
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
STATE OF ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT 
DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
550 WEST 7TH AVENUE, SUITE 1500 
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Telephone:  (907) 269-8162   Fax:  (907) 269-8156 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
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Please complete this form and return it with appropriate documentation and fee.  Make check or money order payable 
to: “State of Alaska”. 

I.  Licensee Information 
 
Name:  _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:________________________________________________________________________ 
  
City: ____________________________________       State:  _____________  Zip:  _________ 
 
License Number: ______________              Date of Birth:  ___________________ 
 
Phone Number:  ______________________    Email Address:  ____________________________ 

 
II.  Post Licensing Education 

 
 Your license will lapse unless you have met the continued competency requirements in 

12 AAC 64.064(d), “Post-Licensing Education”. If you fail to comply with the post-licensing     
requirements, your license will lapse and you will be required to reinstate your license per 
08.88.241(a). 

 
 You must attach copies of certificates verifying completion of at least thirty (30) contact 

hours of post-licensing education. 
 
 You must submit a $30.00 post-licensing certification and new license document fee 

pursuant to 12 AAC 02.360 
 

I have attached acceptable proof of thirty (30) hours of post-licensing education      Yes      No 
 

I have included the $30.00 fee pursuant to AS 08.08.095 and 12 AAC 02.360          Yes      No 
 

WARNING 
 

 Alaska Statute 11.56.210 states that any person who knowingly furnishes false or fraudulent information in 
this application is subject to imprisonment for not more than one year, a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. 

 Per 12 AAC 64.160, making false or fraudulent representation or material misstatement on an application for 
license, renewal or examination is grounds for revocation, suspension or denial of a license. 

 
I, the licensee, certify the information, in this application, to be true and correct. 

 
SIGN AND DATE HERE    ►                       
          Signature                   Date 

 
08-4326 (4/2013) 

ZSU

It is the responsibility of the licensee to complete this form, provide a copy of their Post Licensing Education 
(PLE) certificates along with a $30.00 fee and submit to the Alaska Real Estate Commission by the PLE 
expiration date indicated on their license. THE COURSE PROVIDER OR INSTRUCTOR DOES NOT SUBMIT 
THIS FORM OR PLE CERTIFICATES ON THE LICENSEE’S BEHALF. 



 
 
 
12 AAC 64.064. EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS AFTER INITIAL LICENSE.  
(a) In addition to the education requirements of 12 AAC 64.063 for an initial license and the continuing education 
requirements under 12 AAC 64.500 for license renewal, within one year after the date that the commission issues an initial 
license to a real estate licensee under this chapter, the licensee shall complete 30 hours of education that meets the applicable 
requirements of (b) or (c) of this section. (b) After initial licensure as a salesperson, to meet the real estate education 
requirements of AS 08.88.095 and this section, the salesperson must complete the following course modules:  

(1) contracts and agreements: nine contact hours covering  
(A) purchase and sale agreements;  
(B) addendum and amendments;  
(C) counteroffers;  
(D) contingencies;  
(E) multiple offers;  
(F) back up offers;  
(G) differences between residential, land, and commercial transactions; and  
(H) personal service agreements; 
(I)   negotiation and counseling;  

(2) property management: three contact hours covering  
(A) landlord tenant act;  
(B) rental, lease, and occupancy of residential and commercial properties;  
(C) associations;  
(D) cooperatives;  
(E) personal service agreements, management agreements, and lease listing agreements; and  
(F) security deposit statements;  

(3) license law: three contact hours covering  
(A) consumer pamphlet and waiver;  
(B) ethics;  
(C) surety fund;  
(D) confidentiality; and  
(E) conflict of interest;  

(4) paperwork and risk management: six contact hours covering  
(A) mandatory and area specific property disclosure;  
(B) environmental issues;  
(C) zoning;  
(D) covenants, conditions, and restrictions;  
(E) title reports;  
(F) resale certificates and public offering statements;  
(G) home inspections and repair negotiations;  
(H) surveys; and  
(I) record keeping;  

(5) evaluation and pricing: four contact hours covering;  
(A) competitive market analysis and appraisals; and  
(B) showing property; 
(C) marketing to buyers and sellers  

(6) financing to closing: five contact hours covering  
(A) the importance and differences of pre-approval letters and pre-qualifications, good faith estimates, and 
loan types, including Internet lending programs;  
(B) review of settlement statements, security deposit transfers, rent prorations, seller net proceeds, and 
variations in loan costs;  
(C) the closing process; and  
(D) good funds law 
(E) predatory lending practices.  

(c) Except for a person issued an initial license as a real estate broker as described in AS 08.88.095(f) after initial licensure 
as a broker or associate broker, to meet the real estate education requirements of AS 08.88.095 and this section, the broker 
or associate broker must complete the following course modules:  

(1) surety fund, trust account, and general accounts: seven contact hours covering  
(A) surety fund issues, including case studies on misrepresentation, conversion of trust fund, fraud, and 
deceit;  
(B) trust accounts, different types of accounts, and how to set up and manage trust accounts;  
(C) general accounts; and  
(D) the importance of good record keeping;  

(2) practical office management: eight contact hours covering  



(A) setting up an office, including types of ownership, office procedures, checklists, general office policy, 
file review and management, compliance with state law requirements, and licensee relationships manual; 
and  
(B) the importance of regulation and statute changes, fair housing and diversity issues, employment 
contracts with licensees, how to handle complaints, risk management and legal liability, and errors and 
omissions insurance;  

(3) practical supervision: eight contact hours covering  
(A) broker responsibilities;  
(B) state requirements;  
(C) office policy and procedures manual (state required and practical application);  
(D) communication;  
(E) transaction management;  
(F) final file review;  
(G) licensee safety;  
(H) checklists;  
(I) disclosures, including property, licensee relationship, consumer pamphlet and waiver, and buying or 
selling the licensee’s own property; and  
(J) strategic alliance and business relationships in compliance with the law;  

(4) risk management: seven contact hours covering  
(A) basic office procedures for risk management; and  
(B) supervision failure, complaints, licensee relationships, confidentiality issues, and conflict of interest.  

(d) Within 30 days after the end of the one-year period specified in (a) of this section, a real estate licensee  must submit  
(1) certification on a form provided by the department, that the licensee has completed the applicable educational 
requirements of (b) or (c) of this section; and  
(2) the post-license education certification and new license document fee established in 
 12 AAC 02.360.  

(e) A licensee who uses a course to meet the education requirements of this section may not use the same course hours to 
meet the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 64.500. However, an applicant for renewal of a real estate license 
who is not subject to the requirements of this section may receive continuing education credit for completion of a course 
listed under this section.  
(f) For the purposes of AS 08.88.095 and this section,  

(1) one contact hour equals a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction;  
(2) one academic semester credit hour equals 15 contact hours;  
(3) one academic quarter credit hour equals 10 contact hours 


