



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofPsychologists

Psychological Associate License Renewal

July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025

- Your license lapses after June 30, 2023. There is no grace period it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
- Emailed applications will not be accepted.
- Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form.
- Plan on a 4–6-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.
- Once the renewal is processed, your license certificate will be available for printing via the MY LICENSE self-service portal.

PARTI	Payment of Fees	
Renewal Fees:	Biennial License Renewal (For licenses first issued on or before June 30, 2022)	\$500.00
	Prorated License Renewal (For licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2022)	\$250.00

PART II Personal Information

Full Legal Name: Name change:			Alaska Psycholog Associate License		
If you have had a	a legal name change since your last certific	ation was issued	d, you must comple	ete a <u>Change</u>	<u>of Name f</u> orm.
Mailing Address: Address change:	P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Contact Phone:			Date of Birth:		
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.					
Email Address:			Select One:		oondence Electronically oondence by Mail
Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.					
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.					

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

Since the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed:

1.	Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?	☐ Yes ☐ No
2.	Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, "crime" includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.	□ Yes □ No
3.	Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgment or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice psychology in a competent, ethical and professional manner?	Yes No
4.	Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice psychology competently and safely?	Yes No

"Yes" Answers

If you answered "yes" to questions 3 or 4, in addition to your personal statement, you must submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice as a psychological associate. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

PART IV Statement of Compliance

By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance with the continuing competency requirements outlined under Article 6 of 12 AAC 60.				
Check one of these boxes if your renewal application is postmarked on or before June 30, 2023:				
Licenses initially issued on or before June 30, 2021.				
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 40 hours of continuing education during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2023.				
- or -				
Licenses initially issued between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2022.				
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 20 hours of continuing education during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2023.				
- or -				
Licenses initially issued on or after July 1, 2022.				
Licenses initially issued after July 1, 2022, are not required to provide evidence of continuing education for this renewal only. Licensees will be subject to continuing education requirements for subsequent renewals.				
Late Renewal Applicants				
Check one of these boxes if your renewal application is postmarked on or after July 1, 2023:				
I have checked the appropriate box above to certify the method in which I successfully meet the continuing education requirements.				
- or -				
 I certify that I have successfully completed some or all my hours of continuing education after June 30, 2023, but prior to submitting this renewal application. These hours were earned in accordance with Article 6 of 12 AAC 60. Under 12 AAC 02.965, I understand that the hours I earned after June 30, 2023, may not be used for the subsequent renewal period. 				

PART V Alaska Law

I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS 08.86 and 12 AAC 60).





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofPsychologists*

Signature Page

Applicant Name:		
Alaska License Number (if known):		Application in Process

PART VI Agreement

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:

Continuing Education

Article 6, Section:

- 250. Purpose of continuing education
- 260. Hours of continuing education required
- 270. Computation of continuing education hours
- 280. Computation of academic continuing education hours
- 290. Accepted subjects
- 300. Approved nonacademic continuing education programs
- 310. Individual study
- **320.** Instructor or discussion leader
- **330.** Publications and presentations
- 340. Reinstatement
- 350. Report of continuing education

12 AAC 60.250. PURPOSE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION

The purpose of continuing psychology education is to ensure that the renewal of licenses is contingent upon proof of continued competency and assure the consumer of an optimum quality of psychological health care by requiring licensed psychologists and psychological associates to pursue education designed to enhance and advance their professional skills and knowledge.

Authority: AS 08.86.070(6)

12 AAC 60.260. HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED.

- (a) Repealed 3/27/98.
- (b) Each psychologist or psychological associate seeking license renewal shall obtain and document an average of 20 credit hours of continuing education for each year during the concluding licensing period. Effective July 1, 1999, at least three of the total credit hours of continuing education required for the concluding licensing period must be in professional ethics.

Authority: AS 08.86.070

12 AAC 60.270. COMPUTATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.

- (a) For the purpose of computing continuing education credit, 50 minutes of instruction constitutes one hour.
- (b) Credit is given only for full hours of instruction received and not for a fraction of an hour.
- (c) Credit is given only for class attendance hours and not for hours devoted to class preparation.
- (d) Continuing education credit is given for auditing an academic course.

Authority: AS 08.86.070(6)

12 AAC 60.280. COMPUTATION OF ACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.

- (a) One quarter hour of academic credit from a college or university constitutes 10 hours of continuing education.
- (b) One semester hour of academic credit from a college or university constitutes 15 hours of continuing education.
- (c) Auditing one quarter hour of academic credit constitutes eight hours of continuing education.
- (d) Auditing one semester credit hour of academic credit constitutes 12 hours of continuing education.
- (e) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the academic continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for renewal or reinstatement under this section must be obtained from a graduate level course.

Authority: AS 08.86.070

12 AAC 60.290. ACCEPTED SUBJECTS

To be accepted by the board, the subject of a continuing education program must contribute directly to the professional competency of a person licensed to practice as a psychologist or a psychological associate and must be directly related to the concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices as defined in AS 08.86.230(6).

