THE STATE
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
I Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Massage Therapists
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-2550
Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists

Instructions for Massage Therapist License By Examination

For applicants who do not hold a current license in another state, but have completed/will complete a massage
education and passage of a national massage competency exam.

The following must be on file with the division before the license will be issued:

(1) APPLICATION: Completed, signed, and notarized. An applicant with a “Yes” answer to one or more professional conduct questions must
submit a separate written, signed and dated explanation and provide copies of any supporting documents.

(2) FEES:

Nonrefundable Application Fee: $200
Massage Therapist License Fee: $290
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $S60
Total Fees Due: $550

(3) VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION: Official transcripts, sent directly to the Division by a Board-approved massage therapy school, verifying
completion of 625 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work. An “approved massage school” means a massage therapy school or
program that has authorization to operate from the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education or a similar entity in another state OR is
accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency in accordance with AS 08.61.040 (9)(A)(B).

On or after July 1, 2019 applicants must show successful completion of at least 625 hours that include: (a) Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, and
Kinesiology: 162 (at least 40 hours of pathology) (b) Massage Theory and Practical Application: 275; (c) Clinical Practice: 138; (d) Ethics and Law:
50. No more than 50 hours from exempt techniques. Practical Application may not exceed 20% of the total hours of the program.

On or after March 25, 2020, applicant may receive initial, qualifying education in a physical classroom or through online distance education. If
an applicant is applying with education received through an online distance education course, the school or program must have a:

1. Board approved online distance education monitoring program
2. Massage program must be state approved or nationally accredited
3. Online program may not include the practical application hours as described in 12 AAC 79.140(b)(6)

(4) FINGERPRINTING & BACKGROUND REPORTS: One original 8" x 8" card provided by the State of Alaska (FD-258) An incorrect card will be
automatically rejected. The fingerprint card submitted as part of this application packet will be sent to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and
the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) to perform a criminal background check (AS 08.24.120).

Please note that the fingerprint card will be rejected for the following reasons (28 CFR 50.12(b)): Incorrect type of card, incomplete personal
information or signatures, or improperly rolled prints.

If, however, an adverse report is received; you may decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI report directly with the FBI at
www.FBIl.gov (28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34). Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of your State of Alaska criminal history report may
directed to the Division of Statewide Services, Department of Public Safety at https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-
I/Background/Home.Challenges may be given no later than 30 days after you have been notified by the department of an adverse report, or no
later than the board meeting, whatever occurs first. Applications are not complete until state and federal background reports are received by
Division.

(5) VERIFICATION OF EXAM: Verification of successful completion of a nationally recognized competency exam approved by the Board.

(6) VERIFICATION OF CURRENT CPR CERTIFICATION: A copy of your CPR card showing issue and expiration dates (American Red Cross, American
Heart Association, American Health and Safety Institute, or equivalent organization).

(7) BLOODBORNE PATHOGENS / UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS EDUCATION: Certificate verifying completion of a least two hours of bloodborne
pathogens / universal precautions education within the two years preceding the initial application.

(8) AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS: This release is only used if an investigation is necessary. Confidential information obtained in
an investigation, such as medical records, is not subject to public release.

(9) TRANSCRIPT ANALYSIS FORM: Applicant must complete the Transcript Analysis form as part of the application. The purpose of the Transcript
Analysis form is to break down the education you have received to ensure you meet the minimum requirements set forth in 12 AAC 79.140.
Applicants are encouraged to consult their massage school or program in the completion of this form.
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APPLICATION INFORMATION

MAS Information

LICENSE TERM
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses lapsed for more than 3 years are not eligible to
renew or reinstate.

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on September 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except
licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at
least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING

The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this
office, complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the
applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct,
and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid the license will be issued and sent to you. Start the
process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in
customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM

Licenses are issued for a two-year period. However, all collection agency operator licenses expire June 30 of even-numbered years,
regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial
expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

“YES” RESPONSES

A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional
fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court
documentation.

RANDOM AUDIT

If your program requires continuing education, the division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly
selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the
continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Please note that licensees are randomly selected by
computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least
four years so you can respond to audits.
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ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address
or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record with the division
will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be
your current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS

In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license to a natural person, unless the applicant’s Social
Security Number has been provided to the department. If you are a foreign citizen unable to obtain a United States Social Security Number,
please contact the division for further instructions or obtain the Exception from SSN Requirement (Form #08-4372), from the division web
site at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/.

