
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

• Your license lapses after November 30, 2020. There is no grace period - it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.  
• Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form. 
• Plan on a 4-6 week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications. 
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NUR 

Board of Nursing  
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8160 
Email: BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

 

PART I Payment of Fees 

   Renewal Type: 

  Biennial License Renewal  
$200.00 

 (for licenses first issued on or before November 30, 2019) 
   

   Prorated License Renewal  
$100.00  (for licenses first issued on or after December 1, 2019) 

  

PART II Personal Information 

Alaska Registered Nurse License Number:  

Full Legal Name: 
Name change:  

If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a Change of Name form. 

Mailing Address: 
Address change:  

Birthdate:  

Contact Phone:  

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States 
Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be 
publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

December 1, 2020 – November 30, 2022 
Registered Nurse License Renewal 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  
  
  
  

mailto:BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/adm4291.pdf
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PART III Professional Fitness Questions 

The following professional fitness questions must be answered.  
 

“Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates 
and specific circumstances (locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved) on a separate piece of paper, signed and 
dated, and send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, certificates of 
completion, board or license actions, investigative notices, etc.). 

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 
 

Since the date your last license was issued or renewed:  

1. Since the date of your last application, has ANY professional license held by you been fined, placed 
on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement (consent agreement) with a 
licensing authority, in any jurisdiction or state including Alaska, and including that of any military 
authorities or is any such action pending? 

 

Yes 
 

No  

2. Since the date of your last application, have you been or are you currently under investigation for 
any nursing or health care related issue in any state/territory? 

 

Yes 
 

No 

3. Since the date of your last application, have you been convicted of a crime? For purposes of this 
question “Crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or military offense. “Convicted” includes having 
been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or 
no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine. 

 

Yes 
 

No 

4. Since the date of your last application, have you been or are you currently being treated, or on 
medication for, any mental or emotional illness which may impair or interfere with your ability to 
practice safely and in a competent and professional manner? 

 

Yes * 
 

No 

5. Since the date of your last application, have you participated in a substance abuse and /or alcohol 
or drug treatment program or been diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder which in any way 
currently affects or limits your ability to practice safely and in a competent and professional 
manner? 

 

Yes * 
 

No 

6. Since the date of your last application, have you had or do you currently have a physical disability 
or physical illness which may impair or interfere with your ability to practice safely and in a 
competent and professional manner? 

 

Yes * 
 

No 

If you answered “Yes” to questions 4, 5 or 6, in addition to your personal statement, you must 
submit a statement from the appropriate health care provider indicating your ability to practice 
as a nurse. 
 
A percentage of license renewal applications will be randomly selected for audit. If selected, 
you must submit copies of certificates or other acceptable proof that you satisfied the 
continuing education requirements as you have stated on this application. You are required to 
save your documents for at least four years, so you can respond to audits. Licensees unable to 
comply with the audit are subject to disciplinary license action. 
 
Your license cannot be renewed unless you have successfully completed the continuing 
competency requirements in regulation 12 AAC 44.600 - .660 (regulations attached).  
 

If your RN license was issued on or after December 1, 2019, you are not required to complete 
continuing competency activities for this renewal only. For your next renewal, you will be 
required to satisfy the continuing competency requirements. 

* 

Random Audit 

     “Yes” Answers 

Continuing Competency 
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PART IV   Statement of Compliance 

The Board of Nursing made the following changes to continuing education and professional activity hour requirements for the 2020 
renewal, for both licensed practical nurses and registered nurses, in accordance with SB 241: 

 

• Decreased the requirement to provide 30 hours of continuing education to 15 hours of continuing education  
• Waived the professional activity hours under audit requirements of 12 AAC 44.610.- 12 AAC 44.620 

 
Additional information and guidance issued by the board may be reviewed HERE. 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/NURPositionStatementContinuingEducation.pdf 

 

Note: this does not apply to any person who is under consent agreement for license renewal. 

Choose one of the five categories below: 
 
    

Category 1  
 

Select TWO of the three activities you have completed: 
 

   320 hours of compensated nursing employment performed between December 1, 2018, and 
November 30, 2020. 

   15 contact hours of continuing education in nursing earned between December 1, 2018, 
and November 30, 2020. 

   Waived uncompensated professional nursing activities hours performed between 
December 1, 2018, and November 30, 2020. 

   
  
Category 1 – Licenses under a Mandatory Audit 
 

Select TWO of the three activities you have completed: 

  320 hours of compensated nursing employment performed between December 1, 2018, and 
November 30, 2020. 

