
Psychological Associate License Application Instructions 
 

Psychological associate applicants (upon application approval by the board) must first pass the State Law and Ethics Examination. 
Upon successful completion of the required State Law and Ethics Examination, a temporary license will be issued.  The applicant may 
then begin supervised practice and sit for the National EPPP Examination. 
 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Psychological Associate License can be 
reviewed:  

 

1. APPLICATION 
A signed, completed application (#08-4362, pages 1-4). 

 

2. FEES 
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.” 
 

Nonrefundable Application Fee:    $200.00 
Temporary License Fee:     $150.00 
License Fee:       $500.00 
State Examination Fee:     $  50.00 

 
 

Total Fees Due:      $900.00 
 

Note: License fee of $500.00 may be submitted with the application or upon successful completion of licensing requirements. 
(License fees are subject to change.) 

 

3. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS 
Official transcripts sent directly from all undergraduate and graduate schools attended. 
 

4. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
Verification of Licensure must be sent directly to the department from each jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever 
held a license to practice psychology.  Each verification must include an explanation of any disciplinary action taken against the 
licensee. Check with each of the state boards you are or have been licensed in for their verification request process. If a state 
offers primary source verification on their website, that can be accepted as long as the website clearly confirms that it’s a primary 
source verification. 

 

5. LETTER(S) OF REFERENCE 
Reference letter(s) from immediate supervisor if a licensed psychologist, or two licensed psychologists who hold doctoral degrees. 
(#08-4362c) 

 

6. MASTER EDUCATION COURSE WORK CHECK SHEET 
A completed Master Education Course Work Check Sheet (#08-4362d).   

 

7. PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE SUPERVISED PRACTICE PLAN 
A completed Psychological Associate Supervised Practice Plan (#08-4362e). Must be approved by the board before beginning 
supervision. 

 

8. VITA  
Complete from the date of high school graduation to the time of application, including dates and places of residency. 
  

9. STATEMENT OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 
Upon completion of supervision, the Statement of Supervised Experience form (#08-4362f) must be submitted. 
 

10. PROOF OF PRACTICUM 
Proof of practicum in accordance with 12 AAC 60.084(2). 

 
 
 
 

08-4362 (Rev. 02/13/2025)                                                         Application Instructions                                                                      Page 1 of 2 

 

 
 

               

 
Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofPsychologists 

 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 

  

  

  

  

mailto:BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardofPsychologists


Temporary License Information  
 

A temporary license is required while obtaining post master supervised experience. Once the board approves the application and post 
master supervision plan, the applicant is scheduled for the State Law and Ethics Examination. Upon successful completion of the 
required State Law and Ethics Examination, a temporary license will be issued.  The applicant may then begin supervised practice and 
sit for the National EPPP Examination. The temporary license is valid for two years from the date of issuance and the board will extend 
the temporary license if the applicant meets the requirements under 12 AAC 60.020(b) and demonstrates, to the satisfaction of the 
board, that an extension is necessary to complete the supervised experience. 
 

Examination Information  
 

Applicants must pass both the computerized National Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) and the State Law 
and Ethics Examination. The state examination is administered separate from the computerized EPPP examination. 
 

To schedule both the EPPP and State Law and Ethics exams, contact the psychology board at BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov.  
 

In Alaska, the EPPP is administered via computer in Anchorage; however, applicants may sit in any Prometric Test Center within the 
United States, U.S. Territories, or Canada. Upon application approval by the board, applicants will receive further instructions regarding 
administration and scheduling of the EPPP examination. 
 

Note that while the EPPP examination is offered up to four times per year because of computerization, AS 08.86.162 limits the number 
of times a psychological associate applicant can be examined to twice per year. 
 

The State Law & Ethics Examination is offered four times per year. It is not computerized and is administered separate from the 
national examination. 
 

Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Occupational Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit a completed 
Application for Examination Accommodation for Candidates with Disabilities form. This form is available on the division’s Website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division to request the form. 
 

Out-of-State Applicants  
 

Applicants licensed in another state as a psychological associate must meet Alaska’s requirements for licensure, including passing the 
State Law and Ethics Examination. Verification of out-of-state licensure must also be provided and sent directly from applicable 
jurisdictions. Verification of EPPP score must be sent directly to the department from the ASPPB. Supervision obtained in another 
jurisdiction must meet Alaska’s requirements. Applicants may use the enclosed Statement of Supervised Experience form (#08-4362f). 
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General Information  
 

APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been 
received and all fees have been paid, the license application will be sent to the board for approval. Start the process far enough in 
advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not 
expect immediate review.  
 

