

THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Dental Assistant Coronal Polishing Certificate Application Instructions

No dental assistant may perform coronal polishing without certification from the board. A coronal polishing certification is renewed biennially in the State of Alaska.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all information requested in this application is received. Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. Any omissions or inaccuracies are grounds for disapproval and rejection. AS 08.36.315 of the Dental Practice Act provides that knowingly cooperating in deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation to obtain a license is cause for suspension, revocation, or annulment of licensure. If the space for any answer is insufficient, the applicant may complete his/her answer on another sheet signed by him/her and specifying the number of the question to which it relates.

Applications and payments must be submitted via mail or fax; they cannot be accepted by email for security reasons. Supporting documents can be accepted by email, mail, or fax.

12 AAC 28.810. CORONAL POLISHING BY DENTAL ASSISTANTS.

- (a) The board will issue a certificate to perform coronal polishing to a dental assistant who meets the requirements of AS 08.36.342 and this section.
- (b) An applicant for certification under this section must submit to the department:
 - (1) a complete, notarized application on a form provided by the department;
 - (2) the following fees:
 - (A) \$60 nonrefundable application fee;
 - (B) \$60 certification fee;
 - (3) either
 - (A) verification of successful completion of a course of instruction approved by the board under 12 AAC 28.820; or
 - (B) if the applicant is currently licensed or certified in another licensing jurisdiction to perform coronal polishing, evidence showing that the applicant's license or certificate to perform coronal polishing is current and in good standing in that licensing jurisdiction and a list of course of instruction for coronal polishing; the board will only approve the course of instruction under this subparagraph if it substantially complies with the requirements set out in 12 AAC 28.830.

12 AAC 28.830. REQUIREMENTS FOR CORONAL POLISHING COURSES.

A course of instruction in coronal polishing must include didactic and clinical instruction in

- (1) characteristics of abrasives used for polishing;
- (2) aerosol production during polishing;
- (3) effects of heat production during polishing;
- (4) removal of tooth structure by polishing;
- (5) indications and contraindications of polishing;
- (6) selective polishing techniques;
- (7) coronal polishing by removing soft plaque and stain from exposed enamel utilizing appropriate rotary instrument and suitable polishing agent; and
- (8) proper infection control techniques while performing rotary coronal polishing.

CORONAL POLISHING CERTIFICATION BASED ON TRAINING

The following must be received by the division before your application for Coronal Polishing Certification Based on Training can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A completed, signed, and notarized application (#08-4561).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$ 60.00
Certification Fee: \$ 60.00
Total Fees Due: \$120.00

3. COURSE VERIFICATION

A completed, signed, and sealed Course Verification form (#08-4561a).

4. COURSE DESCRIPTION

A course description and/or outline from the course sponsor where you received your training in coronal polishing to verify compliance with 12 AAC 28.830.

CORONAL POLISHING CERTIFICATION BASED ON CERTIFICATION IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION

The following must be received by the division before your application for Coronal Polishing Certification Based on Certification in Another Jurisdiction can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A completed, signed, and notarized application (#08-4561).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$ 60.00
Certification Fee: \$ 60.00
Total Fees Due: \$120.00

3. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Verification of licensure or certificate to perform coronal polishing (#08-4561b), sent directly from a jurisdiction where you hold a license/certificate to perform coronal polishing. The license/certificate must be current and in good standing.

4. COURSE DESCRIPTION

A course description and/or outline from the course sponsor where you received your training in coronal polishing to verify compliance with 12 AAC 28.830.

Applications are processed as quickly as possible. Telephone calls or emails to our office asking for status updates or if documents were received will delay processing. If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it "Certified – Return Receipt Requested." You will receive a delivery notice from the post office. Please only email or call the office asking for a status update if you haven't heard from the office more than six (6) weeks after your application has been received.

