICE. 

 
   6. Provide a brief description for any malpractice claims describing what allegation was, the nature of the case, your level of 

involvement, and the resolution of the case. 

 

RENEWAL INFORMATION: All Dentist licenses expire on February 28 of odd-numbered years regardless of when issued, except new 
licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued through the next biennium. 
 
ADDRESS CHANGE: In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900 a person must notify the division in writing, of a change of address.  The 
Change of Address form is available on the division’s website at: professionallicense.alaska.gov  
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license unless the 
applicant's social security number has been provided to the department. If you do not have a social security number, you may 
download the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form at professionallicense.alaska.gov or contact the 
division.  

PUBLIC INFORMATION: Please be aware that all information on the initial application form will be available to the public, unless 
required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on 
the division’s website at professionallicense.alaska.gov under License Search. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you 
are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you 
may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the 
Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: The complete set of Board of Dental Examiners statutes and regulations is available on the board’s 
website in the Professional Licensing Section at professionallicense.alaska.gov or contact the division and request a copy by mail. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

08-4165 (Rev. 01/29/15) 

 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/


   DEN 
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2542  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.com 
Website: professionallicense.alaska.gov  

For Division Use Only 

 
APPLICATION FOR DENTAL LICENSE BY EXAMINATION 

LEVEL III PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION SERVICE REPORT (PBIS) 
 

  NONREFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE: $600.00            Personal check or money order made payable to: 
  LICENSE FEE: $350.00        State of Alaska 
  WALL CERTIFICATE FEE (OPTIONAL):   $20.00  

 
I HEREBY APPLY for a license to practice dentistry in the State of Alaska, and submit the following statements, under oath, and 
herewith enclose the required documents and fees. 
 
INSTRUCTIONS TO THE APPLICANT:  It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all information requested in this 
application is received.  Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately.  Any omissions or inaccuracies are grounds 
for disapproval and rejection.  Section 08.36.315(1) of the Dental Practice Act provides that knowingly cooperating in deceit, fraud, or 
intentional misrepresentation to obtain a license is cause for suspension, revocation, or annulment of licensure.  If the space of any 
answer is insufficient, the applicant may complete his/her answer on an additional sheet signed by him/her and specifying the number 
of the question to which it relates. 

Type or print all requested data. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION: 
 
  Name in full:           SSN:   

Last First Initial         (Required by AS 08.01.060(b)) 
 
  Other names used, including maiden name:   
 
  Mailing Address:   
 

   
City       State   Zip Code     

 
  Business Address:   
 

   
    City       State Zip Code 
 
Daytime Phone No.:           Email Address:     

 

  Sex:    Female      Male  Date of Birth:      
 
 
PREDENTAL EDUCATION: 
 
   College or University:   

 
City and State:   
 
Year of Attendance:        Semester Hours:       Degree:   

 
 
DENTAL EDUCATION: 
 
  School of Dentistry:   
 

City and State:   
 
Degree:            Exact Date of Diploma:   
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EXAMINATION INFORMATION: 
 
A. A candidate must have passed the National Board Examinations.   

 Date passed:         
 
  B. A candidate must have passed the WREB Examination within 60 months prior to application. 

   Date passed:            OR 
 
  C. A candidate must have completed a two-year or more post graduate training program approved by the Commission on 

Dental Accreditation 

   Date completed:         Name of program:       
 
 
  Have you ever served in the uniformed services?      If so, branch of service   

date of commission     , date of discharge       , rank    

serial number       .  If separated from the services, state nature of separation and if other than  
honorable, specify type and circumstances surrounding your release.  Give full particulars as to any conviction by court martial  
while serving in the uniformed services.  
 
           
 
  

 
  List all states or jurisdictions in which you are currently or ever have been licensed.  List state, license number, date of issuance, 

and years of practice in each state.  If none, please indicate. 
 
 
 State/ 
 Jurisdiction 

 
 
 
 License No. 

 
 
 Date of Issuance 
 (Month/Day/Year) 

Dates Practiced 

From      To 
(Month/Day/Year)   (Month/Day/Year) 

    

    

    

    

 
  Give name and address of all locations with dates showing length of time spent in each location in which you have practiced.  If 

none, please indicate. If self-owned practice, state so. 
Inclusive Dates 

(Month/Day/Year) Addresses, Names of Employers, 
Associates, etc. Nature of Practice Reason for Leaving 

Began Ended 

     

     

     

     

     

 
IMPAIRED PRACTITIONER AFFIDAVIT: 

 I swear to the Board of Dental Examiners, by signature on this application and through this affidavit, that I am not an impaired   
 practitioner. 

 I understand that any false or misleading information may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the license for which I   
 have applied, or for any Alaska dental license that I now hold. 

