
Please read the application and instructions carefully.  
Failure to do so may cause additional correspondence and delay in the processing of your application. 
 
WHO MUST REGISTER THEIR MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT? 
Any owner of a massage therapy establishment who is not exempted under 12 AAC79.930(b) must register their 
massage therapy establishment. 
 

The majority owner of a massage establishment is exempt from registering their massage therapy business if they hold 
an active, current professional license in Alaska for: 
(1) acupuncturist under AS 08.06;  
(2) chiropractor under AS 08.20;  
(3) naturopath under AS 08.45;  
(4) massage therapist under AS 08.61;  
(5) physician, osteopath, mobile intensive care paramedic, or physician assistant under AS 08.64;  
(6) direct-entry midwife under AS 08.65;  
(7) advanced practice registered nurse under AS 08.68; or  
(8) physical or occupational therapist under AS 08.84.  

 
WHAT IS A MASSAGE THERAPY ESTABLISHMENT? 
A “massage therapy establishment” means a fixed or mobile place of business that is: 
(1) owned by a natural person, partnership, limited partnership, corporation, company, limited liability company, or 
other entity;  
(2) engages in, conducts, or permits massage or massage therapy to be conducted for any form of compensation, or 
uses the word “massage” in any solicitation or advertisement.  

 
INITIAL APPLICATION 
An owner must register each massage therapy establishment separately. 
 

The following must be received by the division before the application will be reviewed: 
 

1.  APPLICATION 
A completed application, signed and notarized 

2. FEES 
Payment of the required Non-Refundable Establishment Registration Fee of $300.00. 

3. SELF-INSPECTION REPORT & CHECKLIST 
A completed Self Inspection Report & Checklist (form #08.4733a), signed and notarized. 
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Board of Massage Therapists 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 

Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov 
                    Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists 

 

Massage Establishment Registration Application Instructions 

 
 
 

IT IS ILLEGAL TO OPERATE A MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT  
IN ALASKA WITHOUT AN ACTIVE REGISTRATION. 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

  

  

  

  

mailto:BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists


 
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP 
An Establishment registration is not transferable to another person or entity.  The new owner or entity must apply 
for a new Establishment Registration within 30 business days of acquiring the establishment and before conducting 
business. 
 
CHANGE OF PHYSICAL LOCATION 
If the physical location of an establishment changes, the owner or entity must apply for a new registration within 
30 business days of the change and before conducting business. 
 
POINT OF CONTACT (POC) 
A Point of Contact (POC) should be well versed in the massage therapist’s statutes and regulations and be available 
as an educational resource for the owner.  The POC will also be a point of contact for the Licensing Examiner and 
the Investigative Staff should any questions arise. 
 
UNREGISTERED ESTABLISHMENTS 
Any establishment that is unregistered will be subject to an Investigative fee in the amount of $2,000.00 per 12 AAC 
02.396(6). 

 
BUSINESS LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
A State Business License is required for a business operating in the state.  Please contact the Business Licensing Section 
at commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing for information on obtaining a business license at 907-465-2550 
in Juneau or 907-269-8160 in Anchorage. 
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       MAS 

Board of Massage Therapists  
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists 

 Massage Establishment Registration Application 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees:       Non-Refundable Registration Fee $300.00 
 

Type of Application:            Initial                          Change of Physical Location                          Change in Ownership 

Type of Business:            Sole Proprietor                     Partnership                     Corporation                     LLC/LLP 

 

PART II Owner Information                                                                          Majority Partner/Owner information 
Full Name: 
This is a name change: 
 

If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a Change of Name form. 

 
Mailing Address: 

   Street/PO Box                                              City                                          State                                          Zip 

Contact Phone:  Birthdate:  

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and 
will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.  

 

Partner Information - If Applicable                                                            
Full Name: 
This is a name change: 
 

If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a Change of Name form. 

 
Mailing Address: 

Street/PO Box                                           City                                      State                                      Zip 

Contact Phone:  Birthdate:  

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will 
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.  

