

THE STATE of $\operatorname{\mathsf{ALASKA}}$

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Medical or Osteopathy License Application Instructions

This packet contains all the documents you will need to apply for a permanent license to practice medicine or osteopathy in Alaska.

Read all instructions and information carefully and complete all documents as requested.

- Average processing time for a temporary license is from six to eight weeks. Full licensure can take twelve to fourteen weeks
 or longer. Start the process far enough in advance to allow this process to occur. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt
 in our office. If there are items in the application about which the board requires additional information, or if there is any
 adverse or derogatory information that comes to light, the review process may take longer.
- Appropriate fees must accompany applications before initial screening can begin.
- While we understand your desire to conclude this process as quickly as possible, our licensing staff is responsible for reviewing many files and cannot complete the application process if required documents are missing. It is your responsibility to ensure those documents are received by our office.
- The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The Board and its staff must comply with those laws in processing applications.
- The Alaska State Medical Board conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, malpractice history and any criminal or disciplinary history. We recommend you do not make commitments for loans, practice start dates, home purchases, etc., based on the expectation of licensure. The Board will not accelerate one application over others, nor will it forego any elements of its screening process.
- If you received this application from a source other than directly from the Division or its official website, the application may be outdated or not an official version. To ensure you have the official version, please contact the Division. Application forms will be rejected if not on the current version.
- If you have a current DEA registration, you must register with the prescription drug monitoring program (PDMP) within 30 days of obtaining a permit or license. Application instructions at: *PDMP.Alaska.Gov*

THRESHOLD QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE - U.S.

- Successful graduation from an AAMC- or AOA-accredited medical school.
- Successful completion of post-graduate training in accredited programs in recognized hospitals.
- If graduated from medical school prior to 01/01/1995 1 year of postgraduate training.
- If graduated from medical school on or after 01/01/1995 2 years of postgraduate training.
- Successful passage of an acceptable licensing examination as defined by regulation.
- Completion of education in pain management and opioid use and addiction.
- Submit a complete application (contents listed below).
- Submit a list of malpractice settlements/claims with an explanation of the basis for each claim or settlement.
- NOT have a license to practice medicine in another state, territory, province, or international licensing jurisdiction suspended or revoked or otherwise disciplined.

THRESHOLD QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE - International Graduates

- Successful graduation from a medical school listed in the World Directory of Medical schools.
- Successful completion of three (3) years of postgraduate training in accredited programs in recognized hospitals in the United States or Canada.
- Completion of education in pain management and opioid use and addiction.
- Submit a complete application.
- ECFMG Certificate.
- Successful passage of appropriate examinations as defined by regulation.
- Submit a list of malpractice settlements/claims with an explanation of the basis for each claim or settlement.
- NOT have a license to practice medicine in another state, territory, or province suspended or revoked or otherwise disciplined.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Medical or Osteopathy License can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4105, pages 1-10).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee:	\$400.00
License Fee:	\$350.00
Total Fees Due:	 \$750.00

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS

A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4105a).

4. EXAM SCORES

Appropriate examination scores as required by 12 AAC 40.020 and 12 AAC 40.021.

5. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Verification of Licensure sent directly from all licensing jurisdictions, both U.S. and International, in which you have ever been licensed.

6. VERIFICATION OF MEDICAL SCHOOL EDUCATION

A completed verification of medical school education form (#08-4105e).

7. CLEARANCE REPORT – FSMB

A Clearance Report from the Federation of State Medical Boards. Alaska Board staff will obtain.

8. VERIFICATION OF POSTGRADUATE TRAINING

A completed verification of Postgraduate Training form (#08-4105g).

9. NPDB REPORT

Division staff will obtain a clearance report directly from the National Practitioner Data Bank.

Application for Licensure Checklist

Checklist	Document	Provided By
	Completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4105, pages 1-10).	You provide
	Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4105a).	You provide
	Examination Scores	Exam Agency or FCVS
	Verification of Medical School Education (#08-4105e).	Medical School or FCVS
	Post-Graduate Verifications of Training (#08-4105g)	PG Programs or FCVS
	Verifications of Licensure in Other Jurisdictions.	Licensing Board, Primary Source Website (if available) or Veridoc
	FSMB Board Action Data Bank Report: fsmb.org	Alaska Board staff will obtain
	NPDB Report	Alaska Board staff will obtain
	Explanation and documentation of any "yes" responses in application	You provide
	Fees Enclosed with Application	You provide
	ECFMG, if international medical school graduate	ECFMG or FCVS

Each question in the application must be answered. Be sure to also include required documentation for each "yes" response.

