
PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application.  Please retain this 
information for future reference.  YOU MUST HOLD A TEMPORARY PERMIT OR PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE 
NURSING IN ALASKA. 

If you received this application other than directly from the Division or its official website, the application may be outdated or not 
an official version.  To ensure you have the official version, please contact the Division. 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES – 12 AAC 44.290 
The following documents must be submitted: 

1. A completed application signed and notarized.
2. Check or money order for $375.00 (or $475.00 to include a temporary permit) made payable to the State of Alaska.

Fees: $100.00 nonrefundable application fee, $200.00 license fee, $75.00 fingerprint processing fee and $100.00
temporary permit fee (if permit requested).

3. Fingerprinting & Background Reports - One original 8" x 8" card provided by the State of Alaska (FD-258). An incorrect
card will be automatically rejected. The fingerprint card submitted as part of this application packet will be sent to the
Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) to perform a criminal background
check (AS 08.24.120).
Please note that the fingerprint card will be rejected for the following reasons (28 CFR 50.12(b)):

• Incorrect type of card,
• incomplete personal information or signatures, or
• improperly rolled prints

If, however, an adverse report is received; you may decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI 
report directly with the FBI at www.FBI.gov (28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34).  Challenges to the accuracy or completeness 
of your State of Alaska criminal history report may directed to the Division of Statewide Services, Department of Public 
Safety at https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home.Challenges may be given no later than 30 days after 
you have been notified by the department of an adverse report. 

4. Nursing Program Verification form, sent directly from the school of nursing attended, verifying successful
completion of an approved nursing program.

5. An official transcript sent directly from the college or school of nursing attended.  The graduation date and the type of
degree conferred must be posted on the transcript. (Send electronic transcripts to boardofnursing@alaska.gov)

6. Documents not in English must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

TEMPORARY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS – 12 AAC 44.320 
To receive a temporary permit, submit items number 1, 2, 3 and 4 above. To be eligible for the temporary permit, an applicant 
must not have failed the NCLEX-RN examination, or failed to appear to take the NCLEX examination for which the applicant was 
registered.  The permit is nonrenewable and valid for six months or until the results of the NCLEX are made available and 
notification of the results is received by the temporary permits holder, whichever occurs first. If you are unsuccessful on the 
NCLEX-RN, the temporary permit becomes invalid and must be returned to the Board of Nursing. 
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FOREIGN GRADUATES – 12 AAC 44.310 
All foreign graduates must take the NCLEX.  (Please read 12 AAC 44.290 & 310). All documents must be accompanied by 
certified English translations if the original documents are not in English.  Applicants from schools outside the U.S. or Canada 
(except Quebec, Canada) must submit an evaluation of the applicant’s nursing education by the CGFNS Credentials Evaluation 
Service, with a full education, course-by-course report.  

12 AAC 44.290(a) (3) (D) 
(D) graduated from a pre-licensure nursing program that was not taught with English as the primary language,
English textbooks, and English testing modules, verification of passing one of the following English proficiency
examinations, with at least the following minimum scores:

(i) International English Language Testing System (IELTS) examination – overall score of 6.5 with
a minimum of 6.0 on all modules;
(ii) Test of English as a Foreign Language, paper-based test (TOEFL-PBT) – overall score of 560
with a score on the Test of Spoken English (TSE) of 50;
(iii) Test of English as a Foreign Language, computer-based test (TOEFL-CBT) – overall score of
220 with a score on the Test of Spoken English (TSE) of 50;
(iv) Test of English as a Foreign Language, Internet-based test (TOEFL-iBT) – overall score of 84
with a speaking score of 26;

EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
You may register with PearsonVUE Professional Testing to take the NCLEX at anytime during the application process.  When 
your application has been approved and after you have registered with PearsonVUE, the Board will then notify the testing 
company that you are eligible to take the examination.  Your Authorization to Test (ATT) from PearsonVUE will be issued 
approximately 48 hours after the Board makes you eligible. The candidate website for the examination is: 
www.pearsonvue.com/nclex.  

After you have passed the NCLEX-RN examination, your permanent license will be issued. If you did not achieve a passing 
score, you will be notified in writing (e-mail or USPS). 

