AMCO badge

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office

About Us

The Alcoholic Beverage and Marijuana Control Boards are established in the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development as regulatory and quasi-judicial agencies. The boards are in the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development for administrative purposes only. The director and sixteen staff serve the licensing, administrative and enforcement needs of the boards and the alcohol and marijuana licensing communities while assisting the boards in their mission of control of alcohol and marijuana commerce to address the public health and safety concerns of all Alaskans.

AMCO’s headquarters are in Anchorage, Alaska, with two enforcement outposts in Fairbanks and Juneau. The management team consists of the Director, the Program Coordinator, the Enforcement Supervisor and the Administrative Officer. Each member of the management staff works with his or her team to ensure responsive, fair and consistent service to the Boards, the licensing communities, local governments, and the Alaskan public.

Our Staff

Name Position Office Location
Erika McConnell Director Anchorage
Sarah Daulton Oates Program Coordinator Anchorage
James Hoelscher Enforcement Supervisor Anchorage
Craig Douglas Administrative Officer Anchorage
Jed Smith Local Government Specialist Anchorage
Jane Sawyer Occupational Licensing Examiner Anchorage
Mark Bailey Occupational Licensing Examiner Anchorage
Jacqlene Drulis Occupational Licensing Examiner Anchorage
Shilo Senquiz Business Registration Examiner Anchorage
Joe Hamilton Investigator III Anchorage
Joe Bankowski Investigator III Anchorage
Jeff Rukes Investigator III Anchorage
Kendrick Whiteman Investigator III Anchorage
Amanda Bean Investigator III Fairbanks
Michael Chiesa Investigator III Fairbanks
Steve Johnson Investigator III Juneau