Authority: AS 08.86.070(6)

12 AAC 60.300. APPROVED NONACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS.

- (a) Repealed 8/20/2004.
- (b) On or after July 1, 2003, nonacademic continuing education programs under this section must be provided by sponsoring organizations approved by the American Psychological Association or another professional organization representing mental or behavioral health professions, including the American Medical Association, American Psychiatric Association, National Association of Social Workers, American Nurses Association, American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists, and National Association of School Psychologists.

12 AAC 60.310. INDIVIDUAL STUDY.

- (a) The number of hours of continuing education credit awarded for completion of a formal correspondence program, videotape program, audio-cassette program, or other individual study program which requires registration and provides evidence of satisfactory completion will be determined by the board on an individual basis.
- (b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one half of the total hours required in any licensing renewal period.
- (c) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for renewal or reinstatement under this section that are obtained from a college or university must be obtained from a graduate level course.
- (d) For a licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2007, the continuing education hours claimed by an applicant for renewal or reinstatement under this section that are not obtained from a college or university must meet the requirements under 12 AAC 60.300(b).

Authority: AS 08.86.070

12 AAC 60.320. INSTRUCTOR OR DISCUSSION LEADER.

- (a) One hour of continuing education credit will be awarded for each hour completed as an instructor or discussion leader of educational programs meeting the requirements of 12 AAC 60.250—12 AAC 60.310. Credit will be awarded only for the initial course of instruction of the subject matter, unless there have been substantial new developments in the subject since the prior presentation.
- (b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one-third of the total hours required for a license renewal and may not be claimed for the same license renewal in which credit is claimed under 12 AAC 60.330.

Authority: AS 08.86.070

12 AAC 60.330. PUBLICATIONS AND PRESENTATIONS.

(a) Twenty credit hours of continuing education will be awarded for each

(1) authorship of a publication in a professional psychology journal, if the publication relates directly to the concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices, and is published or accepted for publication during the two-year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal;

- (2) oral or poster presentation of a written paper at a meeting of the American Psychological Association, a technical meeting of a state psychology society, or meeting of a professional psychology-oriented organization, if the presentation relates directly to the concepts of psychological principles, ethics, or practices, and the presentation occurred during the two-year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal; or
- (3) authorship of a professional psychology book or monograph published or accepted for publication during the two year reporting period immediately preceding the license renewal.
- (b) Credit awarded under this section may not exceed one-half of the total hours required for a license renewal and may not be claimed for the same license renewal in which credit is claimed under 12 AAC 60.320.

Authority: AS 08.86.070

12 AAC 60.340. REINSTATEMENT.

- (a) The license of any licensee which is not renewed by reason of failure to comply with the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 60.250—12 AAC 60.350, may be reinstated after submission to the board of proof of the completion of all continuing education credit hours required.
- (b) A licensee unable to obtain the required continuing education hours for license renewal, due to reasonable cause or excusable neglect, must request exemption status in writing to the board with a statement explaining the reasonable cause or excusable neglect. The board will, in its discretion, prescribe an alternative method of compliance with the continuing education requirements as the board considers appropriate to the individual situation.

Authority: AS 08.86.070(6)

12 AAC 60.350. REPORT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.

- (a) An applicant for renewal of a license to practice psychology shall submit, on a form provided by the department, a sworn statement of the continuing education in which the applicant participated. At a minimum the statement must indicate the following, as applicable:
 - (1) the sponsoring organization;
 - (2) the location of the course or correspondent;
 - (3) the title or description of course or both;
 - (4) the principal instructor;
 - (5) the dates of attendance or period of correspondence;
 - (6) the titles, issues, and dates of publications or presentations; and
 - (7) the number of continuing education hours claimed.

- (b) Falsification of any written evidence submitted to the board under this section is unprofessional conduct and constitutes grounds for censure, reprimand, or license revocation or suspension.
- (c) If an applicant does not submit, on or before the renewal date, the information required in (a) of this section, the applicant's license to practice psychology lapses.

Authority: AS 08.86.070

THE STATE



ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
 professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
 and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the
 questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Inc	ident:				Date of Inciden	ıt:
Explanation of Incident: When in doubt, disclose and explain. Make copies as necessary.						
Did you attach	all applicable o	documents associated with	this in	cident?		
Court Ord	lers	Consent Agreements		Disciplinary Actions	Chargin	g Documents
Court Rec	Court Records 🛛 Fitness to Practice 🔲 All Other Documentation Related to This Incident					
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:					Program:	
Signature:					Date Signed:	





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card information. Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applic	cant or Licensee:					
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):			License Num	ber <i>(if appli</i>	cable):	
I wish to make payment by credit card		for the following (check all that	t apply):			AMOUNT
Application Fee:						
License or Renewal Fee:						
Other (fine, exam, etc.):						
1.						
2.						
				TOTAL:		
Name (as shown on credit card):						

Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		

08-4438 (Rev. 05/01/2024)

Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

Page 1 of 1

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 1. Credit Card Number: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 2. Expiration Date: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 3. Security Code: This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

ADM FOR DIVISION USE ONLY