Skip to content
Back to Top

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices in the Atwood Building and the Juneau State Office Building are closed to walk-in traffic at this time. We are still open for business and encourage you to contact us via phone or email.

Board of Veterinary Examiners

Fee Notice:

The division director has determined that license fees will not be increased during the COVID-19 emergency. If you have comments or questions about this decision, please email regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.

Public Notice:

Proposed Regulations Changes

The Department proposes to adopt regulation changes to the fees of the Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Written comments deadline, 4:30 p.m., March 27, 2020.

The Board of Veterinary Examiners is staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing. The Board consists of four veterinarians and one public member. Board members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Legislature.

Professions Regulated by the Board

  • Veterinarian
  • Veterinary Technician

Electronic Requests for License Verification

NOTE: This feature is for individuals who have registered with MY LICENSE and wish to pay the filing fee online with a credit card payment .

If you are not registered with MY LICENSE and would like information on how to register, please contact boardofveterinaryexaminers@alaska.gov

  1. Submit Your Request
    • Send your Request for License Verification to: boardofveterinaryexaminers@alaska.gov
    • Put the program along with your first and last name in the subject line.
    • The following information must be provided in the body of your email:
      • NAME: The name used when your professional license was last issued or renewed.
      • LICENSE NUMBER: Your professional license number.
      • SEND TO: Provide both the Board and/or Agency name along with a complete mailing address.
  2. Payment of Fees
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page.
    • A “Make a Payment” link will be available within your license details page under “Actions”.
    • A $20 filing fee is required for each verification of license.
  3. Completed Request
    • You will be sent a notification email with a link to your license details page when the request is completed.
    • Please allow up to 10 business days for processing after submitting your payment.

If you prefer to submit a check or money order, you may mail in the Request License Verification form.

New Requirements for Continuing Education

The following are criteria that the Board of Veterinary Examiners would like to see when considering CE courses or other such events (i.e.: trainings, conferences or symposiums) for approval:

  1. Instructor's CV
  2. Statement of the course intent.
  3. Course Outline, including the topics covered.
  4. Time Budget
  5. Statement of disclosure of a conflict of interest that would specifically address whether the instructors receive funding from a drug or device manufacturer; or other funding sources specific to the course of instruction

Relevant information can be submitted to boardofveterinaryexaminers@alaska.gov

Alaska's Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

CLICK HERE for more information about the Alaska PDMP.

Veterinarian Resources & Educational Information

Opioid Resources for Veterinarians

Important Notice Regarding Telemedicine:

Following SB74, businesses engaged in the practice of telemedicine are required to register for placement on the Telemedicine Business Registry (TBR) through the Professional Licensing Section. Please click here to access the application and additional information regarding the registry. Please note that the application is for businesses rather than individual licensees to register; if you have any questions regarding scope of practice requirements or limitations regarding telemedicine, please contact the Board or program’s Occupational Licensing Examiner.

The Board adopts regulations to carry out laws governing veterinary practice in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws. The Board meets three times a year and offers a public comment period at each meeting. Meeting agendas and minutes are available from the licensing examiner and will be posted to this website once prepared.

National Organizations

National organizations may provide information on the regulation of veterinary practice in other states.

Contact Information

Ilsa Lund, Licensing Examiner
Phone:(907) 465-1037
Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

American Associaton of Veterinary State Boards

380 West 22nd Street Suite 101
Kansas City, MO 64108
Telephone: (877) 698-8482
Fax: (877) 931-1604
Website: aavsb.org
E-mail: aavsb@aavsb.org