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                      DOP  

Dispensing Optician Renewal 

Renewal Fee: 

  Biennial License Renewal  $275.00  (for licenses first issued on or before June 30, 2018) 
      Prorated License Renewal  

$137.50  (for licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2018) 
  

Alaska Dispensing Optician License Number:  

  

License Type: 
 

  Spectacles       Contact Lenses  Both 
 

 
Full Legal Name:  

If you have had a legal name change since your last application, submit a copy of the legal name change document. 

 
Mailing Address: 
This is an address change:              

Contact Phone:  
   

 
Birthdate:  

 
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting your license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing by email, you agree to notify the Division in writing when your email address changes. You 
understand that failure to check your email address or to keep it in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in the inability to obtain or retain licensure. 

Email Address:  
  Send my Correspondence by Email 
  Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

 
             

  
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Dispensing Optician Program 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550  •  Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians 

July 1, 2019 — June 30, 2021 License Period 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/DispensingOpticians
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The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, 
and send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.).  
 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will cause a delay in 
processing. 
 
 
 WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN 

Since your last Alaska dispensing optician license was issued, have you: 

1. had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, 
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, 
placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a 
licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any 
jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any 
such action pending? 

 Yes No 

2. been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? 
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military 
offense, including but not limited to, a conviction involving driving under the 
influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, 
reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” 
includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a 
plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a 
suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine? 

 Yes No 

3. continued to practice after becoming unfit due to professional competence, 
addiction to, or severe dependency on, alcohol or other drugs that impair your 
ability to practice safely? 

 Yes No 

4. continued to practice after becoming unfit due to a physical or mental disability?  Yes No 

 
 

 
 
 

Notice for Supervisors of Dispensing Optician Apprentices                                             
 

1. In accordance with Sec 08.71.160(b) No more than two apprentices may be under the direct supervision 
of one licensed dispensing optician at the same time. 

 

2. In accordance with 12 AAC 30.110(d) The supervisor of an apprentice shall notify the board in writing 
within 30 days after the apprenticeship under that supervisor terminates.  

INITIALS      Please initial which of the following options apply to you: 

 Yes, I provide supervision to apprentice dispensing opticians and certify that I understand and follow the 
requirements cited for Sec 08.71.160(b) and 12 AAC 30.110(d). 

 This section does not apply to me as I do not provide supervision to apprentice dispensing opticians. 
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Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continued competency 
requirements in Article 3 of 12 AAC 30.220 (see enclosed regulations). 
 
The Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your renewal is randomly 
selected for audit, you will be notified and required to submit documentation to verify 
completion of the continuing education requirements as stated on this renewal 
application. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to 
audits.  (12 AAC 02.960) 
 

 
 

Before you mail this application, have you... 
 

 

 Completed all questions in the form? 

 Attached your check for fees payable to the State of Alaska or credit card payment form? 

 Signed and dated the form?    

 Attached explanations and supporting documents for any “Yes” responses? 

 Obtained necessary signatures?   

 Attached required documents 
 
 

Continuing Education Compliance Statement                                             12 AAC 30.210(a) 

 

  
Regulation 12 AAC 30.210 requires a licensed dispensing optician to sign a statement of continuing 
education compliance. By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance 
with the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 30.200-220 (check one box only): 

 

 

   

Renewal for licenses first issued on or before June 30,  2017  
 

I have completed at least 10 hours of continuing competency for each aspect 
(spectacles and/or contact lenses) during the concluding license period of July 1, 2017, 
through June 30, 2019. 

—  or  — 

   

Renewal for licenses first issued between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2018  
 

I have completed at least 5 hours of continuing competency for each aspect (spectacles 
and/or contact lenses) during the concluding license period of July 1, 2017, through June 
30, 2018. 

—  or  — 

   
Renewal for licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2018  
 

I am not required to provide evidence of continuing education for this renewal only.  

  

I am attesting to having completed the continuing education requirements required to professionally and competently 
dispense spectacles, contact lenses, or both. I understand that if the Department renews my dispensing optician 
license based on the information provided on this renewal application, I will be held fully responsible for any action 
that may be taken for unsworn falsification or misrepresentation that may be discovered during a random continuing 
education audit of my certification. If the Department finds that I renewed my dispensing optician license by fraud or 
deceit, I may be subject to criminal charges for unsworn falsification in accordance with AS 11.56.200. By providing 
my signature below, I attest that I have completed the continuing education requirements of AS 08.87.130(d) and 12 
AAC 30.200-220. 

