THE STATE
of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Board of Veterinary Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

Veterinary Student Permit Application Instructions

An individual must hold a veterinary student permit before beginning an externship in the state per 12 AAC 68.500 and 08.98.188.

A student permit issued under this section is nonrenewable and is valid for one year from the date of issue or until the date of the
applicant’s graduation from the applicant’s accredited college of veterinary medicine, whichever occurs first.

Please read the application, statutes, regulations, and all instructions carefully. It is your responsibility to be aware of licensing
requirements and provide all necessary documentation. No permit will be issued until your application file is complete.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Veterinary Student Permit can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION
A signed, completed application (#08-4534, pages 1-2).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”
Nonrefundable Student Permit Fee: $125.00
Total Fees Due: $125.00

3. DECLARATION OF SPONSORSHIP
Completed and signed Declaration of Sponsorship of Veterinary Student form (#08-4534a).

4. VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION
A Verification of Education and Good Standing form (#08-4534b) received by the division from the dean of the applicant’s
veterinary school, verifying applicant is in fourth year of veterinary school.
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General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office
complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and
all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in
advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not
expect immediate review.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address
or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the division
will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your
current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is
issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption
from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division for a
copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential
by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website:
Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your
name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov

12 AAC68.500. Student permit. (a) The board will issue a student permit to an applicant who meets the requirements of AS 08.98.188
and this section.
(b) An applicant for a student permit under this section must submit to the department
(1) a complete application, on a form provided by the department;
(2) the applicable fees established in 12 AAC 02.350;
(3) aletter of good standing from the dean of the applicant’s accredited college of veterinary medicine
verifying the applicant is in the applicant’s fourth year of veterinary school; and
(4) a signed sponsor statement from a veterinarian licensed in this state stating that the veterinarian will supervise the
student as specified in AS 08.98.188
(c) A student permitee must be sponsored by a specific veterinarian licensed in this state, but may work under the appropriate
supervision of another veterinarian licensed in this state in the same practice as the sponsor.
(d) A student permit issued under this section is nonrenewable and is valid for one year from the date of issue or until the date
of the applicant’s graduation from the applicant’s accredited college of veterinary medicine, whichever occurs first per AS 08.98.050
and AS 08.98.188.
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"ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Veterinary Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Website: ProfessionallLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

Veterinary Student Permit Application

.\;:y§ Bl Payment of Fees

Required Fees: [ student Permit Fee ($125 is Non-Refundable) $125.00

4NN Personal Information

Full Legal Name:

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s).

[J Not Applicable
[] other Names Used:

Mailing Address:

Contact Phone: Date of Birth:

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business
and Professional Licensing, | agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. | understand that failure to check my email account or
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.

A Send my Correspondence Electronicall
Email Address: Select One: 0 i 2 i

D Send my Correspondence by Mail

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.

:7:\\:qM ||/l Education

Date Attended From | Date Attended To

Name of School City and State
y (mm/yyyy) (mm/yyyy)

Alaska Law

] | hereby certify | have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS
08.98 and 12 AAC 68).
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THE STATE

"ALASKA

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Veterinary Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Website: ProfessionallLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

Signature Page

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

VET

Applicant Name:

Alaska License Number
(if known):

|:| Application in Process

4R Agreement

submitted herewith are true and correct.

disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

of unsworn falsification.

I hereby certify that | am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that | have read the complete application,
and | know the full content thereof. | declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents

| understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or
falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise

| further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:
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THE STATE

of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Veterinary Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

Declaration of Sponsorship of Veterinary Student Externship

. Complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the sponsorin
—_— Appllcant: p ying py p g

veterinarian.

Applicant Name: Date of Birth:
Applicant Signature: Date Signed:

Provide the information requested below for the applicant identified in this form and return the form
—> Sponsor: d PP

directly to the Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners at the letterhead address.

Sponsor Name:

License Number:

Sponsorship Start Date:

Sponsorship End Date:

Practice Name:

Email:

Phone:

|:| | will be directly supervising this student.

-OR-

|:| Another licensed veterinarian at this practice will be directly supervising this student.

Supervisor Name:

License Number:

Is the supervising veterinarian listed supervising another student at any
point during the time frame listed?

[0 Yes

[0 No

the direct supervision of a veterinarian licensed in this state'.

If yes, please explain the plan to comply with 08.98.188(c)(3) 'not more than one student permit holder at a time may be under

|:| | hereby certify | have reviewed, understand and will abide by AS 08.98.188 in my role as sponsoring veterinarian.
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| hereby certify that the above information is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Sponsor Name:

Sponsor Signature: Date Signed:

Sec. 08.98.188. Student permit. (a) The board may approve the issuance of a student permit to a student enrolled in and in good standing at an
accredited college of veterinary medicine who has completed three years of study and is participating in an externship program as part of the
college's educational curriculum.
(b) A student permit is valid for not longer than one year and may not extend beyond the student's graduation.
(c) A holder of a student permit is subject to the following limitations:
(1) assistance in diagnosis and surgery must be under the immediate supervision of a veterinarian licensed in this state;
(2) assistance in treatment must be under the direct or indirect supervision of a veterinarian licensed in this state;
(3) not more than one student permit holder at a time may be under the direct supervision of a veterinarian licensed in this state; and
(4) a veterinary practice may not retain more than two student permit holders at a time.
(d) The board shall establish requirements for student permits by regulation.
(e) A person holding a permit under this section is not subject to provisions of this chapter other than this section.
(f) In this section,
(1) "direct supervision" means the supervising veterinarian is on the premises where the animal is being treated and is quickly and easily
available;
(2) "immediate supervision" means the supervising veterinarian is in the immediate area and within audible and visual range of the animal
patient and the person treating the patient;
(3) "indirect supervision" means the supervising veterinarian does not need to be on the premises but has given either written or oral
instructions for the treatment of the animal;
(4) "veterinary practice" means a business that provides veterinary services.
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THE STATE
of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Board of Veterinary Examiners
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

Verification of Education and Good Standing

5 . . Complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the Dean of your
Appllcant' AVMA accredited veterinary school where your degree is being pursued.

Applicant Name: Date of Birth:
Applicant Signature: Date Signed:

Provide the information requested below for the applicant identified in this form and return the form
—> School: d PP

directly to the Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners at the letterhead address.

School Name:

Start Date of Program: Expected Graduation Date:

[] 1 hereby certify that the student named above is a veterinary student in their fourth year of education

| : Signature: Date Signed:
|
| I
| |'| Printed Name: Title:
| |
|
: | | Email: Phone:
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

State of Alaska
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this credit card payment
form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture): License Number (if applicable):

| wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT

|:| Application Fee:

|:| License or Renewal Fee:

|:| Other (fine, exam, etc.):

ToTAL: ()

Name (as shown on credit card):

Mailing Address:

Phone Number: Email (Optional):

Signature of Credit Card Holder: X
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CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed.

1. Credit Card Number:
All 3 fields MUST be completed.

o BAEL LS This section will be destroyed after the

payment is processed.

3. Security Code:
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