Because of privacy issues, telephone calls regarding the status of application will be restricted to the applicant only unless the applicant submits authorization in writing for details of their application file to be shared with a named third party.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the division for a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM:

All actively licensed practitioners with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location must register with the Alaska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) within 30 days of initial licensure and use the PDMP to review a patient's prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. For more information, please visit *PDMP.Alaska.Gov*

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov



FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Dental Assistant Coronal Polishing Certificate Application

PART I	Payment of Fees			
	Nonrefundable Application Fee			\$60.00
Required Fees:	☐ Certification Fee			\$60.00
PART II	Personal Information			
Full Legal Name:				
	r names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If and true copy of the documentation showing proo	=		red in a prior name, you must
☐ Not Ap	plicable			
☐ Other !	Names Used:			
Mailing Address		City		State Zip
Contact Phone:			Date of Birth:	
and Professional Licer	By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affectinsing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through ress in good standing may result in an inability to receive cruci	the MY LICENSE	web page. I understand	d that failure to check my email account or
Email Address:			Select One:	Send my Correspondence Electronically Send my Correspondence by Mail
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, you	will receive c	orrespondence electi	ronically.
States Social Security	MBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United Number. It is considered confidential information and will sed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.			

PA	RT III Coron	al Polishing Training Information	1		
	e of College, ersity or Sponsor:				
Locat (City,	t ion: State)				
Date	s Attended:		Degree:		
PA	RT IV Profes	sional History			
List a	ll other states where	e you are licensed or certified to perform cord	onal polishing.		
		State or Jurisdiction	License Number	Issue Date	
PA	RT V Requir	red Supporting Documents			
	erstand that the foldered complete:	llowing must be on file before my applicatio	n for a dental assistant coronal polis	shing certificate will be	
If Ap	olying by Examinati	ion:			
	A complete, signe	d, and notarized application as required by 12	2 AAC 28.810(b)(1).		
	The \$120 in fees as	s required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(2).			
	•	gned course verification form (#08-4561a) eit ege, or sponsor seal as required by 12 AAC 28	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Alaska or including	
- and	I-				
	A course description	on and/or outline confirming the coronal polis C 28.830:	shing course included instruction on t	the following, as	
	•	istics of abrasives used for polishing;			
	- Aerosol p	roduction during polishing;			
- Effects of heat production during polishing;					
	- Removal	of tooth structure by polishing;			
	- Indication	ns and contraindications of polishing;			
	- Selective	polishing techniques;			
	 Coronal polishing by removing soft plaque and stain from exposed enamel utilizing appropriate rotary instrument and suitable polishing agent; and 				
 Proper infection control techniques while performing rotary coronal polishing. 					

PART V Required Supporting Documents (continued)

If App	lying by Certification in Another State:
	A complete, signed, and notarized application as required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(1).
	The \$120 in fees as required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(2).
	A verification of licensure directly from the licensing jurisdiction where I've previously held licensure or certification to perform coronal polishing as required by 12 AAC 28.810(b)(3)(B).
- and	-
	A course description and/or outline confirming the coronal polishing course included instruction on the following, as required by 12 AAC 28.830:
	- Characteristics of abrasives used for polishing;
	- Aerosol production during polishing;
	- Effects of heat production during polishing;
	- Removal of tooth structure by polishing;
	- Indications and contraindications of polishing;
	- Selective polishing techniques;
	 Coronal polishing by removing soft plaque and stain from exposed enamel utilizing appropriate rotary instrument and suitable polishing agent; and,
	- Proper infection control techniques while performing rotary coronal polishing.

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

LAST

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Notary Signature Page

PART VI Notarized Signature

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I further certify that all credentials supplied by me are true and correct. I understand that any false information or falsification of credentials may result in failure to obtain a certificate to perform coronal polishing as a dental assistant in the State of Alaska.

I have read the Alaska Dental Practice Act. I solemnly declare upon my honor that, if granted certification to perform coronal polishing as a dental assistant in Alaska, I will respectfully comply with any law governing the performance of coronal polishing in this state, and I will do my best to uphold and maintain the ethics of the profession.

Notary Stamp	Applicant Printed Name:			
	Applicant Signature:			
	Notary Public for State of:		ibed and Sworn to me on this Day:	
	Notary Signature:		My Commission Expires:	



of ALASKA

A Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Course Verification

I am applying for certification to perform coronal polishing in the State of Alaska. The Board of Dental Examiners requires that this form be completed by the institution where I received my training in coronal polishing.

