
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Telephone:  (907) 465-2550 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
Website:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 
 
APPLICATION FOR PSYCHOLOGIST COURTESY LICENSE 

                
YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION, FEES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS MUST BE 

POSTMARKED OR RECEIVED BY THE DIVISION NO LATER THAN 30 DAYS BEFORE THE DATE YOU 
PLAN TO BEGIN WORKING IN THIS STATE 

 
A courtesy license authorizes an individual to practice psychology in Alaska for a maximum of 30 days in a 12-month 
period.  A person may not be issued more than one courtesy license in that person’s lifetime.  A courtesy license does not 
authorize the licensee to conduct a general psychology practice or to perform services outside the scope of practice under 
AS 08.86.230. 
 
Questions may be directed to the licensing examiner for the Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate 
Examiners at (907) 465-5470. 
 
REQUIREMENTS FOR COURTESY LICENSE: 
 
1. Complete and notarized application. 

2. A check or money order payable to the State of Alaska as follows: 

• Application fee (nonrefundable) $200.00 
• Courtesy License fee $200.00 

3. Must NOT be a resident of Alaska. 

4. Authorization for Release of Records (form enclosed).  

5. Verification of a current license to practice psychology in another state sent directly to the division from that 
jurisdiction. 

6. Verification of having passed the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) with a score that 
meets the requirements in 12 AAC 60.140 sent directly from the licensing jurisdiction that administered the 
examination or from the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). 

7. Identification of dates for which the courtesy license is requested. 

8. Identification of the scope of practice intended for the courtesy license. 

9. Attest that you have not: 

(A) previously been issued a courtesy license to practice psychology in the State of Alaska; 

(B) had a psychologist license suspended or revoked in any jurisdiction; and 

(C) been denied a license to practice psychology in this state within the past four years. 

9. Submit a monthly report to the Board each month during the period of courtesy licensure indicating the number of 
 days practiced under the courtesy license during the month. 

 
If you cannot attest to (A), (B), and (C) above, you are not eligible for a courtesy license in the State of Alaska.  
(12 AAC 60.035(c)(8)(A-C)) 
 
Note:  All items must be postmarked or received by the Division at least 30 days before you plan to begin 
working in Alaska. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
When submitting fees, make check or money order payable to the State of Alaska. 
 
Alaska Statutes (AS) 08.01.060(b) and AS 08.01.100(e) require an applicant for an occupational license to provide a 
United States Social Security Number.  However, the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional 
Licensing may, under certain circumstances, issue a license to an applicant who does not have a Social Security Number.  
To apply for exception from the social security number requirement, complete this form and mail it to the division at the 
address above. 
 
A courtesy license authorizes the licensee to practice psychology in accordance with the scope identified on the 
application (12 AAC 60.035(c)(7)).  A courtesy license does not authorize the licensee to conduct a general psychology 
practice or to perform services outside the scope of practice under AS 08.86.230. 
 
In accordance with 12 AAC 60.035(a) a courtesy license holder may not practice more than 30 days within a 12-month 
period; the licensee shall submit a report to the board each month during the period of the license, indicating the number 
of days the licensee practiced under the courtesy license.  Reminder:  Maximum allowed in a 12-month period is a 
total of 30 days. 
 
The holder of a courtesy license is obligated to uphold the professional standards identified in 12 AAC 60.185 and is 
subject to the disciplinary provisions of AS 08.01.075 and AS 08.86.204. 
 
The board or its designee may waive the 30-day application deadline if the applicant requests a courtesy license to 
practice psychology and the board or its designee determines that the applicant’s failure to meet the application deadline 
is for good cause. 
 