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATION TO TAKE THE NCLEX EXAM 
Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing 
examination, you must submit a complete Application for Examination Accommodation for Candidates with Disabilities form. 
This form is available on the board’s website at www.nursing.alaska.gov or contact the Division to request the form. 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Please be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, 
federal, state or local government agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

PROCESSING TIME 
Applications will be processed according to the date received and generally within 2-3 weeks.  Every effort will be made to 
process your application in a timely manner.  However, the process will be delayed if the application is incomplete or the 
required documentation is not submitted.  Due to the high volume of application received by the Board of Nursing, please apply 
well in advance of when the permit or license is needed. 

You will be notified in writing as soon as your application is reviewed.  Please allow two weeks from the date of application 
receipt for your first status letter to reach you. 

Wait for your first status letter to before calling the Division to ask for status updates. 

FIRST DATE OF LICENSURE AND RENEWAL DATES 
All RN licenses expire on November 30 of even-numbered years regardless of when it was first issued, except new 
licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date.  The licenses will be issued with an effective date through the next 
biennium. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 
Alaska Statute 08.01.060(b) requires an applicant for an occupational license to provide a United States Social Security 
Number.  Applicants who do not have a social security number must complete the Request for Exception from Social Security 
Number Requirement form located on the board’s website at www.nursing.alaska.gov or contact the Division office for the form. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment 
issues. 
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Please Print or Type 

  $100.00 – Nonrefundable Application Fee   $200.00 – License Fee 
$100.00 – Temporary Permit Fee $75.00 –  Fingerprint Processing Fee 

TEMPORARY PERMIT  YES   NO 
Enclose a check or money order, payable to the STATE OF ALASKA for $375 (or $475.00, if you request a 
temporary permit). 

Name: 
Last First Middle 

Other Names: 
Maiden and/or Other 

Mailing Address: 
  Street Address or P.O. Box City State Zip Code 

Mailing Address for Temporary Permit: 
Street Address or P.O. Box City State Zip Code 

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy):   Sex:   Daytime Telephone Number: 
 

INITIAL RN NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAM: 

TYPE OF PROGRAM:  Diploma       Associate Degree     Baccalaureate     Generic Masters 

Name of School of Nursing City and State  Dates Attended  
(mm/yyyy)

Date of Graduation 
(mm/yyyy)
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EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to 
keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Send my Correspondence by Email 
 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will   
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense


Have you ever applied for or have you held an RN or an LPN license in Alaska?  YES   NO  

Date granted (mm/yyyy):   Denied (mm/yyyy): 

Do you hold any other kind of health care related license in Alaska?  YES   NO  

If yes, state license type:  

List other nursing licenses held including state(s) and status (active, inactive, lapsed, etc.): 

If a graduate of a Foreign School of Nursing, have you had your transcript evaluated by the Commission on Graduates of 
Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) and passed the English language requirements?   YES       NO   
(You must submit the CGFNS and English language documentation.) 

TEMPORARY PERMIT APPLICANT 
If you are applying for a temporary permit: 

1. Have you ever failed the NCLEX-RN examination?    YES        NO

State:    Date Taken (mm/yyyy):     If “Yes,” please have exam verification and
nursing program information forwarded to the Alaska Board of Nursing at the address on page one of this
application.

2. Have you failed to appear to take the NCLEX-RN examination for which you
were registered?  YES   NO  

DISCIPLINARY HISTORY  The following must be answered pursuant to 12 AAC 44.290 (a)(1) (E) and AS 08.68.270: 

1. Has your professional license in any state or country ever been denied, revoked, suspended,
stipulated, on probation, or been subject to any other restriction or disciplinary action?  Yes  No

2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony (convictions include “suspended
impositions of sentence”)?  Yes  No 

3. Have you ever been or are you currently the subject of an inquiry or under investigation by
any state board or other licensing agency concerning a violation or alleged violation of any
state regulation, statute, or for any violation or alleged violation of the Nursing Practice Act,
or unprofessional or unethical conduct? .  Yes  No

If you answered “Yes” to questions 1, 2, or 3, you must explain dates, locations, and circumstances on a separate 
piece of paper and send any supporting documents that are applicable (including court records, judgments, charging 
documents, etc.).  Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will 
not be processed. 

