Big Game Commercial Services Board


IMPORTANT GUIDE USE AREA REGISTRATION REMINDER:

YOUR GUIDE USE AREA REGISTRATION APPLICATION WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED COMPLETE UNTIL CURRENT LAND USE AUTHORIZATION FROM THE LAND OWNER OR LAND MANAGER AND A REGISTERED GUIDE-OUTFITTER SWORN STATEMENT OF LAND USE AUTHORIZATION IS SUBMITTED. IF CURRENT AUTHORIZATION IS ALREADY ON FILE, THIS WILL BE ACCEPTABLE, HOWEVER, YOU SHOULD CHECK WITH THE DEPARTMENT TO VERIFY THAT VALID DOCUMENTATION EXISTS. VALID LAND USE AUTHORIZATION DOCUMENTATION MUST SPECIFY THE GUIDE USE AREA(S) ON WHICH YOU ARE AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT SERVICES, AND MUST ALSO CONFIRM CURRENT USE TO CONDUCT GUIDED HUNTS ON AT LEAST 5,000 ACRES OF LAND. THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF YOUR REGISTRATION WILL BE 30 DAYS AFTER YOUR APPLICATION IS COMPLETE. THIS IS SPECIFICALLY REQUIRED BY THE BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD IN AS 08.54.750 AND 12 AAC 75.230(d). THERE WILL BE NO EXCEPTIONS.


Updated and now available:


Public Notice:   Regulation Changes Effective 11/26/2016

Contracting Guides and Transporters

  • $50 Filing Fee per Hunt Record/Transporter Activity Report Form expired 11/26/2016. Continue to use this form to pay for hunt and transporter records from 2016 and earlier.
  • $300 Annual Filing Fee will become effective January 1st, 2017 and be due January 1st-March 31st of every year. Use this form to pay for hunt and transporter records for 2017 and for subsequent years.

Director's Letter Regarding Fee Changes

New Regulation Changes

Hunt and Transporter Record Annual Filing Fee Form

Annual Filing Fee Quick Facts


2017 Active Intensive Management Unit and Species Update


2016 Big Game Commercial Services Financial Report to the Legislature


  Financial Report  


In the interest of the state's wildlife resources, the Big Game Commercial Services Board adopts regulations governing the big game commercial service industry in Alaska.

The Board makes final licensing decision and takes disciplinary actions against persons who violate licensing laws.

The Big Game Commercial Services Board is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

The Big Game Commercial Services Board consists of two licensed Registered Guide-Outfitters, two licensed Transporters, two private landholders, two public members, and one member from the Board of Game.

Board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature.


Regulated Professions

  • Assistant Guide
  • Class-A Assistant Guide
  • Master Guide-Outfitter
  • Registered Guide-Outfitter
  • Retired Guide-Outfitter
  • Transporter

Important Note For Guides Regarding Drawing Hunt Permit Applications:

Some hunts require a signed guide-client agreement before or at the time of drawing hunt permit applications. For these hunts, guides must have a current GUA registration on file for all or a portion of the area prior to the client applying for the drawing hunt permit.

Bear hide and skull Question:

  1. If a client leaves the field and goes back to town does the guide need a transfer of possession form filled out for the bear hide and skull?
  2. Does the temporary sealing certificate suffice for a transfer of possession form?

Alaska Wildlife Troopers Answer:

The two forms perform two very separate and distinct purposes and cannot be used in lieu of each other.

  1. The hide and/or skull of a brown bear are considered parts of a game animal and as such a transfer of possession must be filled out and remain with the items under 5AAC 92.135. An individual who fails to complete a transfer of possession form is guilty of a class A misdemeanor since this regulation is not listed under Rule 43.2 as a bailable violation.
  2. Both the client and guide may be charged under this regulation.
  3. A temporary bear sealing certificate must be filled out under 5aac 92.165(d) if the client is unable to personally present the hide and skull in person to a department representative within 30 days after taking.
  4. The guide and client who do not fill out and sign a temporary sealing certificate may be issued an AUC for $100.00, under Rule 43.2. The guide may also be issued a misdemeanor summons under A.S. 08.54.740(a), reference A.S. 08.54.710.
  5. The main answer is both forms must be filled out and completed if the client is no longer in the field or is not in possession of the bear hide and skull.

Important Note For Guides Regarding Drawing Hunt Permit Applications: Some hunts require a signed guide-client agreement before or at the time of drawing hunt permit applications. For these hunts, guides must have a current GUA registration on file for all or a portion of the area prior to the client applying for the drawing hunt permit.


Unique Verification Code (UVC) Information for Guides


Board of Game


Training Courses

  • Board-Approved Assistant Guide Training Courses:

FYI Guide Use Area 13-2


Contact Information

Licensing Examiner: Heather Noe
heather.noe@alaska.gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2543
Fax: (907) 465-2974