
Your license to practice as a psychologist in the State of Alaska lapses on June 30, 2015.  It is illegal for you to practice if 
your license has lapsed.  There is no grace period.  To renew your license for the period from July 1, 2015, through June 
30, 2017, return this signed and dated application to the above address with a check or money order payable to the State 
of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form. Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted. This is the 
only renewal notice you will receive. Incomplete applications or insufficient fees will result in your renewal being rejected. 

PROCESSING TIME: The processing time for a correct and completed renewal application can be three to four weeks  
after receipt.  Plan accordingly to ensure processing by the expiration date of June 30, 2015. 

MAILED RENEWAL FORMS: If you received this renewal application in the mail with a barcode in the upper right corner   
of the first page, do not duplicate this form for another professional’s use.  The barcode is specific to your name and 
license number. Forms without the barcode are available online at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov/BoardOfPsychologists 

PSY 

BIENNIAL PSYCHOLOGIST LICENSE RENEWAL 

Check Appropriate 
License Status Box: 

  Biennial License Renewal 
  Prorated License Renewal  (License #675 and above) 

$775.00 
$387.50 

Make checks payable to: State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form. 

PART I Personal Identification Information

Full Legal Name 
Last   First     Middle 

Alaska Psychologist 
License Number 

Mailing Address

Check box if this is an 
address change  

Address 

City   State    ZIP Code  

Daytime Phone Date of Birth 

E-Mail Address
(Optional) 

APPLICANT: As required by state law, please provide your United States Social Security 
Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not for public disclosure; it may 
be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) 

Social Security Number 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Psychologists, PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550  •       Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov/BoardOfPsychologists 

July 1, 2015 — June 30, 2017 
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The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, 
and send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.). 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 
 

 

Since the date of your last application for an Alaska psychologist license:   

1. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, 
been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a 
settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you 
have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military 
authorities or is any such action pending? 

   Yes  No 

2. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a 
crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a 
military offense, including but not limited to a conviction involving driving under the 
influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless 
driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.  “Convicted” includes having 
been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo 
contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition 
of sentence, or a fine. 

   Yes  No 

3. Have you experienced or been for treated any mental or emotional illness which 
may impair or interfere with your ability to practice as a psychologist?    Yes  No 

4. Have you been addicted to, or excessively or illegally used, alcohol or a controlled 
substance?    Yes  No 

5. Have you experienced a physical disability which may impair or interfere with your 
ability to practice as a psychologist?    Yes  No 

 
CONTINUING COMPETENCY: Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continued competency 
requirements in Article 6 of 12 AAC 60 (see enclosed regulations). 
 
RANDOM AUDIT: The Board will audit a percentage of the license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for 
audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the 
continued competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form.  Save your documents for at least four years 
so you can respond to audits. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PART II Professional Fitness 

PART III Compliance Statement 

BY CHECKING THE APPROPRIATE BOX BELOW YOU ARE VERIFYING YOUR COMPLIANCE WITH THE 
CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS OF ARTICLE 6 OF 12 AAC 60. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

License 1 through 654 – I certify that I have successfully completed the required 40 hours of continuing 
competency during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015. 

License 655 through 674 – I certify that I have successfully completed the required 20 hours of 
continuing competency during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015. 

License 675 and above –  Licenses initially issued after July 1, 2014 are not required to provide 
evidence of continuing education for this renewal only. Licensees will be subject to continuing education 
requirements for subsequent renewals. 
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PART IV Signature 

WARNING: The Department may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or is 
attempting to obtain a license to practice as a psychologist by fraud or deceit. The person may also be 
subject to criminal charges for unsworn falsification (AS 11.56.200). 

I certify that the information in this application is true and correct,    
including the attached continuing education documentation. 

 
 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                           Signature of Applicant                                                              Date 

 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                               SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on this day                     Date 

 
 

Notary Public for the State of: ____________________________________________________________________  
 
 
 

My Commission Expires: _________________________________________________________________________            
 

                                                                                                          
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

PART V Continuing Education Documentation 
This form must accompany your renewal form.  If this form is not attached to the renewal form it will cause a 

delay in the processing of your license renewal. 

1. Non-Academic Continuing Education: Non-academic continuing education programs must be provided by 
sponsoring organizations approved by the American Psychological Association or another professional 
organization representing mental or behavioral health professions. 

Sponsoring 
Organization Course Title Date Instructor Location of 

Course 
Hours 

Claimed 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 Subtotal  

Notary Stamp 
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PART V Continuing Education Documentation    (continued) 
2. Academic Continuing Education:  One quarter hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 

10 hours of continuing education.  One semester hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 
15 hours of continuing education.  Auditing one quarter hour of academic credit constitutes eight hours of 
continuing education.  Auditing one semester credit hour of academic credit constitutes 12 hours of continuing 
education.  The academic continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for renewal or reinstatement 
under this section must be obtained from a graduate level course. 

