
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

DISPENSING OPTICIAN APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

AS 08.71.080 states that it is unlawful for a person to act as a dispensing optician in the State of Alaska or to advertise or 
otherwise indicate to the public that he or she is qualified to practice as a dispensing optician without first obtaining a license 
through the procedures set forth in the Dispensing Opticians Act, AS 08.71. 

Please read the application and instructions carefully. Failure to do so may cause additional correspondence and 
delay in the processing of your application. (If you received this application other than directly from the Division or its 
official website, the application may be outdated or not an official version. To ensure you have the official version, please 
contact the division.) 

When submitting fees, make check or money order payable to the State of Alaska. 

All licenses expire June 30 of odd-numbered years regardless of when first issued, except permanent licenses issued within 
90 days of the June 30 expiration date will be issued to the next biennium. 

In this application packet you will find: 

1. Instructions for application and forms
2. General information
3. Application for Dispensing Optician License (08-4151 pages 1 – 3)
4. Authorization for Release of Records form (08-4151a)

Required with application for licensure

5. Apprentice Termination of Sponsorship/Verification of Training form (08-4151b)
The accompanying Check Sheet Verification (08-4151c) must be submitted with the Apprentice Termination of
Sponsorship/Verification of Training form

6. Verification of Licensure form (08-4151d)
This verification must be submitted for any new applicant, sent directly to the division from wherever you received your training

7. Verification of Work Experience form (08-4151e)
8. Application for Dispensing Optician License Endorsement Addition/Change form (08-4151f)

Use this form if you are a CURRENT licensed Dispensing Optician in the State of Alaska and are adding an endorsement

LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 
If you do not have a valid license from another state, territory, district, or possession of the United States with licensing 
requirements substantially equivalent to or higher than those of this state, you are not eligible to apply for a license by credentials.  
Please see “License by Examination Procedures.” 

1. Submit a complete, notarized application, on a form provided by the department, and the required application and license fees.

Nonrefundable Application Fee: $50.00 
Biennial License Fee: $275.00  

2. Verification of a current license to practice as a dispensing optician in good standing sent directly to this office by the
state, territory, district or possession of the United States with licensing requirements substantially equivalent to or higher
than those of the state of Alaska.

3. Verification of 1,800 hours as a practicing optician in spectacles and/or 1,800 hours as a practicing optician in contact lenses
or a total of 3,600 hours as a practicing optician in both aspects, in good standing in a state, territory, district, or possession of
the United States, submitted on a form provided by the department.

OR 
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Verification of completion of at least 1,800 hours of training in spectacles and/or 1,800 hours of training in contact lenses or a total 
of 3,600 hours of training in both aspects as an apprentice after registering with the department as an apprentice; 

* Graduation from an associate degree program in a recognized school or college of opticianry may be substituted
for the experience required by AS 08.71.110(a)(2).  If you choose this option in lieu of the experience requirement, you 
must submit an official transcript which must be sent directly from the recognized school or college to the State of
Alaska.

4. All complete applications are reviewed by the department.  If your file is incomplete or has been denied, you will be sent a
letter of explanation.

LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION PROCEDURES 
1. Submit a complete notarized application, on a form provided by the department, and the required application and license fees.

Nonrefundable Application Fee: $50.00 
Biennial License Fee: $275.00  

2. Verification of completion of at least 1,800 hours of training in spectacles and/or 1,800 hours of training in contact lenses or a
total of 3,600 hours of training in both aspects as an apprentice after registering with the department as an apprentice;

OR 
Verification of 1,800 hours as a practicing optician in spectacles and/or 1,800 hours as a practicing optician in contact lenses 
or a total of 3,600 hours as a practicing optician in both aspects, in good standing in a state, territory, district, or possession of 
the United States, submitted on a form provided by the department.* 

* Graduation from an associate degree program in a recognized school or college of opticianry may be substituted
for the experience required. If you choose this option in lieu of the experience requirement, you must submit an
official transcript which must be sent directly from the recognized school or college to the State of Alaska.

