
PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application.  Please retain this 
information for future reference.  YOU MUST HOLD A TEMPORARY PERMIT OR PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE 
NURSING IN ALASKA. 

If you received this application other than directly from the Division or its official website, the application may be outdated or 
not an official version.  To ensure you have the official version, please contact the Division. 

If you previously held a license in Alaska, DO NOT complete this form.  You must complete an “Application for 
Reinstatement” and comply with the rules for reinstatement.  See AS 08.68.251 and 12 AAC 44.317, Lapsed License, in the 
Board’s statute and regulation booklet. 

 
APPLICATION PROCEDURES - 12 AAC 44.305   

The following documents must be submitted:  

1. A completed application that is signed and notarized.  A completed application must include an original, passport 
type photograph on photography paper, approximately two inches by two inches of the face and shoulders, taken 
within the six months immediately preceding the date of application. 

 
2. Check or money order for $275.00 (or $325.00 to include a temporary permit) made payable to the State of Alaska.  

Fees: $50.00 nonrefundable application fee, $165.00 license fee, $60.00 fingerprint processing fee and $50.00 
temporary permit fee (if permit requested). 

 
3. One properly completed fingerprint card on a card supplied or approved by the Alaska Board of Nursing (Form FD-

258). The completed fingerprint card will be used to check the criminal history records of the State of Alaska and the 
FBI per A.S. 12.62.400. National Criminal History Record Checks For Employment, Licensing, and Other 
Noncriminal Justice Purposes.  

 
4. Verification of licensure sent directly from (or made available via the National Council of State Boards of Nursing 

(NCSBN) online verification system at www.nursys.com): 1) the state or Canadian province where you received 
initial licensure and 2) from a state or province where you hold a CURRENT license.  (Send only one form if your 
initial license is still current.) 

You must hold a current license in another state to be eligible for a nursing license by endorsement in 
Alaska.  This license must be current at the time the board issues the permanent license. An inactive status 
is not a current license. 

Canadian nurses who passed the CNATS exam before August 1980, with a score of at least 350 on each of the five 
parts of the examination, or after July 1980 but before 1992, with a score of 400 may apply for a License by 
Endorsement.  Applicants who took the CNATS after June 1992 must apply to take the NCLEX examination. (See 
12 AAC 44.310(d)). 

 
5.   Verification, on a form provided by the Department, of at least 320 hours of employment in a nursing capacity     

within the last two years before the date the application is received by the Board. If you cannot document 320 hours 
of employment in the past two years, you must satisfy the continuing competency requirements of the Board or 
complete a Board approved refresher course.  

If you have not practiced nursing within the past five years, you must submit proof of completion of a Board 
approved refresher course as required by 12 AAC 44.305(a)(4).  Board approved refresher courses can be found at 
www.nursing.alaska.gov.  
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APPLICATION PROCEDURES CONTINUED: 

 6. If you graduated from a registered nurse or practical nurse program offered by a school of nursing outside of  
  the United States including territories or Canada, except Quebec, Canada, where English is not the primary  
  language of the country or from a school in the United States and territories where English is not the primary  
  language, verification of passing one of the following English proficiency examinations, with at least the  
  following minimum scores: 

• International English Language Testing System (IELTS) academic examination – overall score of 
6.5 with a minimum of 6.0 on all modules; 

• Test of English as a Foreign Language, paper-based test (TOEFL-PBT) – overall score of 560 with 
a score on the Test of Spoken English (TSE) of 50; 

• Test of English as a Foreign Language, computer-based test (TOEFL-CBT) – overall score of 220 
with a score on the Test of Spoken English (TSE) of 50; 

• Test of English as a Foreign Language, Internet-based test (TOEFL-iBT) – overall score of 84 with 
a speaking score of 26. 

Note: California LVNs who wrote the state examination after July 1974 through October 1986 must pass the NCLEX-PN 
licensing examination if they have not already done so. 