Corporation, LLC or LLP Information - If Applicable                                                            

Name and Address of 
Corporation, LLC or LLP: 

Corporate, LLC/LLP Name 

Street/PO Box                                           City                                      State                                      Zip 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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PART III Identification        
Doing Business As (DBA):   

Mailing Address of Establishment: 
Street/PO Box                                           City                                      State                                 Zip 

Physical Address of Establishment: 
Street                                                         City                                      State                                 Zip 

Phone Number of Establishment: 
 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the 
email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address: 
  Send my Correspondence by Email  

Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

  

PART IV Establishment Information 

Do you own other establishments?  
 

Each establishment must be registered separately. 

NO, I do not own any other establishments. 

YES, I own other establishments.  Registration Number(s):  
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MAS 

 
Board of Massage Therapists  
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists 
 
 
 

 Notary Signature Page 
 
 
Applicant Name: 

 

 

PART V Agreement 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the 
complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and 
evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment 
hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for 
denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 
 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and 
commit the crime of unsworn falsification. 
 
 

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including 
prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). 

 Applicant’s 
Printed Name:  

Applicant’s 
Signature:  

Notary Public for 
State of:  

Subscribed and 
Sworn to Before 
me on this Day: 

 

Notary’s 
Signature:  My Commission 

Expires:  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  

  

  

  

Notary Stamp 
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Board of Massage Therapists 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550 

Email: BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov 
                    Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMassageTherapists 

 

Massage Establishment Self-Inspection Report & Checklist       To be completed by owner 

 
 
 

Establishment Name:  

Owner Name: 
 

Physical Location: 
Street                                                      City                                      State                                 Zip 

Phone Number: 
 

Fax Number: 
 

Date of Self-Inspection: 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Please Identify the Point of Contact as well as other massage therapists working in the establishment. 

Massage Point of Contact: 
 

 License Number: 
 

  List all additional employed massage therapists below: 

Name of Massage Therapist  License Number 

  

  

  

  

  

  

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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Massage Establishment Self-Inspection Report Checklist 
 
 
 
 

Item  YES  NO Comments 

1. The owner has designated a licensed therapist who practices in this 
location as the Point of Contact. 

   

2. A current copy of the Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice, and 
Establishment Standards of Operation must be on the premises and made 
available to the public on request. 

   

3. In full public view, current massage licenses of all employed massage 
therapists. 

   

4. The owner has a written and or digital system of maintaining client 
records for at least five (5) years. This includes safeguarding verbal and 
written confidential information of the client, unless disclosure is required 
by law, court order or authorized by the client. 

   

5. The owner maintains all equipment used to perform massage therapy 
services on the premises in a safe and sanitary condition. 

   

6. The owner will maintain compliance with all applicable state and local 
building and fire codes. 

   

7. The owner will provide for removal of garbage and refuse in a sanitary 
manner. 

   

8. The owner will provide for safe storage cleaning, and/or removal of soiled 
linens. 

   

9. Rooms or any cubicle for massage or massage therapy practices may not 
be equipped with an externally locking door. 

   

10. Establishment shall not operate or be open for business between the 
hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. 

   

11. No owner, operator, or employee shall allow television, video, or 
recording equipment in any room where massage services are being 
provided. A security surveillance monitor that can only receive images of 
the inside of the common areas of the establishment is allowed. With 
written client consent, a massage therapist may use video and 
photography equipment for therapeutic purposes. 

   

12. Will comply with the Standards of Operation at all times.    
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I certify that the above information is true and correct.  A person who makes a false statement on this application may be 
subject to civil and criminal penalties, including prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). 

 Owner’s 
Signature:  

Owner’s 
Name:  

Notary Public 
for State of:  

Subscribed and 
Sworn to Before me 
on this Day: 

 

Notary’s 
Signature:  My Commission 

Expires:  

NOTARY STAMP 

 



All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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