VERIFICATION OF EPPP SCORE 
 
Some jurisdictions are unable to provide verification of the score received on the Examination for Professional Practice in 
Psychology (EPPP).  Check with the licensing board that will be providing your license verification and if your EPPP score 
cannot be reported then you must request a EPPP Score Transfer Service from the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards (ASPPB).  The EPPP Score Transfer Service form can be downloaded from the ASPPB web site at 
www.asppb.org, or the ASPPB can be contacted at P.O. Box 241245, Montgomery, Alabama 36124-1245, by telephone 
at (334) 832-4580, or by fax at (334) 269-6379. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION 
 
All information submitted with this application is considered public information unless required by state or federal law to 
remain confidential.  If additional information of a confidential nature is required, you will be notified in writing.  License 
information, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s web site at:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under 
License Search. 
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  PSY 
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST AND PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 
EXAMINERS 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550  Fax: (907) 465-2974 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

For Division Use Only 

 
APPLICATION FOR PSYCHOLOGIST COURTESY LICENSE 

 
This application must be completed in full.  If any section does not apply, write N/A in the space provided.  PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. 

 

Fees Due:  $200.00 Nonrefundable Application Fee   $200.00 Courtesy License Fee 

 
 
Name:    

 Last    First   M.I.               List all previous legal names  
              
  
Social Security Number:            
              (Required by AS 08.01.060) 
 
Date of Birth:          Sex:      Male   Female 
 
 
Mailing Address:    
     Street Address or PO Box 
 
  
 City        State      ZIP Code 
 
Business Telephone:           Home Telephone:    
 
 
Email Address:    
 
State of Residence:                
 
Twelve month period for which courtesy license is requested:   , 20  through  , 20 . 
 
Scope of practice for which courtesy license is requested:       
 
      
 
      
 
      
 
PROFESSIONAL DATA: 

List each jurisdiction in which you are certified or licensed to practice psychology: 

State:     License No.:     Issue Date:      Expiration Date:     
 
State:     License No.:     Issue Date:      Expiration Date:     
 
State:     License No.:     Issue Date:      Expiration Date:     
 
List state(s) in which you took the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP): 
 
State:     Exam Date:      Passed    Failed   
 
State:     Exam Date:      Passed    Failed 
 
State:     Exam Date:      Passed    Failed 
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Note: Failure to list all past  
legal names is considered  
a falsified application 



PROFESSIONAL FITNESS: 

The following questions must be answered.  “YES” ANSWERS AUTOMATICALLY RESULT IN LICENSE DENIAL. 
 YES NO 
      

1. Have you previously been issued a courtesy license to practice psychology in the State of Alaska?    

2. Have you ever had a psychologist license suspended or revoked in any jurisdiction?     

3. Have you been denied a license to practice psychology in the State of Alaska within  
 the past four years?       

IF YOU HAVE ANSWERED”YES” TO QUESTIONS 1, 2, OR 3 ABOVE STOP!  YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A COURTESY 
LICENSE IN THE STATE OF ALASKA. 

The following questions must also be answered.  “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. 
 YES NO 

4. Has your professional license ever been denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, stipulated,   
 on probation, or been subject to any other restriction or disciplinary action in any jurisdiction?    

5. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or restricted your professional license in any jurisdiction?    

6. Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violation of the Psychology Practice  
 Act or unethical conduct?       

7. Have you ever been convicted of any criminal offense(s), other than minor traffic violations, 
 under the laws of any state or of the United States (convictions include suspended imposition of 
 sentence)?        

8. Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgements paid in your behalf?     

9. Within the past five years, are you now, or have you experienced, been diagnosed with, or been 
 treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, paranoia, or psychotic disorder, substance abuse, 
 depression (except for situational or reactive depression) or any other mental or emotional  
 illness?        

10. Within the past five years, are you now, or have you experienced, been diagnosed with, or been 
 treated for any physical or mental condition which may impair or interfere with your ability to 
 practice?        

11. Within the past five years, are you now, or have you experience, been diagnosed with, or been 
 treated for any chemical impairment?       

If you answered ”Yes” to questions 4-11, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, and send any 
supporting documents that are applicable (court records, etc.). 

