

THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Mechanical Administrators Program

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2050 Email: *MechanicalAdministrators@Alaska.Gov* Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/MechanicalAdministrators*

Mechanical Administrator License Renewal

January 1, 2024 — December 31, 2025

- Your license lapses after December 31, 2023. There is no grace period it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
- Emailed applications cannot be accepted.
- Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form.
- Plan on a 4–6-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.
- Once the renewal is processed, your license certificate will be available for printing via the MY LICENSE self-service portal.

| PART I | Payment of Fees | |
|----------------|--|----------|
| Renewal Fees: | Biennial License Renewal (For licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2022) | \$200.00 |
| Kellewall ees. | Prorated License Renewal (For licenses first issued on or after January 1, 2023) | \$100.00 |

PART II Personal Information

| Full Legal Name: Name change: | | | AK Mechanical A License Number: | | |
|---|--------------------|------|------------------------------------|--------------------------------------|---|
| If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a <u>Change of Name</u> form. | | | | | |
| Mailing Address: Address change: | P.O. Box or Street | City | | State | Zip |
| Contact Phone: | | | Date of Birth: | | |
| EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. | | | | | |
| Email Address: | | | Select One: _ | Send my Correspo Send my Correspo | ondence Electronically ondence by Mail |
| Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. | | | | | |
| SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. | | | | | |

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

PART III Employer or Company Affiliation

In accordance with 12 AAC 39.912, you are required to report any change of employer or company affiliation.

□ I hereby certify I must submit the required notarized statement (form #08-4102) within 15 days after a change in electrical administration employment or company affiliation as required by 12 AAC 39.912.

PART IV Professional Fitness Questions

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a "yes" answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

Since the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed:

| 1. | Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities, or is any such action pending? | Yes No |
|----|---|--------|
| | | |

| 2. | Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For |
|----|--|
| | purposes of this question, "crime" includes but is not limited to a misdemeanor, felony, or a military |
| | offense, including a conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while |
| | intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked |
| | license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered |
| | a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended |
| | imposition of sentence, or a fine. |

"Yes" Answers

If you answered "yes" to any of the above questions, you must submit signed and dated documentation explaining the specific circumstance(s) of the incident(s).

□ Yes □ No

PART V Statement of Compliance

| By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance with the continuing education requirements of Article 3 of 12 AAC 39 during the license period from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023. | | | | |
|---|--|--|--|--|
| Check one of these boxes if you completed all of your continuing education requirements ON OR BEFORE December 31, 2023: | | | | |
| I certify that in accordance with Article 3 of 12 AAC 39, I successfully completed the required hours of continuing education between the dates of January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023. If audited, I agree to provide documentation that verifies I met this requirement as claimed on this renewal form. | | | | |
| - or - | | | | |
| I passed a licensing examination based on the appropriate code between January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2023, in accordance with Article 3 of 12 AAC 39. | | | | |
| Check this box if you completed some or all of your continuing education requirements ON OR AFTER January 1, 2024: | | | | |
| I certify that I did not complete all of the continuing competency requirements during the concluding licensing period of January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023. However, as allowed under 12 AAC 02.965 I successfully completed some or all of the required continuing education on or after January 1, 2024, but prior to submitting this renewal application and have attached copies of all the certificates verifying I completed this education. Under 12 AAC 02.965, I understand that the hours I earned on or after January 1, 2024 to satisfy this renewal may not be used for the subsequent renewal period. | | | | |
| Continuing Education Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continued competency requirements in Article 3 of 12 AAC 39 (see attached regulations). | | | | |
| Random Audit A percentage of license renewal applications will be randomly selected for audit. If selected, you must submit copies of certificates or other acceptable proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you have stated on this application. You are required to save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. Licensees unable to comply with the audit are subject to disciplinary license action. | | | | |





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Mechanical Administrators Program PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2050 Email: *MechanicalAdministrators@Alaska.Gov*

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/MechanicalAdministrators

Signature Page

Applicant Name:

PART VI Agreement

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued and sent to you. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

There is no "inactive" status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. Renewal applications become available 30-90 days prior to the expiration date. Renewal notices are provided at least 30 days prior to the expiration date on file, in accordance with AS 08.01.050. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not alleviate the requirement to renew the license if you wish to continue providing services in Alaska.

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR THE EXAM:

Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit an Application for Examination Accommodations for Candidates with Disabilities form (#08-4214).

HARD COPY LICENSE CERTIFICATES:

The division no longer mails hard copy license certificates. We have expanded our online services with MyLicense through the MyAlaska website to allow licensees to download their own certificates on demand. The certificates will be located under the Initial Application, Renewal and/or License Type Change events, on the license details page once an application is complete. Provide an email address on your application where prompted in order to obtain access and view your online MyLicense profile.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "Yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "Yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* or contact the division for a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov

Continuing Education

12 AAC 39.400. PURPOSE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION. The purpose of continuing mechanical education is to ensure that the renewal of licenses is contingent upon proof of continued competency and assure the consumer of optimum quality and safety of mechanical installation by requiring licensed mechanical administrators to pursue education designed to include the current editions of applicable codes and standards.

12 AAC 39.410. HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED. (a) An applicant for renewal of a mechanical administrator license shall document the satisfactory completion of the continuing education requirements in this section during the concluding licensing period, unless the licensee has passed a licensing examination based upon the appropriate codes or standards during the concluding licensing licensing period.

