Skip to content
Back to Top

Tourism Development and Marketing

AlaskaHost Pin

Artwork by Rie Muñoz

What is AlaskaHost?

AlaskaHost is a statewide customer service training program for employees of the hospitality and visitor services industry. The program trains participants how to provide quality customer service for residents and visitors to Alaska.

AlaskaHost Objectives

The objectives of the AlaskaHost class are to:

  • Understand the importance of providing quality customer service;
  • Recognize and anticipate customer needs and expectations;
  • Understand and communicate the economic value of the visitor industry to the State of Alaska;
  • Learn how to deal with dissatisfied customers in a professional, helpful manner.

Overview of AlaskaHost Customer Service Training (October 5, 2015)

State of Alaska Tourism Training Programs Workshop (October 5, 2015)

AlaskaHost Program

Completion of AlaskaHost

Upon completion of the Customer Service Essentials course, participants receive a course certificate and lapel pin, featuring the artwork of, Alaskan artist, Rie Muñoz.

AlaskaHost Classes Current AlaskaHost Trainers
Master Trainers Seminar Leaders
Anchorage

Brenda Carlson
Visit Anchorage
(907) 276-4118
bcarlson@anchorage.net

Dr. Charles Iliff
Professor Emeritus
UAA College of Business & Public Policy
(907) 315-4406
bci_alaska@yahoo.com

Ann Lawrence
Cook Inlet Tribal Council
Phone (907) 793-3281
alawrence@citci.com

Nancy Darrington
McLaughlin Secondary School
(907) 742-8100
darrington_nancy@asdk12.org

Tony Nakazawa
UAF Cooperative Extension Service
(907) 786-6323
atnakazawa@alaska.edu

Dana Thorp Patterson
Director of UAA Continuing Education Department - Community & Technical College
(907) 786-6791
dmthorppatterson@uaa.alaska.edu

Steve Rader
Director of Sales and Marketing at Hilton Anchorage
(907) 265-7128
steve.rader@hilton.com

Jasmin Smith
Owner/Small Business Development Consultant
Certified Hospitality Department Trainer
The Business Boutique
(907) 230-4968
info@thebusinessboutique.org
www.thebusinessboutique.org

Ruth Tong
Cook Inlet Tribal Council
(907) 793-3600
rtong@citci.com

David Walberg
Alaska Geotourism
(907) 223-6745
djwalbergster@gmail.com

Bristol Bay Borough Fairbanks Glennallen/Copper Valley Homer Juneau Ketchikan Palmer/Wasilla Sitka Unalaska
Trainer Materials Scheduled Classes Contact Us