  30 hours of continuing education in nursing earned between December 1, 2018 and November 30, 
2020. 

  60 hours of professional nursing activities hours performed between December 1, 2018, and 
November 30, 2020. 

   
   

   
Category 2 
I completed a nursing refresher course approved by the board. 
(completed between December 1, 2018, and November 30, 2020) 

   
   

   

Category 3 
I attained a degree or certificate in nursing, or made progress towards one, beyond the education 
requirement for your original license by successfully completing at least six academic credits 
required for the degree or certificate. 

 (attained between December 1, 2018, and November 30, 2020) 
   
   

   
Category 4 
I successfully completed the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX). 

   (passed between December 1, 2018, and November 30, 2020) 

   
 

  

Category 5  (Prorated License) 
My RN license was issued on or after December 1, 2019.  
I am not required to complete continuing competency activities for this renewal only.  For my next 
renewal, I will be required to satisfy the continuing competency requirements in 12 AAC 44.600 - .660. 

 

 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/NURPositionStatementContinuingEducation.pdf
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/NURPositionStatementContinuingEducation.pdf


 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Signature Page 
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     NUR 

Applicant Name: 
 

PART V Agreement 

 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete 

application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or 

other documents submitted herewith are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment 

hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, 

revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit 

the crime of unsworn falsification. 

Applicant’s Signature:   Date: 
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 
 

Board of Nursing  
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8160 
Email: BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

mailto:BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/


 
Nursing Board staff is authorized to communicate only with the applicant. If the applicant is using a credentialing agency, or 
is accepting assistance from a staffing or employment agency, then the Board staff must have a signed release from the 
applicant to discuss the application and share information. 
 

If you wish to authorize such a communication, please complete this form and file with your application. 
 

Name of Applicant:  

Profession:                  RN                  LPN       APRN (ANP, CNM, CRNA)               CNA 

Applicant’s Email:  Phone:  

 

Authorized Agency:  Phone:  

Authorized Agent:  Email:  

  
I hereby authorize staff of the Alaska Board of Nursing to share and exchange information relating to my licensing application with 
the above-named authorized agent and agency.  
 
This release applies to status updates, documents and information required to complete my application for licensure in the State of 
Alaska. This authorization expires one year from the date of signature. 
 
 

Applicant’s Signature:    Date:  

 
 
Information for credentialing, staffing or employment agencies: 
 
 

• Licensing staff will respond to one inquiry from agencies each week. Staff will respond as quickly as possible, though it may 
not be possible to respond the same day as the inquiry is received. More than one inquiry per week will not be accepted. 

 
• Applicants are sent a written status letter and may contact staff to query application status at any time.  
 
• The board will not accept applications that list an agency address as the practice address, and will likewise not accept 

the telephone numbers or email addresses for such agencies as the applicant’s own. The board may only accept those 
addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses if the applicant is actually practicing in that office. Alaska law requires 
the applicant to provide their information, not the agency information.  

 
 
 
  08-4121                   (Rev. 9/22/2020)                 Authorization to Discuss Application Page 1 of 1 

 
 

 

 
 

               

 
Board of Nursing  

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8160 

Email: BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

 

Authorization to Discuss Application & Share Information    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                        

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 
 

mailto:BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/


 

 
 

Within 60 days of a name (or address) change, you must notify the Board of Nursing.  
 

If you fail to have this form notarized, you must submit a certified copy of the legal document showing the change of name, 
i.e., certified copy of a marriage certificate, certified copy of a divorce decree, or a certified copy of a court ruling (12 AAC 
44.930).  
 

If you submit this form with your renewal, there is no additional fee for a name change. If you request a name change after 
renewal, a $5.00 fee is required (12 AAC 02.105(3)) for each license. 
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Board of Nursing  

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8160 

Email: BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

 

Name Change Affidavit 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                        

Full Name:  

Mailing Address:  

Current License Number (if applicable):  

I hearby certify that I have changed my name to:  

I certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials supplied by 
me to support my application are true and correct. The division may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has 
obtained or has attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subjected to criminal charges for 
perjury or unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

 
Signature of Licensee:  

Printed Name:  

Notary Public for State of:  

Subscribed and Sworn to 
Before me on this Day:  

My Commission Expires:  

Notary’s Signature:  

Notary Stamp 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 
 

mailto:BoardOfNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/


All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 



 

 
 

APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

LICENSE TERM  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and 
expire on November 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the 
expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 60 days before license 
expiration to the last known address of record.  