Please complete this form and attach a course description and/or course outline of restorative functions curriculum and return it directly to the address or email address noted above.

I hereby release all academic records necessary to complete the following form for the Board of Dental Examiners.

Name on Diploma:		Course Completion Date:				
Other Names Used:						
Signature:		Date Signed:				
-> Applicant: Do Not Write Below This Line - Institution or Sponsor Use Only						
Institution or Sponsor Name:						
Institution or Sponsor Address:	Street City	State		Zip)	
Course Instructor Name:						
Course Title:						
	ate boxes below that describe the content of the content of the content of the content polishing must include didactic and content of the con		-	applio	cant.	A
1. characteristics	of abrasives used for polishing;			Yes		No
2. aerosol product	cion during polishing;			Yes		No
3. effects of heat p	production during polishing;			Yes		No
4. removal of toot	h structure by polishing;			Yes		No
5. indications and	contraindications of polishing;			Yes		No
6. selective polish	ing techniques;			Yes		No
•	ng by removing soft plaque and stain from exposed enamel nt and suitable polishing agent;	utilizing appropriate		Yes		No

08-4561a (Rev. 04/04/2023) Course Verification Page 1 of 2

Check the appropriate boxes below that de course of instruction in coronal polishing m			-	applio	cant.	Α
8. proper infection control techniques while pe	forming rotary coronal polis	shing.		Yes		No
Please provide an explanation of the evaluation proc	edures used to determine su	accessful completion of th	is cou	rse.		
Signature						
I have attached a course description and/or course covers instructions in the topics noted under #1	_	ourse completed by the a	ıpplica	nt nam	ed abo	ove
I hereby certify that the above information regarding is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and perform coronal polishing in Alaska.		_			•	eted
University or College Seal Dean, Sponsor or Instructor Printed Na	me:					
Dean, Sponsor or						



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Dental Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfDentalExaminers@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfDentalExaminers

Verification of Licensure

(If applying by certification in another jurisdiction)

Applicant:	→	Applicant:
------------	----------	------------

The Board of Dental Examiners requires verification of licensure or certification to perform coronal polishing in another jurisdiction be verified by that jurisdiction. Complete this form and mail it to the applicable licensing jurisdiction(s) for them to either complete or replace with the verification form used by that state, then submit directly back to the Alaska Board of Dental Examiners.

	used by that sta	ate, then submit directly bac	K to the Alaska	- Doard Of Derital Exa	milers.
Full Legal Name:				License Number:	
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street		City	State	e Zip
Applicant Signature:				Date Signed:	
Ticensing Agency or State Board: Please complete this bottom part for directly to the Alaska State Board of address above.					
Licensee Name: (As Shown in Your Records)				State or Jurisdiction:	
Graduate Of:				Year:	
Coronal Polishing License or Certificate Number:				Issue Date:	
License Status:	Current	: Lapsed	Expir	y Date:	
Derogatory Comments: (If Any)					
	1. Has the applicant's license or certification ever been suspended, revoked, voluntarily suspended, placed on probation, or restricted in any way?				
"Yes" Answers If you answered "yes" to the question above, please attach a detailed explanation or documentation signed and dated by the person whose signature appears below.					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Comments:	Comments:				
Board Seal	Signature:			Date Signed:	
	Printed Name:			Title:	
	Email:			Phone:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form	
All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit car credit card payment form with your application.	d information. Include this
Name of Applicant or Licensee:	
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	
License Number (if applicable):	
I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):	AMOUNT
Application Fee:	
License or Renewal Fee:	
Other (fine, exam, etc.):	
1	
2	
TOTAL	:
Name (as shown on credit card):	
Mailing Address:	
Phone Number: Email (optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:	
08-4438 Rev 12/06/2022 Credit Card Payment Form (all maj	or cards accepted) — — — — — — — — —
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless a	Il fields are completed!
1. Credit Card Number:	All 3 fields MUST be completed!
2. Expiration Date: 3. Security Code:	This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.