

THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Real Estate Commission

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 Phone: (907) 269-8160

Email: RealEstateCommission@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Initial Course Application Instructions

To be certified by the commission, a course must meet the following minimum requirements:

- The course must add to the practical knowledge required to perform the duties of a real estate practitioner in areas identified in 12 AAC 64.063 and 12 AAC 64.500;
- The course content must be applicable to all areas of the state, but may also include consideration of unique local circumstances;
- The course must be taught by an instructor approved by the commission to teach that course topic;
- A guest instructor who is not approved may be used to present a specialized portion of a course if an approved instructor for the course topic is also present;
- Students must be required to adhere to a strict attendance policy in order to receive credit for the course;
- Students must complete a course and instructor evaluation form (required by the commission); a copy of the evaluation form is available on the commission website for all course sponsors;
- A certificate of completion shall be given to each student who attends and participates in the course (see 12 AAC 64.410 for details of the required content for the certificate of completion).

Courses developed by national organizations that issue professional designations in specific areas of licensed real estate practice, and that are required to earn or maintain a nationally recognized professional designation and courses in subject areas identified in 12 AAC 64.500 offered by an accredited college or university, will not be charged a course approval fee and credit will be recognized equal to the number of hours of actual class time, excluding examinations, up to a maximum of 12 hours per course.

The following must be received by the commission before your initial course application can be reviewed by the board:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4146, pages 1-7).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska." Course Approval Fee:

\$50.00 per credit hour

3. COURSE MATERIALS

Submit course materials including handouts, text materials, overheads, pamphlets and brochures.

4. CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION.

Submit a sample of the certificate of completion including student name, course title, course number, dates course delivered, location of course, type of course [DCE, ECE, PLE, etc.], expiration date of course, name of instructor/sponsor, signature of instructor, and instructor certification number.

5. ATTENDANCE POLICY

Submit an explanation of the attendance policy and provision for class make-up. A sample attendance record form will need to be submitted as well.

6. EVALUATION

Submit a course/instructor evaluation form.

If applicable, you may need to submit a provision for correspondence and/or the final exam and answer key.

REC Information

CHANGE OF ADDRESS

To ensure proper notification of changes to regulations concerning real estate education, updated applications and forms and information about renewing course and instructor certification, notify the commission of any address change.

COURSE CERTIFICATION

New courses must be submitted no later than 45 days prior to the course offering date. A course cannot be advertised as being approved by the commission, nor can credit be offered to real estate licensees, until written approval has been issued by the commission.

An Initial Course Application must be submitted for each course. All requested documents and fees must be submitted with the application before it will be reviewed by the commission. The commission will notify the course sponsor if additional information or clarification of their application is needed to complete the review process.

A course certified by the commission may be offered for credit from the date the commission certifies the course until January 31 of the next even-numbered year.

COURSE RENEWAL

All continuing education courses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal paperwork will be provided to course sponsors no later than October 15 of odd-numbered years. All courses must be renewed with the commission 45 days prior to the offering of the course for credit.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSEES

All licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years. Currently, licensees are required to complete 20 contact hours of continuing education. Of those hours, 8 hours must be designated continuing education (DCE) and 12 hours elective continuing education (ECE).

Beginning February 1, 2008 all new licensees will be required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education within one year of being licensed.

CHANGES IN COURSE CONTENT

Any change in the content or materials used in a certified course may be implemented immediately if it is based on a United States Supreme Court or Alaska Supreme Court decision or a change in the policy of a financial institution or agency and that has a specific effective date. This change must be reported to the commission within 15 days after receipt of the public memorandum or press release.

Any other substantive change must be submitted as an amendment to an approved course outline 45 days before the first offering date of the course.

CORRESPONDENCE COURSES

Correspondence courses include all courses taught outside the classroom setting.

In addition to meeting the requirements set forth in 12 AAC 64.420 the sponsor must:

- submit a copy of the complete course materials including published texts and audio/visual tapes.
- submit written instructions for completing each lesson.
- provide copy of the final exam or project activity.

CONTINUING EDUCATION CATALOG

A searchable catalog of all approved continuing education courses is available on the commission web site at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission*.