CONFIDENTIALITY: The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records.  If you believe that the additional 
information you are attaching to explain a “yes” answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment.  A request for 
confidentiality may or may not be granted. 

I hereby acknowledge that while practicing under a courtesy license I must meet the ethics and standards identified in  
12 AAC 60.185 and that I must submit monthly reports regarding the number of days I have practiced under the courtesy license during 
the month. 

I hereby certify that the information in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that any 
false information may result in failure to obtain a courtesy license as a psychologist in Alaska, or subsequent revocation of 
my courtesy license. 
 
        
   Signature of Applicant 
 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public in and for 

the State of       

   This    day of   , 20  

        
   Notary Public 

  Notary seal must overlie portion of picture My Commission Expires:      
 

WARNING: Pursuant to 12 AAC 60.050 the board may deny approval to sit for the licensing examinations, or revoke a license granted 
on the basis of false or misleading statements, whether made knowingly or not.  An applicant may also be subject to criminal charges 
for perjury (AS 11.56.200). 
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Position recent head/shoulder  
photograph here. 



 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Telephone:  (907) 465-2550 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

 
AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS 

 
 

To Whom It May Concern: 
 
 
I,   
 
residing at   
 
authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators to 
examine my medical, dental, employment, and education records, and any records pertaining to litigation, 
suits, judgments and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with 
persons having possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all such 
records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its 
investigators. 
 
I authorize the Division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered appropriate 
by the Division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those 
persons or organizations considered appropriate by the Division. 
 
This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, drug 
or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis, or treatment received by me and which were prepared or made in conjunction 
with, or under the authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or 
alcohol evaluation, diagnosis or treatment. 
 
I request that upon presentation of this release, or a certified true copy of it, that you provide copies of those 
records to the Division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of 
the State of Alaska. 
 
This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for initial issuance of a license as a 
psychologist.  This authorization expires one year from the date of my signature below. 
 
 
 
Signature:         Date:   
 
Date of Birth:         
 
Home Telephone:        Work Telephone:   
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STATE OF ALASKA 
Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners 

 
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 

 
Applicant:  Some states require a fee for completion of a license verification; you may wish to check with the State Board 
prior to submitting this form to them for completion: 
 
State Board: 
 
In applying for licensure to practice psychology in the State of Alaska, the Board of Psychologist and Psychological 
Associate Examiners requires this form to be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which I hold a license or have held 
licenses.  Please complete this form and send it directly to: 
 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate Examiners 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

(907) 465-5470 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

 
    Signature:       
 
    Printed Name:       
 
    License No.:       
 
    Address:       
 
         
         

PLEASE DO NOT DETACH 
The information below must be completed by the State Licensing Board.  It may not be completed by the applicant. 

 

State of     Board of      

Name of Licensee          

Type of License Held          

License No.      Issued Effective      

License is Current      Lapsed   Expiration Date      

By Reciprocity/Endorsement      By Examination       

Date of Exam     Form     Percent Score     Raw Score      

Examination Administered By          

Licensee received at least     year(s) of supervised, post doctoral experience during the  

period from      to        
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If the applicant‘s license has lapsed or expired, please explain why (e.g., failure to pay licensing renewal fee, etc.): 
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
Has the applicant’s license ever been suspended or revoked?     YES         NO        If “yes”, for what reason? 
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
Has the applicant been subject to any other disciplinary action(s), (e.g., letter of warning, stipulation)?   YES        NO 
 If “yes”, please describe. 
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
         
 
Please provide any derogatory information you believe relevant to the applicant’s qualifications to practice psychology. 
 
         
 
         
 
General Comments:          
 
         
 
         
 
 
         
    Signature 
 
 [BOARD SEAL]        
    Printed Name 
Please return complete form to: 
         
Department of Commerce, Community and  Title 
  Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and       
  Professional Licensing   State Board 
Board of Psychologist and Psychological 
  Associate Examiners        
P.O. Box 110806   Date 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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