Failure to answer all questions completely and accurately, or the omission or falsification of information may be cause for denial of your application or disciplinary action by the board. When in doubt, disclose all information and provide an explanation and documentation.

ADDRESS OF RECORD

The first page of the application asks for your preferred address of record. This is the address to which you would like us to send all communications to you including your permit or license. Please do not use third party addresses, telephone numbers, or email addresses as this creates difficulties when we are trying to reach you.

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS

The Alaska State Medical Board may waive the written examination requirement and license an applicant by credentials if you hold an active license issued after written examination in another state or territory of the United States or province of Canada. Such examination must be equivalent to the USMLE examination series or must include passing the following examinations with at least a minimum passing score as defined by regulation (12 AAC 40.020): the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME), the Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX), or the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME).

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

The Alaska State Medical Board requires the USMLE examination series and has contracted with the Federation of State Medical Board for administration of the examination. To request examination information, contact the Federation at:

United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Step 3
The Federation of State Medical Boards
400 Fuller Wiser Rd., Suite 300
Euless, TX 76039-3856
817/868-4041
Website: https://www.fsmb.org/transcripts/transcripts-fag/

APPLICATION STATUS UPDATES

Our licensing examiner will send you a written status update upon the initial screening of the application.

APPLICATION SUBMITTAL

- Use our convenient online services by registering with MYLICENSE. The online features will help you apply for a new license, renew an existing license, update your email and mailing address, and receive electronic communication about application status, licensure, regulations changes, and other important news. ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/MYLICENSE
- Use the Uniform Application (UA) for initial licensure offered through the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). This application process may benefit physicians applying for licensure in multiple states. FSMB.org/uniform-application
- Use a traditional paper application. You may still opt-in to receive electronic communication about application status. Visit our website for additional information: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard*

COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION FORMS

Help us do a good job processing your application: type or print legibly all application documents. Read the instructions and give careful thought before answering the questions in the application - remember - you are certifying the information is truthful and correct.

Make sure all notary seals are properly affixed on the application and all documentation has been properly certified as required. Provide all documents requested in the application; incomplete applications will delay processing.

Failure to answer all questions completely and accurately, or the omission or falsification of information may be cause for denial of your application or disciplinary action if you are subsequently permitted by the board.

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE ALL INFORMATION OR CALL OUR OFFICE.

CONFIDENTIALITY

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

Alaska law requires an average of 25 hours of Category I AMA- or AOA-approved continuing education hours for each year of the licensing period (two-year licensing cycle) of which 2 hours must be in education related to pain management and opioid use and addiction. At the time of renewal, the licensee must attest to compliance with the CME requirements. After renewal is completed, the division will perform a computer-generated random audit of licensees who will be required to provide proof of CME courses. See regulations 12 AAC 40.200, 210, and 220.

DENIAL OF LICENSE

The denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local government agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

EXAMINATION SCORES

Regardless of your application, whether by credentials or examination, Alaska requires that you must pass each component of your examinations. You must request exam scores be sent to the board from the appropriate organization.

Contact the following Exam Boards to request a copy of your exam transcript be sent to the Alaska Medical Board:

Exam Board	Address	Phone Number	Website
USMLE or FLEX	The Federation of State Medical Boards 400 Fuller Wiser Road Euless, TX 76039	(817) 868-4041	https://www.fsmb.org/transcripts/transcripts-faq/
NBME	National Board of Medical Examiners 3750 Market Street Philadelphia, PA 19104-3102	(215) 590-9500	https://www.nbme.org/common-questions/parts- exam-transcripts
COMLEX or NBOME	Nation Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners 8765 W. Higgins Rd Suite 200 Chicago, IL 60631	(866) 479-6828	https://www.nbome.org/assessments/comlex- usa/comlex-usa-faqs

FEDERATION CREDENTIALS VERIFICATION SERVICE

The Federation of State Medical Boards offers a credentials verification service that is accepted by the Alaska board. This verification process is conducted separately and independently by the FCVS in accordance with established policies and procedures set forth by the board. By participation in the FCVS process, you will establish a permanent, lifetime portfolio of primary-source verified credentials allowing for quick and easy access to your important medical credentials.

To utilize this service, you must first enroll by submitting an application to the FCVS. For more information on this service, go to www.fsmb.org/fcvs.html or call toll free 1-888-275-3287. When the FCVS receives your information and documentation, a non-interpretive "Physician Information Profile" containing certified photocopies of your credentials is forwarded directly to the board. Please do not contact the Alaska State Medical Board regarding your FCVS application.