LICENSE TERM:  
Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except 
licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be 
sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive 
a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time. 
 

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS: 
A “yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “yes” to any professional 
fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation showing final disposition of charge(s) (e.g. 
court records, fitness letters, etc.). 
 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or 
local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 
 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE: 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. 
Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record with the division will be 
used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 
 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or 
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must 
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original 
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: 
AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not 
have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. 
 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division 
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial 
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no 
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 
 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business 
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov. 
 

STALE DOCUMENTS: 
Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division 
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division 
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing 
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915) 
 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 
 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred 
contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: 
RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.  
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Psychological Associate License Application

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 
Application, Temporary License, License*, and State Examination Fee ($200.00 is Non-
Refundable)  $900.00 

*The $500 License fee may be submitted upon successful completion of licensing requirements.

PART II Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 
 Other Names Used: 

 
Mailing Address: 

P.O. Box or Street    City     State      Zip  

Contact Phone: Date of Birth: 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Applicant Email 
Address: Select One: Send my Correspondence Electronically 

Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

PART III Undergraduate Education 

List ALL undergraduate colleges and universities attended. 

Name of Institution Address Date(s) Attended Date Graduated 
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PART IV Graduate and Postgraduate Education 
List ALL Master’s and Doctorate universities attended. 

Name of Institution Address Degree Awarded Date Awarded Is the program 
accredited?* 

     

Yes 
 

No 

     

Yes 

 

No 

     

Yes 

 

No 
*Accredited by one of the regional accrediting bodies recognized by the Council of Post Secondary Accreditation. 
 

PART V Professional License(s) 
List every state, U.S. jurisdiction, or country where you currently hold, or have ever held, a license to practice psychology. If you 
need additional pages, please attach. 

 
 

Check here if none.  

State or Jurisdiction License Number License Type Initial Issue Date Expiration Date 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

    
 

 

PART VI Examination History  

List any state(s) in which you took a psychology licensing examination. 

State Date Administered Result 

 
  Pass 

 Fail 
 

  Pass 
 Fail 

 
  Pass 

 Fail 
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PART VII Professional Fitness Questions 

The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. 

For each “yes” response to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of explanation form 
(#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and 
specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each “yes” answer documented below. 
Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.  
CONFIDENTIALITY

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal 
law. 

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 

1. Has your professional license ever been denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, stipulated, on
probation, or been subject to any other restriction or disciplinary action in any jurisdiction?

Yes No 

2. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or restricted your professional license in any jurisdiction? Yes No 

3. Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violation of the Psychology Practice Act
or unethical conduct?

Yes No 

4. Have you ever been convicted of any criminal offense(s), other than minor traffic violations, under
the laws of any state or of the United States (convictions include suspended imposition of
sentence)?

Yes No 

5. Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgments paid on your behalf? Yes No 

6. Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgment or
that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice psychology in a competent, ethical
and professional manner?

Yes No 

7. Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice psychology
competently and safely?

Yes No 

If you answered “yes” to questions 6 or 7, in addition to your personal statement, you must 
submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice. 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete 
and will not be processed. 

PART VIII Alaska Law 

I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession 
(AS 08.86 and 12 AAC 60). 
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"Yes" Answers 



 

 

 

 

 
 

Signature Page  

  
Applicant Name:   
Alaska License Number 
(if known):         Application in Process 

 
PART IX Agreement 

I hereby certify I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application. I further certify I have read the complete 
application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents 
submitted herewith are true and correct.   
 

I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or 
falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise 
disciplining a license, registration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.   
 

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of 
unsworn falsification.   

Applicant Signature:   Date Signed:   
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Letter of Reference 

 Applicant:  
Complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to your immediate 
supervisor if a licensed psychologist, or two licensed psychologists who hold doctoral degrees. Make 
additional copies of this form, as needed. 

Applicant Name:   

Applicant Signature:   Date Signed:   

 Reference:  Complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to the 
Alaska Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners at the letterhead address.   

Reference Name:   Relationship to 
Applicant:   

License Number:   License Type:   

Name of Institution or 
Clinic Where Employed:  

Institution/Clinic 
Address:  

                     Street                                                                    City                                                                State                                    Zip  

Email Address:   Phone Number:   

Associated with 
Applicant from Date:   Associated with 

Applicant to Date:   

Check as Appropriate:   Licensed Psychologist  Diplomate of ABPP  
Member of American Psychological 
Association 

 
Recommendation  

For the Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners to have sufficient information to adequately assess the 
applicant's qualifications, answer the following questions. 
 