 

 

 

 
 

APPLICATION PROCESSING:  
The average time to process an application is 4-6 weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all correct forms 
and supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the 
incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have 
been received and all fees have been paid a certificate will be issued and sent to you. If the application is not approved for 
certification, a status letter will be sent to you. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications 
are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  

 
 “YES” RESPONSES 

A “Yes” response in the application does not automatically mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to 
any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and 
closing court documentation. 
 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, 
federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

 
RANDOM AUDIT 
If your program requires continuing education, the division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is 
randomly selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied 
the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected 
by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at 
least four years so you can respond to audits. 
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of 
address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record 
with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on 
the license must be your current legal name. 
 
 

 
  08-4121                   (Rev. 9/22/2020)                         Application Information Page 1 of 2 

 

NUR Information  

General Information  



 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license 
is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for 
Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the division for 
a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number. 

 
 PUBLIC INFORMATION 

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential 
by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last 
received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, 
the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a 
refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within 
that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 

 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT: 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for 
business licenses are mailed separately. For more information contact: (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov. 

 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with 
your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the address below. 
 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

US MAIL: P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
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Continuing Competency Regulations 
 

12 AAC 44.315. LICENSE RENEWAL.  (a) A practical nurse license must be renewed biennially on or before November 30 of even-numbered years. A registered 
nurse license and advanced practice registered nurse license must be renewed biennially on or before November 30 of even-numbered years. A renewal reminder 
document will be mailed to each currently licensed nurse at least 60 days before the renewal date. 

(b) A license not renewed on or before the last day of the biennial licensing period lapses on the first day of the new licensing period.  An applicant whose license 
has lapsed must meet the requirements under 12 AAC 44.317.  
 

 
ARTICLE 6. 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY. 
 

Section 
 600. Purpose of continuing competency requirements 
 610. Continuing education requirements 
 620. Professional activities requirement 
 630. Nursing employment requirement 
 640. Alternative methods for continuing competency requirements 
 650. Requirements for new licensees 
 660. Audit and documentation 
 

12 AAC 44.600. PURPOSE OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS. The purpose of continuing competency requirements is to ensure that nurses maintain 
the ability to safely and effectively apply nursing knowledge, principles, and concepts in the practice of registered or practical nursing as defined in AS 08.68.850.  Before 
a license can be renewed each biennial period, a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse must document either 

(1) compliance with 12 AAC 44.640; or 
(2) completion of two of the following three methods for maintaining continuing competency: 

(A) continuing education as prescribed under 12 AAC 44.610; 
(B) professional activities as prescribed under 12 AAC 44.620; and 
(C) nursing employment as prescribed under 12 AAC 44.630. 

 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276 
 
 

12 AAC 44.610 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.  (a) Except as provided in (d) of this section, the board will accept continuing education toward fulfillment 
of the continuing competency requirements set out in 12 AAC 44.600 if the applicant documents 

(1) completion of at least 30 contact hours of continuing education for renewal of a license or current certification by a national nursing certification body, 
during the two years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal; the applicant shall earn at least 20 of the contact hours in a continuing education 
program provided 
 (A) under the accreditation standards established or followed by one of the following organizations: 
  (i) American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC); 
  (ii) Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME); 
  (iii) Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) – courses with a “P” designation or identification number; 
  (iv) a nurse practitioner certifying body; 
  (v) a nurse anesthetist certifying body; or 
 (B) by a sponsor for which an applicant or the executive administrator obtains board approval; the board will approve only those sponsors who offer 
continuing education as defined in (c)(2) of this section; 

(2) that no more than 10 of the contact hours required under (1) of this subsection were earned through in-service nursing education offered by a licensed 
health care facility that does not meet the qualifications required under (1) of this subsection; and 

(3) that the contact hours required under (1) of this subsection were earned in at least one of the following subject areas: 
(A) nursing practice areas and special health care problems; 
(B) biological, physical, or behavioral sciences; 
(C) legal or ethical aspects of health care; 
(D) management or administration of health care personnel and patient care; 
(E) subjects approved by the board that are required as part of a formal nursing program but that are more advanced than those completed for original 

licensure. 
(b) The board will accept continuing education contact hours that are part of a mediated learning system such as educational television, audio or video cassettes, 

the Internet, or printed media, or that are part of an independent study program, if the system or program is accredited by an agency that the board has approved. The 
board will maintain a list of accrediting agencies and will approve an accrediting agency that is approved by a national certifying body. 