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Real Estate Commission

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Initial Course Application

Required Fees:	Course Approval	Fee (Per Credit Hour)				\$50.00
PART II P	ersonal Informati	on				
Course Owner/Sponsor:						
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City			State	Zip
Contact:			Phor	e Number:		
and Professional Licensi	ng, I agree to maintain an accu	dence on any matter affecting my rate email address through the M n an inability to receive crucial info	IY LICENSE web pa	ige. I understan	d that fail	ure to check my email account o
Email Address:			Selec	t One:		y Correspondence Electronically v Correspondence by Mail
	<u> </u>	are selected above, you will	receive corresp	ondence elect	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	<u> </u>	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec.	receive corresp	ondence elect	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	d, in order to receive opti st.state.ak.us/mailman/li	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec.	receive correspont the Real Esta	ondence elect	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	d, in order to receive opti st.state.ak.us/mailman/li	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec.	receive correspont the Real Esta	ondence elect te Commission it Hours lested:*	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	d, in order to receive opticit.state.ak.us/mailman/li Durse Information Real Estate Sales	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec. Property	receive correspond the Real Esta Cred Requ Con Sale	ondence elect te Commission it Hours rested:*	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	d, in order to receive opticit.state.ak.us/mailman/li Durse Information Real Estate Sales	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec. Property Management	receive correspond the Real Esta Cred Requ Con Sale	ondence elect te Commission it Hours rested:*	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
I understand at https://lis	d, in order to receive opticit.state.ak.us/mailman/li Durse Information Real Estate Sales	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec. Property Management	receive correspond the Real Esta Cred Requ Con Sale	ondence elect te Commission it Hours rested:*	Send m	y Correspondence by Mail
PART III Course Title: Course Title: Core Content Area: How will this cour	d, in order to receive opti	ional communications from istinfo/commerce-rec. Property Management	cred Requested Constant Consta	it Hours rested:* nmercial	Send m ronically on, I mu	y Correspondence by Mail

^{*}Regardless of the number of courses taken in a single day, a student may not receive credit for more than ten hours of instruction per day.

PART III	Course Information (continued)	
Credit Type:	Salesperson Pre-Licensing Broker Pre-Licensing	Post Licensing Education
Credit Type.	☐ Elective Continuing Education ☐ Designated Continuing Education	ucation
Course Delivery	Classroom Correspondence	☐ Video
Method:	☐ Internet/Online ☐ Teleconferencing	
PART IV	Course Subject Information	
Indicate the app	propriate subject area that will be covered in this course and the amount of	time spent on each.
Topic Number	r Subject Area	Time
<u> </u>	Licensee Relationships	
2	Closing Transactions	
<u> </u>	Common Interest Ownership and Resale Certificates Required Under A	AS 34.08.590
4	Communications, Negotiations, and Real Estate Counseling Skills	
<u> </u>	Repealed 6/28/1997	
<u> </u>	Contracts	
7	Energy Conservation	
8	Health, Safety, Environmental Issues and ADA Compliance	
9	Fair Housing, and Equal Opportunity Laws	
<u> </u>	Financing Real Estate	
<u> </u>	Foreclosure, Judgements and Bankruptcy	
<u> </u>	International Real Estate Transactions	
13	Land Use, Planning, Zoning and Building Codes	
1 4	Legal Descriptions	
1 5	Listing Responsibilities	
<u> </u>	Marketing Property	
<u> </u>	New Construction	
18	Prohibited Conduct	
1 9	Property Disclosure and Inspections	
<u> </u>	Residential Property Management	

Course Subject Information (continued) **Topic Number Subject Area** Time 21 **Property Valuation** Real Estate Brokerage Management 22 23 Real Estate Investment Analysis 24 Real Estate Property Law 25 Real Estate License Law Securities 26 27 Title Insurance and Lien Law 28 **Trust Account Management** 29 Trusts, Estates and Probate 30 **Ethical Decision Making in Real Estate Transactions Community Association Management** 31 32 **Community Association Documents** 33 Risk Management Alaska Landlord Tenant Law 34 **Customer Client Services** 35 36 **Commercial Property Management** 37 Tax Law and Exchanges 38 **Broker Disclosure Responsibility** 39 **Broker Supervision** 40 **Broker Trust Account Responsibility** П 41 Organizing and Managing a Real Estate Offices Is this course required to earn or maintain a nationally recognized professional designation? Yes ☐ No If yes, check all that apply. Attach proof that the course is being taught by an instructor certified by a national organization to deliver the course and a list of designations offered, and the courses required for each designation. ■ NAR ☐ IRWA ☐ IREM Other: _ Is this course approved by ARELLO/IDECC? Yes ☐ No If yes, attach proof of course approval.