Applicant’s Signature: Date: 
     

Random Audit 

Continuing Competency 
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all 
correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or 
incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid 
the license will be issued and sent to you with a cover letter about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written 
explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for 
processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  
 
LICENSE TERM:  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of even-
odd years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. 
One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers temporary licenses, 
they are issued for either 30 consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter. 
 
“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness questions in the 
application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation. 
 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 
 
RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, you 
will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated on 
this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program 
chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 
 
CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that 
are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document 
along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original 
document with the copy and then notarize your signature. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the Division before a professional license is issued or renewed for 
an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License 
Search. 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900, or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or (800) 441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed 
separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 
If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact 
method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 
 
 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 
 

 
 

! General Information  

http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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Section 
200. Approved continuing competence experience 
210. Documenting continuing competence 
220. Continuing competence requirements 
 
12 AAC 30.200   Approved continuing competence experience   
(a)  Attendance at a seminar or course conducted by one of the following organizations is accepted as meeting the continuing 

competence requirements of AS 08.71.130(d) and 12 AAC 30.200 – 12 AAC 30.220: 
  (1)  the Opticians Association of America; 
  (2)  the Contact Lens Society of America; 
  (3)  the America Optometric Association; 
  (4)  the American Academy of Ophthalmology; 
  (5)  the Optical Wholesalers Association; 
  (6)  the Opticians Association of Alaska, Incorporated; or 
  (7)  other recognized professional organizations in the field of opticianry. 
(b)  If specifically approved by the board, the following educational experiences meet the continuing competence requirements 

of AS 08.71.130(d) and 12 AAC 30.200 – 12 AAC 30.220: 
  (1)  satisfactory completion of a course conducted by a recognized school of opticianry; 

(2)  instruction by a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, dispensing optician, or optional manufacturer outside of the 
normal work situation, if there are at least three students in attendance; or 
(3)  acting as an instructor of opticianry outside the normal work situation, if there are at least three students in 
attendance. 

(c)  Credit for a course not actually taken or graded is not acceptable for continuing competence credit. 
 
12 AAC 30.210    Documenting continuing competence  
(a)  An applicant for license renewal shall submit, on a renewal form provided by the department, a signed statement that the 

applicant has complied with the continuing competence requirements of 12 AAC 30.220. 
(b)  An applicant for renewal is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed records of completed continuing competence 

courses, seminars, or experiences and shall make them available to the board upon request. 
(c)  Falsification of any written evidence submitted to the board under this section is grounds for license revocation or 

suspension under  AS 08.71.170. 
 
12 AAC 30.220   Continuing competence requirements 
(a)  An applicant for renewal of a dispensing optician license shall complete at least 10 hours of continuing competence 

acceptable to the board under this chapter during the concluding licensing period. 
(b)  Continuing competence experiences must relate directly to the aspect of dispensing opticianry for which the applicant is 

licensed.  However, for each biennial renewal, no more than two hours may be in the aspect for which the applicant is not 
licensed and no more than two hours may be in business management. 

(c)  An applicant must complete the requirement set out in (a) of this section for each aspect of dispensing opticianry in which 
the applicant is licensed.  A person licensed to dispense both spectacles and contact lens must meet the requirement of (a) 
of this section for both of those aspects. 

(d)  One quarter-hour of academic credit from a college or university course directly related to optics, anatomy, or physiology of 
the eye constitutes five hours of continuing competence. 

(e)  One semester-hour of academic credit from a college or university course directly related to optics, anatomy, or physiology 
of the eye constitutes 10 hours of continuing competence. 

(f)  A dispensing optician who is applying for license renewal for license renewal for the first time shall certify having completed 
at least five contact hours of continuing education for each complete calendar year that the applicant was licensed during 
the concluding licensing period. 

 

! Continuing Competence 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT             

       Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):         

         1.           _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________               __________________________ 

    2.          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________                __________________________         

                   TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 
 
 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 
 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:   

2. Expiration Date:   

3. Billing ZIP Code:   

4. Security Code:   
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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