(c) In this section,  
(1) “contact hour” means a minimum of 50 minutes of actual organized instruction; academic credit will be converted to contact hours as follows: 

(A) one quarter academic credit equals 10 contact hours; 
(B) one semester academic credit equals 15 contact hours; 
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(2) “continuing education” means a systematic educational experience that grants academic credit or contact hours beyond the basic nursing program 

preparation. 
(d) The board will not accept continuing education contact hours or in-service hours for the completion of courses in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or 

basic life support (BLS). The board will accept continuing education for renewals of licenses of advanced cardiac life support (ACLS), pediatric advanced life support 
(PALS), and other advanced courses for registered nurses. 
 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276  AS 08.68.330 
 
 

12 AAC 44.620. PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES REQUIREMENT.  (a) The board will accept professional activities toward fulfillment of the continuing competency 
requirements set out in 12 AAC 44.600 if the applicant documents 

(1) for a practical nurse license, on or before November 30, 2018, completion of at least 30 hours of participation in uncompensated professional activities for 
renewal of a license, during the two years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal; 

(2) for a registered nurse license, on or before November 30, 2018, completion of at least 30 hours of participation in uncompensated professional activities 
for renewal of a license, during the two years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal; 

(3) for a practical nurse license, on or after December 1, 2018, completion of at least 60 hours of participation in uncompensated professional activities for 
renewal of a license, during the two years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal;  

(4) for a registered nurse license, on or after December 1, 2018, completion of at least 60 hours of participation in uncompensated professional activities for 
renewal of a license, during the two years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal; and  

(5) that the hours of participation in professional activities were earned in at least one of the following ways: 
(A) work with a professional nursing or health-related organization; 
(B) authoring or contributing to an article, book, or publication related to health care; 
(C) development and oral presentation of a paper before a professional or lay group on a subject that explores new or current areas of nursing theory, 

technique, or philosophy; 
(D) the design and conduct of a research study relating to nursing and health care; 
(E) other professional activities approved by the board and included on a list that the board maintains; the board will approve only those activities that 

meet the definition of “professional activities” in (b) of this section. 
(b) In this section “professional activities” means activities, performed without compensation, that use nursing knowledge and contribute to the health of 

individuals or the community. 
(c) Providing nursing care to the nurse’s immediate family members does not qualify to meet professional activities requirements. In this subsection, “immediate 

family member” means a parent, sibling, spouse, child, parent-in-law, sibling in-law, stepchild, or same-sex or opposite-sex domestic partner. 
 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276  AS 08.68.330 
 

12 AAC 44.630. NURSING EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENT.  The board will accept nursing employment toward fulfillment of the continuing competency requirements 
set out in 12 AAC 44.600 if the applicant documents at least 320 hours of practice of practical nursing or registered nursing, as defined in AS 08.68.850, during the two 
years before the licensing period for which the applicant seeks renewal. The applicant shall document those hours on a form provided by the board and shall include 
the name of the nurse’s employer. 
 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276 
 

12 AAC 44.640. ALTERNATIVE METHODS FOR CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS. A nurse may meet continuing competency requirements without 
meeting the requirements of 12 AAC 44.610 – 12 AAC 44.630 by documenting that after the last renewal date, the nurse has 

(1) completed a nursing refresher course approved by the board; or 
(2) attained a degree or certificate in nursing, or made progress toward one, beyond the education requirements for the nurse’s original license by successfully 

completing at least six academic credits in courses required for the degree or certificate; or 
(3) successfully completed the National Council Licensing Examination. 

 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276 
 

12 AAC 44.650. REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW LICENSEES.  (a) A licensee who receives his or her original license in the first year of the renewal period must comply 
with the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 44.600 – 12 AAC 44.640 before the first license renewal. 

(b) A licensee who receives his or her original license in the second year of the renewal period must comply with the continuing competency requirements of 12 
AAC 44.600—12 AAC 44.640 before the second license renewal. 
 
Authority: AS 08.68.100  AS 08.68.276 
 

12 AAC 44.660. AUDIT AND DOCUMENTATION. (a) A licensee must comply with all applicable requirements of 12 AAC 02.960 – 12 AAC 02.965.  If selected for an 
audit of continued competency activities, the licensee must cooperate with the department and must submit all requested verifications of continued competency 
activities claimed by the licensee. 

(b) Repealed 5/16/2018. 
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