 Per AS 08.36.370(3), “impaired practitioner” means a person who is unfit to practice dentistry due to addiction or dependence on 
 alcohol or other drugs that impair the practitioner’s ability to practice safely. 
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PROFESSIONAL FITNESS: 
    If you answer “YES” to any questions, please explain in full, on a separate affidavit, and enclose applicable legal 

documentation (court records, board actions, or judgments, etc.) 
 YES NO 

1. Have you ever practiced dentistry illegally?    
 

 2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned,  
 or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded,  
 disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional  
 license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities  
 or is any such action pending?     

 
3. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime?  
 For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including  
 but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without  
 a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.  “Convicted” includes having  
 been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no  
 contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.   
 
4.     Have you ever been the subject of a report from the National Practitioner Data Bank or the American 

                   Association of Dental Boards Clearinghouse? ..................................................................................................        
 

5. Are you the subject of a decision based upon a complaint, investigation, review procedure, 
 or other disciplinary proceeding within the five years immediately preceding application, or of an 
 unresolved complaint, investigation, review procedure, or other disciplinary proceeding, undertaken 
 by a state, territorial, local, or federal dental licensing jurisdiction or a dental society?   

 
6. Are you the subject of an unresolved decision or a decision based upon a complaint, investigation, 
 review procedure, or other disciplinary proceeding, undertaken by a state, territorial, local, or federal 
 dental licensing jurisdiction, dental society, or law enforcement agency that relates to criminal or 
 fraudulent activity, dental malpractice, or negligent dental care and that reflects on your 
 ability or competence to practice dentistry or on the safety or well-being of patients?   

 
7. Within the five years immediately preceding the date of application for licensure, have you experienced 
 or been treated for, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, paranoia, depression (except for situational or  
 reactive depression), psychotic disorder, or other mental or physical condition or disability?    

 
 8. Within the past five years, have you been or are you addicted to, excessively used, or misused alcohol,  
 narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs?    

Please be aware that all information on this form and supplied with this form will be available to the public, unless required to be 
kept confidential by state or federal law. 

   
STATEMENT OF ETHICAL STANDARDS: 

 I acknowledge and understand that a licensed dentist in Alaska shall adhere to the ethical standards for dentists established by the  
 Alaska Board of Dental Examiners and that failure to adhere to the ethical standards may result in imposition of a sanction that is 
 described in AS 08.36.315. 

 By my signature on this form, I CERTIFY that if I am granted licensure in the State of Alaska as a dentist, I will adhere to The 
 American Dental Association’s Principles of Ethics and Code of Professional Conduct, with official advisory opinions revised to 
 April 2002, is adopted by reference as the ethical standards for dentists and applies to all dentists in the state (12 AAC 28.905(b)). 
 
By my signature below, I CERTIFY that all information furnished in this application is true and correct.  I understand that it is a 
Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification. 
 

 
                   SIGN HERE   

Signature of Applicant 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN before me, a Notary Public, in and for the State of   
 
this    day of        , 20     . 
 

  
Notary Public 

NOTARY SEAL    My Commission Expires:   
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VERIFICATION OF STATUS OF DEA REGISTRATION 

 
Instructions to the Applicant: Type or print legibly. Complete Part I below and mail this form to the DEA.   
 
PART I 
Full Name (Last, First, Middle)                                                       Maiden or Other Names Used: Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

Mailing Address                                                                                  City                                                         State                            Zip 

Address Where DEA Registered DEA Registration No. 

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature 

 
MAIL THIS REQUEST FORM TO: Drug Enforcement Administration 
 Attn:  Diversion Unit 
 300 5th Avenue, Suite 1300 
 Seattle, WA  98104 
 

 
 

FOR DEA USE ONLY: 
 
Instructions to the DEA staff: Complete Part II below. Please search your records and advise if there is any derogatory 

information on file against this dentist.  Please return this form directly to the Board of 
Dental Examiners at the letterhead address. 

 
PART II  
 
1. Has this applicant ever surrendered (for cause) or had a federal controlled substance  

registration revoked, suspended, restricted or denied?  No       Yes  
  
2. Is any such investigation pending?  No      Yes  
    
 
DEA Comments:               
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
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E-mail:  license@alaska.com 
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AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS 
 
 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
 
I,  , residing at   
 
 ,authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my medical, dental, employment, educational records, and 
records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me 
and discuss them with persons having possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize the release of all such 
records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators. 
 
This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, drug or alcohol 
evaluation, diagnosis or treatment received by me and which were prepared or made in conjunction with, or under the 
authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis 
or treatments. 
 
This release specifically includes information from federal service and peer review organizations. 
 
I request that upon presentation of this release, or a true copy, that you provide copies of those records to the division and 
its investigators. 
 
I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered appropriate by the 
division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations 
if appropriate. 
 
This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for Alaska Dental 
Licensure.  This authorization expires one year from the date of my signature. 
 
 
My Date of Birth is:   
 
 
I hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, and its investigators, and all others directly or indirectly 
involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested. 
 
 
Signature:      Date:   
 
 
Home Telephone:  (          )      Work Telephone:  (          )   
 
 
 
 
NOTE: A photocopy reproduction of this request shall be, for all intents and purposes, as valid as the original. 
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