3. Verification of passing the applicable examination under AS 08.71.090 within the last five years (and maintaining the
certification for spectacles or contact lenses, or both, sent directly to the division from the American Board of Opticianry or the 
National Contact Lens Examiners.)

4. Verification of passing the Career Progression Program (CPP) sponsored by the National Academy of Opticianry (NAO) or
another approved program that the department determines is equivalent for spectacles and/or the Contact Lens Society of
America (CLSA), Contact Lens Manual:  Volume 1, A Comprehensive Study and Reference Guide for contact lens.*

* Graduation from an associate degree program in a recognized school or college of opticianry may be substituted
for the experience required. If you choose this option in lieu of the experience requirement, you must submit an
official transcript which must be sent directly from the recognized school or college to the State of Alaska.

5. If your application is incomplete or has been denied, you will be sent a letter of explanation.

6. If you wish to practice opticianry in Alaska while waiting for exam results, you must register as an apprentice, regardless of the 
number of years of work experience or training that you may have. You may obtain an application for apprentice by
visiting the division’s website at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ or you may call (907) 465-2695.

DISPENSING OPTICIAN ENDORSEMENT ADDITION 
12 AAC 30.105 allows for a licensed dispensing optician to add a contact lens or spectacles endorsement to their current 
license upon meeting licensing requirements.  This provision in the law allows for a dispensing optician that has a single 
endorsement to upgrade to dispense contact lenses AND spectacles, or to change endorsements.  This form is to be used 
only by applicants that are presently licensed as a dispensing optician in Alaska.  If you have not yet been licensed by the 
department, please use the “Application for Dispensing Optician License by Examination or by Credentials” (pages 1-3 of this 
application packet, also available on our website at www.comerce.alaska.gov/occ). 

Please note the department cannot give a specific timeline for the upgrade endorsement to your license.  The department 
processes applications in the order that they are received, so it is prudent to ensure that you have requested all of the 
information below and submitted a complete application and fees to expedite the process. 
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LICENSE ENDORSEMENT 

1. Submit a complete, notarized application, on the form provided by the department (08-4151a and 08-4151f), and
the required application fees.

Nonrefundable application fee: $50.00 

2. Verification of completing at least 1,800 hours of training in spectacles OR contact lenses, as appropriate for
your upgrade endorsement, as a licensed apprentice in Alaska.

OR
Verification of 1,800 hours as a practicing optician in spectacles or contact lenses, as appropriate for your
upgrade endorsement, in good standing in a state, territory, district, or possession of the United States,
submitted on the form provided by the department (08-4151e).

* Graduation from an associate degree program in a recognized school or college of opticianry may be
substituted for the experience required by AS 08.71.110(a)(2).  If you choose this option in lieu of the
experience requirement, you must submit an official transcript which must be sent directly from the
recognized school or college to the State of Alaska.

3. Verification of passing the applicable examination under AS 08.71.090 within the last five years.  For spectacles,
the department requires your American Board of Opticianry (ABO) score or for contact lenses your National
Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) score.

4. Verification of passing the Career Progression Program (CPP) sponsored by the National Academy of Opticianry
(NAO) or another approved program that the department determines is equivalent for spectacles OR the
Contact Lens Society of America (CLSA), Contact Lens Manual:  Volume 1, A Comprehensive Study and
Reference Guide for contact lens.*

* Graduation from an associate degree program in a recognized school or college of opticianry may be
substituted for the experience required. If you choose this option in lieu of the experience requirement,
you must submit an official transcript which must be sent directly from the recognized school or college
to the State of Alaska.

