Skip to content
Back to Top

Real Estate Commission

Public Notice:

Notice of Proposed Regulations

The Real Estate Commission proposes regulation changes dealing with the consumer disclosure form, the waiver of right to be represented form, and the property disclosure form which have been updated and are adopted by reference.

Written comments deadline: 4:30 p.m. on June 24, 2024

How to Reinstate a Lapsed License

Real Estate licenses cannot be renewed after 1/31/2024 but must be reinstated to continue real estate activities. There is no grace period - it is illegal to work or conduct real estate activities when their license is in a LAPSED status.

To reinstate your license, you will need to submit to our office either by fax, or US Mail:

  1. Complete Application to Change License Status, pages 1-5 including,
  2. Employing Broker Information page
  3. Copy of your 20 hrs. of Continuing Education certificates for 2022-2024. This LINK indicates the 8 hours DCE (designated continuing education) topics you will need to complete as well as the 12 hours of ECE (elective continuing education).
  4. Verification of E & O Insurance; and
  5. Fee of $290.00, ($120.00 renewal fee, $50.00 recovery fund fee, and $120.00 reinstatement fee)
  6. *We DO NOT accept applications and/or payments by email due to security reasons.

Hard Copy License Certificates Discontinued

The division has expanded our online services to allow licensees to download their own license certificates on demand. As a result, the division no longer mails hardcopy license certificates. The certificates will be located under the “initial application” and “renewal” events in the MY LICENSE account.

If you need guidance on how to set up or access your MY LICENSE account, you can access the MY LICENSE instructions here.

Our Mission

The mission of the Alaska Real Estate Commission is to protect the public interest by licensing practitioners and enforcing the established standards, to promote professional excellence in the real estate industry, and to support and encourage licensees.

Who We Are

The Alaska Real Estate Commission consists of five real estate brokers or associate brokers and two public members. Commission members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature. The Alaska Real Estate Commission is a Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing located at:

Alaska Real Estate Commission
Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W 7th Ave #1500
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-8168
Email: RealEstateCommission@Alaska.Gov
Do not email applications or payments

What We Do

The Commission adopts regulations to implement the laws governing the practice of real estate in Alaska. The Commission also approves education courses and instructors, makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary action against those who violate licensing laws.

The Commission meets quarterly and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Agendas for upcoming Commission meetings are available on this website.

We encourage you to review and use the various options presented on this website.

AREC Listserv Now Available!

Subscribe to the Alaska Real Estate Commission electronic mailing list and receive:

  • News/Information from the Commission
  • Meeting Notifications and Agendas
  • Position Statements
  • Notice of Proposed Changes to Regulations

You may cancel your subscription at any time. You are subscribing to a group email for informal communications.

Subscribe Now

REMINDER: If you wish to be added to the "Interested Parties List" in order to receive official notification of proposed regulation changes, you must send your request to the regulations specialist by email at RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov. Please include your name, mailing address (not email address), and the occupational area in which you are interested.