FSMB BOARD ACTION DATABANK REPORT

The Alaska State Medical Board requires a Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) Action Databank Report for each applicant. Alaska Board staff will obtain this report.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE DOCUMENTS

All foreign language documents must be certified true copies and must be accompanied by a certified translation into English by a recognized translator.

LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESSING STAFF

Visit our website to find the contact information for your Licensing Examiner: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard* or call (907)465-2550

INITIAL LICENSURE IN SECOND YEAR OF TWO-YEAR CYCLE

If you were initially licensed in the second year of the two-year licensure period, within 12 months of the date of expiration (December 31, even-number years), the applicant will pay the entire license fee. Upon renewal, the applicant will receive a renewal form that pro-rates the licensure fee for the coming licensure period. The applicant will pay one-half of the required license renewal fee at the time of renewal.

If your permanent license was first issued to you after October 1 of the second year of the licensing period, you will pay the initial full license fee; however, your license will be issued showing the expiration date of the next biennial licensing period. (For example, if your initial license was issued October 18, 2002, the expiration date will automatically be entered as December 31, 2004.)

LICENSING PROCESS

Submit your complete application to the board with fees and pertinent documents. The licensing examiner assembles the documents for your file and advises the applicant of the application status. Upon the completion of the application file when all documents have been received from other organizations, the file is forwarded to the board's administrator who reviews the entire file. At the discretion of the administrator, a Medical or Osteopathic license may be issued.

Applications will be processed in the order in which they are received in the board's office. Ensure you apply well in advance of your need for the permit or license. Board staff will not expedite one application before another.

LICENSE RENEWAL

All medical licenses in Alaska are on a two-year cycle, with all licenses expiring December 31 of even-numbered years. Notification for license renewal is mailed out to license holders of record at least 30 days prior to expiration, usually in late October. You are required by law to keep your current address on file with the division (12 AAC 02.900).

Failure to receive a renewal notice is not considered an excuse for nonrenewal. A physician who is not intending to practice medicine in Alaska may renew their license in an inactive status. If you practice in the state occasionally, you must renew your license in active status. An inactive status license prohibits you from practicing; however, if you wish to reactivate your inactive license, contact the licensing examiner for instructions. It is illegal to practice medicine in Alaska with an inactive or lapsed license or permit.

NAME CHANGES

If you have changed your name at any time during your life, you must submit a copy of the legal document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.) supporting your name change.

OPIOID EDUCATION

Attestation of opioid education related to pain management, opioid use and addiction is required to qualify for a new license in the State of Alaska, unless you do not hold a valid DEA registration. You must document compliance with the opioid education requirement on your application.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

PERSONAL INTERVIEWS

Applicants for medical licensure in Alaska may be required to have a personal interview either with an individual board member or with the full board. Should an interview be required, you will be notified and an interview scheduled. An interview may be required if, during the processing of your application, a question arises for which the board determines it requires additional information from you.

PRACTICING IN ALASKA

For information on practice opportunities, contact: Alaska State Medical Association 4107 Laurel Street Anchorage, AK 99508-5334 (907) 562-0304

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP)

A licensee may not prescribe or dispense a controlled substance in Alaska or to Alaskan residents until registration with the PMDP is complete. All actively licensed practitioners with a DEA registration valid in any state or practice location must register with the Alaska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) within 30 days of initial licensure and use the PDMP to review a patient's prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. For more information go to: *PDMP.Alaska.Gov*

PROCESSING TIME

In general, average processing time for a temporary license is from four to six weeks. Full licensure may take up to eight to twelve weeks. Please plan accordingly. Application processing time depends to a large extent on the response time from other organizations. Time required also depends upon our workload and the volume of applications being processed. Because the length of processing time for your application may vary considerably, we urge you to be patient until our processing is complete and the license is issued.

If there are any "yes" responses or if adverse information is received, it will typically take longer to gather and evaluate additional data. If the application is referred to the Investigations Unit for investigation of a particular issue, processing time is extended by the time required to complete an investigation. Since investigations must be prioritized, it may take longer to complete the file.

SOCIAL SECURITY REQUIREMENT

Alaska Statute 08.01.060(b) requires an applicant for an occupational license to provide a United States social security number. Applicants who are foreign citizens and are unable to obtain a social security number must contact the division office for instructions. Social security numbers are required by federal law to be held confidential; we do not release these numbers to the public.