Examination Information 
To be scheduled for the next national opticianry competency examination offered by the American Board of Opticianry 
(ABO) or the contact lens registry examination offered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE), or to have exam 
scores sent to this office, please forward your request to the following address: 

AMERICAN BOARD OF OPTICIANRY 
6506 LOISDALE ROAD, SUITE 209 
SPRINGFIELD, VA 22150 
(703) 719-5800 OR 1-800-296-1379
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS - It is mandatory for an applicant seeking licensure to provide the applicant’s Social Security 
Number on the applications.  This is required by AS 08.01.060(b).  The Social Security Number provided will be used for child 
support purposes.  Applicants who do not have a Social Security Number must complete the request for Exception from 
Social Security Number Requirement form located on the division’s website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOAN - If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined 
that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in 
loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

PUBLIC INFORMATION - Please be aware that all information on the initial application form will be available to the public, 
unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing 
addresses, is available on the Division’s website at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under Licensing Search. 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS - The complete set of Dispensing Optician Statutes and Regulations is available on the 
division’s website at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ. If you are unable to download the statutes and regulations, please 
contact the division and request a copy by mail. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION - Please be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, 
professional licensing board, federal, state or local government agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be 
required by law. 

APPLICATION STATUS UPDATES - Our licensing examiner will send you a written status update upon the initial screening 
of the application.  Applications are screened in order received, and typically will be reviewed shortly thereafter depending on 
examiner’s work load.  Status updates will be mailed to the address on record. Staff may also use electronic mail if you supply 
an email address. 

COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION FORMS - Help us do a good job processing your application: type or print legibly all 
application documents. Please read the instructions and give careful thought before answering the questions in the 
application - remember - you are certifying that the information is truthful and correct. Make sure all notary seals are properly 
affixed on the application and all documentation has been properly certified as required. Provide all documents requested in 
the application; incomplete applications will delay processing. 

Each question in the application must be answered. Attach separate sheets of paper, labeled with your name and signed by 
you, for any question for which you have provided a YES response. 

Failure to answer all questions completely and accurately, or the omission or falsification of information may be 
cause for denial of your application or disciplinary action if you are subsequently licensed. WHEN IN DOUBT, 
DISCLOSE ALL INFORMATION OR CALL OUR OFFICE. 

FAX DOCUMENTS - Fax copies of documents are NOT accepted for documentation or verification in our licensing process. 

LICENSING PROCESS - Submit your complete application to the board with fees and pertinent documents. The licensing 
examiner assembles the documents for your file and advises the applicant of the application status. 

Applications will be processed in the order in which they are received in the board’s office. Please insure that you apply well in 
advance of your need for the permit or license. Staff will not expedite one application before another.  The process can take 
between two to six weeks. 

 NAME CHANGES - If you submit documentation with a different name other than your current name, you must submit a 
copy of the legal document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.) supporting your name change. 

SHORT TERM LICENSING - Alaska statutes & regulations do not allow for short-term or temporary permits.  Anyone wishing 
to practice as a dispensing optician in Alaska will need to apply for full licensure. 

STATE BUSINESS LICENSES - Dispensing Opticians who are employees do not need to obtain an Alaska state business 
license; dispensing opticians who are independent contractors must obtain a state business license. You may obtain a 
business license by contacting: 

Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Business Licensing Section 

Post Office Box 110806 
Juneau AK 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2550
www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

Please – DO NOT accept a job in Alaska until you have a license in hand. 
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Applying for:   Spectacles  Applying by:   By Credentials       Nonrefundable Application Fee: $50.00 
  Contact Lenses   By Examination         License Fee: $275.00

Fill out all sections.  Write “N/A” if not applicable. 

Part I: PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION Type or Print Legibly 

Full Legal Name 
(Last, First, Middle) 

Last   First Middle 
DOB: 

  mm/dd/yy 

     /         / 

Other Names Used 
(nick names, maiden name) Sex: 

 Male       

 Female 

Mailing Address 

 Street Address or PO Box 

City         State  Zip Code 

Telephone Work:             Home:             

E-Mail Address Would you prefer  email  or  written communication? 

