Skip to content
Back to Top

Regulation of Collection Agencies

The Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing staffs the collection agency program. The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts regulations to carry out laws governing collection agencies and collection agency operators in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws.

Regulated Professions

  • Collection Agency
  • Collection Agency Branch Office
  • Collection Agency Operator

Collection agencies must also obtain an Alaska Business License.

Public Notice:

Notice of Adopted Changes to the Regulations of DCCED/CBPL – Occupational licensing fees for collection agencies

On February 12, 2020, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopted regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code. The regulations concern occupational licensing fees for collection agencies.

The regulation changes were reviewed and approved by the Department of Law, signed and filed by the Lieutenant Governor on February 12, 2020, and will go into effect March 13, 2020. See copy of the filed version of the regulations below.

The new regulation changes will be printed in Register 233, April 2020 in the Alaska Administrative Code.

Filed Regulations

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact collectionagencies@alaska.gov

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: collectionagencies@alaska.gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

Out-of-State Agencies

Licensure is not required for an out-of-state agency when the agency is only seeking to make collections from debtors within the state of Alaska.

Licensure is required when an out-of-state agency collects claims or solicits to collect claims on behalf of creditors (clients) based in Alaska.

Letters of Exemption: The division will not issue letters regarding an agency’s exemption.
Out-of-State Collection Agencies are directed to review the licensing statute, in particular
AS 08.24.090 and AS 08.24.380 when making a determination to seek licensure in Alaska.

Initial License Applications

Renewal Applications

Miscellaneous Forms

Division forms may be found in the CBPL Quick links, located in the sidebar to the right.

Fingerprint Information

Statutes and Regulations

Alaska Statutes are passed by the Legislature. Regulations (also called the Alaska Administrative Code) are rules adopted by the department to implement, interpret, and make specific the statutes. Both statutes and regulations have the force of law.

AS 08.24 specifically applies to collection agencies and collection agency operators. AS 08.01 - 08.03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division.

Proposed regulations are advertised in Alaska newspapers and we invite public comment on them. If you would like to receive notice of proposed regulations, please write to the regulations specialist and request that your name be added to the Collection Agency interested parties list. Please advise us if you move or wish your name removed from the mailing list.

Contact Information

Emily Mesch, Licensing Examiner
Phone: (907) 465-2541
E-mail: Emily.Mesch@Alaska.gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806