STALE DOCUMENTS

If during the license application process certain documents become older than twelve months from the date the document was received in our office, that document is considered to be stale and must be resubmitted. Affected documents include the application document, verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions, the DEA clearance report and the FSMB Board Action Data Bank report.

STATE BUSINESS LICENSES

Physicians who are employees do not need to obtain an Alaska state business license; physicians who are independent contractors must obtain a state business license. You may obtain a business license by contacting: *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov or* (907) 465-2550.

TEMPORARY PERMIT

Upon receipt of your initial application with payment and minimum required documents, your application will be forwarded to a supervisor for review and approval for a temporary permit. A temporary permit allows you to practice until your application is considered complete and eligible to be reviewed for full licensure.

LICENSE VERIFICATION

Your application must include primary source verification of license from every jurisdiction where you have held a license. Work with each jurisdiction to ensure a primary source verification of license including any disciplinary actions is sent directly to the Alaska Medical Board. Many state boards offer primary source verification directly from their websites which you may download and forward to: medicalboard@alaska.gov. You may also wish to utilize the services of Veridoc, Inc. for the purpose of expediting your verifications of licensure from other states to the Alaska board for your application. To use this system, log on to their website at www.veridoc.org for more information.

WITHDRAWAL OF APPLICATIONS

The board permits the withdrawal of an application that it has not yet considered at a board meeting. Should you wish to withdraw your application, submit a request in writing stating the reason for the withdrawal. Requests must be received before the first time the Board reviews and considers the application. All withdrawals are reported to the Federation of State Medical Boards stating the reason for the withdrawal.

WEBSITE ADDRESS

The Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing maintains a website where you may check to see if your license or permit has been issued. The address is https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/main/Search/Professional.

The medical board's website is ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/State Medical Board.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any question in the application, additional time will be required for the gathering and assessment of pertinent information. You can expedite this process by providing with your application complete explanations and documentation for any "yes" responses.

HOW CAN YOU HELP?

- 1. First and foremost: apply far enough in advance to allow for application processing.
- 2. If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it Certified Return Receipt.
- 3. Ensure the application is complete when you submit it and provide any necessary explanations with the application. Print legibly or type your application.
- 4. Provide complete explanations for any "yes" responses. It saves time if we don't have to contact you and request such information.
- 5. Provide a brief description for any malpractice claims describing the allegation, the nature of the case, your level of involvement, and the resolution of the case.

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN.



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Medical or Osteopathy License Application

PART I Pr	ofessional Designation		
Applying By:	Examination (Not licensed in anoth	er state)	als (Licensed in another state)
Profession:	Allopathic Physician (MD)	Osteopathic Physician (D	00)
PART II Pa	yment of Fees		
Required Fees:	Application and License Fee (\$400 i	s Non-Refundable)	\$750.00
PART III Pe	rsonal Information		
Full Legal Name:			
provide a certified to	ames used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If true copy of the documentation showing procable mes Used:		eceived in a prior name, you must
Residence Address:	Street	City	State Zip
Practice Address:	Street	City	State Zip
Which address do	you want to use for your mailing address a	nd for the public record?	Residence Address Practice Address
Contact Phone:		Date of Birth:	
Place of Birth:		Gender:	
and Professional Licensin	choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affe ig, I agree to maintain an accurate email address throu is in good standing may result in an inability to receive cr	gh the MY LICENSE web page. I unde	rstand that failure to check my email account or
Email Address:		Select One:	Send my Correspondence ElectronicallySend my Correspondence by Mail
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, y	ou will receive correspondence	electronically.
States Social Security Nu	ER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United umber. It is considered confidential information and used; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.		

PART IV Alas	ska License or	Permit							
Complete the following if you have previously held a license or permit in Alaska.									
Previous License or F	Permit Type:	Permanent		Resident		Locum Tenens		Temporary	
Previous AK License Permit Number:	or					Date Issued:			
PART V Mil	litary Service								
Have you ever been i	in the armed forces	? Yes		☐ No					
Branch of Service:	Branch of Service:					Date of Commission:			
Location(s) Where You Served:									
Type of Discharge:						Date of Discharge:			
PART VI Me	dical School E	ducation Inform	natio	n					
		and from which you gr Is on a separate sheet					edical sch	ool, provide	
Name of Institution				Location (City, State)			Da	ate Graduated	
PART VII ECF	MG Certificat	ion				(Fore	eign Grad	duates Only)	
If you graduated from	n an International N	Medical School:							
My school	is listed in the Wor	ld Directory of Medica	l Schoo	ls, and					
☐ I have atta	ched a certified tru	e copy of my ECFMG c	ertifica	te.					
ECFMG Certificate N	umber:			Issue Date:					
PART VIII Pos	t-Graduate Ti	raining Informat	ion						
List internship, reside	ency, or fellowship	training programs chro	nologi	cally.					
Name of	Institution		Addre	ess	Date(s) Attended			Completed?	
								Yes No	
								Yes No	
						☐ Yes			