TEMPORARY PERMIT – 12 AAC 44.320 
A temporary permit may be issued at the discretion of the board.  To be eligible for the permit, in addition to the application 
documents and fees, submit: 

1. An additional $50 fee for the temporary permit,   
2. A certified true copy of your current license in another state licensing jurisdiction, and 
3. A completed employment verification form.  

Temporary permits are valid for six months and are nonrenewable. Temporary permits are generally issued within 10 
business days of receipt of a properly completed application, fees, fingerprint cards, completed employment verification form 
and certified true copy of a current license. It is your responsibility to know the expiration date of your permit and to 
make sure your paperwork is complete for your permanent license. 

To obtain a “certified true copy,” a notary public must compare the original to the photocopy.  The notary must write “I certify 
this to be a true copy of the original document” on the photocopy and attest to that fact by signing and notarizing the 
document. 

If the notary will not certify the copy, you may certify that it is a true copy of the original and have your signature notarized.  
Be sure that the notary signs and seals the document with an official seal. 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Please be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, 
federal, state or local government agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

PROCESSING TIME - Applications will be processed according to the date received and generally within the following time 
frame: 

All applications have an initial review within 10 working days of receipt of the application.  

o If all documents for the permanent license are present, your permanent license will be issued at the time of the initial 
review. If documents are missing, notification will be sent to you by mail or e-mail.  

o If a temporary permit is requested and documents for the permanent license are incomplete, a temporary permit 
may be issued. If you paid for a temporary permit and one is not needed, a refund of the $50 fee will be processed.  

Wait for your first status letter to reach you before calling the Division to ask for status updates. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS - Alaska Statute 08.01.060(b) requires an applicant for an occupational license to provide a 
United States Social Security Number.  Applicants who do not have a social security number must complete the Request for 
Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form located on the board’s website at www.nursing.alaska.gov  or 
contact the Division office for the form. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS - If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has 
determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has 
determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child 
Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve 
payment issues. 

FIRST DATE OF LICENSURE AND RENEWAL DATES - All LPN licenses expire on September 30 of even-numbered years 
regardless of when the license is first issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date. These 
licenses will be issued effective through the next biennium. 
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Please Print or Type 

  $50.00 – Nonrefundable Application Fee  $165.00 – License Fee 
  $50.00 – Temporary Permit Fee  $  60.00 – Fingerprint Processing Fee 

TEMPORARY PERMIT:    YES   NO 

Enclose a check or money order payable to the STATE OF ALASKA for $275.00 (or $325.00 if you request a 
temporary permit). 

Name:                 
   Last    First     Middle 
 
Other Names:                
  Maiden and/or Other 
 
Mailing Address:               
       Street Address or P.O. Box      City  State             Zip Code 
 
Mailing Address for Temporary Permit:             
          Street Address or P.O. Box    City  State             Zip Code 
 
United States Social Security Number:        - Required by AS 08.01.060.   
(If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, contact the Division for further instructions.) 
 
Date of Birth:       Sex:      Daytime Number:       
 
E-mail Address:    
 (Please complete legibly if you prefer to be notified of initial application status via e-mail.) 

 Have you ever been issued an LPN license in Alaska?     Yes          No 

DO NOT SUBMIT THIS FORM IF YOU ANSWERED “YES.”  YOU NEED TO APPLY FOR REINSTATEMENT 
AND YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A TEMPORARY PERMIT. 

INITIAL PRACTICAL NURSING EDUCATION:   

Type of Program:    Certificate                  Diploma                   Associate            

Name of School of Nursing City and State Dates Attended Date of Graduation 
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Board of Nursing 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8161    Fax: (907) 269-8196 
Email: license@alaska.gov 
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APPLICATION FOR LPN LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT  

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  



 

ORIGINAL LICENSURE:  Indicate the state and when you obtained initial licensure. Indicate the last name on your 
license, if different than your current name. 