To the best of your knowledge: 

1. Is the applicant of good moral character?    Yes  No 

2. Has the applicant been found guilty of incompetence by another state or jurisdiction?  Yes  No 

3. Has the applicant violated the ethical standards for providers of psychological services as 
established by another state agency or jurisdiction?  Yes  No 

 
08-4362c (Rev. 02/13/2025)                                               Letter of Reference                                                            Page 1 of 2 

 

 
 

               

 
Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofPsychologists 

 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 

  

  

  

  

mailto:BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPsychologists


4. Has the applicant misrepresented his or her professional qualifications to the board in any way?  Yes  No 

5. Has the applicant been found to be practicing psychological services without a license?  Yes  No 

6. Would you recommend the applicant for licensure as a psychological associate?    Yes  No 

7. Evaluate the applicant’s technical knowledge and practical experience: 

 Excellent  Very Good  Fair  Needs Improvement  

8. Any further comments the board might consider in reviewing this applicant?   
         If yes, explain:  Yes  No 

 

 
Signature  

I hereby certify the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Reference Printed 
Name:  

Reference 
Signature:  Date Signed:   
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Master Education Course Work Check Sheet 
 

To assist the board in its review of your course work, complete the following form and return it with your application. 
Note: You must have all of your undergraduate and graduate transcripts forwarded to the division directly from your school(s). If 
course titles do not clearly reflect the subject matter listed, you must include course syllabi/descriptions of courses in which the 
material was covered.  
 

Applicant Name: 

University or College(s) 
Attended: 

Type of Degree: Date Granted: 

Did your graduate program meet the following? 

(a) Regionally accredited? Yes No 

(b) Public identification as Psychology program? Yes No 

(c) Psychology program is coherent organizational unit? Yes No 

(d) Clear authority for Psychology program? Yes No 

(e) An identifiable core of full-time Psychology faculty? Yes No 

(f) Identifiable body of students? Yes No 

(g) The Psychology program is an organized, integrated sequence of study? Yes No 

All applicants must complete the following parts (I-X). Note: Courses cannot be at the undergraduate level; they must be at the 
graduate level.  

PART I History and Systems of Psychology 
List all instruction in history and systems of psychology. 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 
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PART II Psychological Measurement 
List all instruction in psychological measurement. 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART III Research Methodology 
List all instruction in research methodology.  

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART IV Techniques of Data Analysis (Statistics) 
List all instruction in techniques of data analysis (statistics). 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART V Biological Bases of Behavior 
List all instruction in biological bases of behavior (e.g., psychological psychology, comparative psychology, neuropsychology, and 
psychopharmacology).     

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 
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PART VI Cognitive-Affective of Behavior 
List all instruction in cognitive-affective of behavior (e.g., learning, memory, perception, cognition, thinking, motivation, and 
emotion).     

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART VII Social Bases of Behavior 
List all instruction in social bases of behavior (e.g., social psychology, cultural, ethnic, sex roles, and organizational behavior). 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART VIII Individual Differences 
List all instruction in individual differences (e.g., personality theory, human development, individual differences, abnormal 
psychology, psychology of women, psychology of persons with disabilities, and psychology of minority experience).      

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

PART IX Knowledge and Use of Ethics 
List all instruction in knowledge and use of ethics. 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 

08-4362d (Rev. 02/13/2025)   Master Education Course Work Check Sheet  Page 3 of 4 



PART X Practicum 12 AAC 60.010(b)(4) 
List all instruction in practicum 12 AAC 60.010(b)(4). 

 

Check here if none. 

Institution Course Number Full Course Title Dates 
(From – To) Credit Hours 
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Supervised Practice Plan 
Supervision may not begin until the board approves the supervision plan and the applicant receives the temporary license issued under 
12 AAC 60.020. 

PART I Applicant/Supervisee Information 

Applicant Name: 

Type of Supervision: Post Master Post Doctoral 

PART II Supervisor Information 

Supervisor Name: 

License Number: License Type: 

State or Jurisdiction: Expiration Date: 

Agency where 
Supervision will Occur: 

Agency Physical 
Address: 

    Street    City    State      Zip  

Agency Mailing 
Address: 

P.O. Box or Street    City     State      Zip  

Email Address: Phone Number: 

Supervisee Signature 
As the supervisee, I have read 12 AAC 60.070 and .080 and agree to accept supervision consistent with the requirements in 12 AAC 
60.070 and .080. 

I acknowledge changes in this supervision plan must be reported to the board in writing and approved by the Board. I further 
acknowledge supervision may begin upon formal notification from the Board of the approval of the Supervised Practice Plan and, 
for those receiving supervision in Alaska, the issuance of a temporary license to the applicant. 