(b) A mechanical administrator must satisfactorily complete at least one eight-hour continuing education workshop or an equivalent number of hours of a formal correspondence or individual study program approved by the department that covers the following codes or standards applicable to each category of license held:

(1) the Uniform Mechanical Code, in effect in the state at the time the applicant completes the eight hours of continuing education required in (b) of this section, for renewal of a mechanical administrator license in the categories of

- (A) heating, cooling, and process piping;
- (B) unlimited HVAC/sheet metal;
- (C) unlimited refrigeration;
- (D) mechanical systems temperature control; and
- (E) residential HVAC;

(2) the Uniform Plumbing Code as adopted under AS 18.60.705 for renewal of a license in the unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing category;

(3) either the Uniform Plumbing Code as adopted under AS 18.60.705 or the Uniform Mechanical Code, in effect in the state at the time the applicant completes the eight hours of continuing education required in (b) of this section, for renewal of a license in the residential plumbing and hydronic heating category.

12 AAC 39.420. APPROVED WORKSHOPS AND COURSES. (a) Except as provided in 12 AAC 39.460, to be approved by the department, a continuing education workshop must cover the edition of the applicable codes listed in 12 AAC 39.410 in effect in the state at the time the workshop is presented.

(b) A continuing education workshop sponsored by an individual or organization not identified in (c) of this section must be individually approved by the department. The department will approve a continuing education workshop if

- (1) a description of the workshop and the number of hours of instruction are submitted to the department;
- (2) the department determines that the workshop meets the requirements in (a) of this section;
- (3) the workshop requires participants to register; and
- (4) satisfactory completion of the workshop is verifiable.

(c) A workshop sponsored by any of the following organizations that meets the requirements of (a) of this section is considered approved by the department:

- (1) Mechanical Contractors of Alaska;
- (2) United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipefitting Industry of the United States and Canada;
- (3) International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials;
- (4) International Conference of Building Officials;
- (5) Sheet Metal Air Conditioning Contractors of North America;
- (6) Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

(d) A course sponsored by or accepted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development on the subjects described in 12 AAC 39.410(b) is approved by the department.

12 AAC 39.430. INDIVIDUAL STUDY. To be approved by the department, a formal correspondence or other individual study program must require registration of the participants and must provide evidence of satisfactory completion of the program. The number of hours of continuing education credit awarded for the satisfactory completion of a formal correspondence or other individual study program will be determined by the department on an individual basis.

12 AAC 39.440. REPORT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION. (a) An applicant for renewal of a license under 12 AAC 39.027 shall submit, on a form provided by the department, a statement of the continuing education that the applicant satisfactorily completed to meet the requirements of 12 AAC 39.410. The statement must include the

- (1) name of the sponsoring organization;
- (2) location of the workshop or correspondent;
- (3) title or description of the workshop or both;
- (4) name of the principal instructor;
- (5) dates of attendance or period of correspondence; and

(6) number of continuing education hours claimed.

(b) Falsification of any written evidence submitted to the department under this section is grounds for disciplinary action under AS 08.40.320.

12 AAC 39.450. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. A licensee unable to obtain the required continuing education hours for license renewal may request a waiver by explaining the circumstances in writing to the department. If the department determines that the licensee was prevented from complying with the continuing education requirements by circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, the department will, in its discretion, prescribe an alternative method of compliance with those requirements as it considers appropriate to the individual situation.

12 AAC 39.460. EDITION OF CODE ACCEPTABLE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION. The department will, in its discretion, accept a course for continuing education credit that covers a more recent edition of the Uniform Plumbing Code than the edition adopted under AS 18.60.705 if the more recent edition of the code has been approved by the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials.

12 AAC 32.355. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. A licensee unable to obtain the required continuing education hours for license renewal may request a waiver by explaining the circumstances in writing to the department. If the department determines that the licensee was prevented from complying with the continuing education requirements by circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, the department will, in its discretion, prescribe an alternative method of compliance with those requirements as it considers appropriate to the individual situation.

12 AAC 32.365. EDITION OF CODE ACCEPTABLE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION. The department will, in its discretion, accept a course for continuing education credit that covers a more recent edition of the National Electrical Code or the National Electrical Safety Code than the edition adopted in AS 18.60.580 if the more recent edition of the code has been approved by the American National Standards Institute.

THE **S**TATE



ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
 professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
 and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the
 questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a "yes" answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted according to state law.

| Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box. | | | | | | | |
|---|---|---------------------------|---------|----------------------|-----------|------------|----------|
| Location of Inci | dent: | | | | Date of I | ncident: | |
| Explanation of When in doub and explain. Make copies as | t, disclose | | | | | | |
| Did you attach | all applicable d | locuments associated with | this in | cident? | | | |
| Court Ord | ers | Consent Agreements | | Disciplinary Actions | | Charging D | ocuments |
| Court Rec | ords 🔲 Fitness to Practice 🔲 All Other Documentation Related to This Incident | | | | | | |
| I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident. | | | | | | | |
| Full Name: | | | | | Program | : | |
| | | | | | | | |

Signature:

Date Signed:



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card information. Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):

License Number (*if applicable*):

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):

Application Fee:

License or Renewal Fee:

Other (fine, exam, etc.):

1.

2.

TOTAL:

Name (as shown on credit card):

Mailing Address:

Phone Number:

Email (optional):

Signature of Credit Card Holder:

08-4438

Rev 12/06/2022 Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

| CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! | | | | |
|---|---|--|--|--|
| 1. Credit Card Number: | All 3 fields MUST be completed! | | | |
| 2. Expiration Date: | This section will be | | | |
| 3. Security Code: | destroyed after the payment is processed. | | | |

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY