

State of Alaska
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
CORPORATIONS SECTION

PO Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Phone: (907) 465-2550 Fax: (907) 465-2974

Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

## **BUSINESS NAME REGISTRATION**

AS 10.35.050

Filing Fee: \$25.00 (non-refundable)

## INSTRUCTIONS (Please retain for your records):

**NOTICE:** A corresponding business license must be obtained first in order to register a business name. The business license may be purchased online at <a href="https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ">www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ</a>. Go to Forms and Fees in the Corporations Section. The fee is \$50.00 for a year.

The business name being registered may not contain a corporate identifier such as: corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or an abbreviation of any of these words.

A business name registration is not required if the entity has already organized, incorporated, registered, or certified in Alaska under their corporate name, as the name is already protected.

An initial business name registration expires on the fifth December 31st after the day of registration, e.g. if you register on February 2nd, 2012 the registration will expire on December 31, 2016. The registration is renewable at five-year intervals by reapplying between October 1st and December 31st of the year of expiration. To renew the application complete a Business Name Registration Renewal form 08-560, the fee is \$25 (non-refundable).

Please search our corporations database to ensure the name is available. To search the availability of the legal name of the corporation in the State of Alaska go to the Corporations Section at <a href="https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ">www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ</a> and select Search Corporations Database.

Pursuant to AS 10.35.040, registration of a name gives the person who has registered the name the exclusive right to the use of the name. A person who has registered a name under this chapter may enjoin the use by another person of a name that is not distinguishable on the records of the department from the registered name; has a cause of action for damages against another person who uses a name that is not distinguishable on the records of the department from the registered name

Pursuant to Alaska Statutes 10.35.050, a person conducting a business may register its name if the name is distinguishable on the record of the department from the name of any other organized entity and form a reserved or registered name, this includes if an entity wishes to register a DBA (doing business as) name

Pursuant to AS 10.35.040 (b). Registration of a name gives the person who has registered the name the exclusive right to the use of the name. A person who has registered a name under this chapter may enjoin the use by another person of a name that is not distinguishable on the records of the department from the registered name; has a cause of action for damages against another person who uses a name that is not distinguishable on the records of the department from the registered name

- **ITEM 1**: Provide the business name you will be doing as. You must operate and advertise in the exact name listed. This name must be the name listed on the business license. Additionally, you must provide the business license number for the name being registered.
- **ITEM 2**: Provide the name and address of the business name owner, this is the name and address of the person(s) or entity that owns the business name. This information will be the same as the Ownership Information asked on the Business License Application.
- **ITEM 3**: Provide the name and address where the registered business name will be located.
- **ITEM 4**: Provide the name and addresses of any individuals who may have an interest in the business. This is an optional field.
- **ITEM 5**: Describe the nature of business that the business name being registered will be doing. This must correlate with NAICS code asked for on the application for Business License.
- **ITEM 6:** Provide the signature of the owner of the business or an authorized person.

Mail the Business Name Registration and the non-refundable \$25.00 filing fee in U.S. dollars to: State of Alaska, Corporations Section, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806

**STANDARD PROCESSING TIME** for complete and correct applications submitted to this office is approximately 10-15 business days. All applications are reviewed in the date order they are received. To file your application online for immediate processing, visit our website at: <a href="https://www.commerce.alaksa.gov/occ">www.commerce.alaksa.gov/occ</a>.



State of Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing CORPORATIONS SECTION

DO NOT STAMP ABOVE THIS BOX

Office Use Only

**CORP** 

PO Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Fax: (907) 465-2974

ALASK	Fax: (907) 465-2974 Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ		
	BUSINESS NAME REGISTRATION APPLICATIO AS 10.35.050	N	
\$25.00 Fili	ng Fee (non-refundable)		
distinguishable business name	aska Statutes 10.35.050, a person conducting a business may on the record. A corresponding business license must be obtained. The business license may be purchased online at <a href="https://www.comm">www.comm</a> Corporations Section. The business license fee is \$50.00 a year	otained fi erce.alas	rst in order to register a
ITEM 1: Busine	ess Name: (enter the name exactly as on the business license)	Busines	ss License # (required):
ITEM 2: Name	and address of the owner of the business name:		
Name:			
Physical addre	ess:		
Mailing addres	ss:		
ITEM 3: Name	and address of the business:		
Name:			
Physical addre	ess:		
Mailing addres	ss:		
ITFM 4. Addition	onal persons that have an interest in the business: (optional)		
Name:	what percents that have an interest in the basiness. (epiterial)		
Physical addre	ess:		
Mailing addres	SS:		
Attach an addit	ional sheet if necessary.		
ITEM 5: The na	ature of the business is:		

<b>IIEM 6:</b> The signer must be an owner of the business or an authorized person the entity that is registering the							
name.							
Signature of Authorized Person	Printed name of Authorized Person	Date					

Mail the Business Name Registration and the non-refundable \$25.00 filing fee in U.S. dollars to: State of Alaska, Corporations Section, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806

**STANDARD PROCESSING TIME** for complete and correct applications submitted to this office is approximately 10-15 business days. All applications are reviewed in the date order they are received. To file your application online for immediate processing, visit our website at <a href="https://www.corporations.alaska.gov/occ">www.corporations.alaska.gov/occ</a>.



State of Alaska
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
CORPORATIONS SECTION

PO Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Fax: (907) 465-2974

Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

DO NOT STAMP ABOV	/E THIS BOX
Office Use Only	CORP

## **CONTACT INFORMATION SHEET**

Please return this document with your filing. This information will only be used to resolve questions with the filings attached. **NOTE**: this form will not be filed for record or appear online.

Name of entity as it appears on filing:		
To receive guestions with this filing, our	ntoot:	
To resolve questions with this filing, cor	ilact.	
Name:		
Email:	Phone:	
Mailing address:		
Return documents to:		
Name:		
Company:		
Mailing address:		

Attach this form to your filings. Send all documents to: State of Alaska, Corporations Section, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806

**STANDARD PROCESSING TIME** for complete and correct applications submitted to this office is approximately 10-15 business days. All applications are reviewed in the date order they are received.