PART I	X Opioid Edu	cation						
	I have received education in pain management, opioid use, and addiction. Upon renewal of my Alaska license, I will provide a Certificate of Completion that confirms at least two hours of credit covering all three areas of the required subject matter: pain management, opioid use, addiction.							
	I request a waiver of the requirement for two hours of education in pain management, opioid use, and addiction until I apply for a DEA registration number.							
PART 2	X Examinatio	n History						
Specify Na	tional Boards, FLEX, L	MCC, USMLE or a state-administer	ed medical licensing exami	nation.				
	Exam Series	Locatio	on	Date A	dministered	Result		
						Pass Fail		
						Pass Fail		
						Pass Fail		
PART	XI Self-Desig	nated Specialty						
-	lesignate a specialty a ertified true copy of th	rea of practice, whether you hold a ne board certificate.	a specialty board certificati	on or not	t. If you are bo	oard certified	d,	
ĺ	☐ I do not wish to c	lesignate a specialty area of practic	ce.					
[☐ I wish to designate	te the following specialty area(s) of	f practice:					
Special	ty / Subspecialty	Certification Date	Specialty Board	rd Recertifi		ation Date		

PART XII **DEA Registration and PDMP Acknowledgment** 1. Providers with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location must register with the PDMP. Do you have a DEA Registration number? NO, I do not have an active DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location. I understand if I obtain a DEA registration number, I must register with the Alaska PDMP within 30 days as required by the board. I will comply with mandatory use and refer to all applicable authorizing statutes and regulations. (Skip to Part XIII) b. YES, I have an active DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location. I understand I must register with the Alaska PDMP within 30 days of receiving this license, as required by the board, and will comply with mandatory use as required by AS 17.30.200 and 12 AAC 40.967. I acknowledge I must review a patient's prescription history prior to prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. I understand that I must also review the patient's history once every 30 days for up to 90 days, and at least once every three months if treatment continues for more than 90 days. If I have a change in DEA registration number or status, I also understand I must promptly submit the DEA Registration Status Change Form (#08-4763). If you're unsure of the DEA issue date, indicate January 1st of the estimated year. **DEA Registration** Issue Expiration Number: Date: Date: 2. Providers who directly dispense a federally scheduled II - IV controlled substance are required to report daily. Do you plan to directly dispense? Directly dispense means you deliver the substance directly to the user. Writing a prescription for a patient to fill at a pharmacy is NOT direct dispensing. Reporting does not apply to you if you directly dispense an outpatient supply of 24-hours or less in practice locations exempt under AS 17.30.200(t). Exempted facilities include health care facilities (defined in AS 18.07.111 or AS 18.20.499), correctional facilities, inpatient pharmacies, and emergency departments. Per AS 11.71.900(8) "dispense" means to deliver a controlled substance to an ultimate user or research subject by or under the lawful order of a practitioner, including the prescribing, administering, packaging, labeling, or compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that delivery; "dispenser" means a practitioner who dispenses. a. YES, I plan to directly dispense and acknowledge I must report daily per AS 17.30.200 and 12 AAC 52.865. **b.** NO, I do not plan to directly dispense and acknowledge that if I begin directly dispensing, I must report daily. (If you are not directly dispensing, the reporting criteria do not apply to you. PART XIII Professional License(s)

List all states, territories, provinces, or foreign countries in which you currently are or have ever been licensed as any health care professional. Include instructional and training permits.

State or Jurisdiction	License Number	Issue Date	License Status (Active, Lapsed)

PART XIV Other Profess	iona	l License(s)						
Other than as a physician, have you in any other profession of the healin				Yes		No		
License Number		State or Jurisdiction		Issue Dat	te			ense Status ive, Lapsed)
PART XV Medical Socie	eties	and Professional Orga	nization	ns		ı		
List all medical society memberships								
Name of Organization		Address			Fr	om Dat	te	To Date
PART XVI Hospital Affili	atior	าร						
Have you held hospital privileges with				Yes] No		
If yes, list all hospitals in which you h	ave be	een credentialed within the imm	ediate pas	t five years	. Prin	t additi	onal pa	ges as needed.
Hospital Name		Mailing Addr	ess			From	n Date	To Date

PART XVII Work History

Provide a chronological listing of all medical and non-medical activities beginning with your graduation from medical school to the present date with no more than a 60-day gap in time. Do not attach a CV; we require the use of this form. If necessary, make additional copies of this page, or continue to list your work history on a separate sheet labeled with your name and signed by you.

