Skip to content
Back to Top

Commissioner's Office

Commissioner Hladick

Chris Hladick

Acting Commissioner Parady

Fred Parady
Deputy Commissioner

Commissioner Chris Hladick

As Commissioner of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Chris Hladick oversees six divisions and seven corporate agencies. He serves on the boards of the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, Alaska Marine Pilots, Alaska Railroad Corporation, and Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute. Commissioner Hladick also serves on the National Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee’s Arctic Working Group and on the Arctic Council’s Arctic Marine Cooperation taskforce. In 2011, Commissioner Hladick was appointed by the Alaska State Legislature to the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission. He is also an active member of the Alaska Municipal League and the Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference.

Commissioner Hladick came to the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development from Unalaska where he served as city manager for 14 years. He was directly responsible for the day-to-day operation of city services and for the city’s long-term planning goals. Under his leadership, the city built the Carl E. Moses Boat Harbor, renovated the Spit Dock, built the Coast Guard Dock and a new diesel powerhouse, laid asphalt on previously unpaved streets, and completed the elementary school. In 2011, he was selected by the Alaska Municipal League Board of Directors as the Municipal Employee of the Year.

Previously, Commissioner Hladick served as city manager in Dillingham, Alaska, and as the city manager and public works director in Galena, Alaska.

Office Contacts
Chris Hladick Commissioner (907) 465-2500
Fred Parady Deputy Commissioner (907) 465-2500
Micaela Fowler Legislative Liaison (907) 465-2503
Abigail Enghirst Special Assistant (907) 269-8159
Linda Mattson Executive Secretary (907) 465-2500
FAX Number   907) 269-8125