Skip to content
Back to Top

Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office


After hearing from you about your business needs, and knowing how necessary these cards are to your employment, our office will take walk-in handler permit card requests from 9 to 12 and 1 to 4 p.m. every business day. To make your time with us more efficient, please review the checklist of what you will need. Although we recommend you bring a photo, we do have capacity to provide one for you here. You may still continue to mail in your full application to our offices at 550 W 7th Avenue, Suite 1600, Anchorage, AK 99501. Our turnaround time for mail-ins is one week. 

Items required to initiate and renew a Marijuana Handlers Card:

-Background Checks must be dated within 30 days of your submitted handler permit application, either in person or by mail-in.

-You can get your background check from your local Department of Public Safety office. DO NOT use myAlaska.

  • Marijuana Handler Permit Cover Sheet and Checklist (click to download)
  • $50.00 Payment in the form of card, personal check, money order or cashiers check. Made payable to the State of Alaska. No Cash
  • Alaska Name-Based Criminal History Background Check (click to find locations)
  • Certificate of course completion (From one of the training classes below)
  • One form of valid State/Federal issued identification whether it is an ID, Driver's License, or Passport (Send a copy, if mailing in application)
  • One 2x2 "Passport Style" Photo or Color Printed Selfie from the shoulders to the top of the head. If you are unable to print a color photo, please email a selfie to In the subject line, please include your first and last name as well as your Marijuana Handler Permit Number located in your myAlaska. 

For mail-in applications please send all required documents to:
Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office
Attn: Handler Permits
550 West 7th Ave, Suite 1600
Anchorage, AK 99501

Marijuana Handler Permit Application

There is a $50.00 fee for a replacement Marijuana Handler Permit Card under 3 AAC 306.100(e). The same rules for photos apply as stated above. 

Please read the "Marijuana Handler Permit Application Instructions" listed below for more detailed information on how to apply, office hours and locations, document submission and card issuance instructions.

Application for a Marijuana Handler Permit

Please click on the link below to launch the application.

Initiate Handler Permit Application

This will open a new window, if a new window doesn't open, disable your pop-up blocker.

Disqualifying Criminal History for Marijuana Handlers
  • Felony conviction in Alaska within the last five years;
  • Currently on parole for a felony conviction in Alaska;
  • Class A misdemeanor conviction involving a controlled substance other than a schedule VIA controlled substance, in Alaska within the last two years;
  • Class A misdemeanor conviction relating to selling, furnishing, or distributing marijuana, in Alaska within the last two years;
  • Currently under indictment for an offense listed above.

Controlled Substance Schedule

Marijuana Handler Permit Training

A marijuana establishment and each licensee, employee, or agent of the marijuana establishment who sells, cultivates, manufactures, tests, or transports marijuana or a marijuana product, or who checks the identification of a consumer or visitor, must obtain a marijuana handler permit from the board before being licensed or beginning employment at a marijuana establishment, per 3 AAC 306.700.

To obtain a marijuana handler permit, a person must first complete one of the following approved courses:

Handle Alaska
Kimberley Kole
Phone: (907) 727-6584
MHCP 009

Fast Track Handler Permit Course
Fast-Track Certification Course AK
Phone: (907) 202-6328
MHCP 036

Alaska Marijuana Handler Certification Course
Alaska Green Resources
Phone: (907) 252-8026
MHCP 002

Alaska Marijuana Handler Online Certification Training
George M Coleman
Phone: (907) 301-1365
MHCP 003

Alaska Marijuana Institute Online Certification Course
Good Enterprises AK
Phone: (907) 250-7090
MHCP 017

Marijuana Handler Permit Instruction
Alaska Cannabis Industries
Phone: (907) 631-9518
MHCP 008

Advanced Learning Management System
Medical Marijuana 411
Phone: 1-844-411-0500 ext. 814
MHCP 029

Best Price Alaska Marijuana Handler Training
Phone: 1-888-344-5554
MHCP 025

Alaska Marijuana Handler Permit Training
Phone: (605) 427-2000 and 1-800-247-7737
MHCP 032

Alaska Marijuana Handler Certification
Green CulturED
Phone: (720)446-8847
MHCP 028

American Cannabis Training Association - Alaska Marijuana Handler Certification Course
American Cannabis Training Association (ACTA)
Phone: (617)213-0439
MHCP 033

360 Training
Phone: (877)881-2235
MHCP 037

In Person Training
Midnight Greenery
Phone: (907) 727-2000
MHCP 021

Marijuana Handler Permit Course Provider Application

Persons and entities seeking to have a marijuana handler permit education course approved by the Marijuana Control Board should first review and understand 3 AAC 306.700 and then complete the application below.