Skip to content
Back to Top

Alaska Native Language Preservation
& Advisory Council


Alaska has some 20 distinct languages, comprised within two main language groups. The two groupings include Eskimo-Aleut and Athabasan-Eyak-Tlingit. Since its creation by the Alaska Legislature in 1972, the Alaska Native Language Center has researched and documented Alaska's Native languages.

For more information about Alaska Native Languages please visit the Alaska Native Language Center's website. 

This map is courtesy of the Alaska Native Language Center, and is also available on their website.

For more information about the Alaska Native Language
Preservation & Advisory Council contact:

Division of Community and Regional Affairs
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Phone: 907-269-3646