Explain any gap in time from practice of more than sixty (60) days' duration. If you have retired from practice, provide the dates. If you have been inactive from practice for two years or more, provide the dates and include documentation of your recent continuing medical education.

Start Date	End Date	Facility / Location	Activity					
PART XVIII Medical Malpractice History								

PART XVIII Medical Malpractice History						
Have you ever had any claims of malpractice filed against you?	☐ Yes ☐ No					
If "yes," you must provide an explanation and support document for each case. Use the Medical Malpractice History Explanation Form (#08-4869) appended to this application.						

PART XIX

Professional Fitness Questions – Disciplinary History

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

For the purposes of this application, the word "discipline" is used. There are many forms of disciplinary actions that may be imposed by organizations, schools, programs, licensing authorities, and other agencies. Such disciplinary actions may include but not be limited to: Suspension, Surrender, Revocation, Probation, Academic Probation, Reprimand, Censure, Restricted License, Limited License, Conditioned License, or Letters of Counseling, Concern, Advice, Warning, Caution, Admonishment, Reprimand, etc. You must include non-reported disciplinary actions. Failure to disclose past history may be grounds for disciplinary sanctions.

	When in doubt, disclose and explain.		
1.	Have you ever been convicted of a crime (felony or misdemeanor) in any jurisdiction of the United States, including military, or any international jurisdiction?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
2.	Have you ever been charged with a crime (felony or misdemeanor) in any jurisdiction of the United States, including military, or any international jurisdiction that did not result in acquittal or dismissal?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
3.	Relating to the practice of medicine, has there ever been a finding of, or have you ever been found guilty of, professional misconduct, unprofessional conduct, incompetence, or negligence, by any jurisdiction of the United States, including military, or any international jurisdiction?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
4.	Relating to the practice of medicine, have you ever had charges filed against you alleging professional misconduct, unprofessional conduct, incompetence, or negligence, in any jurisdiction of the United States, including military, or any international jurisdiction?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
5.	Has any hospital or other health care facility disciplined, restricted, or terminated your professional training, employment, or privileges, or investigated a complaint or accusation regarding your practice (except for late medical records)?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
6.	Have you ever voluntarily or involuntarily resigned or withdrawn from professional training, from employment, or your privileges from any hospital or other health care facility to avoid the imposition of disciplinary sanction, restriction or termination?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
7.	Have you ever been disciplined by a medical school or post-graduate training program, including academic probation?	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No
8.	Have you ever had a license to practice medicine disciplined by any authority including a state medical board or a military authority (except for late medical records)? (If you are unsure about your response to this question, refer to the instructions and definitions for this section on page 7 of this application above. When in doubt, disclose and explain.)	Yes	No
	Is any such action pending?	Yes	No

Professional Fitness Questions – Disciplinary History (continued) PART XIX Have you ever been under investigation by any medical licensing jurisdiction or authority? (If you Yes No are unsure about your response to this question, refer to the instructions and definitions for this section on page 7 of this application. When in doubt, disclose and explain.) Is any such action pending? No 10. Have you ever had a medical license application denied by any medical licensing jurisdiction or Yes No authority? Is any such action pending? No 11. Have you ever voluntarily or involuntarily withdrawn an application for a license to practice Yes No medicine in any United States jurisdiction or any international jurisdiction? Is any such action pending? Yes No 12. Have you ever voluntarily or involuntarily surrendered or suspended your license to practice No medicine in any United States jurisdiction or any international jurisdiction? Is any such action pending? Yes No 13. Have you ever voluntarily or involuntarily agreed to any limitations, restrictions, or conditions to Yes No your license to practice medicine? Is any such action pending? Yes No 14. Has your employment by a clinic, hospital, or other health care organization ever been terminated No involuntarily or voluntarily as a result of an actual or potential investigation or as grounds for Yes disciplinary proceedings? Is any such action pending? Yes No **15.** Have you ever had a DEA registration revoked or restricted? No Is any such action pending? No I certify that all answers provided above are true and correct. If you answered "yes" to any of the above questions, you must submit signed and dated "Yes" Answers documentation explaining the specific circumstance(s) of the incident(s).