Date Exam Taken State License Number Year Granted Expiration Date 

 
 

    

ADDITIONAL LICENSES: List ALL other nursing licenses or permits which you hold or have ever held.  Provide the state 
license number if available, and status (current, lapsed, etc.).  Indicate last name on the license, if different than your 
current name. 

State/Province License No., if known Expiration Date/Status 
(Active, Expired, Probation, etc.) 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

(Use additional pages if necessary) 

FOREIGN LICENSED: 

From Canada:  Have you taken CNATS?   Yes          No    Province:        
 
Dates Taken:     .  (If taken after June 1992, you are not eligible for a license by endorsement and 
you must take the NCLEX exam). 
 
DISCIPLINARY HISTORY:  The following must be answered pursuant to 12 AAC 44.305(a)(1)(D) and AS 08.68.270: 

1. Has your professional license in any state or country ever been denied, revoked, suspended, 
stipulated, on probation, or been subject to any other restriction or disciplinary action?  Yes  No 

 
2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony (convictions include  

“suspended impositions of sentence”)?           Yes  No 
 

 3. Have you ever been or are you currently the subject of an inquiry or under investigation by 
any state board or other licensing agency concerning a violation or alleged violation of any 
state regulation, statute, or for any violation or alleged violation of the Nursing Practice Act, 
or unprofessional or unethical conduct? .  Yes  No 

 
PERSONAL HISTORY:  The following must be answered pursuant to 12 AAC 44.305(a)(1)(C) and AS 08.68.270: 
 
 4. Within the past five years, have you been or are you currently being treated or on 

medication for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, paranoia, psychotic disorder, substance 
abuse, depression (excluding situational or reactive depression) or any other mental or 
emotional illness?  Yes  No 

 
 5. Within the past five years, have you been or are you addicted to, excessively used or 

misused alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or habit-forming drugs?  Yes  No 
 
 6. Within the past five years, have you had or do you have a physical disability or physical 

illness which may impair or interfere with your ability to practice nursing?  Yes  No 
If you answered “Yes” to any of the above questions, you must explain dates, locations, and circumstances  
on a separate piece of paper and send any supporting documents that are applicable (including court records, 
judgments, charging documents, etc).  If you answered “Yes” to questions 4, 5, or 6, you must also submit a 
statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to practice nursing.  Applications submitted 
without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 
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NURSING-RELATED EMPLOYMENT HISTORY:  List nursing-related employment for the immediate past five years, 
beginning with the most recent employer. One of the listed employers must match the employer on the Verification of 
Employment form. Please explain any gaps in your employment on a separate piece of paper. 

Name of Employer Address Type of Work Dates 
From To 

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

(Use additional pages if necessary) 
  
 
All information submitted with this application is considered public information unless required by state or federal 
law to remain confidential.  Licensee information, including mailing address, is available on the Division website 
at http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx under License Search. 
 
I HEREBY CERTIFY and declare that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the information 
contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials supplied by me are true 
and correct. I understand that any false information or falsification of credentials may result in failure to obtain a license to 
practice nursing in the State of Alaska.  I further understand that if information is provided in the Criminal History Report 
from the State of Alaska or FBI that I did not report, my license may be subject to disciplinary action. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Attach one (1) recent, passport  
type, original photograph on 
photography paper. 

 
 
 
SIGN HERE    
In the presence  Signature of Applicant 
of the notary  
 
 
 SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN before me, a Notary Public in 

 
 and for the State of    
 
 this   day of   20  
 
 
 

SIGN HERE    
 Signature of Notary Public 
 
 

 My Commission Expires:   
 
(NOTARY SEAL) 
 

 
 
 

 
Staple Photograph Here 

 

 

 
WARNING: The Alaska Board of Nursing may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or 

attempted to obtain a license to practice nursing by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to criminal 
charge for perjury or unsworn falsification. (AS 11.56.210 and AS 11.56.230) 
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APPLICANT:  1) Complete the top (applicant) portion of this form. 2) Submit the form to an employer listed on your application who 
will be able to verify at least 320 hours of nursing employment within the last 2 years. 3) After the employer completes the bottom 
portion, include the signed form with your application or have the employer mail or fax the form to the Board of Nursing at the address 
above. 