Name of Place of 
Employment 

Address of Place of 
Employment 

Street Address or PO Box 

City         State  Zip Code 

Part II: EDUCATION 

High School 
Name 

School Name City  State Date 
Graduated: 

Other Education: School Name  City  State 
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DOP 
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

For Division Use Only 

APPLICATION FOR DISPENSING OPTICIAN LICENSE 
BY EXAMINATION OR BY CREDENTIALS 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 



 

Part III: APPRENTICE AND/OR WORK HISTORY  
List most current employer first, include employment for past three years, or 1,800 hours of training. Write “N/A” if not applicable. 

Name of Optical Company Hours Earned Exact Dates of Training 

NOTE: 1,800 HOURS OF TRAINING AS AN APPRENTICE OR LICENSED OPTICIAN IN EACH ASPECT MUST BE VERIFIED BY 
EMPLOYER ON THE VERIFICATION OF APPRENTICE TRAINING OF WORK EXPERIENCE FORMS ATTACHED. 

Part IV: EXAM INFORMATION 
When applying by examination Alaska requires passage of the National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE or ABO) or 
an equivalent written exam. 

ABO Certified:     Yes      No Date     No.     State  

NCLE Exam:   Yes   No Date  

Have you taken the CPP Exam?       Yes       No If yes, date completed:  

Have you completed the CLSA Contact Lens Manual: Volume 1?       Yes       No 

Part V: LICENSE HISTORY 
List all jurisdictions where you hold or have held a license. Write “N/A” if not applicable. 

State(s)/Province(s) License Number Year Granted Expiration Date 

Part VI: PERSONAL DATA 

In responding to the questions in Parts IV below, please check the appropriate box next to each question. A “Yes” response to 
a question does not automatically result in a denial of license application. For each “Yes” response to any question, you must 
provide an explanation and documentation. Provide your explanation on a separate sheet of paper labeled with your name, 
and signed by you; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific 
circumstances. When in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the explanation requested. Include copies of court 
orders, charging documents, board or license actions, etc.   

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN! 
 YES  NO 

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime?
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense,
including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI),
driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.
“Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a
plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended
imposition of sentence, or a fine.

2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed
on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority
in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska
and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?

3. Are you now or have you been in the last five years diagnosed with or treated for bipolar disorder,
schizophrenia, paranoia, psychotic disorder, substance abuse, depression (except for situational
or reactive depression) or any other mental or physical disability?

4. Are you now or have you been in the last five years been treated for, or addicted to, or excessively
used, or misused, alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates or habit-forming drugs?
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Please be aware that all information supplied with this application will be available to the public, unless required to be kept 
confidential pursuant to state or federal law. 

I HEREBY CERTIFY and declare that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the information contained in 
this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I further certify that all credentials supplied by me are true and 
correct.  I understand that any false information or falsification of credentials may result in failure to obtain a license to practice as 
a dispensing optician in the State of Alaska. 

By my signature below, I certify that all information furnished in this application is true and correct.  I understand 
that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of 
unsworn falsification.  

SIGN HERE 
Signature of Applicant 

Date:  

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20 

SEAL Signature of Notary Public 
for the State of  

My Commission Expires:   
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS 

To Whom It May Concern: 

I, 

residing at 

authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine 
my medical, dental, employment, and education records, and any records pertaining to litigation, suits, judgments 
and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having 
possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me 
to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators. 

I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered appropriate by the 
division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or 
organizations considered appropriate by the division. 

This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, drug or 
alcohol evaluation, diagnosis, or treatment received by me and which were prepared or made in conjunction with, or 
under the authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or alcohol 
evaluation, diagnosis or treatment. 

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a certified true copy of it, that you provide copies of those records 
to the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of 
Alaska. 

This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for initial issuance of a license as a 
dispensing optician.  This authorization expires one year from the date of my signature below. 

