Skip to content
Back to Top

Dispensing Opticians

Public Notice:

Notice of Adopted Changes to the Regulations for Dispensing Opticians

On October 17, 2019, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing adopted regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code. The regulations concern occupational licensing fees for dispensing opticians, and dispensing optician apprentices.

The regulation changes were reviewed and approved by the Department of Law, signed and filed by the Lieutenant Governor on November 25, 2019, and will go into effect December 25, 2019. Please click HERE to see the filed version of the regulations.

On October 17, 2019, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing adopted regulation changes to Title 12, Chapter 30 of the Alaska Administrative Code. The regulations concern dispensing opticians licensing, dispensing optician apprentice registration, continuing competency requirements, and repeal of certain regulations.

The regulation changes were reviewed and approved by the Department of Law, signed and filed by the Lieutenant Governor on November 25, 2019, and will go into effect December 25, 2019. Please click HERE to see the filed version of the regulations.

The new regulation changes will be printed in Register 232, January 2020 of the Alaska Administrative Code.

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact dispensingopticians@alaska.gov

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: dispensingopticians@alaska.gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

License Applications

Dispensing Optician Application for Licensure
#08-4151, Revised 06/19/19.

Dispensing Optician Apprentice Registration Application
#08-4002, Revised 03/29/19.

Renewal Application

Dispensing Optician Biennial License Renewal
#08-4239 Revised 05/06/19.

Miscellaneous Forms

Important Notice Regarding Telemedicine:

Following SB74, businesses engaged in the practice of telemedicine are required to register for placement on the Telemedicine Business Registry (TBR) through the Professional Licensing Section. Please click here to access the application and additional information regarding the registry. Please note that the application is for businesses rather than individual licensees to register; if you have any questions regarding scope of practice requirements or limitations regarding telemedicine, please contact the Board or program’s Occupational Licensing Examiner.

Notice Regarding Education Options for Dispensing Optician Licensure

To qualify for a dispensing optician license under AS 08.71.110(b), the Alaska Dispensing Optician Program accepts associate-level education from a recognized school or college of opticianry in lieu of training otherwise required under an apprentice registration. A recognized school or college of opticianry includes programs accepted by:

Click here for a list of recognized schools.

Information Regarding Examinations

Spectacles

  • To qualify for a dispensing optician license to dispense spectacles, you must complete the National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE). Click here to access the candidate handbook, or visit abo-ncle.org
  • To qualify for a dispensing optician license to dispense spectacles, you must also complete the Career Progression Program offered by the National Academy of Opticianry. Click here for more information: nao.org

Contact Lenses

  • To qualify for a dispensing optician license to dispense contact lenses, you must complete the Contact Lens Registry Examination (CLRE). Click here to access the candidate handbook, or visit abo-ncle.org
  • To qualify for a dispensing optician license to dispense contact lenses, you must also complete the Contact Lens Manual: Volume 1 study and reference guide provided by the Contact Lens Society of America. Click here for more information: clsa.info

Alaska Statutes are passed by the Legislature. Regulations (also called the Alaska Administrative Code) are rules adopted by the board to implement, interpret, and make specific the statutes. Both statutes and regulations have the force of law.

AS 08.71 and regulations 12 AAC 30 specifically govern dispensing optician practice. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

Proposed regulations are advertised in Alaska newspapers and we invite public comment on them. If you would like to receive notice of proposed regulations, please write to the regulations specialist and request that your name be added to the Dispensing Optician interested parties list. Please advise us if you move or wish your name removed from the mailing list.

Contact Information

Emily Mesch, Licensing Examiner
Phone: (907) 465-2541
E-mail: emily.mesch@alaska.gov
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806