Sponsoring 
Organization Course Title Date Instructor Location of 

Course 
Hours 

Claimed 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

Subtotal  

3. Ethics in Psychology: Training must be received by the licensee and total three hours per two-year licensing 
period. 

Sponsoring 
Organization Course Title Date Instructor Location of 

Course 
Hours 

Claimed 

      

      

      

      

Subtotal  
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PART V Continuing Education Documentation    (continued) 

4. Individual Study:  Hours awarded to be determined by the board on an individual basis.  Credit awarded 
under this section may not exceed one-half of the total hours required in any licensing renewal period. 

Type of Individual Study Title Offered by / Through Date Hours 
Claimed 

     

     

     

     

Subtotal  

5. Instructor or Discussion Leader:  May not exceed one-third of the total hours required during the licensing 
period.  

Sponsoring 
Organization Course Title Date Instructor Location of 

Course 
Hours 

Claimed 

      

      

      

      

Subtotal  

6. Publications and Presentations:  May not exceed one-half of the total hours required during the license 
period.  Publications and oral presentations accompanied by written papers awarded 20 credits.  Unwritten oral 
presentations awarded hourly credit based upon actual time required to deliver the presentation. 

Sponsoring Journal / 
Organization 

Title of Paper / 
Presentation Date Author Location of 

Presentation 
Hours 

Claimed 

      

      

      

      

Subtotal  

Total Hours From All Categories  
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EXPIRED LICENSES:  
There is no “inactive” license status.  Licenses which have expired more than five years cannot be renewed. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE OF RENEWED LICENSE: 
The effective date of a renewed license will be the date a complete renewal application is filed with the division as 
determined by 12 AAC 02.920 and 12 AAC 02.940. 
 
CONTINUED COMPETENCY:  
Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continuing competency requirements of 12 AAC 60 
(see attached page). 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: 
In accordance with AS 08.01.100, the department is not authorized to renew a license unless the applicant's 
social security number has been provided to the department. If you do not have a social security number, you 
may download the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the division. If you previously qualified for a waiver to this requirement, 
you must still requalify to renew. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the 
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the 
Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION:  
Please be aware that all information on this renewal form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept 
confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available 
on the division’s website at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov  
 
BUSINESS LICENSES:  
Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about business licenses, 
call (907) 465-2550 or online at: BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 
 
ABANDONMENT:  
An application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant (12AAC 02.910). An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. 
 

 
 

NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES 
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate 
Examiners regulation changes, please send a written request adding your name to the Board of Psychologist 

and Psychological Associate Examiners interested parties list to: 
 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 
 

 

 

! General Information 
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Article 6, Section: 
250. Purpose of continuing education 
260. Hours of continuing education required 
270. Computation of continuing education hours 
280. Computation of academic continuing education hours 
290. Accepted subjects 
300. Approved nonacademic continuing education programs 
310. Individual study 
320. Instructor or discussion leader 
330. Publications and presentations 
340. Reinstatement 
350. Report of continuing education 
 
12 AAC 60.250. PURPOSE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

The purpose of continuing psychology education is to insure that the renewal of licenses is contingent upon proof of 
continued competency and assure the consumer of an optimum quality of psychological health care by requiring 
licensed psychologists and psychological associates to pursue education designed to enhance and advance their 
professional skills and knowledge. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070(6) 
 
12 AAC 60.260. HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED.  

(a) Repealed 3/27/98. 
(b) Each psychologist or psychological associate seeking license renewal shall obtain and document an average of 20 

credit hours of continuing education for each year during the concluding licensing period. Effective July 1, 1999, at 
least three of the total credit hours of continuing education required for the concluding licensing period must be in 
professional ethics. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 
12 AAC 60.270. COMPUTATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.  

(a) For the purpose of computing continuing education credit, 50 minutes of instruction constitutes one hour. 
(b) Credit is given only for full hours of instruction received and not for a fraction of an hour. 
(c) Credit is given only for class attendance hours and not for hours devoted to class preparation. 
(d) Continuing education credit is given for auditing an academic course. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070(6) 
 
12 AAC 60.280. COMPUTATION OF ACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.  

(a) One quarter hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 10 hours of continuing education. 
(b) One semester hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 15 hours of continuing education. 
(c) Auditing one quarter hour of academic credit constitutes eight hours of continuing education. 
(d) Auditing one semester credit hour of academic credit constitutes 12 hours of continuing education. 
(e) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the academic continuing education hours claimed 

by an applicant for renewal or reinstatement under this section must be obtained from a graduate level course. 
 