Applicant Printed 
Name: 

Applicant Signature: Date Signed: 
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Supervisor Signature  

As the supervisor, I have read 12 AAC 60.070 and .080 and agree to provide supervision consistent with the requirements in 12 
AAC 60.070 and 080.  To the best of my knowledge, I attest my professional license is in good standing and there are no pending 
complaints against my license at this time. 
 

I acknowledge changes in this supervision plan must be reported to the board in writing and approved by the board. I further 
acknowledge supervision may begin upon formal notification from the board of the approval of the Supervised Practice Plan and, 
for those receiving supervision in Alaska, the issuance of a temporary license to the applicant. 

Supervisor Printed 
Name:  

Supervisor 
Signature:   Date Signed:   

 
 
12 AAC 60.070. “PSYCHOLOGIST” AND “PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE EXPERIENCE” DEFINED. (a) Repealed 1/14/82. 
 (b) The one year’s experience required for a psychologist applicant by AS 08.86.130(a)(3) is satisfied by one year of post-doctoral experience in a field of 
psychology the same as or similar to that in which the applicant acquired academic training under the supervision of a licensed psychologist or a diplomate of the 
American Board of Professional Psychology. 
 (c) The two years’ experience required for a psychological associate applicant by AS 08.86.160(a)(3), is satisfied by two years’ supervised experience in the 
specialty area that is the same or similar to the field of psychology in which the applicant received education and training. 
 

Authority: AS 08.86.070  AS 08.86.080   AS 08.86.130 
 
12 AAC 60.080. CRITERIA FOR EVALUATION OF EXPERIENCE. (a) In order to be credited with the experience required by 12 AAC 60.070, a psychologist or psychological 
associate applicant must meet the following minimum requirements: 
  (1) the applicant’s supervised experience must have been in the same or a similar field of psychology as was the applicant’s education and training; 
  (2) a year of experience must consist of not less than 1,500 clock hours completed in not less than 10 months and not more than 24 consecutive 
calendar months; during weeks the applicant works, the applicant must obtain at least 20 hours, but not more than 40 hours, of supervised experience per week; 
  (3) during 
   (A) the first year of post master’s supervised experience, contact between the supervisor and the applicant must be for a minimum of 
two hours per week of face-to-face supervision, one hour of which must be individual face-to-face supervision, dealing with direct services provided by the applicant; 
an applicant must also obtain two additional hours per week in learning activities, as defined in 12 AAC 60.990(a)(10), covering case conferences, ethics, co-therapy, 
and other content assigned by the supervisor; and 
   (B) the second year of post master’s and the year of post doctoral supervised experience, contact between 
the supervisor and applicant must be for a minimum of one hour per week of individual face-to-face supervision dealing with direct services provided by the applicant; 
  (4) at least 80 percent of the supervised experience must be with a licensed psychologist, a diplomate of the American Board of Professional 
Psychology, or a person holding a doctorate degree in psychology and who is considered by the board qualified to supervise; 20 percent of the supervised experience 
may be with a psychiatrist licensed under AS 08.64 or a similar law of another state, a psychological associate licensed under AS 08.86 or a similar law of another state, 
a clinical social worker licensed under AS 08.95 or a similar law of another state, a marriage and family therapist licensed under AS 08.63 or a similar law of another 
state, or a professional counselor licensed under AS 08.29 or a similar law of another state, who is qualified and competent in the specialty area that is the same or 
similar to the field of psychology in which the applicant received education and training; 
  (5) repealed 5/18/85; 
  (6) repealed 3/27/98; 
  (7) repealed 3/27/98; 
  (8) for a psychologist applicant, post doctoral experience may be earned in any post doctoral training program approved by the American 
Psychological Association or other program determined by the board to be equivalent; 
  (9) at least 50 percent of the supervised experience must be direct service; at least 50 percent of the direct service must be face-to-face contact 
with patients. 
 (b) Unsupervised independent private practice, including unsupervised practicums, clerkships, and externships, will not be considered as acceptable 
supervised professional experience. 
 (c) For good cause shown to the board’s satisfaction, the board will accept an alternate plan of supervision that varies from the requirement of (a)(3) of this 
section, if the applicant 
  (1) submits the alternate plan in writing to the board on a form provided by the department; and 
  (2) receives approval of the alternate plan by the board before beginning the alternate supervised experience. 
 (d) A supervisor must verify in writing to the board the applicant’s supervised experience, setting out the nature and extent of the supervision. A supervisor 
shall comprehensively document, on a form provided by the department, that during the applicant's supervised experience, the applicant was instructed in issues and 
concerns related to ethical behavior and that the applicant adequately understands and applies the ethical principles and guidelines. 
 (e) For good cause shown to the board’s satisfaction, the board will grant an extension up to 12 months for an applicant to complete the supervised 
experience required under 12 AAC 60.070. 
 (f) Repealed 12/8/2005. 
 