PERSONAL HISTORY  The following must be answered pursuant to 12 AAC 44.290 (a)(1) (D) and AS 08.68.270: 

4. Within the past five years, have you been or are you currently being treated, or on medication
for, any mental or emotional illness which may impair or interfere with your ability to practice
safely and in a competent and professional manner?  Yes  No 

5. Are you currently participating in a substance abuse and /or alcohol or drug treatment program
or been diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder which in any way currently affects or limits
your ability to practice safely and in a competent and professional manner?  Yes  No 

6. Do you have a physical disability or physical illness which may impair or interfere with your
ability to practice safely and in a competent and professional manner?  Yes  No 

If you answered “Yes” to questions 4, 5, or 6, you must submit a personal statement from yourself and a statement 
from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice nursing.  Applications submitted without the 
appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 

08-4112 (Rev. 06/18/19) Application page 2 of 4

Have you ever taken the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX)?  YES   NO  

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION



RELATED EMPLOYMENT HISTORY 

List all health-related employment for the immediate past five years, listing current employer first.  Write “N/A” if not 
applicable. 

Name of Employer Address Type of Work Dates (mm/yyyy) 
From To 

FINGERPRINTS & BACKGROUND REPORTS 

YOU MUST CHECK THIS BOX FOR THIS APPLICATION TO BE ACCEPTED 

I have read and understand that my fingerprint card will be sent to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
with the State of Alaska, and to the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) to perform a criminal history 
background report (AS 08.24.120).  I may also decide to challenge an adverse report on my criminal 
history background report by contacting either the FBI at www.FBI.gov or the Department of Public Safety 
with the State of Alaska at https://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home. Please see the 
section Fingerprinting and Background Checks on page 1 of 4 of the Instructions. 

Further information may be found under Fingerprinting Requirements, Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s 
Privacy Rights, and the Privacy Act Statement located at the end of this application packet. 
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AFFIDAVIT 

Information supplied with this application is considered public information unless required by state or federal 
law to remain confidential.  Licensee information, including mailing address, is available on the Division’s 
website at www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/Main/Search/Professional. 

I HEREBY CERTIFY and declare that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the information 
contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials supplied by me are 
true and correct.  I understand that any false information or falsification of credentials may result in failure to obtain a 
license to practice nursing in the State of Alaska.  I further understand that if information is provided in the Criminal History 
Report from the State of Alaska or FBI that I did not report, my license may be subject to disciplinary action. 

 (NOTARY SEAL) 

SIGN HERE  
In the presence Signature of Applicant 
of the notary 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN before me, a Notary Public in 

and for the State of  

this   day of   20 

SIGN HERE 
Signature of Notary Public 

My Commission Expires: 

WARNING: The Alaska Board of Nursing may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained 
or attempted to obtain a license to practice nursing by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to 
criminal charge for perjury or unsworn falsification. (AS 11.56.210 and AS 11.56.230) 
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SECTION I: (Applicant - Complete Section I of this form and mail it or take it to the program or school where you received your nursing 
education. The program or school will then mail the completed form directly back to the Board of Nursing.) 

Name:   Other Names Used: 
previous/maiden name 

Social Security Number:   Date of Birth: 

Address:  
Street Address or P.O. Box City State Zip Code 

(OFFICIAL USE ONLY) 
SECTION II: (School of Nursing - The above applicant is applying for licensure in Alaska. Please complete Section II and return this 

form directly to the ALASKA BOARD OF NURSING at the address above. Faxed Copies are NOT acceptable.) 

Name of School:  

Address:   
Street Address or P.O. Box City State Zip Code 

Type of Program:  Diploma  Associate  Baccalaureate Masters 

Date Entered:  Date Completed:  
 (mm/dd/yyyy)    (mm/dd/yyyy) 

Do you recommend this applicant to sit for the National Council License Examination (NCLEX)?  YES        NO  

Comments:    

Accreditation Status at Time of Graduation 
State Board of Nursing: (specify)  YES        NO  

ACEN (formerly NLNAC):   YES        NO  

Other Accrediting Body:    YES        NO  

Signature: 

(SEAL) Printed Name: 

Title: 

Date: 
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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