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MAS 

Massage Therapist License Renewal

Renewal Fee: 

Biennial License Renewal $290.00 (for licenses first issued on or before September 30, 2018) 

Prorated License Renewal 
$145.00 (for licenses first issued on or after October 1, 2018) 

Alaska Massage Therapist License Number: 

A current CPR certificate is Required.  
 

Have you included a copy of your current CPR Certificate?      
 Yes
 No

Full Legal Name: 

If you have had a legal name change since your last application, submit a copy of the legal name change document. 

Mailing Address: 
This is an address change: 

Contact Phone: 

Birthdate: 

EMAIL AGREEMENT:  By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand 
that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Send my Correspondence by Email 
  Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Massage Therapists 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550  •  Email: BoardofMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists 

October 1, 2019 — September 30, 2021 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense
mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists
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Professional Fitness Questions 

The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. 
If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions, please provide full details (dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties 
involved and specific circumstances) on a separate sheet of paper, signed and dated.  
Also send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, board or license 
actions, etc.). 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and delay renewal of your license. 

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN
Since the date your last Alaska Massage Therapist license was issued or renewed: 

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a 
crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a 
military offense, including, but not limited to, a conviction involving driving under the 
influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless 
driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” includes having 
been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo 
contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of 
sentence, or a fine.

 Yes No 

2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been 
fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a 
licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any 
jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such 
action pending?

 Yes No 

3. Have you been treated for substance abuse, or have you been addicted to, or excessively 
or illegally used, alcohol or a controlled substance which may impair or interfere with your 
ability to practice as a massage therapist?

 Yes No 

4. Have you been disciplined by an employer or national certifying organization for care
that did not conform to minimum professional standards, for unethical conduct or for
sexual misconduct in connection with the delivery of massage therapy services to a
client as defined in 12 AAC 79.900.

 Yes No 

Compliance Statement    Do NOT submit CE documentation unless it is requested for audit. 

By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance with the continuing 
competency requirements of 12 AAC 79.210. Please do not send your CE at this time. 

—  or  —

Renewal for licenses first issued on or before September 30, 2018. 
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 16 hours of continuing education during 
the concluding licensing period of Oct. 1, 2017, through September 30, 2019, and none of the 
course topics are on the Board's List of Unacceptable Continuing Education. 
Please do not send in your CE documentation – only do so if you are selected for random audit. 

Renewal for licenses first issued on or after October 1, 2018. 
There are no continuing education requirements due at this renewal. 

Signature 

WARNING: The Division may deny, suspend or revoke the license or registration of a person who has obtained or attempted 
to obtain a license or registration by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subject to criminal charges for unsworn 
falsification. (AS 11.56.210) 
By my signature below, I certify that all information furnished in this application is true and correct. I understand that it is a 
Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification. 

Applicant’s Signature: Date: 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/MAS_Unaccept.CElist.2018.08.pdf
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all 
correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or 
incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid 
the license will be issued and sent to you with a cover letter about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written 
explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for 
processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  

LICENSE TERM:  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on September 30 of 
odd years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. 
One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers temporary licenses, 
they are issued for either 30 consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter. 

“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness questions in the 
application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, you 
will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated on 
this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program 
chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the Division before a professional license is issued or renewed for 
an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 

STALE DOCUMENTS: 
If during the license application process certain documents become older than six months from the date the document was postmarked, that document will 
be considered stale and must be resubmitted. Affected documents include the current application, Verifications of Licensure from other licensing 
jurisdictions, the Criminal Background Report, CPR Certification, and Bloodborne Pathogens/Universal Precautions Certificate. 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License 
Search. 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900, or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or (800) 441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed 
separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact 
method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

! General Information 

http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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Regulations 
SEC. 08.61.050. STANDARDS FOR LICENSE RENEWAL  (a) The board shall renew a license issued under this chapter to a licensee who 

(1) pays the required fee;
(2) meets the continuing education requirements established by the board;
(3) has not been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude, or has been convicted of, or pled guilty to or no

contest to, a crime involving moral turpitude if the board finds that the conviction does not affect the person's ability to practice competently and safely; 
(4) has a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification; and
(5) has been fingerprinted and has provided the fees required by the Department of Public Safety under AS 12.62.160 for criminal justice information

and a national criminal history record check at least once every six years; the fingerprints and fees shall be forwarded to the Department of Public Safety 
to obtain a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 and a national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400. 