PUBLIC INFORMATION

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential
by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at
Professionallicense.Alaska.gov under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last
received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment,
the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a
refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within
that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for
business licenses are mailed separately. For more information contact: (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website:
Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your
name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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Massage Therapist Application by Exam

PART | Payment of Fees

[J Nonrefundable Application Fee $200.00

[J Massage Therapist License Fee $290.00 $550.00
Required Fees:

|:| Fingerprint Processing Fee $60.00

(Make checks payable to “State of Alaska”, or use the attached credit card payment form)

PART Il Personal Information

Full Legal Name:

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). Attach documentation of all legal name changes.

[J Not Applicable
|:| Other Names Used:

Mailing Address:

Birthdate:

Contact Phone:

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business
and Professional Licensing, | agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. | understand that failure to check my email account
or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain
licensure.

O Send my Correspondence by Email

Email Address: O Send my Correspondence by US Mail

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.

08-4659 (Rev. 04/06/2020) Application Page 1 of 4


mailto:BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense

PART Il Professional Fithess Questions

The following professional fitness questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in certificate denial.
If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and specific circumstances (locations, type of action,
organizations or parties involved) on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send any supporting documents that are
applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, certificates of completion, board or license actions, investigative
notices, etc.).

Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. Failure to
fully disclose information pertaining to a “Yes” answer may cause a delay in the processing time of your application. A “Yes”
answer may not prejudice your application, however, failure to report honestly may.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For
purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including a

conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving D Yes
without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted”
includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo D No
contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a
fine.
2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on D Yes
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and D No
including that of any military authorities or is any such act pending?
3. Within the past five years, have you been or are you addicted to, excessively used, or misused alcohol, D Yes
narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs? D No
4., Within the past five years have you been disciplined by an employer or national certifying organization D Yes
for care that did not conform to minimum professional standards, for unethical conduct or for sexual
misconduct in connection with the delivery of massage therapy services to a client. O No

7:\:38\"A Cardiopulmonary / Bloodborne Pathogens Education

Alaska Statute 08.61.030 requires a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) and at least two hours of
safety education covering bloodborne pathogens and universal precautions in the two years preceding the application.

Provide proof of safety education for both requirements along with this application.

Bloodborne Pathogens Universal Precautions Class Hours: Date Completed:

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification Issue Date: Expiry Date:
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T\ :3A"Al Verification of Education and Examination

e VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION:

Alaska Statute 08.61.030(3)(a) requires at least 625 hours of qualifying education from an in-class supervised
instruction and clinical work or online distance education from a board-approved massage therapy school or program.
Transcripts must be sent directly from the school to the Division.

Check ONE:
D | have completed my education in a physical classroom

O 1have completed my education through a board approved online distance education course.

Name of Massage Therapy School Location of Massage Therapy School Date of Graduation

e VERIFICATION OF EXAMINATION:

Alaska Statute 08.61.030(a)(8) requires successful completion of a nationally-recognized competency exam approved
by the Board. Exam results must be sent directly from the agency to the Division.

National Exam Date Completed

e DISCLOSURE OF SCHOOL ACCREDITATION:

Alaska Statute AS 08.61.030 (3)(A) requires qualifying education by completion of a of at least 625 hours of in-class
supervised instruction and clinical work from an approved massage school. An “approved massage school” means a
massage therapy school or program that has authorization to operate from the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary
Education or a similar entity in another state OR is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency in
accordance with AS 08.61.040 (9)(A)(B).

Name of Massage Therapy School State Authorized / National Accrediting Agency

PART VI Fingerprints and Background Reports Section

I hereby certify that | have read and understand that my fingerprint card will be sent to the Department of
Public Safety (DPS) with the State of Alaska, and to the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) to perform a
criminal history background report (AS 08.24.120). You must check this box for this application to be accepted.

| may also decide to challenge an adverse report on my criminal history background report by contacting either the FBI at
www.FBI.gov or the Department of Public Safety with the State of Alaska at https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-

I/Background/Home. Please see the section Fingerprinting and Background Checks on page 1 of 4 of the Instructions.

Further information may be found under Fingerprinting Requirements, Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights, and
the Privacy Act Statement located at the end of this application packet.
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Notary Signature Page

MAS

Applicant Name:

:\V:4A'/IM Notarized Signature

O

| attest that | have completed a course of study of at least 625 hours of massage therapy education from an approved school
or program that has authorization to operate from the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education or a similar entity in
another state OR is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency in accordance with AS 08.61.040 (9)(A)(B).

| attest that | have successfully completed a nationally recognized competency examination approved by the board in
accordance with AS 08.61.030 (8)

| attest that | have read the Professional Fitness Questions thoroughly and have honestly disclosed any charge or conviction
of crime, professional license action, drug/alcohol abuse, or misconduct during the delivery of massage.