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 
12 AAC 60.290. ACCEPTED SUBJECTS 

To be accepted by the board, the subject of a continuing education program  must contribute directly to the professional 
competency of a person licensed to practice as a psychologist or a psychological associate and must be directly related 
to the concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices as defined in AS 08.86.230(6). 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070(6) 
 
12 AAC 60.300. APPROVED NONACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS.  

(a) Repealed 8/20/2004. 
(b) On or after July 1, 2003, nonacademic continuing education programs under this section must be provided by 

sponsoring organizations approved by the American Psychological Association or another professional 
organization representing mental or behavioral health professions, including the American Medical Association, 
American Psychiatric Association, National Association of Social Workers, American Nurses Association, 
American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists, and National Association of School Psychologists. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.70 
 
 

! Continuing Education 
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12 AAC 60.310. INDIVIDUAL STUDY.  

(a) The number of hours of continuing education credit awarded for completion of a formal correspondence program, videotape 
program, audio-cassette program, or other individual study program which requires registration and provides evidence of 
satisfactory completion will be determined by the board on an individual basis. 

(b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one half of the total hours required in any licensing renewal period. 
(c) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for 

renewal or reinstatement under this section that are obtained from a college or university must be obtained from a graduate 
level course. 

(d) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for 
renewal or reinstatement under this section that are not obtained from a college or university must meet the requirements 
under 12 AAC 60.300(b). 

  
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 
12 AAC 60.320. INSTRUCTOR OR DISCUSSION LEADER.  

(a) One hour of continuing education credit will be awarded for each hour completed as an instructor or discussion leader of 
educational programs meeting the requirements of 12 AAC 60.250—12 AAC 60.310. Credit will be awarded only for the 
initial course of instruction of the subject matter, unless there have been substantially new developments in the subject 
since the prior presentation. 

(b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one-third of the total hours required for a license renewal and may not 
be claimed for the same license renewal in which credit is claimed under 12 AAC 60.330. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 
12 AAC 60.330. PUBLICATIONS AND PRESENTATIONS.  

(a) Twenty credit hours of continuing education will be awarded for each 
(1) authorship of a publication in a professional psychology journal, if the publication relates directly to the 

concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices, and is published or accepted for publication during the 
two year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal; 

(2) oral or poster presentation of a written paper at a meeting of the American Psychological Association, a 
technical meeting of a state psychology society, or meeting of a professional psychology-oriented organization, if 
the presentation relates directly to the concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices, and the 
presentation occurred during the two-year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal; or 

(3) authorship of a professional psychology book or monograph published or accepted for publication during the two 
year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal. 

(b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one-half of the total hours required for a license renewal and may not be 
claimed for the same license renewal in which credit is claimed under 12 AAC 60.320. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 
12 AAC 60.340. REINSTATEMENT.  

(a) The license of any licensee which is not renewed by reason of failure to comply with the continuing education requirements 
of 12 AAC 60.250—12 AAC 60.350, may be reinstated after submission to the board of proof of the completion of all 
continuing education credit hours required. 

(b) A licensee unable to obtain the required continuing education hours for license renewal, due to reasonable cause or 
excusable neglect, must request exemption status in writing to the board with a statement explaining the reasonable cause 
or excusable neglect. The board will, in its discretion, prescribe an alternative method of compliance with the continuing 
education requirements as the board considers appropriate to the individual situation. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070(6) 
 
12 AAC 60.350. REPORT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.  

(a) An applicant for renewal of a license to practice psychology shall submit, on a form provided by the department, a sworn 
statement of the continuing education in which the applicant participated. At a minimum the statement must indicate the 
following, as applicable: 

(1) the sponsoring organization; 
(2) the location of the course or correspondent; 
(3) the title or description of course or both; 
(4) the principal instructor; 
(5) the dates of attendance or period of correspondence; 
(6) the titles, issues, and dates of publications or presentations; and 
(7) the number of continuing education hours claimed. 

(b) Falsification of any written evidence submitted to the board under this section is unprofessional conduct and constitutes 
grounds for censure, reprimand, or license revocation or suspension. 

(c) If an applicant does not submit, on or before the renewal date, the information required in (a) of this section, the applicant’s 
license to practice psychology lapses. 

 
Authority: AS 08.86.070 
 

! Continuing Education      (continued) 
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For security purposes please do not email credit card information.  Mail this form with the completed 
renewal to the Division. Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the Division processes the 
information.  If any information on this form is illegible the form will be rejected. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Type of License: _____________________________________________________ License Number (if applicable): _______________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                Amount             

        Application Fee           _______________________         

        License (or renewal) Fee           _______________________         

        Fine                 _______________________         

       Other (specify): ________________________________________________________           _______________________          

                               Total:   _______________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card): _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone: ____________________________________________________ Email (optional): ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Credit Card Type:                    VISA             — or —                      Mastercard 
 

       Signature of Credit Card Holder: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

VISA or Mastercard Number: ____________________________________________________________  Expiration Date: ______________________________ 

This section below the dotted line will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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