12 AAC 79.200. LICENSE RENEWAL.  (a)  A massage therapy license must be renewed biennially on or before September 30 of odd-numbered years.  
A renewal reminder document will be mailed to each currently licensed massage therapist at least 30 days before the renewal date.  Failure to receive a 
renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time. 

(b) An applicant for renewal of a massage therapy license must meet the requirements of AS 08.61.050 and this section.  A massage therapist
applying for license renewal must submit 

(1) a completed renewal application on a form provided by the department;
(2) beginning October 1, 2017, and at least once every six years thereafter, the applicant's fingerprint information described in 12 AAC 79.130

and the fingerprint processing fee specified in 12 AAC 02.396; 
(3) the license renewal fee specified in 12 AAC 02.396;
(4) a current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and

Health Institute, or an equivalent organization; and 
(5) documentation that the massage therapist satisfied the continuing education requirements in 12 AAC 79.210.

Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.050 

12 AAC 79.210. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. (a) An applicant for renewal of a massage therapy license, 
(1) for a biennial licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2015, must document at least six continuing education credits, all of which may  be 
met through Internet-based continuing education courses;
(2) for a biennial licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2017, must document at least 16 continuing education credits, all of which may be
met through Internet-based continuing education courses.

(b) An applicant for renewal under (a)(2) of this section may receive two hours of continuing education credit
for completion of hands-on cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or an equivalent organization. 
(c) An applicant for renewal under (a)(2) of this section may receive four hours of continuing education credit

for completion of a bloodborne pathogens and universal and standard precautions course once every six years. 
(d) Continuing education must be completed through a

(1) board-approved massage therapy or bodywork therapy school or training program;
(2) regionally or nationally accredited institution of higher education; a course, seminar, workshop, or other

program through that institution must be approved by the board as directly related to the skills and knowledge 
required for the practice of massage therapy, and includes a bloodborne pathogens and universal and standard 
precautions course under (c) of this section; or 

(3) local, state, or national professional organization that serves the massage therapy profession, including
(A) Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals;
(B) the American Massage Therapy Association;
(C) the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; and
(D) the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

(e) For the purposes of this section,
(1) one continuing education credit equals one hour of classroom instruction between instructor and

participant; 
(2) one academic semester credit equals 15 contact hours; and
(3) one academic quarter credit equals 10 contact hours.

(f) An applicant for renewal is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed records of all continuing
education hours claimed and shall make the records available to the board upon request under 12 AAC 79.220. 
Records must be retained for four years from the date the contact hours were obtained. 

(g) An applicant for renewal under (a) of this section may receive one continuing education credit for attending
at least 80 percent of a regularly scheduled board meeting once every biennial licensing period. 

(h) An applicant for renewal under (a) of this section who has been licensed more than 90 days but less than 12
months of the concluding biennial license period is not required to submit proof of completion of continuing 
education. 

SEC. 08.61.060. GROUNDS FOR IMPOSITION OF DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS. After a hearing, the board may impose a disciplinary sanction under 
AS 08.01.075 on a person licensed under this chapter if the board finds that the person  

(1) secured a license through deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation;
(2) engaged in deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation in the course of providing massage therapy services or engaging in massage therapy;
(3) advertised massage therapy services in a false or misleading manner;
(4) has been convicted of a felony or another crime that affects the licensee's ability to continue to practice competently and safely;
(5) intentionally or negligently engaged in, or permitted a person under the licensed massage therapist's supervision to engage in, client care that

did not conform to minimum professional standards, whether or not actual injury to the client occurred; 
(6) failed to comply with a provision of this chapter, a regulation adopted under this chapter, or an order of the board;
(7) continued to practice after becoming unfit because of

(A) professional incompetence; or
(B) addiction or severe dependency on alcohol or another drug that impairs the ability to practice safely; or

(8) engaged in unethical conduct or sexual misconduct in connection with the delivery of massage
therapy services to a client. 



All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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