PLEASE PRINT: 

I,     
 Last Name First Middle Former 
am applying for nursing licensure in Alaska. I hereby authorize you to release information as required on this form to the Alaska Board of 
Nursing. 

I worked as a (check one):   Registered Nurse -OR-   Practical/Vocational Nurse. 

Signature:      Social Security Number:     

Address:        Birth Date:    

Employment Date:  From:     To:      
 

EMPLOYER:  Please complete this form and return it to the applicant or mail it to the Alaska Board of Nursing at the address 
listed above. Please sign the form in ink (no stamps). Items 1-3 must be answered as they are required by the Board of Nursing. 
Thank you for your cooperation. 

1. Employee’s Position/Title:        

2. Dates of Employment:  From:      To:     

3. Verify employment hours below: 

Did the employee work in a nursing capacity a total of at least 320 hours within the immediate past two (2) years?    
  Yes   No   

Signature:       Title:       
 
Printed Name:       Date:       
 
Company Name or Agency:       Phone Number:     
 
Mailing Address:         
 Street or P.O. Box Number  City  State Zip Code 
 
Facility the applicant was contracted or assigned to:  ____________________________________________________  
 
Mailing address of that facility: _______________________________________________________________________  

 
PLEASE RETURN COMPLETED FORM DIRECTLY TO THE APPLICANT OR TO THE ALASKA BOARD OF NURSING VIA MAIL OR FAX.      
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Board of Nursing 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8161    Fax: (907) 269-8196 
Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.nursing.alaska.gov 
 

VERIFICATION OF NURSING EMPLOYMENT  

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  



Section I: APPLICANT – Complete Section I and mail to the state(s) or Canadian Province where you received initial licensure, AND 
to a state or province where you hold a CURRENT license.  Send only one form if your initial license is current.  If the state where you 
hold or held licensure is a member of the NURSYS System, please complete your verification online at:  www.nursys.com  or contact the 
National Council of State Boards of Nursing to request a verification form.  If you have already released your information via Nursys, 
you do not need to forward this form to the corresponding licensing board. 

I have released my license verification(s) via the Nursys on-line verification system:     Yes  No 

         
 Last Name  First  Middle Initial  Maiden 

Other Names:         

Address:         
 Street   City  State Zip Code 

Birth Date:       Social Security No.:     

License No.:     RN:     LPN:     Expiration Date:    

 
Section II:  BOARD OF NURSING – Please complete the applicable portions of this form on behalf of the nurse named above and 
return to the Alaska Board of Nursing at the address at the top of the page. 

Nursing School and Location:         

         

Graduation Date:         Accredited:   Yes            No 

Type of License:  RN:      LPN/LVN:      License No.:    

Method of Licensure:  Exam:     Endorsement:      Waiver:    

Original Issue Date:      Expiration Date:     

License Status:  Current:      Inactive:      Lapsed:    

Pending disciplinary action or pending investigation against this licensee?     Yes               No 

♦ If “Yes,”  please explain:          

         

Former disciplinary action:  Has this license ever been ENCUMBERED in any way?      Yes                 No 

♦ If “Yes,” please explain:         
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550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8161    Fax: (907) 269-8196 
Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.nursing.alaska.gov 
 

VERIFICATION OF NURSING LICENSE  

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  



 
 

VERIFICATION OF EXAMINATION AND SCORES 
 
 

State Board Test Pool Exam:  RN:     LPN:     Series:    Scores:    

Medical:    Psych.:     Obstetric:     Surgical:    Children:    

NCLEX Scores:  RN:     LPN:    Series:      Other:    

NCLEX Scores:  CAT RN:     LPN:     Date Taken:     

 

Signature:       Title:      

 

Board of Nursing:       Date:         
   
 
 
 
 BOARD SEAL 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
FAXED COPIES ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE 
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