Signature Agreement:

| hereby certify that | am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that | have read the complete application, and
| know the full content thereof. | declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted
herewith are true and correct.

| understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or
falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise
disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

| further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of
unsworn falsification.

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including prosecution for perjury
(AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230).

________ Applicant’s
:_ | Printed Name:
I
| [ Applicant’s
| | Signature:
I :
| | Notary Public for Subscribed afnd
| | State of: Sworn to'Be ore
| me on this Dav:
| | Notary’s My Commission
- - Signature: Expires:
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(907) 465-2550
Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists @Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists

Authorization for Release of Records

| hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my
medical, dental, employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements,
and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. | also expressly
permit and authorize the release of all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing and its investigators.

I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered appropriate by the division
in connection with an official investigation and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations deemed
appropriate by the division.

This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, drug or alcohol
evaluation, diagnosis or treatment received by me and which were prepared or made in conjunction with, or under the
authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis or
treatments. This release specifically includes information from federal service and peer review organizations.

| request that upon presentation of this release, or a certified true copy, that you provide copies of those records to the division
and its investigators, and/or representatives of the office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for Alaska massage therapist licensure. This
authorization expires one year from the date of my signature.

| hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, and its investigators, and all others directly or indirectly involved
in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested.

First Middle Last
Name:

Address:

Phone:

Birthdate:

Email:

Signature: Date:
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Authorization to Discuss and Share Information (Optional)

Board of Massage Therapists staff are authorized to communicate only with the applicant. If the applicant is accepting assistance
from an employment agency or would like their employer to have full access to their application file to keep them appraised of
the licensure process, then board staff must have a signed release from the applicant to discuss the application and share
information.

If you wish to authorize such communication, please complete this form and file with your application.

Name of Applicant:

Applicant's Profession:

Applicant’s Email:

Applicant's Phone:

Authorized Agency:

Authorized Agent:

Authorized Agent's Email:

Authorized Agent's Phone:

By signing this release, you are authorizing the State of Alaska to discuss any items in your file that may pertain to your
application and its process.

Transcripts, exam results, license verifications, court documents and supporting documents, and background reports, are
some of the sensitive information that could be discussed between the Authorized Agent and the board staff.

Correspondence between board staff and the authorized agent may be written or verbal communication.

| hereby authorize staff of the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists to share and exchange information relating to my
licensing application with the above-named authorized agent and agency.

This release applies to status updates and documents and information required to complete my application for licensure
in the State of Alaska.

Applicant Signature: Date:
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THE STATE
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PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
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625 Hours Transcript Analysis Form Instructions

The Alaska Board of Massage Therapy (“Board”) approved a course of study of 625 hours for individual licensure effective July
1, 2019, which is posted on the Board’s website and detailed below.
Applicants are encouraged to consult their massage school or program in the completion of this form.

Please complete this form and provide the following documentation for the Board to review for approval of your application:
All Course syllabi and/or School Catalogue, which should include a course description for each course taken and outlines of
class dates and subject matter covered.

Educational Requirements:
The minimum educational qualifications for licensure as a massage therapist include:

Completion of a course of study of at least 625 hours from an approved massage therapy school or program which shall comply
with the requirements specified in the following table:

Description of Course Content:

Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, and Kinesiology: Pertains to the education in the study of human anatomy, pathology,
and kinesiology. These hours educate a massage therapist to identify human anatomy to perform palpation, massage
technique, and contraindications.

e Atleast 40 hours in pathology, including indication and contraindications

e Muscular System

e Nervous System

e  Osteology

e  Circulatory System

e Kinesiology

Massage Theory and Practical Application: Pertains to education in the study of modality and application of the tasks in
applying these studies as a massage therapist. These hours would include a massage students actual clinical work conducting
massage therapy assessment and clinically related modalities and techniques.
e Assessment: Basic massage therapy techniques dedicated to the study of massage therapy and various
clinically related modalities
e No more than 50 hours should address techniques that are exempt from license requirements
e  Practical application not to exceed more than 20% (125 hours) of total hours of the massage program