PART IV

PART IV	Course Subject Information (continued)		
	eing offered by an accredited college or university? proof of course approval.	Yes	☐ No

Courses developed by national organizations that issue professional designations in specific areas of licensed real estate practice and that are required to earn or maintain a nationally recognized professional designation and courses in subject areas identified in 12 AAC 64.500 offered by an accredited college or university will not be charged a course approval fee and credit will be recognized equal to the number of hours of actual class time, excluding examinations, up to a maximum of 12 hours per course.

PART V Course Outline, Learning Objectives, Teaching Technique

Detail the sequence of topics, time spent on each topic, learning objectives* for each topic and method of instruction. If you choose to submit your own outline, it must include all of the pertinent information listed below. (See example)

to submit your own outline, it must include all of the pertinent information listed below. (See example)				
Time Segment	Segment Discussion	Learning Objective What will the attendee be able to do after completing the course?	Teaching Technique	
9:00-10:00		Evaluate	Lecture/Video	
10:00-10:30		Identify	Lecture/Group Exercise	
Time Segment	Segment Discussion	Learning Objective What will the attendee be able to do after completing the course?	Teaching Technique	

Course Outline, Learning Objectives, Teaching Technique (continued) **PART V Learning Objective Time Segment Segment Discussion Teaching Technique** What will the attendee be able to do after completing the course?

 $^{{}^*\}mathit{To}$ provide additional course information, make copies of this page as needed.

PA	KI VI CO	urse Schedule			
Provide information about course offering dates. Course offered by request only.					
	Date	Location	Time	In	structor*
*If the	instructor is no	ot already certified by the Alaska Real Estate Commission, t	hey must apply before to	eaching an	y approved course
PA	RT VII R	equired Documents			
appro	oved until the	ndicated, all documents must be submitted with the coucourse application packets are complete. All applications are may not be advertised for credit until approval by the con	must be submitted 45 d		
		Attachments			Office Use Only
	Completed a	pplication, submitted at least 45 days prior to course offeri	ng.		
	COURSE APP	ROVAL FEE: \$50.00 per credit hour requested			
	Course mate	rials (including handouts, text materials, overheads, pamph	nlets and brochures)		
	course delive	ertificate of Completion. Must include student name, co ered, location of course, type of course [DCE, ECE, PLE, etc.] /sponsor, signature of instructor, and instructor certificatio	, expiration date of cour		
	Explanation (of Attendance Policy and Provision for Class Make-Up.			
	Sample Attendance Record form.				
	Course/Instru	uctor Evaluation form.			
	Provision for Correspondence (if applicable).				
П	☐ Final exam and answer key (if applicable).				

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Real Estate Commission

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Applicant Name:				
PART VIII Agr	eement			
	the person herein named and subscribing to this application. I w the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained are true and correct.	•		
I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, registration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.				
I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.				
Applicant Signature:		Date Signed:		

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

Credit Card Payment Form

All major crodit carde a	are acconted For cocurity nurneces	s do not email credit card information	Include this credit card naumon

form with your application.			
Name of Applicant or Licensee:			
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	License Num	ber (if applicable):	
I wish to make payment by credit car	d for the following (check all that apply):		AMOUNT
Application Fee:			
License or Renewal Fee:			
Other (fine, exam, etc.):			
1.			
2.			
		TOTAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):			
Mailing Address:			
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		·	
08-4438 (Rev. 11/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards	accepted)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be processed un	less all fields a	re completed.
1. Credit Card Number:		All 3 fields MU	IST be completed.