Authority: AS 08.86.070   AS 08.86.130   AS 08.86.162  AS 08.86.080   AS 08.86.160 
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Statement of Supervised Experience 

Applicant Name: 

Supervisor:  Complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to the
Alaska Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners at the letterhead address.   

Supervisor Name: Phone Number: 

License Type: License Number: 

Agency where Supervised 
Experience Occurred: 

Agency Physical Address: 
    Street    City    State      Zip  

Applicant’s Title: Applicant’s 
Position: 

Supervised From Date: Supervised To 
Date: 

1. During the year of post-doctoral supervised experience and the first year of post master
supervised experience, contact between the supervisor and applicant must be for a
minimum of one hour per week of individual face-to-face supervision dealing with direct
services provided by the applicant. How many hours, per week, did you provide face-to-
face supervision?

2. Did that supervision deal with direct services, as defined in 12 AAC 990(a)(9)? Yes No 

3. During the second year of post master supervised experience, contact between the
supervisor and applicant must be for a minimum of one hour per week of individual face-
to-face supervision dealing with direct services provided by the applicant. How many total
number of hours of psychological experience did the applicant receive?

4. Did that supervision deal with direct services, as defined in 12 AAC 990(a)(9)? Yes No 

5. During the applicant’s supervised experience was the applicant instructed in issues and
concerns related to ethical behavior and did the applicant adequately understand and
apply the ethical principles and guidelines?

Yes No 

6. Specify other types of supervision or learning activities provided:
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Board of Psychologists and Psychological Associate Examiners 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofPsychologists 
 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:BoardOfPsychologists@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPsychologists


7. 12 AAC 60.080(a)(2) states that a year of experience must consist of not less than 1,500 
clock hours completed in not less than 10 months and not more than 24 consecutive 
calendar months; during weeks the applicant works, the applicant must obtain at least 20 
hours, but not more than 40 hours of supervised experience per week. How many total 
hours of psychological experience did the applicant receive? 

    

8. Did the applicant obtain at least 20 hours, but not more than 40 hours of supervised 
experience per week?  Yes  No 

 
12 AAC 60.080(a)(9) reads:  at least 50 percent of the supervised experience must be direct services; at least 50 percent of the direct 
service must be face-to-face contact with patients. 
 

 12 AAC 60.990 (9) “direct services” means activities performed by a psychologist or psychological associate that are directly related 
to providing psychological services to a patient, including individual and family psychotherapy, psychological testing, report writing, 
studying test results, case consultations, and reviewing published works relating to the patient’s needs. 
 

Supervisor Signature  

As the supervisor, I certify the hours and training reported on this form are true and correct.  I further certify I supervised the 
applicant in accordance with statutes and regulations set forth by the Alaska Board of Psychologist and Psychological Associate 
Examiners. 

Supervisor Printed 
Name:  

Supervisor 
Signature:   Date Signed:   
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Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness “Yes” Answer 
Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness “yes” answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but 
concealing one may be. 

Each “yes” answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, 
even if you have previously provided it. 

• Explanations include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. 
If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.

• Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check “yes” to any of the
questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).

• Disciplinary actions may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation,
reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning,
caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple “yes” answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this 
form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident. 

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering “yes” to in the box. 

Location of Incident: Date of Incident: 

Explanation of Incident: 

When in doubt, disclose 
and explain. 

Make copies as necessary. 

Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident? 

Court Orders  Consent Agreements Disciplinary Actions Charging Documents 

Court Records  Fitness to Practice All Other Documentation Related to This Incident 

I have additional incidents for this “yes” answer, or “yes” answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached 
a separate copy of this form for each incident. 

Full Name: Program: 

Signature: Date Signed: 
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Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: License@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

mailto:License@Alaska.Gov
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx


Credit Card Payment Form 

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this credit card payment 
form with your application. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee: 

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture): License Number (if applicable): 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT 

Application Fee: 

License or Renewal Fee: 

Other (fine, exam, etc.): 

1. 

2. 

TOTAL: 

Name (as shown on credit card): 

Mailing Address: 

Phone Number: Email (Optional): 

Signature of Credit Card Holder: 
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CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 

1. Credit Card Number:
All 3 fields MUST be completed. 

This section will be destroyed after the 
payment is processed. 

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

State of Alaska 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 
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