Skip to content
Back to Top

Special REAA Reapportionment for Yukon Flats and Yukon-Koyukuk School Districts

On June 20, 2022 Senate Bill 198 was signed into law. The bill states that “…Rampart School is part of the Yukon-Koyukuk School District regional educational attendance area for all purposes.” Therefore, DCCED has prepared the new boundary of the Yukon-Koyukuk School District (YKSD) to include the community of Rampart, in addition to the new boundaries for the Yukon Flats School District (YFSD) to remove the community of Rampart.

Further, the newly drawn boundaries require DCCED to review the section boundaries and school board apportionment schemes of each Regional Education Attendance Area to ensure they meet the standards contained at AS 14.08.051(a). 

Final Special REAA Recasting Report

Below are the newly proposed section boundaries for the YKSD and YFSD in addition to information about public comment and the public hearing.
All questions can be emailed to

51. Yukon Flats 52. Yukon-Koyukuk

2020 Regional Educational
Attendance Area (REAA)

A Regional Educational Attendance Area (REAA) is an educational area that is established in an unorganized borough of the state, as per AS 14.08.031(a) .

Alaska Statutes at AS 14.08.051(c) require that within 90 days of the Federal decennial census, the Commissioner of the Department of Education and Early Development, in consultation with the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development and the local communities, must review the school board apportionment scheme of each Regional Education Attendance Area (REAA) to determine if it meets the standards contained at AS 14.08.051(a). The standard is that each school board member must represent, “as nearly as practicable, an equal number of persons.” Where the standard is not met, options are proposed to the public.

As part of the reapportionment process, the Division of Community and Regional Affairs (DCRA) issued public notices for all nineteen REAAs as well as information on the existing school board apportionment scheme and all proposed alternative school board apportionment schemes. After a period of public outreach, which included a public hearing, DCRA issued final apportionment schemes recommendations to the Commissioner of the Department of Education and Early Development. Those recommendations as reviewed and approved by the Commissioner are found below.

Contact with any questions about the final recommendations.

REAA Proposed Schemes

Public Notices 3. Alaska Gateway 4. Aleutian Region 6. Annette Island 7. Bering Strait 9. Chatham 10. Chugach 11. Copper River 14. Delta/Greely 21. Iditarod 29. Kuspuk 31. Lower Kuskokwim 32. Lower Yukon 40. Pribilof 44. Southeast Island 45. Southwest Region 51. Yukon Flats 52. Yukon-Koyukuk 54. Yupiit 55. Kashunamiut Other Agency Information

Revised 7/20/2022