

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

October 3, 2017

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The division conducted a thorough fee analysis and reviewed the analysis with the Real Estate Commission at a regular meeting on September 27, 2017. The licensing program has maintained a sizeable surplus for the past few years. The division and board considered future cost increases and potential fluctuations in legal expenses. After careful consideration of those costs, there was agreement that another reduction in license fees is warranted, while the fee for initial application, license inactivation/reactivation, and reinstatement for lapsed licenses should increase to more accurately reflect the level of effort expended on their review and issuance.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the board's web page at http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateCommission.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the next licensing renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811, or Regulations And Public Comment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Janey Hovenden

meyAlmenGen

Director

Encl.

Register ,	2018 PRO I	FESSIONAL	REGUL	ATIONS
------------	-------------------	------------------	-------	---------------

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.360(a) is amended to read:

- **12 AAC 02.360. Real Estate Commission.** (a) The following fees are established for real estate salespersons, associate brokers, and brokers:
- (1) license fee, for all or part of the initial biennial license period, whether licensure is by examination or endorsement, **§200** [\$325];
 - (2) biennial license renewal fee for both active and inactive licenses, \$200 [\$325];
- (3) fee for office changes, including change of broker and company name, \$75 for each license;
 - (4) transfer of license fee, \$225;
 - (5) application fee for initial license, **\$200** [\$175];
 - (6) initial office registration fee, \$225;
 - (7) license inactivation or reactivation fee, <u>\$150</u> [\$125];
 - (8) duplicate license fee, \$50;
 - (9) name change fee, \$75;
 - (10) post-license education certification and new license document fee, \$30;
 - (11) reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, \$275 [\$250].
- (b) The following fees are established for real estate education course certification and instructor approval:
 - (1) initial course certification fee, \$30 per credit hour;
 - (2) biennial course recertification fee, \$25 per credit hour;

Register	,2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
	(3) instructor approval fee, \$200 per instructor;
	(4) temporary instructor approval fee, \$250 per instructor;
	(5) instructor approval recertification fee, \$100.
(c) T	The following fees are established for publications offered by the Real Estate
Commission	n:
(1) in	nformation pamphlet on landlord and tenant rights, \$5;
(2) r	epealed 12/2/2005. (Eff. 3/6/91, Register 117; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 6/5/94,
Register 130); am 11/10/95, Register 136; am 11/22/97, Register 144; am 12/28/97, Register 144;
am 11/6/99,	Register 152; am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 10/20/2001, Register 160; am
12/2/2005, I	Register 176; am 1/1/2006, Register 176; am 1/1/2010, Register 192; am 5/28/2011,
Register 198	3; am 9/17/2011, Register 199; am 1/8/2012, Register 201; am 11/30/2013, Register
	24/2015, Register 216; am/, Register)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.88.221