Clinical Practice: Pertains to education in conducting massage therapy safely and competently as a professional massage
therapist. The following topics are considered part of clinical practice:

e Universal and Standard Precautions

e Self-Care

e Body Mechanics

e Draping

e Record Keeping

e Business Practices and Professional Development

e Medical Terminology

Ethics and Law: Pertains to education in the study of professional ethical conduct, boundaries, relationships, and the study
of state and local laws.

e Local and State Laws
e Therapeutic Relationships
e Professional Boundaries
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625 Hours Transcript Analysis Form

Applicant's Name:

Applicant Address:

Subject Hours
Section A: Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, Kinesiology 162 Hours
Section B: Massage Theory and Practical Application 275 Hours
Section C: Clinical Practice 138 Hours
Section D: Ethics and Law 50 Hours

SECTION A: 162 Hours: Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, Kinesiology
Please list all courses specific to Section A to be considered towards the Alaska Massage Therapy
Requirements for Licensure. Only list the number of hours in each course that were devoted to Section A
subject matter. Additional pages may be added as necessary.

Course Name (from transcript)

Start Date

End Date

Hours Completed

SECTION B: 275 Hours: Massage Theory and Practical Application
Please list all courses specific to Section B to be considered towards the Alaska Massage

Total Hours:

Therapy Educational Requirements for Licensure. Only list the number of hours in each course that were devoted

to Section B subject matter. Additional pages may be added as necessary.

Course Name (from transcript)

Start Date

End Date

Hours Completed

08-4659c (Rev. 04/06/2020)
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625 Hours Transcript Analysis Form Continued

SECTION C: 138 Hours: Clinical Practice

Please list all courses specific to Section C to be considered towards the Alaska Massage

Therapy Educational Requirements for Licensure. Only list the number of hours in each course that were devoted
to Section C subject matter. Additional pages may be added as necessary.

Course Name (from transcript) Start Date End Date Hours Completed

Total Hours:

SECTION D: 50 Hours: Ethics & Law

Please list all courses specific to Section D to be considered towards the Alaska Massage Therapy Education
Requirements for Licensure. Only list the number of hours in each course that were devoted to Section D subject
matter. Additional pages may be added as necessary.

Course Name (from transcript) Start Date End Date Hours Completed

Total Hours:

Certification of Applicant:

| hereby certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials
supplied by me to support my application are true and correct. The Division may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a
person who has obtained or has attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subjected to
criminal charges for perjury or unsworn falsification. (AS 11.56.210)

Applicant Name:

Applicant's Signature: Date:
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State of Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information.
Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Program Type: License Number (if applicable):

| wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT
|:| Application Fee:

[ ] License or Renewal Fee:

|:| Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):

1.
2.
TOTAL:
Name (as shown on credit card):
Mailing Address:
Phone Number: Email (optional):
Signature of Credit Card Holder:
08-4438 Rev 12/26/18 Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)
Account Number: All four fields MUST

————————————————————————————————————— be completed!

Expiration Date:
- ) This section will be
Biling ZIP Code: destroyed after the

Security Code: payment is processed.

W NPR




Fingerprinting Requirements

Your fingerprints will be used to check your criminal history records with the FBI (28 CFR 50.12(b)). Procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI
identification record are set forth in 28 CFR 16.34.

This license application must be accompanied by a complete fingerprint card (may be used for the Alaska Department of Public Safety (DPS) and for the FBI national
check). Fingerprint cards submitted must be those provided by the State of Alaska (printed in the pale blue ink); you may also use the standard FBI Form FD-258. Take
the card, the instructions and photo identification to local law enforcement or other authorized agency to have the fingerprinting done. Please follow these instructions
and the back of the fingerprint card.

DPSithe FBI will not accept any fingerprint cards that do not comply with the following:

1.  No staples or staple holes are permitted in fingerprint cards. Also do not tape, tear or fold the cards.

2. Ensure the prints are done properly and well. Poor quality prints, smudging, non-rolled or incomplete fingerprints will cause the cards to be rejected DPS, the
FBI or both.

All applicable sections of the top portion of the card must be legible and complete. The information/signatures must be typed, printed or signed in BLACK ink;
no other color is permitted. Individual information blocks on the fingerprint cards must be filled in as follows:

NAME: Applicant’s last name {(comma), first name, then middle name if any; suffix denoting seniority {(Jr., Sr., |l, etc.) follow the middle or first name.
SIGNATURE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED: Must be signed by the applicant.

RESIDENCE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED: Enter the applicant's physical residence address.

DATE: Date fingerprinting was done.

SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL TAKING FINGERPRINTS: Signature of the person who rolled the fingerprints.