PART XX

Professional Fitness Question – Personal History

The following question must be answered. **A "Yes" response requires an explanation and documentation.** Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates of onset, duration, prognosis, treatment.

You must also have your treating physician submit a letter directly to the Board; the letter must include the following information:

- Summary of your condition (including explanation, dates of onset and significant events, and frequency of contact with you)
- Medication history
- Impact on your ability to practice safely and competently

When in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the required explanation and documents. Applications submitted without the required attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

For the purposes of the question in this section:

"Medical Condition" includes physiological, mental, or psychological conditions or disorders such as, but not limited to, orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, mental retardation, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.

"Currently" does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application; rather, "currently" means recently enough so that the event, condition, behavior, impairment, limitation, etc., may have an ongoing impact on the applicant's ability to practice medicine in a competent manner.

Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice medicine in a competent, ethical and professional manner?

] Yes 🔲 No

"Yes" Answer

If you answered "yes" to the above question, in addition to your personal statement, you must have your treating physician submit a statement indicating your ability to safely practice medicine. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

PART XXI

Alaska Law

П	hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profes	sion
ш	AS 08.64 and 12 AAC 40).	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing **Alaska State Medical Board** Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard **Notary Signature Page**

Applicant Name:		
Alaska License Number (if known):		Application in Process

PART XXII Notarized Signature

I certify the information in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand if information is provided in the Criminal History Report from the State of Alaska, or FBI, that I did not report, the issuance of my license may be delayed or denied. I further certify all credentials and supporting documents supplied by me are true and correct and the photograph below is a true likeness of me taken within the past 60 days. I understand any false or misleading information or falsification of documents may result in failure to obtain, or subsequent revocation of, a license to practice medicine in Alaska.

I agree to inform the Alaska State Medical Board within 30 days of any change in my credentialing or privilege status in any hospital or other health care facility, any disciplinary actions or restrictions, or investigation of a complaint or accusation regarding my practice (except for late medical records).

I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230).

Current Passport-Type	Applicant Printed Name:		
	Applicant Signature:		
	Notary Public for State of:	Subscribed and Sworn to Before me on this Day:	
Notary Seal	Notary Signature:	My Commission Expires:	



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Authorization for Release of Records

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my employment and education records including all training which pertains to my medical practice, and any records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits, and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators. This release also applies to all records that pertain to credentialing records at facilities at which I have applied for or held privileges to practice medicine.

I authorize the division to discuss these records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of these records to those persons or organizations deemed appropriate by the division.

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below.

Name:	First	Middle		Last	
Full Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip	
Phone:			Date of Birth:		
Email:					
Signature:			Date Signed:		



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Verification of Medical or Osteopathic School Education

→ Applicant:	Complete the in which awarded	dentifying information below and for your diploma.	orward a cop	by of this form t	o the med	ical school
Applicant Name:			Date of Birt	:h:		
Applicant Signature:			Date Signed	d:		
Medical School Staff: Complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to the Alaska State Medical Board at the letterhead address.						
- ТН	E FOLLOWING SEC	CTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY MED	DICAL SCHOO	OL STAFF ONLY -		
Medical School Name:				Exact Date on Diploma:		
Medical School Address:	Street	City		State		Zip
or disciplined by the	e school for any re obation, issued a le	education, was he/she ever investign ason? Disciplinary actions include but etter of reprimand, censured, suspen	ut are not lim	nited to] Yes	□ No
"Yes" Answers If you answered "yes" to the question above, attach a detailed explanation or documentation signed and dated by the person whose signature appears below.						
Seal (If Applicable)	Signature:			Date Signed:		
	Printed Name:			Title:		
i i	Email:			Phone:		



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Verification of Postgraduate Training