Signature: Date: 

Home Telephone: Work Telephone: 
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550   
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

APPRENTICE TERMINATION OF SPONSORSHIP/VERIFICATION OF TRAINING
12 AAC 30.110(d) requires that within 30 days of termination or completion of apprentice training, the supervisor must notify the 
department in writing.  Fill out this form in its entirety and submit it to the address above. If a section does not apply, write “N/A”.  If you 
have zero hours to report, you still need to submit this form in order to terminate the apprenticeship. Dispensing Opticians can have 
only TWO apprentices at any given time (AS 08.71.160(b). There is no limit to the number of apprentices for optometrists or medical 
physicians (MD/DO). Alternate sponsors should also use this form for hours completed.  You must also include the Check Sheet 
Verification (08-4151c) with form, filled out in its entirety.  Incomplete Apprentice Termination forms or Check Sheet Verification forms 
will be returned.  

Name of Apprentice 
Last First Middle 

License #: 

Name of Business Where 
Training was Received: 

Complete Mailing 
Address of Business 
Where Training was 
Received: 

 Address (Include street address if using post office box) 

City State Zip Code 

Name of Supervisor: Phone #: 

Supervisor License #: License Type:  Optometrist  Dispensing Optician  MD/DO 

Dispensing Optician 
Only: Licensed for:    Contacts  Spectacles  Both 

Date Training 
Commenced for 
Contacts: Month/Day/Year 

Date Training 
Commenced for 
Spectacles: Month/Day/Year 

Number of Hours of 
Contact Lens Training: 

Number of Hours of 
Spectacle training: 

Date Training Terminated 
for Contacts: 

Month/Day/Year 

Date Training 
Terminated for 
Spectacles: Month/Day/Year 

Comments: 

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the above apprentice received the hours of training listed above in accordance with 12 AAC 30.120 and 
that I have complied with the supervision of apprentice requirements in accordance with 12 AAC 30.125.  I understand that this 
report is subject to audit, and that I have filled out the Check Sheet Verification form in accordance with 12 AAC 30.120. 

SIGN HERE 
Signature of Supervisor Date 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20 .  

NOTARY SEAL Notary Public  

for the State of  
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CHECK SHEET VERIFICATION 
(to be completed by Supervisor) 

Please identify any skills or operations that you have personally observed (12 AAC 30.120(a)(1)-(14): 

 12 AAC 30.120.  APPRENTICE TRAINING.  (a) Apprenticeship training under AS 08.71.110 relating to 
spectacles must include instruction in the following subject areas: 

Initial each area the apprentice has been trained in: 

1. customer relations, including communication and interaction;
2. knowledge and application of basic optical concepts and principles;
3. knowledge and application of practical anatomy and physiology;
4. knowledge and implications of common ophthalmic disorders;
5. knowledge of frame and lens materials and application of materials based on the selection of

ophthalmic products;
6. applicable laws and regulations relating to the practice of dispensing opticianry in the state;
7. customer instruction on the care and use of ophthalmic products, with emphasis on health and

safety;
8. interpretation of prescriptions;
9. proper fitting of spectacles to the customer;

10. selection of spectacles with consideration of the customer’s lifestyle, occupation, cosmetic needs,
and the availability of ophthalmic products;

11. knowledge and application of instruments and measurements necessary to fit or adjust spectacles
to the customer;

12. knowledge and use of optical equipment to verify specifications of optical goods, including a
lensometer, calipers, lens clock, and other measuring devices;

13. management skills necessary for record keeping, billing, and the ordering of optical goods and
supplies;

14. knowledge and use of aseptic techniques.

Please identify any skills or operations that you have personally observed (12 AAC 30.120(b) (1)-(14): 

(b) Apprenticeship training under AS 08.71.110 relating to contact lens must include instruction in the following
subject areas: 

Initial each area the apprentice has been trained in: 

1. customer relations, including communication and interaction;
2. knowledge and application of basic optical concepts and principles;
3. knowledge and application of practical anatomy and physiology;
4. knowledge and implications of common ophthalmic disorders;

Name of Apprentice: Name of Supervisor: 
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5. applicable laws and regulations relating to the practice of dispensing opticianry in the
state;

6. interpretation of prescriptions;
7. obtaining and documenting the customer’s relevant medical history through oral interview and

records;
8. assessment of the technical aspects of the customer’s ocular status for contact lens wear by using

instruments or other methods to determine appropriate contact lens options;
9. knowledge of instruments used to determine the customer’s contact lens options, including proper

calibration of instruments, evaluation of instrument readings and application to the customer’s
needs;

10. selection of contact lens material and design based on previously gathered information to conduct
diagnostic lens evaluation, if trial fitting is deemed beneficial;

11. insertion of trial contact lens material and evaluation of subjective and objective findings to
determine appropriate lens selection;

12. determination of contact lens parameters using the results obtained from the diagnostic contact lens
trial fitting and evaluation of the objective findings and the customer’s subjective responses to fitting
so that the appropriate contact lens may be ordered;

13. knowledge of instruments and recognized standards necessary to verify contact lens parameters by 
comparing contact lens ordered to assure accuracy;

14. education of the customer on all aspects of contact lens wear including disinfection, storage, care,
maintenance of contact lenses and supplies, and wearing schedules by providing verbal and written
instructions and hands on practice with contact lenses to encourage compliance.
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 

Instructions to the Applicant: Please complete Part I below and forward a copy of this form to the jurisdiction where you hold a 
current license.  The licensing requirements of this jurisdiction must meet the requirements of AS 08.71.145 Please type or print 
legibly. 

PART I 
Full Name (Last, First, Middle) Maiden or Other Names Used: Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature 

FOLLOWING TO BE COMPLETED BY THE LICENSING BOARD ONLY 
Instructions to the licensing agency: Please complete Part II below for the dispensing optician identified above and return this 
document directly to the Division, at the address listed above.  Faxed or emailed forms will not be accepted. 

PART II 
LICENSING 
JURISDICTION 

LICENSE NUMBER 
(if applicable) 

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE 

LICENSED FOR Contact Lenses         Spectacles 
 Both

LICENSED BY 
(reciprocity, 
examination, etc.) 

1. Does your licensing jurisdiction require successful passage of the exam offered by the American
Board of Opticianry, National Contact Lens Examiners, or both?  YES  NO 

2. Has the applicant ever been subject of an adverse decision based upon a complaint, review
procedure, or other disciplinary proceeding within the five years immediately preceding application,
or of an unresolved complaint, investigation, review procedure, or other disciplinary proceeding
undertaken by your jurisdiction?  YES  NO 

3. Is any such investigation or action pending?  YES  NO 

4. Has the applicant ever been the subject of an unresolved or an adverse decision based upon a
complaint, investigation, review procedure, or other disciplinary proceeding undertaken by your
jurisdiction that relates to criminal or fraudulent activity, optometric  or on the safety or well being
of patients?  YES  NO 

5. Is any such investigation or action pending?  YES  NO 

6. To your knowledge, is there any derogatory information regarding this applicant?  YES  NO 

 Board Seal Signature Date 
(if applicable) 

Printed Name  Title 

Licensing Agency: 
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Applicant is to complete the top section.  It is to be mailed to your former employer(s) if you are attempting to obtain Alaska licensure of 
dispensing optician.  Your employer(s) must verify 1,800 hours of work as a dispensing optician in good standing. 

Applicant Signature:  

Printed Name:       Former Name(s):  

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH. The information below must be completed by a former employer and mailed directly by the employer to the 
State of Alaska, Dispensing Opticians at the address above. 

Employee Name:  
Last First MI Maiden 

Employer Business Name:  

Employer Mailing Address:  

City State ZIP Code 

Telephone Number: 

Dates of Employment:  From  to    Total Hours:  
I certify that the above-named individual legally worked/trained in the capacity of a dispensing optician for a total of 
hours in the following scope of practice:  

Dispensing Spectacles only 
Dispensing Contacts only 

NOTE: If work experience was in both Spectacles AND Contact Lenses, a separate Verification of Work Experience form must be 
completed for each aspect. 

Name of licensed individual supervising employee: 

License Type:    State of Licensure:     License No.  

Other comments:  

I hereby certify that the above employee worked for this employer as a competent, ethical dispensing optician and that the above 
information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

Signature:         Title:  

Printed Name:         Date:  

SIGN HERE 
Signature of Supervisor 

Date:  

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20 

Signature of Notary Public 

SEAL for the State of  

My Commission Expires:  

08-4151e (Rev. 06/19/19)

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

VERIFICATION OF WORK EXPERIENCE AS A DISPENSING OPTICIAN 
IN A STATE, TERRITORY, DISTRICT OR POSSESSION OF THE UNITED STATES 



Nonrefundable Application Fee: $50.00 

I currently have:   Spectacles Endorsement I am applying for:   Spectacles Endorsement       
  Contact Lenses Endorsement   Contact Lenses Endorsement 

Fill out all sections.  Write “N/A” if not applicable. 

Part I: PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION Type or Print Legibly 

Full Legal Name 
(Last, First, Middle) 

Last First Middle 
DOB: 

  mm/dd/yy 

     /         / 

Other Names Used 
(nick names, maiden name) Sex: 

 Male       

 Female 

Mailing Address 

 Street Address or PO Box 

City         State  Zip Code 

Telephone Work:             Home:             

E-Mail Address Would you prefer  email  or  written communication? 

Part II: LICENSE/ENDORSEMENT INFORMATION 

Current Alaska Dispensing 
Optician License #:

Expiration 
Date: 

mm/dd/yy 

/         / 

Current Endorsement: Spectacles  Contact Lens

Current Alaska Dispensing 
Optician Apprentice 
License #:

Expiration 
Date: 

mm/dd/yy 

/         / 

Sponsor Name: Sponsor’s 
License Type: 

 Dispensing Optician 
 Optometrist 
 Medical Doctor 

08-4151f (Rev. 06/19/19) CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 

DOP 
State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
DISPENSING OPTICIANS SECTION 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

For Division Use Only 

APPLICATION FOR DISPENSING OPTICIAN LICENSE 
ENDORSEMENT ADDITION/CHANGE 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 



 

Part IV: EXAM INFORMATION 

ABO Certified:     Yes      No Date     No.     State  

NCLE Exam:   Yes   No Date  

Have you taken the OCPP Exam?       Yes       No If yes, date completed:  

Have you completed the CLSA Contact Lens Manual: Volume 1?       Yes       No 

Part VI: PERSONAL DATA 

In responding to the questions in Parts IV below, please check the appropriate box next to each question. A “Yes” 
response to a question does not automatically result in a denial of license application. For each “Yes” response to any 
question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Provide your explanation on a separate sheet of paper 
labeled with your name, and signed by you; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties 
involved, and specific circumstances. When in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the explanation 
requested. Include copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, etc.   

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN! 
 YES  NO 

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime?
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense,
including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI),
driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.
“Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a
plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended
imposition of sentence, or a fine.

2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed
on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority
in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska
and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?

3. Are you now or have you been in the last five years diagnosed with or treated for bipolar disorder,
schizophrenia, paranoia, psychotic disorder, substance abuse, depression (except for situational
or reactive depression) or any other mental or physical disability?

4. Are you now or have you been in the last five years been treated for, or addicted to, or excessively
used, or misused, alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates or habit-forming drugs?

Please be aware that all information supplied with this application will be available to the public, unless required to be kept 
confidential pursuant to state or federal law. 

Label your letter of explanation and supporting documents with the word "confidential."  Affirmative answers to these 
questions will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis and in compliance with Administrative Procedures Act. 

I HEREBY CERTIFY and declare that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the information 
contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I further certify that all credentials supplied by me 
are true and correct.  I understand that any false information or falsification of credentials may result in failure to obtain a 
license to practice as a dispensing optician in the State of Alaska. 

WARNING: It is a class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of 
unsworn falsification. 

SIGN HERE 
Signature of Applicant 

Date:  

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of  , 20 

SEAL 
Signature of Notary Public 
for the State of  

08-4151f (Rev. 06/19/19) My Commission Expires:  



All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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