EMPLOYER AND ADDRESS AND REASON FINGERPRINTED: These blocks to be completed by the State of Alaska.

ALIASES/AKA: List other names used by applicant that are different than that entered in NAME block; also list maiden names and all previous married names of
females. Enter client number, 5097, at bottom of block.

CITIZENSHIP/CTZ: Enter US if a citizen of the United States; otherwise, enter correct country abbreviation.

YOUR NO.JOCA: Leave this space blank (Criginating Agency Case Number).

FBINO./FBI: Enter applicant's assigned FBI number, if known.

ARMED FORCES NO/NMNU: Leave this space blank.

SOCIAL SECURITY NO/SOC: List applicant's Social Security number.

MISC. NO/NMNU: If Alaska resident, enter applicant’'s Alaska driver’s license or state ID # if applicable.

ORIGINATING AGENCY IDENTIFIER (ORI): Leave blank, will be printed with AKAST0100, DPS, ANCHORAGE, AK.

SEX: F (female) or M (male). Note: Indicate if applicant is a transvestite (cross-dresser) or has had a sex change operation. List any opposite sex names used in the
Aliases/AKA block.

RACE: Race must be indicated by one of the following one-character alphabetic codes:
A= Asian, Pacific Islander, Chinese, Japanese, Polynesian, Korean, Vietnamese
B= Black
|I= American Indian, Alaskan Native, Eskimo
W= White, Mexican, Latin, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central/South American and cther Spanish cultures
U= Unknown

HEIGHT: Must be shown in feet and inches, fractions rounded off to nearest inch (i.e., 511" entered as 511)
WEIGHT: Must be expressed in pounds, fractions rounded off to nearest pound.

EYES: Indicate eye color by one of the following three-character codes:
BLK = Black GRY = Gray MAR = Maroon
BLU = Blue GRN = Green PNK = Pink
BRO = Brown HAZ = Hazel UNK = Unknown

HAIR: Indicate hair color by one of the following three-character codes:
BAL = Bald BRO = Brown SDY = Sandy
BLK = Black GRY = Gray WHI = White
BLN = Blonde RED = Red XXX = Unknown

PLACE OF BIRTH/POB: List the state, territorial possession, Canadian province, or country of birth. Use the correct abbreviation for foreign countries or correctly spell
the country’s name. Do not use city or county name as a POB.

DATE OF BIRTH/DOB: Enter birth date as month, day, year. Fingerprint cards of person 80+ years of age are not processed by the FBI. Note: If DOB is blank, the
card will be immediately returned unprocessed.

FINGERPRINT IMPRESSION BLOCKS: (Individual and Simultaneous): It is very important care be taken to prepare the fingerprint cards properly. It will save much
more time and avoid rejections to assure acceptability the first time. Use black printer’s ink. Fingers should be clean and dry before beinginked. Use neither too much
nor too little ink nor too little nor too much pressure to make the impressions. To help ensure legibility, all 10 fingers must be rolled from nail to nail, and include the first
flexion crease. Detail must be sufficient on all 10 individual prints to clearly define the loop, whorl, arch or other pattern. Roll the prints in the correct sequence.

All instructions must be followed correctly. All information on the card is essential. Please double check your work before sending the card. lllegible, incomplete or
incorrect cards will be rejected and returned unprocessed.




NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for
a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration
or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are
discussed below.

¢  You must be provided written notification® that your fingerprints will be used to check the
criminal history records of the FBI and the State of Alaska.
You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement
when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act
Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your
information will be used, retained, and shared. 2
If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your
suitability for the em ployment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.
The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or

update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR), Section 16.34.

If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time
to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the
employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.?

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record
check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of
federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the
National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.*

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal
history record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at
https: //’www.fbi. gov/services/cjis/identity-historv-summary-checks.

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or com pleteness of your FBI criminal history record,
you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to
the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then
forward vour challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request
the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in
accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

To challenge the accuracy or completeness of your State of Alaska criminal history records,
go to the Division of Statewide Services, Department of Public Safety https://dps.alaska.gov
/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home to request to correct criminal justice information.

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

2 https:/Awww.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

3 See 28 CFR 50.12(b), and Alaska Regulation AAC 13.68.300.

4 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b), 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c), 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).
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Privacy Act Statement

This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 fingerprint card.

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and
associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the
nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State
statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal
regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary;
however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing,
investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of
comparing yvour fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation
Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent
fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or
otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated
information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints
submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information
may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as
permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be
published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI
system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to,
disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies
responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other
suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies;
criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.
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