Applicant: Complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the post-graduate training program(s) you attended.							
Full Legal Name:			Date of Birth:				
Maiden or Other Names Used:							
Medical School Name:			Year of Graduation:				
Medical School Location:		If international gradua	te, ECFMG No.:				
Name of Post- Graduate Program:			'				
Postgraduate Program Staff: Complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to the Alaska State Medical Board at the letterhead address. THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY POSTGRADUATE PROGRAM STAFF ONLY -							
Verification for Postgraduate Year:	Year 1 Year 2 Year 2	ar 3 🔲 Year 4 [Year 5		Year 6		
Dates of Training:							
1. At the time this	s individual completed training in your pro	ogram, the program was	accredited through:				
Accredita	ation Council for Graduate Medical Educat	tion	erican Osteopathic A	ssocia	tion		
Royal Col	lege of Physicians and Surgeons of Canad	a Non	e of These				
2. During the physician's participation in your program, was he/she ever investigated or disciplined by the program, such disciplinary actions to include but not be limited to: being placed on probation, issued a letter of reprimand or warning, censured, suspended from the program, restricted, or otherwise disciplined?							
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Is there anything in this physician's postgraduate training records that would indicate he/she would be unable to practice medicine competently and safely? Yes No					No	
4. Was a certificat	e of completion issued to this physician upon completion of the program? Yes No						
"Yes" Ar	If you answered "yes" to signed and dated by the p	•	-	on or d	ocume	ntatio	on

Signature			
Board Seal	Signature:	Date Signed:	
	Printed Name:	Title:	
<u> </u>	Email:	Phone:	



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Authorization to Discuss Professional License Application and Information

Medical Board staff is authorized to communicate only with the applicant. If the applicant is using a credentialing agency or is accepting assistance from a staffing or employment agency, division staff must have a signed release from the applicant to discuss the application and share information on file.

To authorize communication, complete this form and file with your application.

PART I	Applic	cant/Age	ncy Informa	ation			
Name of Applica	ant:						
Profession:		Physician Physician Assistant					
Applicant Email	l:				Applicant Phone:		
Authorized Age	ncy:				Agency Phone:		
Authorized Indi	vidual:				Email Address:		
PART II	Signat	ture					
			a State Medical B gency and individ		xchange information r	elating to	o my licensing application
This release app the State of Alas		tatus update	s, documents, an	nd any other informat	tion required to comp	lete my a	application for licensure in
I give permission for you to discuss the contents of my license file with the above-named person until the date my license is issued.							
☐ I give perm	ission for	r you to discu	ss the contents of	f my license file with t	he above-named perso	n until I w	ithdraw permission.
Applicant Signa	ture:					Date:	

Information for credentialing, staffing or employment agencies:

- Licensing staff will respond to no more than two inquiries from agencies each month. Every effort will be made to respond to inquiries quickly, please allow 10 business days for this request to be processed.
- Applicants are emailed with a status update and may contact staff to query application status at any time.
- The board will not accept applications that list an agency address as the practice address and will likewise not accept the
 telephone numbers or email addresses for such agencies as the applicant's own. The board may only accept those addresses,
 phone numbers, and email addresses if the applicant is actually practicing in that office. Alaska law requires the applicant to
 provide their information, not the agency information.



THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: *MedicalBoard@Alaska.Gov*

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Medical Malpractice History Explanation

Use this form to list and explain your history of malpractice claims filed against you. Include all settlements, judgements, award and claims, even if no money was paid.

Provide documents to corroborate your explanation, including a copy of the order for settlement, dismissal, or removal from the case.

Please do not send all of the motions or filings for a case.

Letters from attorneys or insurance carriers may be submitted to corroborate explanations but may not be substituted for this required explanation.

Location of Incident:		Date of Occurrence:				
Date of Case Closure:		Amount of Settlement:				
If there was a monetary se (e.g., Attorney/Insurance Co	ttlement, upon what basis was it awarded ? cmpany recommended)					
Nature of Allegation and Description of the Case:						
Practitioner Explanation and Response to Allegation:						
What was the overall final injury to the patient? (e.g., disability or death)						
Full Name:						
Signature:		Date Signed:				



THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Inc	ident:			Date of Inciden	ıt:	
Explanation of When in double and explain. Make copies as	ot, disclose					
Did you attach	all applicable	e documents associated with	this incident?			
Court Ord	lers [Consent Agreements	☐ Disciplinary Action	s 🔲 Chargin	g Documents	
Court Rec	cords	Fitness to Practice	All Other Docume	ntation Related to Th	nis Incident	
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:				Program:		
Signature:				Date Signed:		

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes,	do not email	credit card in	nformation.	Include this credit	card p	oayment
form with your application.						

form with your application.			
Name of Applicant or Licensee:			
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	License Num	ber (if applicable):	
I wish to make payment by credit car	d for the following (check all that apply):		AMOUNT
Application Fee:			
License or Renewal Fee:			
Other (fine, exam, etc.):			
1.			
2.			
		TOTAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):			
Mailing Address:			
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:			
08-4438 (Rev. 09/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards	accepted)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be processed un	less all fields a	re completed.
1. Credit Card Number:		All 3 fields MU	IST be completed.