Skip to content
Back to Top

Offices Closed to Public

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices are closed to the public at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Regulation of Athletic Trainers

The athletic trainer licensing program is administered by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts regulations to carry out laws governing athletic trainers in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws. This program was enacted by the Alaska State Legislature (HB 160 History), (AS 08.07.010) in 2014 and went into effect on September 16, 2014.

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact AthleticTrainers@Alaska.Gov.

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: AthleticTrainers@Alaska.Gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

An athletic trainer license is required for all practitioners in the State of Alaska by July 1, 2017.

An athletic trainer must be certified by the Board of Certification for Athletic Trainers to qualify for licensure.

The practice of athletic training includes:

  • the treatment of an athlete for an athletic injury or illness prevention;
  • the clinical evaluation and assessment of an athlete for an athletic injury or illness sustained or exacerbated while participating in an athletic or sport-related exercise or activity;
  • the immediate care and treatment of an athlete for an athletic injury or illness sustained or exacerbated while participating in an athletic or sport-related exercise or activity;
  • the rehabilitation and reconditioning of an athlete for an athletic injury or illness sustained or exacerbated while participating in an athletic or sport-related exercise or activity.

Board of Certification (BOC)

1415 Harney Street #200
Omaha, NE 68102
Website: bocatc.org

National Organization

National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA)
1620 Valwood Parkway #115
Carrollton TX 75006
Website: nata.org/

State Organization

Alaska Athletic Trainers Association
Website: aatawebsite.com/

Contact Information

Dawn Dulebohn, Licensing Examiner
Phone: (907) 465-3811
Email: AthleticTrainers@Alaska.Gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806